Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 19, 2001
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 144 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
111
Mixed:
9
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
CraigA.May 4, 2005
I'm an academic and I love that this film has been made and that there is an audience for it. But don't ask me to watch it again. Waking Life is new age pretension masquesarding as philosophy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SteveJun 30, 2005
The film succumbs to the post-modern self-indulgence that it attempts to escape with its montage of misquoted topics covered in philosophy lectures. Moviemaking has lost a great deal of its originiality these days. It is tempting to like a The film succumbs to the post-modern self-indulgence that it attempts to escape with its montage of misquoted topics covered in philosophy lectures. Moviemaking has lost a great deal of its originiality these days. It is tempting to like a movie like this because it's glossy and revolutionary to the eye. The writer and director of "Waking Life" is like that guy in the bar in "Good Will Hunting" who tries to pass of what he learned in class as his own, seemingly profound thoughts. It gets a 1 for visual creativity. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PatC.Sep 7, 2005
Unique and cerebral, but probably should be regarded more as a philosophical tutorial or documentary. I found the jittery animated visualization hard on the eyes and the lack of plot and character development disruptive of the continuity Unique and cerebral, but probably should be regarded more as a philosophical tutorial or documentary. I found the jittery animated visualization hard on the eyes and the lack of plot and character development disruptive of the continuity required for attentive viewing of a full length feature. The film appears to be a compilation of fleeting thoughts that didn't fit into other projects. While interesting to the introspective mind and containing an undeniably positive message, I didn't think they constituted a movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DavidT.Mar 29, 2007
I feel as though this film created exactly what I believe it was trying to escape, an effortless post-modern dichotomy. "Being wierd...for the sake of being wierd!" Terrible film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TomH.May 12, 2007
Graphics were nausea inducing. First 20 minutes of the story were very hard to follow.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
drecool95May 31, 2015
This might be an incredible, mindbending experience for someone with no knowledge of philosophy or someone who's more interested in the visuals than the content. But for me, someone with a major interest in philosophy who's really familiarThis might be an incredible, mindbending experience for someone with no knowledge of philosophy or someone who's more interested in the visuals than the content. But for me, someone with a major interest in philosophy who's really familiar with a lot of these topics, this film really hits you over the head in an uncomfortable way. It's just the character walking from one giant mouth of a character to another, listening to their didactic rambling about introductory philosophical debates that really fall flat if you know the background to each of the fragments. Linklater might as well have written a series of short essays on philosophy, because that's really all he does here. No true message, no philosophical thought left to the viewer, just a series of disconnected moments that don't really offer any sort of deeper meaning. I enjoy the visuals of the film, but everything about the writing comes off as sloppy, preachy, and far too heavy-handed for my taste. Maybe my opinion will change with further viewings, but after my first viewing, I'd much rather watch a truly cerebral film that doesn't spoonfeed you ideas, and then later read a philosophy article, than be bombarded with this silly sort of "philosophical" movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
GillS.Nov 10, 2001
Like having taken some shrooms in your apartment, and then on your way out being trapped in an elevator for 99 minutes with a drunk who insists on pretending he is an Oxford Don, specializing in philosophy and you are his student. That, or Like having taken some shrooms in your apartment, and then on your way out being trapped in an elevator for 99 minutes with a drunk who insists on pretending he is an Oxford Don, specializing in philosophy and you are his student. That, or getting repeatedly hit on the head by a few Hackett editions, wrapped in the manuscript pages of publisher-refused monographs on Derrida. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RyanM.Nov 4, 2001
The visuals hurt your eyes, the dialogue teases your mind, and then you think better of wasting your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KimmieK.Jun 15, 2002
Of the recent films dealing with this subject matter, Waking Life is the least satisfying. I fell asleep 30 minutes into the first viewing, and barely got through the second. The animation gave me a headache, although it did capture facial Of the recent films dealing with this subject matter, Waking Life is the least satisfying. I fell asleep 30 minutes into the first viewing, and barely got through the second. The animation gave me a headache, although it did capture facial expressions and gestures better than any animation that I can recall. Far from 'thought-provoking' 'intriguing' or 'astounding,' Waking life is a collage of highlights from every philosophy class I've ever taken, with less satisfaction, because of the lack of group discussion after each rant. For example, in my metaphysics class, there was a dream discussion that would have rendered the Delpy/Hawke scene thoroughly ineffectual. Perhaps Waking Life would be suitable for an intro to philosophy, but there are other movies that handle similar discussions better. In addition, just because an art form has a modicum of originality to it doesn't mean that everyone should automatically believe it's genius. However, if you like trite, pretentious, and derivative movies and want to know what hallucinogenic drugs are like, then go see this critical darling! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidK.Feb 16, 2003
Waking Life is like a good song with awful, awful lyrics. Although some scenes appear to have been run through a simple photoshop filter, overall the visuals are captivating. The dialogue, however, is complete garbage. And the entire thing Waking Life is like a good song with awful, awful lyrics. Although some scenes appear to have been run through a simple photoshop filter, overall the visuals are captivating. The dialogue, however, is complete garbage. And the entire thing is dialogue. If Waking Life had appeared as a short story instead of a movie, it would have been immediately and rightly dismissed as being nothing more than a vague, unfocused first-year philosophy term paper. The movie has a tangible air of "dude this is totally gonna blow your mind" to it which is revolting. No philosophical idea in Waking Life can be found that could not be found first and in far greater clarity in a book. This movie, in short, has no new ideas. Its sole contribution to human thought is likely to be filed in a computer graphics journal of special effects techniques, nowhere near the works of Sartre and Nietzsche. Waking Life is a wonderful example of how film is inherently a poor medium for expressing complex theoretical ideas. It meanders around many different subjects -- each with their own narrator right out of your psychology 101 class. These guides try, like, very sincerely to get some, like, very deep concepts across in words with, like, mixed results. Often the idea is completely lost in the delivery. Those truly interested in philosophy and the workings of the mind will be better off skipping this pretentious flick and heading to the library. Those who are into dropping acid and dropping names, however, might as well hang around to see how the thing ends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NickR.May 18, 2003
Kimmie K. pretty much hit the nail on the head. Basically an amalgam of basic philosophic debates combined with an original animation style that ultimately makes for a bad film. I enjoyed these debates far more when I read them in books and Kimmie K. pretty much hit the nail on the head. Basically an amalgam of basic philosophic debates combined with an original animation style that ultimately makes for a bad film. I enjoyed these debates far more when I read them in books and discussed them in class. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EricM.Nov 23, 2001
What a piece of pretentious crap. If I were 22, maybe this would be more of a Significant Film, but at 30, it's a yawning bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful