Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2005
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1039 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
729
Mixed:
130
Negative:
180
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give this a 9.5 out if 10. Acting is good. Not amazing, but everyone does a good job. Score was really good. Had an incredible story. It also has really good special effects and great set pieces. Overall, this is a reallyFirst off, I would give this a 9.5 out if 10. Acting is good. Not amazing, but everyone does a good job. Score was really good. Had an incredible story. It also has really good special effects and great set pieces. Overall, this is a really good movie. Great movie, and one of my favorite Tom cruise movie. Highly recommended. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
DavidV293Apr 17, 2015
This movie is one my favorite movies of all time. Love every bit of it. Tom Cruise actually killed the role and the little girl did it too. To be honest this my favorite movie because it has suspense and some scenes just left me breathless.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
smijatovJun 26, 2011
If anyone can make an amazing blockbuster, it is Spielberg, and he has proven this once again. Overall, this is a rather good film. Technically - simply stunning. Great visual effects, sound and cinematography make it a pleasure to watch. ItIf anyone can make an amazing blockbuster, it is Spielberg, and he has proven this once again. Overall, this is a rather good film. Technically - simply stunning. Great visual effects, sound and cinematography make it a pleasure to watch. It is one of the rare blockbusters that are actually decent when it comes to the plot, also. Ironically enough, the screenplay is also its weakest point. I was especially annoyed with the ending and the "happy family" crap. The demise of the aliens also came a bit too suddenly, and Spielberg could have made the transition more subtle, more intense. Nonetheless, "War of the Worlds" is going to be definitely one of the many blockbusters of Spielberg's that is going to be remembered as a good, entertaining, and thrilling film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CollinPNov 13, 2009
The ending was indeed lame, but taken exactly from the book. You got a problem with the ending, take it up with H.G. Wells. In terms of "disaster" movies, this is as good as they get - Spielberg is a master filmmaker. It has heart, The ending was indeed lame, but taken exactly from the book. You got a problem with the ending, take it up with H.G. Wells. In terms of "disaster" movies, this is as good as they get - Spielberg is a master filmmaker. It has heart, adventure, and terror not seen in normal movies of the same ilk. All in all, a worthy picture. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
MovieReviewsMay 17, 2014
War of the Worlds is a near perfect experience however, I had some hard time getting into the visual effects because for some reason I couldn't like the CGI in this movie, I am not saying that the CGI bad but it is out of my league. Despite,War of the Worlds is a near perfect experience however, I had some hard time getting into the visual effects because for some reason I couldn't like the CGI in this movie, I am not saying that the CGI bad but it is out of my league. Despite, the movie is one of the best science fictions in recent memory, it is clever, tense and leaves at the edge of your seat. However, I am not used to seeing a Steven Spielberg film that is so hardcore and heartless, so I would consider this movie Spielberg's weakest. On the other hand, I would consider it a distinct achievement in movie history of Sci-Fi. It is recommended, other than some weak CGI, it is a wonderful popcorn B movie! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
TrevorLJul 31, 2008
Visceral, vile, repulsive and totally awesome. Alien meets the Nazi death camps. And the creepy sound effects as the tripods processed and disgorged human blood towards the conclusion freaked me out-it was the sound of death.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
busbfranDec 26, 2013
War Of The Worlds has defined alien/action movies, whilst setting a new bench mark that continues to be undefeated. Tom Cruise has performed to his A game in which could be his best acting to date, the whole cast was exceptional and they workWar Of The Worlds has defined alien/action movies, whilst setting a new bench mark that continues to be undefeated. Tom Cruise has performed to his A game in which could be his best acting to date, the whole cast was exceptional and they work well together. War Of The Worlds is a action pack adventure of the survival of humanity on its last breath from extinction via the threat of alien invaders. This is a must watch for all Si-fi fans and a great movie to watch with family/friends. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JacquiePAug 31, 2005
Great mood setting before the big storm, great special effects! Yes, story has a few plot holes (the ending gets a thumbs down) where you must suspend your disbelief, but come on, it's very entertaining! Worth seeing on the big screen Great mood setting before the big storm, great special effects! Yes, story has a few plot holes (the ending gets a thumbs down) where you must suspend your disbelief, but come on, it's very entertaining! Worth seeing on the big screen for all the effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CAENTDec 6, 2005
First off, the special effects were amazing. Nothing released on DVD has come this close to blowing you away. The buildings collapsing, aliens, UFO's, explotions etc, were spectacular! The acting, especially by Cruz and the little girl, First off, the special effects were amazing. Nothing released on DVD has come this close to blowing you away. The buildings collapsing, aliens, UFO's, explotions etc, were spectacular! The acting, especially by Cruz and the little girl, were Oscar worthy. The story, is were this film falls short. Packed with tons of suspense and action, this movie was great. But there were tons of holes throughout the movie, that made this fall short of a perfect film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
marshallmOct 20, 2005
It was great! there was some minor problems with it that keep it from being a classic, but still, amazing entertainment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArnieG.Jun 30, 2005
One of the tensest movies I have ever seen. Like Spielbergs last 2 sci-fi movies, A.I and Minority Report, it would have been superb if not for a shit ending. Why can't Spielberg just show some balls and try to end on a dark note. He One of the tensest movies I have ever seen. Like Spielbergs last 2 sci-fi movies, A.I and Minority Report, it would have been superb if not for a shit ending. Why can't Spielberg just show some balls and try to end on a dark note. He seems to have the ability to go dark until when it really matters; the ending. oh well, it was still one of the better action films of all time despite the borderline horrendous ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewJ.Aug 30, 2005
Great movie...in the vein of other great horror remakes like Invasion of the body snatchers and the thing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ColinB.Jan 23, 2006
I gave this movie a 7/10. The movie itself is ok, however it had some "problems" with it that I found hurt the movie quite badly. First off, you know how you get those movies such as this one where someone (usually aliens) is trying to kick I gave this movie a 7/10. The movie itself is ok, however it had some "problems" with it that I found hurt the movie quite badly. First off, you know how you get those movies such as this one where someone (usually aliens) is trying to kick the human races ass, and it happens - so you sit through it for maybe half or even two thirds of the film, then you get the payoff of the satisfaction of watching us "get our own back"? Well, this is one of those rare movies where you never get this payoff. (it's a bit like the Animatrix Episode "The 2nd Renaissance" or even the Matrix Trilogy itself) What you're treated to is the human race having it's ass handed to it for 90 minutes then the attackers basically just die, at the hands of a virus (I think it was the common cold... :|). The only remotely satisfying bit of them taking any flack is near the end when one is already half dead and the army take it out with rocket launchers. The other problem is that the film seems to lose it's way about half way through, with a pretty pointless bit involiving a nutter hiding in his basement, though this part does have some quite well executed suspense momemts. As always with Spielberg you can expect awesome special effects and all that, and you will probably feel some emotions, probably anger because a lot of people do get killed and not much happens to the attackers. One thing I did like though was the attitude of the son in the movie, his desire to follow the army into the heat to try and get some sort of vengeance pretty much summed up my feelings while watching the movie, like I said though, you never really get this. Overall a decent movie, probably one I might buy on DVD but it could have been a lot better in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ritaj.Jan 5, 2006
The movie was excellent, but the dvd does not have much to offer besides the movie itself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnFeb 2, 2006
I think it was a really good film actually, Only disapointing bit for me was maybe the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CliffordF.Mar 27, 2007
I love this film! Spielberg yet again delivers another masterpiece in the form of an inpsired story with a good ending. Visual effects are awesome and the aliens attacking everyone bring an apocalyptic feeling to it. Tom Cruise has a good I love this film! Spielberg yet again delivers another masterpiece in the form of an inpsired story with a good ending. Visual effects are awesome and the aliens attacking everyone bring an apocalyptic feeling to it. Tom Cruise has a good role as Ray. John Williams' score also gives the menacing atmosphere to the film. Excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ConnerSJan 4, 2008
Holy crap this was good! This is like the best movie ever. the acting was phenominal (especially tom and decota) and the effects were so realistic! For those of you who gave it low ratings, you obviously did not understand the sybolism Holy crap this was good! This is like the best movie ever. the acting was phenominal (especially tom and decota) and the effects were so realistic! For those of you who gave it low ratings, you obviously did not understand the sybolism entwind in the plot. To Adam e.- nobody found a tripod because the aliens were smart enough to put them in the ground deep enough so no one would find them, Robbie is a smart kid he figured out something, The aliens didn't notice the desieases because the were arrogent and only focused on wepons, THey store people because they need to spread the blood everywere, not just all at once, who cares if they're nude (YOUR MISSING THE POINT!), the airplane crashed a little bit away and slid into the house, You would scream to if you were being attacked by bloodthirsty aliens, and the clothes show that the aliens are so sofisticatied and interested in our planet, that all they want to do is get rid of us, not anything else! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
basc.Nov 21, 2005
Great is all I can say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyLNov 20, 2005
A great escapist movie. To anyone who gave this film a 0, I pity you and your attempt to think that anyone cares. Stop with all the negative reviews, there was nothing bad about this film and you know it. I makes me angry to know people like A great escapist movie. To anyone who gave this film a 0, I pity you and your attempt to think that anyone cares. Stop with all the negative reviews, there was nothing bad about this film and you know it. I makes me angry to know people like you have source to post your opinions on the internet, only to warp the movie. This was in no way a bad movie, but an amazing achievement. Want a bad movie, go see basically any other movie this summer. Suck me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SebastianB.Nov 23, 2005
This was a great movie! excellent special effects, and Tom Cruise did a great job in this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
patrickd.Nov 23, 2005
It was hard to breathe with all the thrills.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
camn.Nov 28, 2005
I watched this again on DVD, and on second viewing it gets better. The ending is truly ridiculous and abrupt, but Spielberg shouldn't be hammered too hard for that. I am not a Tom Cruise fan at all, but I do want to point out one thing: I watched this again on DVD, and on second viewing it gets better. The ending is truly ridiculous and abrupt, but Spielberg shouldn't be hammered too hard for that. I am not a Tom Cruise fan at all, but I do want to point out one thing: if my kids and ex-wife were such ungrateful jerks I would be a prick too. The son keeps saying that Cruise wants to dump them on their mother, and seeing how they disrespect him every chance they get I would feel that way too. The movie could have been so much more...but it is NOT a colossal failure. One other thing..The whole Tim Robbins episode was just not kosher....I could never shake the knowledge that it was an actor and not a psychotic survivalist. I hope they use similar effects for the inevitable Half-Life movie. Tripods are in that game too. Overall, worth a rental. Next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NicholasHDec 3, 2005
== Could contain spoilers == I recently re-watched "War of the Worlds" on DVD, and I was once again reminded of why I enjoyed this film. The atmosphere is amazingly tense, and all but the most jaded of us will find themselves sitting on the == Could contain spoilers == I recently re-watched "War of the Worlds" on DVD, and I was once again reminded of why I enjoyed this film. The atmosphere is amazingly tense, and all but the most jaded of us will find themselves sitting on the edge of their seats throughout the duration of this film. What Spielberg does, and does so very well, is he creates an overwhelming sense of dread. The film has a dingy quality about it, making the audience believe that they and the characters are in the fog of war. It Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomHDec 3, 2005
Sweet!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
War of the Worlds is everything I was expecting it to be, the acting is excellent, the special effects are first rate and the movie is technically masterfull. Spielberg doesn't dissapoint and makes the plot holes dissapear with tense War of the Worlds is everything I was expecting it to be, the acting is excellent, the special effects are first rate and the movie is technically masterfull. Spielberg doesn't dissapoint and makes the plot holes dissapear with tense action scenes that made my adrenaline go up the roof. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mixl.Jul 12, 2005
Gorgeous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
misterrobotoSep 22, 2005
I loved it! it is one of my favorite movies of all time. the acting and the ending were both pretty bad, but for someone who has read and loves the book, this movie did some great things.First of all, it gave me (and many people i know) an I loved it! it is one of my favorite movies of all time. the acting and the ending were both pretty bad, but for someone who has read and loves the book, this movie did some great things.First of all, it gave me (and many people i know) an intense feeling of uneasiness and foreboding, especially the scene when the first tripod emerges from the ground.The best thing this movie did was to create an interesting and terrifying interpretation of the tripods. This is the only film in history that has managed to do Wells' tripods justice. All in all, this movie could have been better, but it also could have been a lot worse! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimboDimboSep 6, 2005
Those who gave this movie a 0 are trying too hard to be critics. Sit down, shut up, and enjoy the movie. I absolutely loved this film, every second of it. Yeah, the ending was a little shoddy and the acting was a bit off, but if you look at Those who gave this movie a 0 are trying too hard to be critics. Sit down, shut up, and enjoy the movie. I absolutely loved this film, every second of it. Yeah, the ending was a little shoddy and the acting was a bit off, but if you look at the big picture, all is forgiven.. The special effects were simply amazing, and the story was definitely on par, despite was the stiffs are saying. You want a big, convulted plot? Watch a different movie. This flick is about survival... and running away from aliens. And I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettC.Jul 6, 2006
Great movie Steven does it again. Its now on my top ten with KIng Kong, Revenge of the sith and Saving Private Ryan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ETCCCMar 30, 2007
Spielberg's rendering of a sci fi nightmare is simply stunning. His mastery of visual effects and composition is amazing. Sure the acting (except for a fine performance by Dakota Fanning) is lame. But don't see it for character Spielberg's rendering of a sci fi nightmare is simply stunning. His mastery of visual effects and composition is amazing. Sure the acting (except for a fine performance by Dakota Fanning) is lame. But don't see it for character development; see it to watch our world being destroyed by big things... and rescued by little things. A visual treat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
guy!Sep 2, 2007
True, this film doesn't quite compare to Spielbergs' other works, but that doesn't mean it isn't good! I liked the apacoliptic feeling of the 'war', and Spielbergs' message that there is more in a war than True, this film doesn't quite compare to Spielbergs' other works, but that doesn't mean it isn't good! I liked the apacoliptic feeling of the 'war', and Spielbergs' message that there is more in a war than just guns and blood and hi-tech gadgets. Now for the cons: [Spoiler warning] why didn't the aliens die of the bacteria when they first came to earth? They didn't really explain that. And what was up with that kid? He wanted to abandon his family just to watch the soldiers fight? Wake up man! You're about to die! [end spoilers]. Having said that, perfect way for Spielberg to return. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marcusNov 14, 2005
It was the best movie i have seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenONov 22, 2005
AMAZING FILM.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatyO.Nov 28, 2005
I LOVED THE MOVIE. I could so tell it was a Spielburg movie!!! I think Tom cruise was wonderful. Dakota Fanning was so good in it, and if Justin got any hotter I would have DIED!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
andrews.Dec 1, 2005
Great scary at time movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AryaG.Dec 17, 2005
I loved this movie it was a really awsom movie and tom cruise is so sexy and hot i love him and this movie!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sharoh.Dec 27, 2005
I thought it was a great movie I got sort of scared with big alaans as I would say people should watch this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TaraGDec 3, 2005
I really liked it. It was entertaining and a lot of the comments that I read were true, but things that I didnt notice while watching it. Ya, the acting was bad but it didnt seem to matter because the story as a whole was pretty cool. I really liked it. It was entertaining and a lot of the comments that I read were true, but things that I didnt notice while watching it. Ya, the acting was bad but it didnt seem to matter because the story as a whole was pretty cool. Basically, one can tear any movie apart but looking at this one as a whole, it was good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewP.Dec 8, 2005
Fantastic re-telling of the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinC.Sep 11, 2005
Hands down, the best movie of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardY.Mar 22, 2006
Some need to realize that it's difficult to transfer an 1898-set story to a 2005-set story. Most families are like that. The girl got annoying, and I got a little monotonously lethargic about the bickering, and the van was unrealistic, Some need to realize that it's difficult to transfer an 1898-set story to a 2005-set story. Most families are like that. The girl got annoying, and I got a little monotonously lethargic about the bickering, and the van was unrealistic, how it could survive all of that calamity but be hijacked. I was also disappointed in the Martians; nothing like Wells described. Pendragon's version meets that dead-on. Those are the only downsides, and all the rest is accurate, even, yes, folks, the ending. Even the book ended it that abruptly, in the spanse of a meer chapter. I however do think it would be neat if they switched: Pendragon would have Spielberg's budget, to do a completely FAITHFUL and REALISTIC retelling of the novel, and Paramount would do a low-budget modernized tale. But, with what is had, War of the Worlds is one of those films that comes to mind as you're falling asleep exhausted (comparing to how the characters must have felt, stumbling right back into danger). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JalilS.May 18, 2006
this movie is the return of spielberg to his roots.spielberg is characteristic of making suvivor type of movies that include some thrilling and thats what a lot of people enjoy watching
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DenonL.Nov 21, 2005
Best damn movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
maryNov 21, 2005
Goergous movie. Cruise -Spielberg collaborations are productives. Very good acting and direction. The tripods look fabulous. I love this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JakeDec 18, 2005
Most of the blame for this movie not being as good as it should have been lies with David Keopp, the screen writer. Having written the screenplays of many successful action movies (Jurassic Park, Mission: Impossible, Spider-Man, etc.) he Most of the blame for this movie not being as good as it should have been lies with David Keopp, the screen writer. Having written the screenplays of many successful action movies (Jurassic Park, Mission: Impossible, Spider-Man, etc.) he definately knows how to write a story around a montage of action shots......usually decent, he seems to have left his script for War of the Worlds unfinished, judging from the way the story ends so suddenly and without a major climax. All of the inconsistencies and the convienient plot wholes (the son disappoears for the final third only to be at home at the end? WTF!!!) are his fault, and Spielberg can only be blamed for accepting such an average screenplay.....at the hands of someone else, this story could have been very compelling....and it had some moments, mostly thanks to Steve, where it was (the scene where the van gets mobbed! That was some great stuff!). It was entertaining, and the action was great, but I just can't get over the fact the story could have been much, much better! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CJonesDec 29, 2005
Very intense! I enjoyed every minute of it. The 0 scores are just plain ridiculous. Even if you don't like the the original HG Wells story, you have to give it props for the mind blowing special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RONGIUDec 3, 2011
Lightning storm.

"At the end of the nineteenth century no one would believe that things of the earth were keenly and closely by intelligences greater than those observed in men ... » HERBERT GEORGE WELLS Man is able to
Lightning storm.

"At the end of the nineteenth century no one would believe that things of the earth were keenly and closely by intelligences greater than those observed in men ... »

HERBERT GEORGE WELLS

Man is able to theorize, invent, build. It can create. The creation is quite another thing, is not yet within his reach, and perhaps never will be and maybe it's all well and good. "The War of the Worlds" has a deeper meaning in itself, rigid, introverted.

And 'the act of the mirror, I understand, the true ruler of the narrative, that's where you find the starting point to delve into a story far from simple you see, do not listen / emotionally strong, because for many verse in terms of asynchronous communication and achromatic visual one. Dropped the mirror, as perverse as a catalyst for feelings is healthy nothingness, absence, emptiness.

But, man, that's true, that is not wounded and bent soul immortality by an irresistible urge to imperialism, still able to find in the tears of a child, to give the world a teenager hungry for love of one's gender it is from this type of man that the world expects to see the spark to rise to a new time dimension.

This world, upon reflection, is chock full of tripods as small as powerful for their destructive capacity. We begin our defuse; those from higher intelligence to us, we can do, quietly without.

Good Click!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobFeb 23, 2014
The film doesn’t have much substance but it is still pretty entertaining. The film is well shot and knows how to pull at your heart strings. If you want good visuals, emotional connection, and be midly entertained check this out. If you wantThe film doesn’t have much substance but it is still pretty entertaining. The film is well shot and knows how to pull at your heart strings. If you want good visuals, emotional connection, and be midly entertained check this out. If you want something more sophisticated this isn’t it is just one long chase/survival movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CollinPJul 18, 2012
The ending was indeed lame, but taken exactly from the book. You got a problem with the ending, take it up with H.G. Wells. In terms of "disaster" movies, this is as good as they get - Spielberg is a master filmmaker. It has heart, adventure,The ending was indeed lame, but taken exactly from the book. You got a problem with the ending, take it up with H.G. Wells. In terms of "disaster" movies, this is as good as they get - Spielberg is a master filmmaker. It has heart, adventure, and terror (a river of dead people!!) not seen in normal movies of the same ilk. All in all, a worthy picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuJul 6, 2014
When I first saw War of the Worlds at the time of release, I thought; "meh... It's alright". At that time I was young and single. I'm now married with two daughters. When I returned to the film recently, it had a much more profound effect onWhen I first saw War of the Worlds at the time of release, I thought; "meh... It's alright". At that time I was young and single. I'm now married with two daughters. When I returned to the film recently, it had a much more profound effect on me. The family stuff was riveting and the action sequences actually quite terrifying. I guess being able to identify with the movie's themes makes all the difference! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JAM123Oct 22, 2011
Amazing movie! Steven Spielberg yet again, brings his movie magic to the big screen and astonishes us all. Amazing special effects(helped by the big budget) was only one of the many characteristics that made it an unforgettable movie. AmazingAmazing movie! Steven Spielberg yet again, brings his movie magic to the big screen and astonishes us all. Amazing special effects(helped by the big budget) was only one of the many characteristics that made it an unforgettable movie. Amazing plot line and awesome cast was what made it an awesome film. The cast included Tom Cruise, Dakota Fanning, and a lot more. The plotline of this sweet alien invasion adaption of H.G. Wells' 1898 award winning classic novel is another of Steven Spielbergs masterpieces and great adaptions to books. Like Minority report this one made it, with a four star rating and a 73/100 on this website. In this movie the world really is invaded. A lot of destruction and devestation in this horror/sci-fi about a dad trying to find a safe haven for his two children. I love this movie and highly reccommend to all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DukeJonOct 1, 2014
A great film, faithfully recreating the essence of the book. Tense and forboding throughout, the Martiain invasion is brilliantly paced and handled expertly. Cruise gives a workmanlike performance. The ending, however, is dissapointing andA great film, faithfully recreating the essence of the book. Tense and forboding throughout, the Martiain invasion is brilliantly paced and handled expertly. Cruise gives a workmanlike performance. The ending, however, is dissapointing and although it follows the book closely I do feel they wrapped it all up too quickly. One of my favourite science fiction films of recent years Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EssenceOfSugarFeb 14, 2012
I could see that the expectations for this sort of film would be mixed, but, for me, in a sense, I was optimistic about seeing Tom Cruise in a different film rather than Mission:Impossible. Funnily enough, Spielberg managed to pull if off,I could see that the expectations for this sort of film would be mixed, but, for me, in a sense, I was optimistic about seeing Tom Cruise in a different film rather than Mission:Impossible. Funnily enough, Spielberg managed to pull if off, especially filming an American adaptation. But that didn't bother me, because I was gripped more or less by the time the tripods arrived. There are quite a few unnerving moments which made my skin crawl. It was worth watching, because it felt quite real, especially how the characters were feeling. A thrilling ride - Tom Cruise should do more of this. Great how the Americans could have a shot at this. The special effects were mind-blowing.The beginning felt a little stretched out, but at least the pace was relaxed halfway through the film. Overall, a film definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jedi_JettsonDec 28, 2011
Great movie and I'm very much impressed with Steven Spielberg's work and the visual effects. It takes the survival and family plot seriously. Its also one hell of a thrill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
javis10Dec 14, 2011
I've alreday watched the film of 1953, it was enterteining, but the adaptation was awful as well the story. But this one was better. Enterteining, awesome, the effects are thrilling and the story too. Steven Spielberg will always make good movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaSep 12, 2014
A good movie in my opinion: dark, beautiful, stunningly visualized. Even if there's a happy ending of sorts to be found, I think the whole world of the film was pretty real in its cruelness.

I was expecting a longer beginning before the
A good movie in my opinion: dark, beautiful, stunningly visualized. Even if there's a happy ending of sorts to be found, I think the whole world of the film was pretty real in its cruelness.

I was expecting a longer beginning before the actual action began to take place, but was surprised how quickly things got onto move - and after that, there was not a moment of peace before the ending titles.

The movie seems to lack something, but I think it's mostly because most of the questions remained unanswered. It is not the mission of the movie to give us everything, though, and it makes your mind work rather than leaves it numb and bored. I can imagine watching this many times again, and perhaps find something new in the chaotic attempt of survival.

The actual plot might have a little more in it, but then again, the concept of the movie doesn't really allow that (and the concept is very good in itself).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FatspudJun 15, 2013
Pretty good film, if it wasn't for the BLOODY little girl; seriously, kills so much of the otherwise immersive atmosphere. But yer, the rest is good enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
An exhilarating re-imagination of Orson Welles' classic. Spielberg brings the story and the genre into the modern era. Nevertheless, I cannot help but feel War of the Worlds would have benefited from casting another actor instead of Tom Cruise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 30, 2012
War of the Worlds is an excellent sci-fiction movie. The visuals were truly amazing but what makes this movie so good is that it comes across as very scary and that is were Spielberg shines. I only wished for slightly more battle scenesWar of the Worlds is an excellent sci-fiction movie. The visuals were truly amazing but what makes this movie so good is that it comes across as very scary and that is were Spielberg shines. I only wished for slightly more battle scenes between the humans and aliens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DiscordMay 28, 2012
A solid piece. Good acting, as well as a believable plot, rather nice effects. Only qualm I had was the minor issues with the H.G. Wells novel, but those can be overlooked. Overall, a rather nice film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 1, 2016
I am not sure why audiences were lukewarm to War of the Worlds. For me, this shows Steven Spielberg at peak Spielberg. Heartwarming and built around family with childlike wonder, the film also shows Spielberg's great ability to create thrillsI am not sure why audiences were lukewarm to War of the Worlds. For me, this shows Steven Spielberg at peak Spielberg. Heartwarming and built around family with childlike wonder, the film also shows Spielberg's great ability to create thrills and scares along the way. Tom Cruise is great in the lead role and really does a great job as the deadbeat dad tasked with saving his kids who do not really like him too much. Dakota Fanning does very well as his daughter, though she does become annoying a few times. The special effects and creature design are incredible, while also demonstrating why everybody is so paranoid. The film also does a great job drawing parallels with historical occupations (French in Algeria, Britain in the United States), while capturing the paranoia of post-9/11 America all in one swoop. Overall, War of the Worlds is a fantastic science fiction film that really is a testament to Spielberg's skill in the director's chair. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 29, 2016
Spielberg successfully adapts H.G. Wells' classic science-fiction novel into a more intimate and human tale of survival for modern audiences. And, though the film's infamous ending may indeed be worthy of all the infamy it has accrued overSpielberg successfully adapts H.G. Wells' classic science-fiction novel into a more intimate and human tale of survival for modern audiences. And, though the film's infamous ending may indeed be worthy of all the infamy it has accrued over the years, "War Of The Worlds" is still a pretty fantastic film. The thrilling set piece design, engrossing performances, and surprisingly enduring visual effects all add up to an incredibly memorable and occasionally horrifying experience that shouldn't go unnoticed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
einvolkermannSep 1, 2013
Its really great and interesting movie. Its not only about alien invasion, but although this movie shows society in unusual conditions. Best movie in its kind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MuddsjrAug 10, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. very good stuff that is regularly scary and irregularly boring. it had me hurriedly making sandwiches (and throwing them at windows in despair) each time a patch of dark clouds and thunder came over days afterwards. the scariest parts for me were the aliens themselves and Tom Cruises acting (which was good!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeApr 23, 2014
That's what i call a good sci-fi movie.Tom Cruise is brilliant in his irresponsible dad role. There is always action and some awkward characters like the guy in the house in the middle of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoJul 21, 2015
It was unbelievable what I saw an incredible , unexpected and chilling alien , well even if it comes from a book invasion, unspoilable the movie eh !. And that good performance from Tom Cruise . Good job Tom !
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews