Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: November 3, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 215 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
190
Mixed:
13
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
DanielD.Feb 5, 2007
It appears that most everyone who saw this film gave it a 9 or 10. A few gave it low scores and almost no one put it in the middle. So this is another "love it or hate it" sort of film. I have to put myself in the second category. Although I It appears that most everyone who saw this film gave it a 9 or 10. A few gave it low scores and almost no one put it in the middle. So this is another "love it or hate it" sort of film. I have to put myself in the second category. Although I greatly enjoyed watching Penelope Cruz -- without her the movie goes down to a 1 or 2 -- it's obvious no one else in the movie did. HUH? Here's a woman so lustrously beautiful she positively shines and one guy -- count him, one! -- notices her appearance. Okay, her husband must have at one time and maybe her father, but come on! This in Spain of all places. A few other impossiblities include that Penelope's character, having just "taken over" a restaurant after somehow disappearing from her regular cleaning job, can prepare and serve up a meal to 30 people with only a couple hours notice, that four women can lift up a freezer with a dead guy in it into a van, and that it's no problem to bury a guy four or five feet deep next to large trees where the ground has no roots, no rocks, and no other things I somehow always run into in my garden. Not to mention that a whole town somehow believes in a ghost who has to shop for supplies at the market. Maybe I was not enthralled by the whimsical spirit of the whole thing, but hey, that's just me, I guess. Finally, the big raison d'etre behind Penelope's psychology was a blatant and transparent ripoff from Chinatown (daughter, sister, daughter, sister). Gotta go. My girlfriend just invited me over to watch Midsummer's Night Dream. Don't know much about it, but I'm sure I'll love it. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Boring and dull foreign drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SimonB.Feb 16, 2007
Cruz's cleavage is the only thing that remains consistanly impressive throughout this painfully hokey movie. If you can displace your commonsense and the boundaries of reality for 2 hours you might be able to enjoy Volver, but i doubt Cruz's cleavage is the only thing that remains consistanly impressive throughout this painfully hokey movie. If you can displace your commonsense and the boundaries of reality for 2 hours you might be able to enjoy Volver, but i doubt it. The story branches off at times to what seems like some potentially interesting turns, only to result in many dead ends. Obviously, this movie is well liked from many of the other reviews. I can say that it is well filmed and acted, and even comes together in the end very well. But the painfully long, ridiculous (at times), and pointless story makes it all not worth it in the end for me. This movie will not be winning any Oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JIgnacioM.Nov 28, 2006
I like my movies with beautiful cinematography, well composed sets.....real-like engaging stories....and an all together a seamless work of art.....but all of Almodovar films are too complicated and never ending.....too much.....I wonder if I like my movies with beautiful cinematography, well composed sets.....real-like engaging stories....and an all together a seamless work of art.....but all of Almodovar films are too complicated and never ending.....too much.....I wonder if he ever went to film school......The only movie I liked somwhat more than the rest was Talk to Her......and I liked bits and pieces of the rest of them......and I do like his homosexual and tranvestite characters ( he gets thumps up for using these charatcers in such a natural way) ....Maybe if an american director/ studio remakes his movies, maybe they would work for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
kobij.Dec 29, 2006
Overblown blah blah telenovela flat and meaningless much ado about very little.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CarlosR.Feb 28, 2008
This was not an enjoyable Almodovar film. I enjoyed Bad Education and Talk to Her; however, I despised Live Flesh and All About my Mother. I expected the film to be on the better side, as most of his recent films were proving to be This was not an enjoyable Almodovar film. I enjoyed Bad Education and Talk to Her; however, I despised Live Flesh and All About my Mother. I expected the film to be on the better side, as most of his recent films were proving to be increasingly impressive. Yet, All About my Mother seems a little unshocking and I think that the comedic aspect was intended to be in the shock value of unexpected behaviors to normatively morose moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
anthonyukApr 21, 2011
Another wonderful film from the Spanish maestro, wonderful female characters which you wam to, Cruz is excellent.

You really care about the characters, funny, eccentric, simply charming cinema at it's best!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews