Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 10 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Dec 20, 2013
    75
    Purists may still quail at the little bit of anthropomorphism going on, but it seems a small price to pay to broaden the audience for a family film that seeks to do more than just entertain.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Dec 19, 2013
    70
    The movie looks great, the writing is peppered with moments of wit, and there’s even an educational component built in as dinosaur facts are displayed on the screen.
  3. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Dec 19, 2013
    67
    Educational content, clever and photorealistic dinosaur CGI, and John Leguizamo voicing a prehistoric bird. What else would one need for a fun movie stew?
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 19, 2013
    63
    Strange hybrid of science lesson and Saturday-morning cartoon.
  5. 63
    “Walking” takes care to ID each new dinosaur species introduced, including factoids about what they ate and any special skills they might have had. It’s downright educational. Just don’t tell your kids that.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 20, 2013
    50
    The movie for anyone who has dreamed of watching young dinos in love.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Dec 19, 2013
    50
    Visually, “Walking With Dinosaurs” dazzles with its combination of Animal Logic-animated CG creatures...and beautiful practical backgrounds... Less dazzling is the constant stream of jokey banter, which thwarts the pic’s educational potential and caps its target age awfully low.
  8. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 19, 2013
    50
    A hyper-realistic-looking, character-driven story of survival with talking dinosaurs that can't decide whether to inform or entertain. The film and its featured creatures do a little of both but modestly.
  9. 50
    Walking With Dinosaurs takes rewarding advantage of a much bigger budget and state-of-the-art technology to bring its impressive collection of Cretaceous creatures to vivid life. But while the walking part’s pretty impressive, the talking part — not so much.
  10. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Dec 18, 2013
    42
    Instructive mainly for screenwriters looking for tips on what not to do, Walking With Dinosaurs takes the education out of “educational entertainment.” The entertainment, too.
  11. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Dec 18, 2013
    40
    For a film that purports to love dinosaurs, this bigger, flashier Walking With Dinosaurs sure doesn’t trust them to be interesting enough to carry five minutes of a movie without the copious aid of slapstick and bathroom humor in a screenplay so rote it makes creatures that have been dead for 65 million years feel less fossilized than the jokes.
  12. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Dec 20, 2013
    38
    A film that is not so much bad — although it is quite bad — as it is utterly inexplicable.
  13. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 20, 2013
    38
    Poor John Leguizamo, who hopefully got well-paid to voice a stereotypical Latino bird providing a stream of nonsensical narration.
  14. Reviewed by: Geoff Pevere
    Dec 20, 2013
    38
    Unfortunately, the only thing that dies harder in the movies than natural selection is careworn cliché, and Barry Cook and Neil Nightingale’s movie about a plucky, lovestruck pachyrhinosaurus named Patchi subjects our long defunct earthly ancestors to a fate arguably worse than extinction: a life lived in a world of cheese.
  15. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Dec 19, 2013
    38
    However well-intentioned the movie may be, it spills over with flat cutesy humor, making a slog out of an experience that should be filled with wonder.
  16. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Dec 19, 2013
    37
    Like an elaborately decorated wedding cake, the kid-friendly Walking With Dinosaurs 3D may leave you wondering how something so stunning could end up being so bland.
  17. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Dec 20, 2013
    30
    The film aspires to educate as well as entertain, rattling off the names and relevant distinctions of various dinosaurs as they appear onscreen for the first time. But the overwhelming impression the film leaves is that dinosaur poop was enormous.
  18. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Dec 19, 2013
    25
    The strain to make the film both an educational tool and a child-minded entertainment is noticeable throughout.
  19. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 19, 2013
    20
    It's unlikely that a dinosaur wrote the script — the Writers Guild of America makes no provision for Cambrian membership — but this animated feature is dimwitted all the same. The title should be "Trudging With Dinosaurs" (in 2.5-D, for all the grandeur the glasses confer), because the only semblance of a plot is provided by a long migration to winter grounds.
  20. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 19, 2013
    20
    Yes, the film’s CG dinos look great tromping in the Alaskan wilderness, but children deserve better than such unchallenging fare.
  21. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Dec 18, 2013
    20
    It was maddening and frustrating to watch so much ambition wasted on delivering such lame junk. Very young children, I suspect, will like it, but the closer viewers are to puberty, the less likely it is to hold their interest.
User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 8 out of 13
  1. May 17, 2014
    0
    If I could give this a negative 1, I would. I was a huge fan of the classic TV shoe on BBC, but this is just plain stupid. It's a waste ofIf I could give this a negative 1, I would. I was a huge fan of the classic TV shoe on BBC, but this is just plain stupid. It's a waste of time, believe me. Whoever made this movie obviously never even heard of the show. Full Review »
  2. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This is a great kids movie with plenty of humour & my son & I really enjoyed it. I liked that they paused every now & again to identify theThis is a great kids movie with plenty of humour & my son & I really enjoyed it. I liked that they paused every now & again to identify the different types of dinosaurs, making it educational as well. Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    For those who watched the excellent "Walking With Dinosaurs" series on the BBC many moons ago, don't expect anything approaching that levelFor those who watched the excellent "Walking With Dinosaurs" series on the BBC many moons ago, don't expect anything approaching that level here. It's harmless and inoffensive, but TOO harmless and inoffensive. Full Review »