User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1261 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The plot was good, but the way it was developed left me disappointed. The characters were not well-defined. In fact, on many occasions they were either boring or indifferent to me. A lot of the film consisted of scenes that did not add to the central plot.
    Miss Jupiter's encounter with the Comedian. She was almost raped by him, and then it's revealed she went and had sex with him. I am assuming this is put in to reflect the distorted mentality of today's society? Or was it just to make Silk Spec cry?
    I still cant understand the attraction between Silk Spectre II and Dr. Manhattan, both of which appeared several times naked the first to hold the male audience's interest (I assume) and the second only made the audience giggle and laugh, detracting from the film.
    Jackie Earle Haley's portrayal of a sociopathic anti-hero was definitely the highlight of the movie. Again, these "heroes" appeared more interested in the fight than actually helping mankind (JDM's Comedian a bright example of this). This notion is revoked in the end, when even a distant Dr Manhattan is "moved" by the devious actions of Ozymandias, all in the name of mankind. Well, that settles it then. Forget democracy, bring in the world's smartest men to lead us, otherwise we are just savages that ultimately will kill each other to extinction. But if we are indeed savages, mankind and heroes alike, what's the point in saving us in the first place? So there was a message trying to be sent, but it got lost (at least, on me) somewhere along the way...
    Expand
  2. AlS
    Aug 21, 2009
    3
    I have seen some bad movies in my life, and this is now in top of them. This movie just lacks composition and many scenes are just unnecessary, including some of the characters. If this was not an age of large high-definition TVs, where even the dumbest movie looks great on the screen, most people would realize the shortage of anything good about it.
  3. j30
    Nov 27, 2011
    4
    It's crazy how this movie turned out average for me. The graphic novel is great, thought-provoking, and artistic. The movie adaptation, however, feels like a wax replica of the novel. With the actors/actresses looking uninspired and dull.
  4. TheGeneral
    Aug 26, 2009
    3
    This movie is like watching high quality, very expensive paint dry. How anyone could make it through the Director's cut is beyond me. I thought the original release was slow as molasses.
  5. MistyM
    Aug 1, 2009
    1
    This was indeed the worst movie I have ever seen. It made no sense - and has so many loose ends that after two weeks Im still trying to piece this movie together.
  6. TiberiuC
    Jan 16, 2010
    0
    One hour into the movie I was still asking myself: who the fuck are these people and why should I care about them? If you want to waste your time, go watch G.I. Joe instead, it's crap, but it's many times more entertaining than this piece of sh*t.
  7. Dec 5, 2010
    1
    This movie was awful. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, but you don't have to take my word for it.
  8. Mar 11, 2011
    0
    There must be something like a manual for making movies. Plot, character development, pace, etc. Since apparently there isn't, abysmally awful flicks like this will continue to be made. What is the standard ? And what is the purpose of submitting this to a paying audience ?
  9. frankl
    Jul 9, 2009
    3
    This movie has the graphics to score big as that part is very well done. The dialogues are also pretty good, but do get long and boring after a while. I'll admit I did not know Watchmen before, but it probably will not get many poeple interested in learning more. Again, it wreally starts to get boring after a while, you start to wonder where the movie is heading, or what did you This movie has the graphics to score big as that part is very well done. The dialogues are also pretty good, but do get long and boring after a while. I'll admit I did not know Watchmen before, but it probably will not get many poeple interested in learning more. Again, it wreally starts to get boring after a while, you start to wonder where the movie is heading, or what did you actually learn after 2 hours watching the movie. Also, Dr. Manhattan is very well done, but most of his parts could have been summarized instead of long useless dialogues. Overall graphically this movie is splendid but it ends there. Way too long to get to the point, many dialogues that could have been shortened up, this can leave you wondering why u spent 3 hours watching it. Just my opinion. Expand
  10. Tedcook
    Mar 6, 2009
    0
    Sieve with microscopic holes, looks fine, but all the meaning just pours right through.
  11. AndrewBurdick
    Mar 8, 2009
    0
    They advertised this movie under the "who watches the watchmen" line. They also milked "from the creators of 300". Cool. I have been anticipating this movie for a year. Let me just say that out of the 2 hrs and 45 mins. I can think of maybe 15-20 mins of average/decent action.
