Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 10 out of 21
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 20, 2013
    50
    The movie for anyone who has dreamed of watching young dinos in love.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Dec 19, 2013
    50
    Visually, “Walking With Dinosaurs” dazzles with its combination of Animal Logic-animated CG creatures...and beautiful practical backgrounds... Less dazzling is the constant stream of jokey banter, which thwarts the pic’s educational potential and caps its target age awfully low.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 19, 2013
    50
    A hyper-realistic-looking, character-driven story of survival with talking dinosaurs that can't decide whether to inform or entertain. The film and its featured creatures do a little of both but modestly.
  4. 50
    Walking With Dinosaurs takes rewarding advantage of a much bigger budget and state-of-the-art technology to bring its impressive collection of Cretaceous creatures to vivid life. But while the walking part’s pretty impressive, the talking part — not so much.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Dec 18, 2013
    42
    Instructive mainly for screenwriters looking for tips on what not to do, Walking With Dinosaurs takes the education out of “educational entertainment.” The entertainment, too.
  6. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Dec 18, 2013
    40
    For a film that purports to love dinosaurs, this bigger, flashier Walking With Dinosaurs sure doesn’t trust them to be interesting enough to carry five minutes of a movie without the copious aid of slapstick and bathroom humor in a screenplay so rote it makes creatures that have been dead for 65 million years feel less fossilized than the jokes.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 10 out of 15
  1. May 17, 2014
    0
    If I could give this a negative 1, I would. I was a huge fan of the classic TV shoe on BBC, but this is just plain stupid. It's a waste ofIf I could give this a negative 1, I would. I was a huge fan of the classic TV shoe on BBC, but this is just plain stupid. It's a waste of time, believe me. Whoever made this movie obviously never even heard of the show. Full Review »
  2. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This is a great kids movie with plenty of humour & my son & I really enjoyed it. I liked that they paused every now & again to identify theThis is a great kids movie with plenty of humour & my son & I really enjoyed it. I liked that they paused every now & again to identify the different types of dinosaurs, making it educational as well. Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    For those who watched the excellent "Walking With Dinosaurs" series on the BBC many moons ago, don't expect anything approaching that levelFor those who watched the excellent "Walking With Dinosaurs" series on the BBC many moons ago, don't expect anything approaching that level here. It's harmless and inoffensive, but TOO harmless and inoffensive. Full Review »