Veronica Mars

Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: On the eve of graduating law school, Veronica Mars has put Neptune and her amateur sleuthing days behind her. While interviewing at high-end New York law firms, Veronica Mars gets a call from her ex-boyfriend Logan who has been accused of murder. Veronica heads back to Neptune just to helpOn the eve of graduating law school, Veronica Mars has put Neptune and her amateur sleuthing days behind her. While interviewing at high-end New York law firms, Veronica Mars gets a call from her ex-boyfriend Logan who has been accused of murder. Veronica heads back to Neptune just to help Logan find an attorney, but when things don't seem right with how Logan's case is perceived and handled, Veronica finds herself being pulled back into a life she thought she had left behind. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Mar 14, 2014
    88
    I can't imagine anyone who liked the show not enjoying this film, even though the first half is stronger than the second, which spirals into a frenzy of double- and triple-crossing that's less engaging than watching the characters reconnect, awkwardly but with feeling.
  2. Reviewed by: Catherine Simpson
    Mar 10, 2014
    80
    An emotionally rewarding reunion tour for established fans and a taut, sharp-tongued, character-driven thriller for all, Veronica Mars makes a compelling case for its heroine’s continued existence.
  3. Reviewed by: Abhimanyu Das
    Mar 12, 2014
    75
    For all its references to the show's history, the film never panders. It's an evolution of the core concept as opposed to a nostalgia-tinged reproduction, and is all the better for it.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 13, 2014
    63
    It's Bell – riding high with the Disney-animated "Frozen" and Showtime's carnal-fixated "House of Lies" – you want to follow anywhere. Bell is irresistible, and she makes us care.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Mar 14, 2014
    63
    Veronica Mars is a great deal more than a bonus episode, but slightly less than a movie.
  6. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Mar 9, 2014
    60
    Thomas’ direction, especially of the villainous roles, gives a lot of the action a self-conscious, not-quite-real quality. Some aspects of the movie’s intentional artifice work better than others.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Mar 17, 2014
    40
    Proves more footnote than fresh start.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    Great Movie. As a fan of the tv series I am more than Satisfied. Veronica Mars is back. It's the perfect series finale, that the tv showGreat Movie. As a fan of the tv series I am more than Satisfied. Veronica Mars is back. It's the perfect series finale, that the tv show didn't have. The movie is entertaining, interesting and suspenseful. For a stranger viewer is still a great thriller to watch with a lot of unexpectd plot twist and funny quotes. Kristen Bell and Rob Thomas at their best. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Just saw the movie on Amazon, as the movie wasn't playing in Hawaii; cheaper at $6.99 anyway too. Great movie; just like the TV show series;Just saw the movie on Amazon, as the movie wasn't playing in Hawaii; cheaper at $6.99 anyway too. Great movie; just like the TV show series; same great characters; good storyline with Logan. I like the relationship between Veronica and her dad; that adds to the movie. I wish they would bring back the series. They never closed out the end of season 3. If CW doesn't pick it up again, maybe USA, as they have some similar great shows on there as well?! :) Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2015
    9
    Veronica Mars 2014 movie is a great movie for Veronica Mars' fans. I'm a big fan of the TV Series, and honestly was rather interested to knowVeronica Mars 2014 movie is a great movie for Veronica Mars' fans. I'm a big fan of the TV Series, and honestly was rather interested to know how they were gonna make a movie after all this time that connected with the show. They did a beautiful job reiterating the series as the movie began and bringing in the reunion of the cast to start the movies story. I loved that they brought in a lot of the original cast from the series which made the movie feel as a nice continuation. At the rate of how the movie went there's a nice bit of room to even possibly bring a sequel out of it. I also love that while watching the movie it still felt like the tv show film style, very good job.

    If you're a Veronica Mars fan then I'm certain you can appreciate the movie, I believe they done a great job bringing it out. I cannot wait to add this movie to my dvd collection.
    Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    7
    The fan support for this movie was really unprecedented. Those supporters will likely be pleased. The story advances the timeline, brings backThe fan support for this movie was really unprecedented. Those supporters will likely be pleased. The story advances the timeline, brings back almost all of the characters, and reprises the twisty, mildly provocative mystery plotting and snappy dialogue of the show. There's even a joking reference to the fan support that nudges the fourth wall.

    As someone who had watched most of the show several years ago but wasn't enough into it to rewatch it or memorize all the details, there were a lot of inside references that I'm quite sure I didn't get. Don't get me wrong; it's better to do fanservice than to dumb it down for the masses, but be aware that if you haven't seen the show you'll be a tad lost, despite the prologue the movie has explaining the gist of it all.

    The movie looks like an extended TV episode; the locations feel small and the action is minimal save for a few jump scares. However, given the budget I think they got what they could out of it, and you weren't watching the mystery series for its visual art anyway. The murder mystery is indeed mysterious, but the climax didn't do much for me, and of course you can't develop as much in a movie as in a season of television.

    It ends with a new direction for the characters that I frankly did not like. I won't spoil it, but most of the major characters make a certain choice with regards to their old lives that felt wrong to me. I don't know how the true blue fans will take it; maybe they'll like it more than I did or maybe not.

    All told, though, anyone who liked the show will find it worth the wait. So many of these projects never get off the ground that it's gratifying to see when the fans get something made that Hollywood producers gave up on. The jokes and plot twists are entertaining enough.
    Collapse
  5. Jun 9, 2014
    7
    I never watched the television series in which this movie influenced. So had no faint idea about the movie and its theme. All I know is thatI never watched the television series in which this movie influenced. So had no faint idea about the movie and its theme. All I know is that the movie borrowed most of the cast and crew from the original as the movie database says. The story that revolves around a mysterious death and its investigation. The Puzzled characters which leaves us to keep guessing what might have happened.

    I never attracted to the Kisten Bell. I don't know why I always say that when it comes to the review of her movies. I hate myself for being a sarcastic, though I never doubted her performances. She might not be a pretty among the other Hollywood actress, but I love her acting. She got a great voice I guess and she's always great as usual on the screen. So, now you might know the reason why watched this movie.

    Veronica Mars is a newly law graduate on the verge to get placement in her dream NY law firm. On the same day she gets a message that her ex-boyfriend Logan from the school days is accused of a murder. Personally, he requests her presence around him to help to recruit best lawyer. Beside that her old experience as partners with her father who's a private eye digs the case herself and muddle the thing around. What she finds is the perfect answers for the darkness that haunted everyone.

    I am sure you might have seen some of the movies that takes place around a mysterious death. That makes you, you are on verge to predict the twist comfortably. But in this case it is not, because there's no earlier story in the movie about characters that reveals before or after the commencement of the mainstream story. So it puts you in the constant state as you entered to watch this till the twilight of the storytelling and it unfolds itself. Yeah, the story itself held back all the crucial incidents and characters to avoid the mess in the name of mystify the viewers. I don't know it is good or bad, but made the movie look better in a way. In the end it is not your best mystery solving theme, but a decent one around you find.
    Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2014
    6
    After an underwhelming first half, the movie then kicks into high gear with an interesting and funny story that ultimately delivers. It hadAfter an underwhelming first half, the movie then kicks into high gear with an interesting and funny story that ultimately delivers. It had potential to be much better, but I enjoyed it. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2014
    1
    As a huge fan of the TV series, I am disappointed on a whole new level in this movie and I think people who have never seen the TV show wouldAs a huge fan of the TV series, I am disappointed on a whole new level in this movie and I think people who have never seen the TV show would be even more bored and disappointed in this movie. It just feels really lame, it was extremely boring and it seems a too forced. I would liken it to the 9th season of scrubs - actually it's significantly worse than that. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone - especially fans of the show. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 20 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2014
    We pick out the most noteworthy films arriving in March and April, including Veronica Mars, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and new movies from Lars von Trier, Wes Anderson, Darren Aronofsky, Jonathan Glazer, Jim Jarmusch, and Denis Villeneuve.