User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1264 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, I would give this a 9.5 out if 10. Acting is good. Not amazing, but everyone does a good job. Score was really good. Had an incredible story. It also has really good special effects and great set pieces. Overall, this is a really good movie. Great movie, and one of my favorite Tom cruise movie. Highly recommended.
  2. TinaM.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    What I love so much is that it is told by one man's view. It keeps you involved and gives you a personal experience.
  3. JillianJ.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    It makes Indepedence Day look ilke The Muppet Movie.
  4. BeastialG
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    Excellent Movie, The Fx are surreal!
  5. MichaelF.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    A monumental film! Blew us away!
  6. Jun 26, 2011
    7
    If anyone can make an amazing blockbuster, it is Spielberg, and he has proven this once again. Overall, this is a rather good film. Technically - simply stunning. Great visual effects, sound and cinematography make it a pleasure to watch. It is one of the rare blockbusters that are actually decent when it comes to the plot, also. Ironically enough, the screenplay is also its weakest point.If anyone can make an amazing blockbuster, it is Spielberg, and he has proven this once again. Overall, this is a rather good film. Technically - simply stunning. Great visual effects, sound and cinematography make it a pleasure to watch. It is one of the rare blockbusters that are actually decent when it comes to the plot, also. Ironically enough, the screenplay is also its weakest point. I was especially annoyed with the ending and the "happy family" crap. The demise of the aliens also came a bit too suddenly, and Spielberg could have made the transition more subtle, more intense. Nonetheless, "War of the Worlds" is going to be definitely one of the many blockbusters of Spielberg's that is going to be remembered as a good, entertaining, and thrilling film. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2015
    9
    This movie is one my favorite movies of all time. Love every bit of it. Tom Cruise actually killed the role and the little girl did it too. To be honest this my favorite movie because it has suspense and some scenes just left me breathless.
  8. CollinP
    Nov 13, 2009
    8
    The ending was indeed lame, but taken exactly from the book. You got a problem with the ending, take it up with H.G. Wells. In terms of "disaster" movies, this is as good as they get - Spielberg is a master filmmaker. It has heart, adventure, and terror not seen in normal movies of the same ilk. All in all, a worthy picture.
  9. May 17, 2014
    9
    War of the Worlds is a near perfect experience however, I had some hard time getting into the visual effects because for some reason I couldn't like the CGI in this movie, I am not saying that the CGI bad but it is out of my league. Despite, the movie is one of the best science fictions in recent memory, it is clever, tense and leaves at the edge of your seat. However, I am not used toWar of the Worlds is a near perfect experience however, I had some hard time getting into the visual effects because for some reason I couldn't like the CGI in this movie, I am not saying that the CGI bad but it is out of my league. Despite, the movie is one of the best science fictions in recent memory, it is clever, tense and leaves at the edge of your seat. However, I am not used to seeing a Steven Spielberg film that is so hardcore and heartless, so I would consider this movie Spielberg's weakest. On the other hand, I would consider it a distinct achievement in movie history of Sci-Fi. It is recommended, other than some weak CGI, it is a wonderful popcorn B movie! Expand
  10. TrevorL
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    Visceral, vile, repulsive and totally awesome. Alien meets the Nazi death camps. And the creepy sound effects as the tripods processed and disgorged human blood towards the conclusion freaked me out-it was the sound of death.
  11. ClaireD.
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    A beautiful, scary, thrilling visual feast. Fast-paced momentum and excellent attachment of POV to Cruise's character. Highly recommended!
  12. AllenH.
    Jul 1, 2005
    8
    Special effects - you bet - they will blow you away. Storyline - good, but not great. The ending was a bit too tidy for my tastes - the disposition of Cruise and Fanning and the mother was a stretch and the "why" of what happened to the aliens could have been fleshed out a bit more. But the journey to the end of the movie is great - there is tension througout as you wonder what will Special effects - you bet - they will blow you away. Storyline - good, but not great. The ending was a bit too tidy for my tastes - the disposition of Cruise and Fanning and the mother was a stretch and the "why" of what happened to the aliens could have been fleshed out a bit more. But the journey to the end of the movie is great - there is tension througout as you wonder what will happen next to Cruise and his family and whether they survive. The role that Cruise (one of our biggest movie stars) plays is so out of character for him that you never quite buy into the "blue collar" dad. Tim Robbins overplays the "survivalist" role. And you wonder at some point why no one else but Cruise figures out how to repair their vehicle. But the movie is slick and scary and tense and worthy of the summer blockbuster mantle. Expand
  13. JenaM.
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    It grips you, shows no mercy, and lets you go only to never forget this magical experience. This is why we go to the movies.
  14. MarkA.
    Jul 2, 2005
    7
    Amazing dark intense film that sticks with you. The train sequence is brief but chilling. If only Spielberg had used someone other than Tom Cruise. He has little range and no depth. The ending is a little too cheery considering the nature of the rest of the film.
  15. Nickp.
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    This is extremely frustrating that people are giving this 0's. People, this is an excellent, well-made, high quality movie, and it is honestly one of the best movies I have ever seen in the theater for a long time, and I consider myself a fairly difficult to impress patron. If you see this movie, you'll be glad you did. It is VERY intense however, which to me is a good thing....
  16. mischab
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    I loved every minute of it.
  17. FrancoB.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Spielberg's masterpiece.
  18. MarcD
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    This is THE summer blockbuster. I was glued to the screen the other time. And I haven't felt such a sense of dread while watching a movie in ages. A work of art.
  19. Corky
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    Great visuals, great sound. Scary - I found myself with clenched fingers and holding my breath in some spots. Dakota Fanning was wonderful and will probably be nominated for an acting award. The ending could have been done better. The movie provided alot of tension throughout but then it was like we've reached the end and everything is okay again. Huh?