    If you are a fan of the book(s) then maybe its a good movie. I'm just glad though I'm not a fan
    They advertised this movie under the "who watches the watchmen" line. They also milked "from the creators of 300". Cool. I have been anticipating this movie for a year. Let me just say that out of the 2 hrs and 45 mins. I can think of maybe 15-20 mins of average/decent action.
    If you are a fan of the book(s) then maybe its a good movie. I'm just glad though I'm not a fan cause this is really all just a bunch of trash. The killing of the Watchmen was a side dish to the "real" story. It was a back-story to keep the uneducated fans as myself who thought they were getting an action movie somewhat satisfied enough to not leave.

    The visuals were average, nothing spectacular. I think its actually hillarious that they put it on the "Ultra" screen. Not necassary, there is no action or visualls worth it.
    I've never honestly been so disapointed in a movie in my life. "I am Legend" is up there with the anticipation/hype leading to let-down. But this movie is not as advertised at all and is the biggest let down in at least the last 5 years of me being a movie-goer.
    If your not a fan of the apparently garabage comic, than DO NOT EVEN RENT this crap!!! Not even close to an action movie.
    Expand
  12. ZachC.
    Mar 14, 2009
    3
    From someone unfamiliar with this (or any other) graphic novel: I felt too little was explained, which made me feel lost, and what was explained was overexplained, which made me feel insulted. It was fun to watch at many points, but dull and slow in many others, and the story was not believable. I loved X-men and don't demand fidelity to the laws of science, but I like humans to act From someone unfamiliar with this (or any other) graphic novel: I felt too little was explained, which made me feel lost, and what was explained was overexplained, which made me feel insulted. It was fun to watch at many points, but dull and slow in many others, and the story was not believable. I loved X-men and don't demand fidelity to the laws of science, but I like humans to act like humans, and didn't buy into several characters in this movie. Expand
  13. JohnDisapointed
    Mar 17, 2009
    3
    An astounding fail this movie is an abomination to the book it was spawned. It is no suprise what so ever that Alan Moore wants to disassociate himself with the movie. It was a terrible movie at best on its own, had there been no book to compare it to countless people would have lost interest and it would have scored a 6-7. BUT since the movie was based upon a deep and powerfull book when An astounding fail this movie is an abomination to the book it was spawned. It is no suprise what so ever that Alan Moore wants to disassociate himself with the movie. It was a terrible movie at best on its own, had there been no book to compare it to countless people would have lost interest and it would have scored a 6-7. BUT since the movie was based upon a deep and powerfull book when it kills the theme, mocks the ideas and charactors and acts as an embodiment of the cancer that is hollywood I cannot help but judge hardly. They overpowerd the charactors, they added excessive sex appeal, they skipped themes, they CHANGED THE CHARACTORS turning some into archetypal supervillian douchbags rather then taking any time to explain them, I loved watchmen because there were no archetypes, now theres a supervillian, a badass, a man reliving his glory days and a slut on the screen. Expand
  14. JoeS
    Mar 19, 2009
    3
    Depressing and heavy handed, the story likes to pretend it has some deep philosophical statement about human kind, but mostly it just keeps slapping you in the face with mallet that has "Humans suck!" written on it in fingerpaint. An undeniably beautiful film, its just depressing and dark. None of the characters are likeable or have any sort of redeeming quality, and the few actually fun Depressing and heavy handed, the story likes to pretend it has some deep philosophical statement about human kind, but mostly it just keeps slapping you in the face with mallet that has "Humans suck!" written on it in fingerpaint. An undeniably beautiful film, its just depressing and dark. None of the characters are likeable or have any sort of redeeming quality, and the few actually fun parts are far too short. I haven't read the graphic novel, but I have no doubt this would be better shown in narrative form because this movie just drains the life out of itself. I give it a 3 for excellent visual appeal, but I could not recommend this to anyone. Expand
  15. AustinT
    Mar 27, 2009
    3
    So who are these people? How are they super powerful (besides the trite radiation accident BS with Manhattan)? Why are some of the characters the same age 50 years ago, while others grow up? Why would the villain bother going after the watchmen instead of just doing what he planned to do in the first place? What is that thing on Mars? Why does that one guy have a purple tiger? There is So who are these people? How are they super powerful (besides the trite radiation accident BS with Manhattan)? Why are some of the characters the same age 50 years ago, while others grow up? Why would the villain bother going after the watchmen instead of just doing what he planned to do in the first place? What is that thing on Mars? Why does that one guy have a purple tiger? There is not a single character I could give a crap about in this film, not one. Unless you read the comic book (I beg your pardon, "graphic novel") there is absolutely nothing in this movie that is worth the cost of admission. For the record, I loved the 300 and Sin City, so it's not that I don't "get it". Expand
  16. MP
    Mar 30, 2009
    3
    Ok, so it *looks* cool, but where's the plot?? Maybe it's my fault that I never read the "graphic novel" ... but should that really be a prerequisite?
