User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 92
  2. Negative: 10 out of 92

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    This movie is definitely something extremely different from any other horror anthology that I've seen in a long time. A lot of really original stuff and some good scares from time to time. If you like genre bending stories then this is the movie for you.
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    as i can't think of any other way to do this, i will give each segment a rating, all of them deliver at least some scares, not all of them work as well as they're meant to, but hey, it's scary, violent, and quite fresh, ironically enough, because of it's nostalgic qualities, it puts every other found-footage horror film to shame, now, with the individual ratings: 1 - 8.1 2 - 9.2 3 -as i can't think of any other way to do this, i will give each segment a rating, all of them deliver at least some scares, not all of them work as well as they're meant to, but hey, it's scary, violent, and quite fresh, ironically enough, because of it's nostalgic qualities, it puts every other found-footage horror film to shame, now, with the individual ratings: 1 - 8.1 2 - 9.2 3 - 7.6 4 - 9.1 5 - 6.5 6 - 8.9 Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    This film takes the Paranormal Activity trilogy and Cloverfield where the sun don't shine. I loved this movie, a lot, but at the same time, don't want to watch it ever again. Good thing I didn't throw up mid-movie. Bravo, Magnet Releasing! Well, wait. The camera shaking in a few of the stories were way too up-there for a sober dude, and way too still for a drunk group of guys... there'sThis film takes the Paranormal Activity trilogy and Cloverfield where the sun don't shine. I loved this movie, a lot, but at the same time, don't want to watch it ever again. Good thing I didn't throw up mid-movie. Bravo, Magnet Releasing! Well, wait. The camera shaking in a few of the stories were way too up-there for a sober dude, and way too still for a drunk group of guys... there's always room for a re-try (sequel, hint-hint. please?) here, in my opinion. Great job, guys! Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    This movie has all the right creep-factor going on, while avoiding slipping into torture porn territory. It's an anthology, with the stories all having significantly different tone. The acting might not be the best in the world, but none of it noticeably bad, and you never get pulled into disbelief due to someone not delivering their part well. By the nature of the stories beingThis movie has all the right creep-factor going on, while avoiding slipping into torture porn territory. It's an anthology, with the stories all having significantly different tone. The acting might not be the best in the world, but none of it noticeably bad, and you never get pulled into disbelief due to someone not delivering their part well. By the nature of the stories being anthologies, each gets in, sets itself up, and delivers in a pleasantly timely fashion. Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    This found footage movie is amazingly awesome and spectacular! It is not perfect but its imperfections barely make this movie unwatchable. It has fun scares, creepiness, and gross-out disturbing imagery. It is only entertaining and a must watch for horror fans.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Williams
    Jan 15, 2013
    80
    Like last year's "Chronicle," here's another reminder that in the right hands found footage still has plenty of capacity to surprise.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Oct 23, 2012
    60
    The problem with V/H/S, a compilation of sometimes scary horror shorts loosely bound by an overarching plot, is that, no matter how savage, evil or sadistic the killer, the victims almost always come off as bigger jerks.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 5, 2012
    50
    V/H/S comes across as a production that wants to be more than it is but, as they say, The Emperor has no clothes.