  20. CoralC.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    The best film of the year, hands down. Deals with human arrogance so well.
  21. alexg.
    Jun 30, 2005
    7
    No story, only good special effects that 139 milons can buy. steve spielberg is so predictable now.
  22. D
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    People in this list are giving this movie a 0? a Zero? You're putting this as being the worst movie ever made? Are you people crazy? a ZERO? Not even a 5 or 6, which is fialing, but a ZERO? Zero movies are when the camera man forgets to turn thacamera on... or is out of focus. This was a well put together and filmed movie. If you don't like the story... fine, but that People in this list are giving this movie a 0? a Zero? You're putting this as being the worst movie ever made? Are you people crazy? a ZERO? Not even a 5 or 6, which is fialing, but a ZERO? Zero movies are when the camera man forgets to turn thacamera on... or is out of focus. This was a well put together and filmed movie. If you don't like the story... fine, but that doesn't mena this is the worst movie known to mankind ever! Have you seen house of 1000 corpses? Ishtar? Alone in the Dark? Expand
  23. DavidD
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    This was a top-notch movie. The effects were fabulous, and the story was a total ride. There was this crazy feeling of dread an oppression that propelled this movie forward. It was an intense movie. Mass destruction, mass exodus, total chaos. I couldn't see how you could do this movie better.
  24. LarryB.
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    Awsome.
  25. WRoss
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    Don't listen to the negative comments. This is a great ride. Period. Only idiots comment about no story line. It's a martian attacks movie. Its B-grade material in the hands of a A- list director. Lighten up!
  26. Anthony
    Jul 15, 2005
    7
    Overall a decent spielberg film, but not one of his classics. does not fulfill its full portiential in my opinion as the movie concentrates too much on the family which isnt as interesting as if it went with a more expansive set of characters. media reaction would have been interesting too. parts are a bit lame especially the conlcusion, looking uninspired compared to some of the epic sfx Overall a decent spielberg film, but not one of his classics. does not fulfill its full portiential in my opinion as the movie concentrates too much on the family which isnt as interesting as if it went with a more expansive set of characters. media reaction would have been interesting too. parts are a bit lame especially the conlcusion, looking uninspired compared to some of the epic sfx scenes. the tripods are cool looking, though an original vehicle would be better. aliens are indepedence day rip offs though. cruise and the rest of the casts are generally good, if not very deep characters. Expand
  27. JoshG.
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    Dont listen to the red reviews scattered here, obviously they have lost function of their brains. This movie did something that a movie hasnt done in a long time. It made me feel, it made me care for the character and worry for their well being. The aliens were downright creepy, and the shots were tastefully done. The range of human emotion here is incredible, as is the relationships eachDont listen to the red reviews scattered here, obviously they have lost function of their brains. This movie did something that a movie hasnt done in a long time. It made me feel, it made me care for the character and worry for their well being. The aliens were downright creepy, and the shots were tastefully done. The range of human emotion here is incredible, as is the relationships each character has with one another. This movie does it all right, do youself a favor and go see this fantastic film. Expand
  28. Trentv.
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    This is an outstanding film. Highly polished, intelligent, great acting, and VERY suspenseful. I strongly reccomend seeing this movie.
  29. Commander
    Jul 20, 2005
    8
    I can imagine that there will be many people not realy seeing this picture for what it is. Forget about why do they want to destroy us forget about what is the red weed and forget get about how they all die. i saw this film as a journey of one man taking some responability in his life and how this one man is witnessing something way bigger than he can comprehend. you wont see these aliens I can imagine that there will be many people not realy seeing this picture for what it is. Forget about why do they want to destroy us forget about what is the red weed and forget get about how they all die. i saw this film as a journey of one man taking some responability in his life and how this one man is witnessing something way bigger than he can comprehend. you wont see these aliens approaching earth and you wont see them attacking other locations around the world, what you do see is a war seen through the eyes of someone who hasnt a clue to what is realy happening and is just a refugee like the rest of the people trying to save there own hides. Great film apart from the last 3 mins which was totally pointless. Expand
  30. GustavoH.R.
    Jul 2, 2005
    7
    As a huge Spielberg admirer, I'll be quick and totally unbiased: this is not a first-rate Spielberg film simply because it really lacks that familiar sense of sheer magic and wonder (in this case, it should be terror) that were always there in his great classics. Not even composer John Williams was inspired - where is that easily recognizable, memorable musical theme? Nowhere. War of As a huge Spielberg admirer, I'll be quick and totally unbiased: this is not a first-rate Spielberg film simply because it really lacks that familiar sense of sheer magic and wonder (in this case, it should be terror) that were always there in his great classics. Not even composer John Williams was inspired - where is that easily recognizable, memorable musical theme? Nowhere. War of the Worlds lacks impact, resonance. There's another thing that bothered me a little. It seems Spielberg really enjoyed being praised for creating the climax scene right in the beginning of the film - like he did in Saving Private Ryan. The moment when the first tripod emerges from the ground and attacks everybody and everything is exhilarating. There isn't one more scene like that in the rest of the film. The whole thing just feels anti-climatic - even the surprisingly gruesome moments in the third act. And especially that familiar happy ending. There's little emotional involvement with the "troubled family" subplot (which could actually be considered the main plot, if you look at it with another, more open perspective) because the three main characters lack depth. Which wasn't the case in the much more effective yet simpler Close Encounters of the Third Kind. I thought I would never write something like this in a review of a movie directed by Steven Spielberg. But here it goes: Dakota Fanning and her panic attacks were irritating, even though she played the part well. Cruise and Chatwin had slightly better characters to work with. Even Jurassic Park seems more balanced and convincing in terms of character development. Writer David Koepp is hardly a genius and we all know that. Spielberg did what he could with a mediocre screenplay. All in all, it is a good popcorn film. Fun to watch and undeniably different from other Spielberg films of the same genre. I feel like watching it again. This one might be a grower. Time will tell. The verdict: quaffable, but uh... far from transcendent, as Miles would say in Sideways. *** out of *****. Expand
  31. BenB.
    Jul 4, 2005
    7
    It is best that a man
  32. Mobius
    Jul 4, 2005
    8
    War Of The Worlds (2005) is based on the H.G Wells novel of the same name. so for you people out there who have not read a H.G Wells book then you are not going to like this film because your not going to understand it i.e whats the red weed how come all the aliens just die , if you have to ask these questions then dont even bother rating this movie. as for me i totally understand it and War Of The Worlds (2005) is based on the H.G Wells novel of the same name. so for you people out there who have not read a H.G Wells book then you are not going to like this film because your not going to understand it i.e whats the red weed how come all the aliens just die , if you have to ask these questions then dont even bother rating this movie. as for me i totally understand it and i have read the book . please remember that this story was told over 100 years ago and this film still remains close to the book so if you want to see an idiot version and you are a bit thick go and rent independance day. Expand
  33. Captain
    Jul 6, 2005
    8
    I enjoyed this film and got what i expected. people if your gonna do a review dont give it a 0 out of 10 that just imature and unrealistic review, this film may have it questionable points but be honest its not complete pile of shite and then again its not a masterpiece. overall its a good action flick that will keep you busy for a couple of hours.
  34. PaulF.
    Jul 7, 2005
    8
    Acting 7, screne writing 7, Concept 9, and Special Effects 11+ gives this movie an 8.5 average but I round down to an 8 for Dokota Fanning's annoying over acted screaming. For the most part the actors and actresses did an adequate job except for Tim Robbins who i agree with some should have had the lead role. Not only can he act but he looks a little more like the dock worker than Acting 7, screne writing 7, Concept 9, and Special Effects 11+ gives this movie an 8.5 average but I round down to an 8 for Dokota Fanning's annoying over acted screaming. For the most part the actors and actresses did an adequate job except for Tim Robbins who i agree with some should have had the lead role. Not only can he act but he looks a little more like the dock worker than pretty boy Cruise. But whatever the case it worked out. I pretty much enjoyed this movie from start to finish and was surprised how much I laughed and was not scared, though a get the feeling scary was part of the effect they were going for. But come on, aliens from space invasion movies as a whole is a campy concept that should not be taken too seriously. If you have a relaxed attitude about watching this movie you will enjoy it a whole lot better. The special effects and Tom Crusie cover in Pixy Dust (well not quite pixy dust but you'll have to go see the movie to see what I mean) should be reason enough to see this fun summer movie. Usually I'm disappointed at movies that are a 7 or 8 but could have been a 10 like this one, but I didn't think about it too much this time, I just enjoyed the show. I hope you go and do the same. Expand
  35. ScottJ.
    Aug 10, 2005
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] This is a fairly good movie, with excellent special effects, but it didn't work nearly as well as the 1953 original for a few reasons. ***SPOILER WARNING*** In the original, the aliens have obviously prepared their invasion well, but have never been to Earth before, so the ending where they are caught by surprise by our bacteria is much more believable. (It is very [***SPOILERS***] This is a fairly good movie, with excellent special effects, but it didn't work nearly as well as the 1953 original for a few reasons. ***SPOILER WARNING*** In the original, the aliens have obviously prepared their invasion well, but have never been to Earth before, so the ending where they are caught by surprise by our bacteria is much more believable. (It is very insightful, by the way, that such an ending was written before the post-WWI flu pandemic killed more people than WWI itself did.) In this remake, the alien ships have been stored on Earth for a long time, which makes it very difficult to believe that the aliens had not sampled our air for diseases. Also, in the original, the story is told through the eyes of a top scientist who represents the best of Earth, and we Earthlings try our best in a war against the aliens, but we are no match for them, and then the ending that humanity is rescued by the littlest things on the planet is somewhat poignant. In the recent version, told through the eyes of an average citizen who gets almost no accurate information, the effect of that ending is mostly lost, and gives the movie a bit of dumbed-down feel. I'm not saying it's a bad idea to tell the story from this viewpoint (it is particularly interesting that the characters hear a TEST of the emergency broadcast system days after the invasion started), it's just that it didn't fit the ending very well. As for the characters, well, I have never really liked Spielberg's style, so I didn't expect to like them much, and Tom Cruise and his family are about average Spielberg characters. (So, if you typically like Spielberg, you'll probably like these people, too.) The overall movie might have worked better if it was set in the late 1800's or even in the 1950's. Peter Jackson plans to do this for his remake of the 1930's King Kong. As for the people who gave this movie terrible reviews, I suspect they are mostly too young to appreciate the classic-ness of the story. (I remember when I was teenager, I didn't particularly appreciate classics, either, so I sort of understand this.) Overall, entertaining and enjoyable with great special effects, but the attempted updates of the 100-year-old plot are weak. Expand
  36. JacquieP
    Aug 31, 2005
    8
    Great mood setting before the big storm, great special effects! Yes, story has a few plot holes (the ending gets a thumbs down) where you must suspend your disbelief, but come on, it's very entertaining! Worth seeing on the big screen for all the effects.
  37. CAENT
    Dec 6, 2005
    7
    First off, the special effects were amazing. Nothing released on DVD has come this close to blowing you away. The buildings collapsing, aliens, UFO's, explotions etc, were spectacular! The acting, especially by Cruz and the little girl, were Oscar worthy. The story, is were this film falls short. Packed with tons of suspense and action, this movie was great. But there were tons of First off, the special effects were amazing. Nothing released on DVD has come this close to blowing you away. The buildings collapsing, aliens, UFO's, explotions etc, were spectacular! The acting, especially by Cruz and the little girl, were Oscar worthy. The story, is were this film falls short. Packed with tons of suspense and action, this movie was great. But there were tons of holes throughout the movie, that made this fall short of a perfect film. Expand
  38. marshallm
    Oct 20, 2005
    9
    It was great! there was some minor problems with it that keep it from being a classic, but still, amazing entertainment!
  39. EricM.
    Jun 29, 2005
    7
    Spielberg is a genius!
  40. LauraB.
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    When Cruise looks atop and sees the world in a shade of crimson, you just sit there in awe. Well done, Steven!
  41. AmyZ.
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    It's a great film, with great effects and great acting. Will be remembered 20 years from now.
  42. DonnaK.
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    I didn't have high hopes, but I wasn't disappointed. It's like Jurassic Park and Jaws all over again. Classic Speilberg!
  43. kharagh
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    10/10....Do I have to say anything else?
  44. Shane
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    I suppose when a movie is 95% the most amazing thing ever and only 5% extreme disappointment... it is still a good movie. The end wasn't bad... they just needed to make it longer.
  45. DanD.
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    Would have been a ten were it not for the unbearable ending. Aside from that, though, this move was amazing. People here talk a lot about the special effects and the narrative, but I think they're missing the bigger picture. Never before has a film so absolutely engrossed the viewer in a pure state of emotional terror. Rather than stringing us along with a forced narrative (which Would have been a ten were it not for the unbearable ending. Aside from that, though, this move was amazing. People here talk a lot about the special effects and the narrative, but I think they're missing the bigger picture. Never before has a film so absolutely engrossed the viewer in a pure state of emotional terror. Rather than stringing us along with a forced narrative (which many of the reviewers here seem to want), Spielberg immerses the audience in the feeling of the events, something that matters so much more. By limiting us to Tom Cruise's character's perspective, we are able (through stunningly deft camerawork) to actually FEEL what it's like to be in a world destroyed. Spielberg expresses the anxiety we all felt on 9-11, and it is that that makes this film so brilliant. Too bad, of course, about the ending. Expand
  46. dwightv.
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    It was alot better than I thought. The movie was logical, suspensful and the performances were accurate and just great. It would have been a ten if the ending didn't mess it up.
  47. MattW
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    The opening invasion scene (especially), will grip you, and make you feel like you're not watching a movie. It will make you feel like you're in it.
  48. GabrielV.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    I'm a big fan of the book and the first move. They kept all of the right things and updated all of the right things. I was concerned that they would ruin the original ultra-ironic ending that Wells intended, but they didn't. The movie sets out to be an action film and delivers 100%.
  49. PaulT.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    Dark and dreary, enthralling, ripping away at your guts- these are the words that describe Spielberg's latest effort. Special effects have never been better in a film, and Tom Cruise deserves an Oscar.
  50. JeniferT.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    What I love so much about this movie that it never takes it self too seriously. It never pretends to be great, but coherently, and effortlessly carries it self on.
  51. KatherineU.
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    Adrenaline packed and faithful version of the original story! The ending however was just a little too Spielberg sappy to be a believable conclusion to such a dark story.
  52. ArnieG.
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    One of the tensest movies I have ever seen. Like Spielbergs last 2 sci-fi movies, A.I and Minority Report, it would have been superb if not for a shit ending. Why can't Spielberg just show some balls and try to end on a dark note. He seems to have the ability to go dark until when it really matters; the ending. oh well, it was still one of the better action films of all time despite One of the tensest movies I have ever seen. Like Spielbergs last 2 sci-fi movies, A.I and Minority Report, it would have been superb if not for a shit ending. Why can't Spielberg just show some balls and try to end on a dark note. He seems to have the ability to go dark until when it really matters; the ending. oh well, it was still one of the better action films of all time despite the borderline horrendous ending. Expand
  53. KirkM
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    WOTW ranks right up there with Jurrasic Park in my book. I enjoyed this movie very much, though it is not without its flaws. Some of the dialogue could be better, some thingsfall into place too neatly, and the ending is a bit abrubpt (but loyal to the book I hear). From the beginning of the lightning "storm" until the basement scene it is just complete choas (in a good way) that had my WOTW ranks right up there with Jurrasic Park in my book. I enjoyed this movie very much, though it is not without its flaws. Some of the dialogue could be better, some thingsfall into place too neatly, and the ending is a bit abrubpt (but loyal to the book I hear). From the beginning of the lightning "storm" until the basement scene it is just complete choas (in a good way) that had my eyes peeled to the screen. I can't get some of the imagery out of my head a day later. A great summer popcorn flick, light years better than the dopey Independence day. Expand
  54. HowardS.
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    Great movie with a somewhat unorganized ending. Read the book for some things unexplained in the movie.
  55. AramisG.
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    [***SPOILERS***] I really enjoyed most of this movie. It has some very powerful images and has one of the gloomiest and morose outlooks for mankind I have ever seen in an
  56. CassandraM.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    The image of the train running on fire was so beautiful and haunting. An eerie film, that is almost depressing, that takes you on a wild ride, and doesn't let you go.
  57. James
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    This was a great movie that is faithful to the book. how else did anyone expent this movie to end? Tom and the little girl did a great acting job.
  58. Steven
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    Reading all the negative reviews makes me think that so many are jaded by CGI to the point of not appreciating what is a great film. One of the joys of movie going is to suspend disbelief. I'm an avid sci-fi (and some horror flicks
  59. GarethM.
    Jul 10, 2005
    8
    The first disaster film I have seen that does not play to the Nero complex in each of us. No mass destruction for thrills, just a sense of being caught up in something bigger than you are. No flash shots of a handsome president giving perfect orders or a hero that destroys a whole species. These are replaced by the woking class mis-direction of Tom Cruise. The ending is the only downside. The first disaster film I have seen that does not play to the Nero complex in each of us. No mass destruction for thrills, just a sense of being caught up in something bigger than you are. No flash shots of a handsome president giving perfect orders or a hero that destroys a whole species. These are replaced by the woking class mis-direction of Tom Cruise. The ending is the only downside. Go see it, and enjoy a unique piece of film. Expand
  60. CoryP.
    Jul 1, 2005
    9
    It was a good movie. The ending was ok, just not the best. The effects were really good. All-in-All I liked this movie a lot.
  61. JackN.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Bad ass.
  62. Cryptosporidium
    Jul 1, 2005
    8
    Excellent acting, incredible effects which made me feel rather ill, even though I'd just played Destroy All Humans! for a week, and kept me tense all the way through. As far as I'm concerned however, it should have had a higher age rating (over here in the UK it's a 12A, the most pointless and overused rating to ever be used by the BBFC)
  63. RogerD.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Perhaps one of the best science fiction movies of our time. Beats Alien and ID4 to no mercy!
  64. GertrudeS.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Utterly fascinating, fantastic and thrilling. It's exhubarant, haunting ane exciting.
  65. DaveF.
    Jul 1, 2005
    9
    My jaw was literally on the floor throughout most of this film. If that can't recommend a sci-fi movie in this jaded age, I don't know what can.
  66. LeoC.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Riveting. I was glued to my seat. My jaw hit the floor a few times. It is not stylized as your traditional summer blockbuster fair. It is completely innovative in that regard. It is dark, terrifying, compelling, tense and an incredible ride. Don't expect any post-modernist twists or side-kicks and/or love scenes. In short, it's the spirit of the original with the darkness that Riveting. I was glued to my seat. My jaw hit the floor a few times. It is not stylized as your traditional summer blockbuster fair. It is completely innovative in that regard. It is dark, terrifying, compelling, tense and an incredible ride. Don't expect any post-modernist twists or side-kicks and/or love scenes. In short, it's the spirit of the original with the darkness that can only be conceived and executed in our world today. Expand
  67. Jason
    Jul 10, 2005
    9
    Too far-fetched? Lame ending? Isn't that what sci-fi is all about? I only have two complaints, 1) the part where they showed the aliens roaming around in the basement seemed to be in there just for showing off some CGI, and 2) not to spoil it, but what happens with the son in the end seemed a bit uninspired, BUT the rest of the movie was so incredible, it made up for it. Everyone Too far-fetched? Lame ending? Isn't that what sci-fi is all about? I only have two complaints, 1) the part where they showed the aliens roaming around in the basement seemed to be in there just for showing off some CGI, and 2) not to spoil it, but what happens with the son in the end seemed a bit uninspired, BUT the rest of the movie was so incredible, it made up for it. Everyone complains about the acting......i thought the performances were very believable. Great entertainment, not completely flawless, but an awesome movie worth seeing more than once. But then again, I'm a sci-fi fan, so if you want to go watch something a little less far fetched, you can go rent ghandi or something. Expand
  68. TzipS.
    Jul 1, 2005
    9
    Terrific movie. You can trust Spielberg to bring dignity back to Sci-Fi movies, and summer films in general.
  69. ChrisM.
    Jul 1, 2005
    7
    Speilberg removed the bar and set a new predident in blending CGI and reality. Every shot in this film is perfect and offered an experaince as if the viewer is living vicariously Cruise's shoes during this entire disaster. The human struggle component of this film was done well, and there were many scenes that rendered the same anxiety viewers experainced during the raptor chase in Speilberg removed the bar and set a new predident in blending CGI and reality. Every shot in this film is perfect and offered an experaince as if the viewer is living vicariously Cruise's shoes during this entire disaster. The human struggle component of this film was done well, and there were many scenes that rendered the same anxiety viewers experainced during the raptor chase in Jurassic Park. He is the master of suspense, depicting human struggle, and special effects. However, like A.I. he needs to learning how to end a story. Although faithful to the original, the ending drags on and becomes a been there done that feeling. Spielberg tricked us by making the first hour and several min. a dark, gruesome tale and had to end it with a saturday afternoon special. Somone needs to tell him that it is ok to leave the theater with a bad taste in your mouth - afterall, it is a disaster film. Expand
  70. CarlosM.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    The message is clear: The bigger they are, the harder they fall. ;)
  71. Christi
    Jul 21, 2005
    9
    Way way way better than some of the people on here would have you believe. Extremely grim in parts, this is much more Saving Private Ryan than Armageddon. If you haven't lost pre-requisite for all filmgoers, ie/ the suspension of disbelief, then you should give it a chance,it blew me away for sure. If however you think that armageddon was a documentary, then, sure, by all means give Way way way better than some of the people on here would have you believe. Extremely grim in parts, this is much more Saving Private Ryan than Armageddon. If you haven't lost pre-requisite for all filmgoers, ie/ the suspension of disbelief, then you should give it a chance,it blew me away for sure. If however you think that armageddon was a documentary, then, sure, by all means give it a 0... sheesh. Expand
  72. LauraP.
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    Heart pounding! In the midst of wonderful FX effects, there's a family drama, that just blows you away.
  73. DavigD.
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    One of the best sci-fi films ever made! It'll make you jump out of your seat!
  74. AndrewB.
    Jul 2, 2005
    7
    Well, we read all the criticisms (0) and praise (10) and frankly we'd like to say it was somewhere in between. Sure there were lots of daft things in it - we told Speilberg but well the Hollywood moghuls wouldn't listen. We don't operate like that - yes we do the killing and slaying but not the burying underground for years and years and hoping a metro train line Well, we read all the criticisms (0) and praise (10) and frankly we'd like to say it was somewhere in between. Sure there were lots of daft things in it - we told Speilberg but well the Hollywood moghuls wouldn't listen. We don't operate like that - yes we do the killing and slaying but not the burying underground for years and years and hoping a metro train line doesn't find us and no we don't attack at all points of the planet at once. It's more cool to wipe you out in one place and spread the panic - that way you get out of your houses and migrate to "safer" places and we can pick you off for nibbles - yum yum. Attack many places at once and humans tend to stay put in cellars and things - no where to run you see. But we're pleased we come over as evil and scarey! And sure we feel for those of you who couldn't stand the screaming kid and sullen teenager who'd leave his sister to the father he disliked - neither could we! We'd have "clocked" them both! And yeah, having the family reunited at the end in the Bostonian streets left untouched was unlikely - I told the boys to destroy everything and some one will suffer for missing that bit out - believe me! But how about the soldiers at the end firing at us? After a week of futile attacking us most troops turn into an undisciplined unwashed rabble. And what about the critics who think the plot was short on content and long on Tom running and hiding? Hey! When we attack, everyone - and I mean everyone! just hides or runs or wet themselves. You can't just call the local council for help when WE come to town! But hey - it's just entertainment. It's a film OK? It's not the best action film this century - look kids that's not due for release till 2057 - trust me - I know! A 10 should mean tip-top acting and perfect photography. And it's not the worst film since you guys discovered celluloid. Like I said, it's entertainment and boy most folks are entertained! You forget the mortgage for 116 minutes - admit it. I don't know why some of you claim to stand and boo half way through - you've paid your money so sit and relax and watch me and the boys have a real good time rampaging about. Anyway, I've said enough for now. We're off now to do over another titchy planet - and those guys taste pretty good too. Expand
  75. GeorgeS.
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    The ending is plausible, given the source material, but the film defies the book and reaches for a whole new level thanks to the brilliant under currents the film built. Gripping and menaning!
  76. ElizabethH.
    Jul 3, 2005
    9
    War of the Worlds is a very good movie. The acting, picture, and story are all good. The only negative aspect is that the ending is bad.
  77. J.T.L.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    One of the best summer movies in recent memory. Tom Cruise was perfect in the lead and the visuals are stunning. The ending is perfect and anybody that doesn't think so is just ignorant to facts of the world. This movie is a great time as proof by the critics reviews above. The book is short, read it if you're unsure whether to go or not. Especially the end of the book because One of the best summer movies in recent memory. Tom Cruise was perfect in the lead and the visuals are stunning. The ending is perfect and anybody that doesn't think so is just ignorant to facts of the world. This movie is a great time as proof by the critics reviews above. The book is short, read it if you're unsure whether to go or not. Especially the end of the book because the movie is extremely faithful to it. Expand
  78. Tonydannie
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    This is the Spielberg film I have been waiting for! No more nice aliens. The visuals are amazing and Tom cruise once again proves he is a great actor on the silver screen(How ever wierd he acts in real life). It was a tad short but the film left me satisfied. One of the best films of the year next to Batman Begins, SW episode 3, and Sin City. Go see it if you are looking for a great time.
  79. Fabio
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    what a great movie!!! spectacular visuals, great direction,good acting,110 minutes of suspense... one of the best movies of the year.
  80. Picky
    Jul 3, 2005
    8
    Dakota: Annoying, but so are most 10 year olds. Bi-polar brother: Sadly, a true representation of this generation of heroic yet psychotic kids. Cruise: not bad, same emotional macho guy he always plays Aliens...awesome. Simply cool The ending sucks? That's how the story always ends and has always been War of the World's weak point. I'm shocked that some people are upset Dakota: Annoying, but so are most 10 year olds. Bi-polar brother: Sadly, a true representation of this generation of heroic yet psychotic kids. Cruise: not bad, same emotional macho guy he always plays Aliens...awesome. Simply cool The ending sucks? That's how the story always ends and has always been War of the World's weak point. I'm shocked that some people are upset over this...c'mon don't you know the story? Otherwise, the movie has a nice creepy edge throughout and some good emotional pull. This is much better than Independence day...now that was a dumb movie! Expand
  81. SaketRam
    Jul 3, 2005
    9
    I enjoyed War of the Worlds, and find it to be a compelling piece of modern science fiction vision. I have also noted that many viewers feel that it is one dimensional, however the film is a masquerading act. What we think is really just an alien invasion story, is actually the Holocaust metaphorically represented by Steven Spielberg. What we think is a family with problems is an avenue I enjoyed War of the Worlds, and find it to be a compelling piece of modern science fiction vision. I have also noted that many viewers feel that it is one dimensional, however the film is a masquerading act. What we think is really just an alien invasion story, is actually the Holocaust metaphorically represented by Steven Spielberg. What we think is a family with problems is an avenue for Spielberg to inform us of the dangers of neglective parenting and divorce. And lastly, the film is a dire warning against War in all its forms - no country should invade another country for any reason, otherwise they will they will suffer an unanimous defeat. However, even negating all these social concerns, War of the Worlds is an extremely effective thriller - a personal saga of retribution at all odds that includes some wonderful camera work and special effects. A wonderful film. Expand
  82. NickG.
    Jul 3, 2005
    8
    It's not one of those movies that makes you think. I don't think every movie has to be like that. It gives you believable characters who you come to get attached to early in their adventure. And the movie is TENSE! Invokes a lot of emotion. I really found myself rooting for these characters. A great way to spend two hours: in an adventure.
  83. EfeB.
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    Quite a good and powerful film by spielberg yet again. dont pay attention to the reviews who compare the film to the book. a book is a book and a film is a film. the ending is not a spielberg ending but a h.g wells ending, so please dont crap on steven! he is just being loyal to the writer. i love the ridiculous reviews of how people say this film is 'realistic'...how can it beQuite a good and powerful film by spielberg yet again. dont pay attention to the reviews who compare the film to the book. a book is a book and a film is a film. the ending is not a spielberg ending but a h.g wells ending, so please dont crap on steven! he is just being loyal to the writer. i love the ridiculous reviews of how people say this film is 'realistic'...how can it be realistic when nobody knows what an alien invasion is and will look and feel like? lets just say it is 'imagined' in a convincing manner. this what makes the film great and disturbing at the same time. more so than the aliens, we are shown to believe that humans also are pretty scary under stress and panic. quite a few scenes are very powerfull in this sense of the word, steven taps into human behaviour and psychology...it is extremelly dark and pessimistic. i was in manhattan on the day of 9-11...nobody grabbed a gun and shot their neighbour...so, i rather be optimistic about human nature in times of chaos and dissaster and that is not very cinematic i guess, spielberg went down the 'dark side of the force' if you catch my drift. this is tom cruises best performance...ever. tim robbins however sticks out like a pokemon, with his immature facial mimics and fake pirate grunt voice. infact, the entire tim robbins scenes could have been left out without hurting the story or pace. the ending is quite good and almost humorous as wells had concieved it but on film it feels a bit rushed. the aliens die too soon and quick and lacking the visual splendour while dying. it would have been better to see not just the american town view but the global view these aliens made impact on. the movie needed to be at least 30 minutes longer, to fully feed us the alien invasion cake...but we took a bite and loved it none the less. i hope steven does not loose his charming sense of humor and child like quality by making so called mature movies he seems to be doing now, because of years and years of newspaper critics calling him a pop-corn director...he is screaming out for respect it seems. which obviously, he doesnt need to...we all know HE is the man. also, the john williams score is pretty good, like always. Expand
  84. TonyB.
    Jul 4, 2005
    7
    It was entertaining. That's really all I wanted from it. I think it was fairly bipolar in parts that really hit home, and parts that really didn't. The beginning invasion really gave a sense on dread an all encompassing, you can't run away doom. But they kinda killed that by letting the characters run away down the highway to be safe for a while... The ending was needlessly It was entertaining. That's really all I wanted from it. I think it was fairly bipolar in parts that really hit home, and parts that really didn't. The beginning invasion really gave a sense on dread an all encompassing, you can't run away doom. But they kinda killed that by letting the characters run away down the highway to be safe for a while... The ending was needlessly apologetic...I don't think the audience needed to see a full family reunion... But I have to agree on the CGI...seamless. and I'm not a big fan of CGI. Expand
  85. JamesM
    Jul 4, 2005
    7
    Once again, Spielberg crafts an incredible, visceral, and thought-provoking film, and then entirely botches the ending (Minority Report, anyone?) He just can't resist the sappy, heartwarming ending, and it absolutely clashes with the feel of the rest of the movie. If you leave the theater 15 minutes before the end, you'll call it the best movie you've seen this year, maybe Once again, Spielberg crafts an incredible, visceral, and thought-provoking film, and then entirely botches the ending (Minority Report, anyone?) He just can't resist the sappy, heartwarming ending, and it absolutely clashes with the feel of the rest of the movie. If you leave the theater 15 minutes before the end, you'll call it the best movie you've seen this year, maybe even last year. Stick around, and you'll feel entirely cheated out of your ticket money. Don't say I didn't warn you. Expand
  86. PeterR.
    Jul 4, 2005
    9
    Closer to "Signs" then "Independence Day". Odds are your feelings towards those films will define which camp you are in regarding this film. My take is that the acting, the flow, the effects, the score, and the re-interpretation of the novel are dead on. Finally a "small, big" science-fiction movie. And please, as Roger Ebert struggles to need answers to all of the aspects of Tripod Closer to "Signs" then "Independence Day". Odds are your feelings towards those films will define which camp you are in regarding this film. My take is that the acting, the flow, the effects, the score, and the re-interpretation of the novel are dead on. Finally a "small, big" science-fiction movie. And please, as Roger Ebert struggles to need answers to all of the aspects of Tripod mechanics, it is a movie about an alien invasion. The mechanics are unimportant; the emotion of defeding your life and the ones you love is real, very real. Focus on what matters and you'll have a great time. Expand
  87. Brutus
    Jul 4, 2005
    7
    Effectively a fairly exciting horror movie, with some pretty lame (and depressing) family melodrama thrown in. The effects are spectacular, but not exactly original any more. One star off for the endless screaming and moody pouting from the two children involved. I was fervently hoping they would get vaporized as soon as possible. The whole family drama of separated stereotypical parents Effectively a fairly exciting horror movie, with some pretty lame (and depressing) family melodrama thrown in. The effects are spectacular, but not exactly original any more. One star off for the endless screaming and moody pouting from the two children involved. I was fervently hoping they would get vaporized as soon as possible. The whole family drama of separated stereotypical parents (dysfunctional working class father/hero, smug and self-assured middle class mother/madonna) and alienated kids reeked of Hollywood by numbers. Spieberg once again underlines his credentials as the most monumental B-grade director in history. Cruise more or less confirms that he is probably better cast as a villian (eg Collateral) as he seems to have a knack for showing us the dark side under his charm.Tim Robbins rolls his eyes, gibbers and overacts to high heaven in the endless cellar sequence. The attempted symbolism about terrorism and American values (guns, cars, houses, marriage etc) is also pretty ham-fisted - but this isn't a subtle show, so that hardly matters. Way too scary for kids, the PG13 rating is deserved. Expand
  88. PA
    Jul 5, 2005
    9
    The film was decent, the sort of film you go to for the special effects, it was the big summer blockbuster, i was somewhat disapointed by the end, but then its an adaption, spielberg can hardly change the plotline, the abrupt ending was a disapointment on screen, but it ends like that in the book so its expected, shame it wasn't set in the same place as the book however, woking is a The film was decent, the sort of film you go to for the special effects, it was the big summer blockbuster, i was somewhat disapointed by the end, but then its an adaption, spielberg can hardly change the plotline, the abrupt ending was a disapointment on screen, but it ends like that in the book so its expected, shame it wasn't set in the same place as the book however, woking is a much nicer place Expand
  89. TerryD.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Wow, all these negative reviews. Have any of these people actually read the HG Wells novel? If they had they would see that Spielberg stayed true to the classic work while realizing the invading aliens as Wells could never have imagined. He modernized a few things like not mentioning Mars (we now know there is no life there) and the way the aliens got here (we would have seen any space Wow, all these negative reviews. Have any of these people actually read the HG Wells novel? If they had they would see that Spielberg stayed true to the classic work while realizing the invading aliens as Wells could never have imagined. He modernized a few things like not mentioning Mars (we now know there is no life there) and the way the aliens got here (we would have seen any space ships or meteors coming). Additionally he invented some characters to relate to - very important otherwise you end up with nothing but effects. This is simply outstanding film-making as all of Spielberg Expand
  90. SeanF.
    Jul 5, 2005
    9
    Personally i thought it was a very entertaining movie. There were some plot problems, but anyone who has ever been to a big summer movie before could have guessed that was coming. As far as the previous reviewer who commented that he's surprised studio execs didn't rip up the script, have you seen most of the crap Hollywood puts out? Might I remind you someone greenlit "Deuce Personally i thought it was a very entertaining movie. There were some plot problems, but anyone who has ever been to a big summer movie before could have guessed that was coming. As far as the previous reviewer who commented that he's surprised studio execs didn't rip up the script, have you seen most of the crap Hollywood puts out? Might I remind you someone greenlit "Deuce Bigalow: European Gigolo." I felt the ending made perfect sense, given the aliens far superior technololgy, there was no way that we would have beat them on our own that wouldn't have also had the same people complaining. The effects are breathtaking and the acting is great. Go see it if you are capable of having fun at the movies. Do not go if you are the sort of person who has so little to do with their time that you would think it a good idea to sit around analyzing every minute detail of a popcorn movie. Expand
  91. Wayne
    Jul 6, 2005
    9
    A fantastic film that I thoroughly enjoyed. The entrance of the tripods was stunning, the death ray was better than I expected and it follows the book, something the original film didn't. The terraforming is an obvious, yet brilliant scene and Cruise's performance grounds the film in reality. Dakota Fanning is a convincing actress. The only downer is when the son returns and the A fantastic film that I thoroughly enjoyed. The entrance of the tripods was stunning, the death ray was better than I expected and it follows the book, something the original film didn't. The terraforming is an obvious, yet brilliant scene and Cruise's performance grounds the film in reality. Dakota Fanning is a convincing actress. The only downer is when the son returns and the "Eye" doesn't look alien enough. However, I believe Spielberg did a great job with this and I can't wait to see it again. Expand
  92. ZachS.
    Jul 6, 2005
    8
    Showers of clothes notwithstanding, this is a beautifully, terrifyingly real vision of the world's destruction.
  93. EdwardE.
    Jul 6, 2005
    7
    Despite the "We've run out of money, let's wrap it up" ending, the film is dark & strangely violent for Spielburg. I enjoyed it but, what is UP with the last 10 minutes of the movie? One of the worst endings ever.
  94. MikeJ
    Jul 7, 2005
    9
    Outstanding. Never a dull moment, holds you from start to finish. Fastest 116 minutes I've ever experienced. The best CG I've ever seen. Can't wait for the DVD.
  95. JimmyK
    Jul 8, 2005
    7
    Great entertainment....works really well and totally "could happen" then they go and put a face to the "alien" and it ruins it. i hate it when this happens.
  96. davidc.
    Jul 8, 2005
    7
    The film starts great but after the halfway point it begins to bore and you really dont care for the main characterscome the end average film well overhyped.
  97. DrakeD.
    Aug 10, 2005
    9
    Creepy, scary, and really fun! but what really made me think is how did they get so lucky? everyone else was getting killed and zapped, but they were getting away and running. great movie!
  98. JustinS
    Aug 2, 2005
    10
    ALOT OF FUN, NUFF SAID!
  99. poopinator
    Aug 3, 2005
    10
    Wow, a lot of negativity here. It almost sounds like people went into the movie expecting to hate it and then nitpicked at every little thing to justify why they don't like it. Stop analyzing this movie like an art house film and enjoy it for what it is - a fun, summer, Hollywood blockbuster. And anyone who thinks this is Spielberg's worst must not have seen Hook, Amistad, The Wow, a lot of negativity here. It almost sounds like people went into the movie expecting to hate it and then nitpicked at every little thing to justify why they don't like it. Stop analyzing this movie like an art house film and enjoy it for what it is - a fun, summer, Hollywood blockbuster. And anyone who thinks this is Spielberg's worst must not have seen Hook, Amistad, The Terminal, AI, etc. Expand
  100. MatthewJ.
    Aug 30, 2005
    9
    Great movie...in the vein of other great horror remakes like Invasion of the body snatchers and the thing!
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 70
    In an unfortunate case of star casting, Cruise strains credibility as a hard-edged Jersey dockworker.
  2. Might be too realistic for its own good: The film takes perhaps a little too much glee in its abilities to manufacture mayhem. That being said, the ride is extraordinary.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    A gritty, intense and supremely accomplished sci-fier.