Miramax Films | Release Date: December 21, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 38 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
6
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TomM.Dec 29, 2008
Peter O'Toole could very well turn out to be the last remaining master actor of an era that produced an extraordinary variety of stage and screen icons--Olivier, Burton, Richard Harris, Laurence Harvey, to name a few. Hopefully, "Venus" Peter O'Toole could very well turn out to be the last remaining master actor of an era that produced an extraordinary variety of stage and screen icons--Olivier, Burton, Richard Harris, Laurence Harvey, to name a few. Hopefully, "Venus" will not be his last call, a somewhat charming tale, but not a truly worthy vehicle for one of film's greatest actors of all time. Newcomer Jodie Whittaker is excellent as the young Venus and Vanessa Redgrave, as always, comes through with a superb performance. A bonus is the infectious soundtrack by British soul singer Corrine Bailey Rae, at times sounding like a genuine reincarnation of Lady Day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JHJun 24, 2007
I loved this movie. O'Toole is magnificent and the story was beautifully engaging, hilarious, and tragic. Don't miss this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KentB.Jun 7, 2007
This movie did not deliver as expected. A fair story not reflected on screen. O'Toole overacted and the other actors seemed great. A real waste of time and money mine and theirs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LindaL.Jun 5, 2007
I was braced for something sad and a little icky. Yes and yes, but "Venus" also is wise and touching and funny. It really makes you think about what's important in life. Also I want to mention the soundtrack -- the music of Corinne I was braced for something sad and a little icky. Yes and yes, but "Venus" also is wise and touching and funny. It really makes you think about what's important in life. Also I want to mention the soundtrack -- the music of Corinne Bailey Rae is wonderfully enjoyable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jun 4, 2007
In a church, Maurice(Peter O'Toole) dances with his oldest and dearest friend, Ian(Leslie Phillips), the one person he's most loyal to. Maurice's adoration for this person isn't a performance like the one he gives for his In a church, Maurice(Peter O'Toole) dances with his oldest and dearest friend, Ian(Leslie Phillips), the one person he's most loyal to. Maurice's adoration for this person isn't a performance like the one he gives for his Valerie(Vanessa Redgrave), his ex-wife. Ever the ham, but so utterly compelling and convincing(his words don't seem processed), he tells Valerie that she's his one true love. But it's all method. His tender emotions bubble up from a wellspring reserved for Jessie(Jodie Whitaker). Even though Valerie is lying, she eats it up. Maurice doesn't truly respect women, but the filmmaker does. In a later scene, she encounters Jodie, and says, "Oh, you must be the one..." Art is a lie. Everything that Maurice said to her was a lie but she's touched nonetheless, and so are we, even though this man is clearly a pig. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaniC.Feb 13, 2007
It was good. I expected to be disgusted a little and I was. I did not expect to laugh but I did. The movie made me focus on the 90 minutes at hand. I enjoyed the cinematography. I am certainly glad that O'Toole was nominated for his It was good. I expected to be disgusted a little and I was. I did not expect to laugh but I did. The movie made me focus on the 90 minutes at hand. I enjoyed the cinematography. I am certainly glad that O'Toole was nominated for his acting. It was a breath of fresh air when compared to the same old recycled stuff that overflows in the theaters year after year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SuzanneA.Feb 10, 2007
Deeply touching, beautifully written, magnificently acted.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillyS.Feb 10, 2007
In My Favorite Year, Peter O'Toole as Alan Swann declared - "I'm not an actor, I'm a movie star!" In Venus, Peter O'Toole, the movie star of the last 45 years, confirms his place as the greatest living actor in the world In My Favorite Year, Peter O'Toole as Alan Swann declared - "I'm not an actor, I'm a movie star!" In Venus, Peter O'Toole, the movie star of the last 45 years, confirms his place as the greatest living actor in the world today. Venus is Alan Swann's story 25 years later, and if Richard Burton and Peter Finch were alive today, it would be their story. Richard Griffiths, Leslie Philips and Vanessa Redgrave are along to add to the grace and dignity that Mr. O'Toole has always personified in every one of his roles and Jodie Whittaker makes a stunning debut as the young girl who captures Maurice's heart and youth. It is simply, a perfect movie with a perfect Peter O'Toole, but then, has there ever been anything but a perfect Peter O'Toole performance? Are you reading this Academy members? God Bless You Peter O'Toole! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DougN.Jan 29, 2007
Well acted and makes one think. Probably not for everyone. I think most older people would enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnC.Jan 28, 2007
A delight, funny, poignant, film, a master class in acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlanS.Jan 20, 2007
Memorable performance by O'Toole clearly demonstrating desire for senuality and the zest it brings to one's life doesn't end with age
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanS.Dec 29, 2006
Great acting, funny, and edited well. Dramatic-sensual-comedy. Exposed the realities of life without dwelling on them. Worth the experience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful