Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 281 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jan 30, 2013
    88
    A well-paced, nicely directed, post-apocalyptic love story with a terrific sense of humor and the, um, guts to be unabashedly romantic and unapologetically optimistic.
  2. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jan 31, 2013
    80
    In doing a little genre bending of romantic schmaltz and horror cheese - some fundamental zombie mythology is turned on its head - the film breathes amusing new life into both.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 1, 2013
    75
    At this point in the actor's career, it is pretty well impossible to tell when Malkovich is camping it up, or just being John Malkovich. Under the end-of-civilization circumstances of Warm Bodies, he's just the right guy for the job.
  4. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Jan 31, 2013
    63
    Zombie lore doesn't allow for redemption, only head shots, and Levine's film, amusing though it may be, is never gory enough to truly become a classic zombie movie. It also ignores the one basic necessity of monster films, even the funny ones: It really ought to be creepy or scary or gross, at least once or twice.
  5. Reviewed by: Rosie Fletcher
    Feb 9, 2013
    60
    A Frankenstein’s monster of comedy, romance and horror that’s less than its parts, Warm Bodies entertains but underwhelms.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jan 31, 2013
    50
    There's one really good idea at work in Warm Bodies, which is to take "Romeo and Juliet" and mash it up with a zombie movie.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Jan 31, 2013
    30
    The film's intentions are way too good for its own good, producing bloodless romance and more shamefully bloodless carnage.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 95
  2. Negative: 15 out of 95
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    It is a masterpiece mixed with a critical social very hidden. I loved and how many will love too. One of the best movie of the year. The film has a nice pace, with a bit of romance and a lot of action. Is just surprising. Exceeded my expectations Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    a really sweet different movie and really talks about how important the basic human feelings in life are. I thought it was just another zombie movie but turned out to be so great Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    Warm Bodies is riveting and fascinating, with tender romance and pleasant good time. It is absorbing, original, full of heart and sweet tale of unusual love between a zombie and a human being. This is a perfect movie for me to enjoy. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    Watched with my 19=year old daughter. We agreed that this was one of the best mixed of Zombie, loved, and comedy movies i"ve ever watched. I didn't expect but the story-line and actor's performance gradually become intrigued. Expand
  5. Lyn
    Jul 3, 2013
    7
    It won't slake your yearning for the next season of "The Walking Dead," but "Warm Bodies" is a fun, quirky addition to the zombie genre. I admit that part of my interest was curiosity about what ever happened to that kid from "About a Boy." (He's now tall & handsome, but retains that endearing quality.) The movie is kind of sweet, too, as it explores whether the undead are truly doomed. Not terribly profound and not crazy/wacky like "Zombieland" but enjoyable in its way. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    Boy is dead. Dead boy meets girl after eating her boyfriend's brains. Dead boy falls for girl. Girl fall for dead boy. Paramilitary dad lightens up and relents. No so dead boy and girl live happily everafter. Dead boy is cute, teen girls everywhere let out a collective sigh. Collapse
  7. May 17, 2013
    0
    mildly interesting for first 5 minutes of the movie and then it takes Rome Juliet to new levels of low by taking this sort of script seriously. It would have been more interesting to see if Romeo was a vibrator with all the grunting that is happening instead of dialogue.

    Shakespeare should sue.
    Expand

See all 95 User Reviews

Trailers