  17. BillyC
    Jul 27, 2009
    3
    If you're sober when you watch this you'll feel as though you're high... If you're high you'll have NO IDEA what's going on here... Terrible.
  18. JohnR
    Jul 29, 2009
    3
    Does anybody realize that this movie makes no sense? The ending is so whimsical you are driven to a Damocles sword. The elegance of the effects and the story are good until it just unravels!!! Even some earlier elements are a waste and contain no significance to the movie just a shame book = better!
  19. May 4, 2011
    0
    Too much long. Too much violence. I like the mature and realistic approach, but in some moment it loses its goals. It has a great ending endeed but you`ll have to wait...
  20. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    Abysmally paced, ridiculous crybaby dialogue-filled, on-the-nose sexually exploitative, nearly action-free, cantankerous, dark (not in a noir-ish way but in a literal "it's difficult to tell what I'm looking at sometimes" sort of way), leaden, flabby, incredibly overlong train wreck of a bullsh** movie. I've NEVER walked out of a theater before a film ended until Zack Snyder decided toAbysmally paced, ridiculous crybaby dialogue-filled, on-the-nose sexually exploitative, nearly action-free, cantankerous, dark (not in a noir-ish way but in a literal "it's difficult to tell what I'm looking at sometimes" sort of way), leaden, flabby, incredibly overlong train wreck of a bullsh** movie. I've NEVER walked out of a theater before a film ended until Zack Snyder decided to make me look at Dr. Manhattan's penis for one agonizing moment after another for absolutely no reason. The four of us, exasperated, worn out... utterly soul-crushed by what we had already been subjected to leading up to this moment, finally gave up and left... LONG AFTER EVERY OTHER PERSON IN THE THEATER HAD ALREADY DONE SO! There's a line between just making a crappy movie and actually showing bald-faced contempt for your viewing audience. I'd say Snyder is definitely toeing that line, if not stepping over it here. All I know is that I'm still waiting for him to personally refund my $20. Jerk! Expand
  21. Apr 6, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watchmen is a different sort of film: a superhero with E.D: and a villain who wins with a "the ends justifies the means" message. Add to that the giant blue guy that runs around with his penis waging about for the last quarter of the film and this movie was made to push the envelope. Expand
  22. Feb 2, 2013
    2
    This movie is trash, I don`t care what anybody says. I like one of the characters, but man I should punch myself in the face for finishing this movie. I see it has good ratings from allot of people, That just makes it clear, that I am not a zombie who just follows what other people like. I usually like "Super Hero" movies, Not this one!
  23. Apr 15, 2013
    0
    This movie makes me puke. Seriously. How in the world you can rate this positive This "heroes" makes no sense. Plot is awful. Main heroes HeHero and SheHero (didnt bother to remember names) are ugly as hell. And this blue guy without pants every time I saw his huge blue penis my eyes were bleeding. I simply cant understand how you can rate this more than zero.
  24. May 4, 2013
    1
    I did not purchase a twelve dollar movie ticket to see terrible plot holes, poor character development, cheesy dialog lines, and a blue wang. Sure, it has mediocre fight scenes but overall, it is unbearable.This does not reflect the comics at all, whatsoever.
  25. TheBaldProd
    Mar 6, 2009
    2
    By sticking so closely to the original text, the film-makers have pickled, rather than adapted, Watchmen and delivered a film that could bore a tractor.
  26. AlexR.
    Mar 8, 2009
    2
    Unrelentingly bad. It drags on in a way only acceptable in a book. Instead of choosing to retain all aspects of the original or conversely create an original take on the book, it chose to sat squarely in the middle, awkwardly swaying from one side to the other and completely alienating the unfamiliar audience.
  27. KarlD.
    Mar 9, 2009
    4
    I give the benefit of the doubt to those who read the graphic novel. I haven't, and so I really was looking forward to see this on the big screen because it seemed interesting. The movie is a total bore, pointless, overlong, and no action whatsoever except for 2-3 fights which we have seen already in dozens of films. There were times when scenes were so boring and long that I was I give the benefit of the doubt to those who read the graphic novel. I haven't, and so I really was looking forward to see this on the big screen because it seemed interesting. The movie is a total bore, pointless, overlong, and no action whatsoever except for 2-3 fights which we have seen already in dozens of films. There were times when scenes were so boring and long that I was falling asleep. Maybe for those who read the graphic novel this was an amazing movie, perhaps if I read it in the first place and discovered that Watchmen is this load of crap I wouldn't have seen the movie. The only thing interesting in the whole film was the character Rorschach since I love anti-heroes in movies, and of coarse the visual effects. I can't believe the good ratings I'm seeing from users for such a pointless and boring film. Expand
  28. daemonmoore
    Mar 10, 2009
    3
    I ranked it a three for the fight scenes, and that's it - what a waist of movie. Also, this movie is not for the non-comic book audience at all. This movie makes me wanna cuss...
  29. emilya
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    This is possibly the most foul, violent, trite, morally reprehensible pastiche of American cinema ever. Even if I were blind to everything that is offensive about it, its pure aesthetic and entertainment merits alone are enough to make me want to nauseated. That it is earning millions of dollars in the box office and earning high ratings on every movie site suggests to me numerous choice This is possibly the most foul, violent, trite, morally reprehensible pastiche of American cinema ever. Even if I were blind to everything that is offensive about it, its pure aesthetic and entertainment merits alone are enough to make me want to nauseated. That it is earning millions of dollars in the box office and earning high ratings on every movie site suggests to me numerous choice reflections on American society. A brief, albeit comprehensive overview: So...the world is about to go into the last stages of annihilation and the only one that can save it is a blue full-frontal stand-in for god. The most eloquent ambassador that is sent on behalf of humankind is a leather booted large-breasted bimbo who stomps when she doesn't get her way? This is because our day-glo god left his loyal physicist wife for the tramp and apparently she is the most precious thing mankind has left to offer, even though she sluts it around with everyone else. Unfortunately for mankind, she seems more traumatized by the discovery of her illegitimate birth than the hundreds of millions of people that are about to die. But luckily for her, the people do get bombed to a grotesque withering mass death but we discover that her mother loves her so it's OK. It's offensive on every level imaginable. Pregnant women get shot. Women get raped, but return for more. Little girls are mutilated and fed to dogs, but this violence is justified by more violence (sound familiar?). Namely, in this case, the masked avenger hacking the kidnapper with an ax until there is nothing left but some bloody pulpy mass. But worse it doesn't just try to be gratuitous violence married with the most vulgar and cliché adolescent pornography--I'd let 300 slide--the sickening part is that it comports itself as a profound redemptive reflection on mankind. As if all that was done was justified by some shoddy mythological and not even arcane historical references and piss poor attempt at a discussion on Deism. The most ironic part of the film is its attempt to critique the violence and repulsive aspects of human nature but then perpetuates it by tainting the minds of anyone who watched with its filth. In my comfortable liberal existence, I never once considered censorship as an issue to be discussed, but I would happily censor this one. and, Anyone who enjoyed the movie should reconsider their consumptive and putrid existence. Expand
  30. Ali
    Mar 7, 2009
    2
    I have read and enjoyed the comic book, however I found this film rubbish. The film was an almost direct translation of the book which was good for some short action sequences (the prison bit) but for the majority of the film caused the plot to slow down to a crawl and become very very boring. I really like the book but I would not read it all in one sitting, same goes for this film and I have read and enjoyed the comic book, however I found this film rubbish. The film was an almost direct translation of the book which was good for some short action sequences (the prison bit) but for the majority of the film caused the plot to slow down to a crawl and become very very boring. I really like the book but I would not read it all in one sitting, same goes for this film and possibly a TV miniseries would have been better. The best advice would be just to read the comic and ignore this film. Expand
  31. MikeM.
    Mar 7, 2009
    2
    Much of what Rowdy R says is true, but i would go a step further and say this movie is boring. It can be cut into two halves -- the first half focusing on nothing but character development of boring characters, and the second half is where some plot finally tries to take place. The ending of course has a couple of predictable plot twists to stick with the formula. The script is all very Much of what Rowdy R says is true, but i would go a step further and say this movie is boring. It can be cut into two halves -- the first half focusing on nothing but character development of boring characters, and the second half is where some plot finally tries to take place. The ending of course has a couple of predictable plot twists to stick with the formula. The script is all very confusing and the film itself is too long... about 30minutes too long. In its defense, the masked dude and his droning monologues is quite cool, as is the prison break scene. But great special effects dont make a movie great. If you're a fan of the comic book or the wave of comic movies that hollywood is pumping out these days, you might enjoy this. Otherwise save your money, go see Gran Torino. Collapse
  32. EHiJoshuaI.
    Mar 7, 2009
    0
    What is wrong, here? Am I the only user reviewer who sees this? The acting was terrible, the tone was off, it was less a movie and more a montage homage of the novel WITH ADDED sex scenes, all delivered with zero emotion. zero emotion. . So much did not make sense because so much was taken out and the criptwriters did not bother trying to use their noggin. We're talking about a movie What is wrong, here? Am I the only user reviewer who sees this? The acting was terrible, the tone was off, it was less a movie and more a montage homage of the novel WITH ADDED sex scenes, all delivered with zero emotion. zero emotion. . So much did not make sense because so much was taken out and the criptwriters did not bother trying to use their noggin. We're talking about a movie of probably the greatest superhero comic ever written... it was terrible. It was horrible. It hurt. It Failed. It was worse than matrix reloaded. Christopher Nolan, please, make Watchmen in ten years time. You're all we have left. Expand
  33. SteveM.
    Mar 8, 2009
    0
    Watchmen is one if not THE worst movie I have ever seen. I can see how fans of the graphic novel may enjoy seeing the story brought to the big screen but newcomers stay away. The story bounces from the past to the present often leaving you wondering what is going on and detracts from the story line rather than adding to it. The movie also features a great soundtrack but the songs also Watchmen is one if not THE worst movie I have ever seen. I can see how fans of the graphic novel may enjoy seeing the story brought to the big screen but newcomers stay away. The story bounces from the past to the present often leaving you wondering what is going on and detracts from the story line rather than adding to it. The movie also features a great soundtrack but the songs also take away from the film. Save your money, avoid this one. Expand
  34. MattMclean
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    This film is abysmal. Horrible pace, pointless plot, awkward acting, one of the worst and most uncomfortable sex scenes I've ever seen, and stilted uncomfortable action. And its long. Very long. Do not believe the people who give this positive reviews, its not clever, its not engaging, and it's certainly NOT a masterpiece. I saw this at an Imax preview in Perth, WA. About 30This film is abysmal. Horrible pace, pointless plot, awkward acting, one of the worst and most uncomfortable sex scenes I've ever seen, and stilted uncomfortable action. And its long. Very long. Do not believe the people who give this positive reviews, its not clever, its not engaging, and it's certainly NOT a masterpiece. I saw this at an Imax preview in Perth, WA. About 30 people walked out... enough said. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  35. KP
    Jul 2, 2009
    4
    I love superheroes. But this movie was a disappointment. I found it long winded and meandering. The graphic novel was great. But as movies go, I'd rather watch almost any comic book based movie than this one. (except maybe Ghost Rider lol) It just missed the mark it almost every way. And I hated hearing Hendrix in the soundtrack...I love Jimi, but what horrible placement.
  36. Best
    Mar 11, 2009
    1
    I have never seen a movie that is as full of itself as this one. Arrogant, boring movie. I was also angered and saddened that the music from the brilliant film, Koyaanisqatsi, was used as a cheap dramatic boost in this movie. This movie claims to be original, but it's all glitz, no substance.
  37. SimonS
    Mar 13, 2009
    0
    Are you kidding me? This movie is an absolute joke. One of the worst films to come out in the last ten years, do not waste your time on this pretentious, bloated, say nothing piece of ****. It is rubbish.
  38. DragO
    Mar 13, 2009
    1
    Almost 3 wasted hours of my life that i will never get back.
  39. JustinS
    Mar 10, 2009
    3
    The first half hour of the movie is amazing, it rivals the Dark Knight but then the movie meanders through a familiar road: a dramatic Hollywood soap opera. The movie tries to fit in too many things without describing others. The movie should have been two maybe even three parts. Oh and the acting is horrid (except the comedien and masked guy). Many of the scenes were laugable...pple kept The first half hour of the movie is amazing, it rivals the Dark Knight but then the movie meanders through a familiar road: a dramatic Hollywood soap opera. The movie tries to fit in too many things without describing others. The movie should have been two maybe even three parts. Oh and the acting is horrid (except the comedien and masked guy). Many of the scenes were laugable...pple kept shaking their heads in the theater. Expand
  40. NickM
    Mar 17, 2009
    1
    Between the unrealistic and unneccesarily graphic fight scenes, and the bizzare and outlandish plot that barely makes sense, this movie trys to make a moral/philosophic point, but it is completely lost in a mess of absurdity. The only reason i even gave it a one is because it was so stupid that it gave me something to laugh at, even though that that wasn't the movie's intention.
  41. JG
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    Ugh. Long. Boring. Laughable script. Laughable sex scene. I hated every character.
  42. TF
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    I admit I never liked the original comic series, and this was forced on me by a group of friends the other night. I still think it's ridiculous, and seeing Dr Manhattan onscreen only increased that sentiment.
  43. ChadY
    Mar 26, 2009
    1
    One of the worst movies I've seen in the past 5 years. To me this is a prime example of how the movie industry has lost its way.
  44. MattM.
    Mar 6, 2009
    0
    This film is abysmal. Horrible pace, pointless plot, awkward acting and stilted uncomfortable action. And its long. Very long. I saw this at an Imax preview in Perth, WA. About 30 people walked out... enough said. Avoid at all costs.
  45. PhilipDuncan
    Mar 6, 2009
    3
    A story that doesn't draw you in. Watchmen is flashy and has it's enjoyable fight scenes, but outside of that the plot moves at a stagnant pace.
  46. hn
    Mar 6, 2009
    0
    Worst comic/graphic novel movie ever! So many long pointless scenes. Cliche after cliche. The blue guy might as well have been the silver surfer. Action scenes were pointless. I think the only people who liked this movie were the fanboys of the comic.
  47. LisaS.
    Mar 7, 2009
    0
    Boring, pretentious, cruel, fascistic crap. Total waste of money and time. This movie sucked blue Wang.
  48. Dylan
    Mar 7, 2009
    3
    PROS Excessive gore. Interesting fight scenes. CONS The novel is sapped of all depth and ideas. Snyder tightly adapts, strip-for-strip, Moore's masterpiece. Creates another frat-boy fantasy epic. Overwhelming pretension and stupidity. Zach Snyder is not an artist.
  49. BradC.
    Mar 7, 2009
    2
    Self indulgent terrible film. Don't waste your time.
  50. BillO.
    Mar 7, 2009
    3
    The movie was gratuitous in almost every way imaginable: gratuitously violent, gratuitously sexual, gratuitously long and boring. Oh, plus the accompanying music left me wondering, "really Zack Snyder? That song?"
  51. MatthewHenkel
    Mar 7, 2009
    2
    While pulling amazing levels of detail from Gibbons work the film fails to do the same to Moore's narrative. The violence is overly gorey, the sex overly porn-like in contrast to the realistic nature of the comic. The ending is not only different from the comic - it makes no sense.
    *SPOILER ALERT*
    ... whuy would Russia and the world unite with the US when the US's weapon
    While pulling amazing levels of detail from Gibbons work the film fails to do the same to Moore's narrative. The violence is overly gorey, the sex overly porn-like in contrast to the realistic nature of the comic. The ending is not only different from the comic - it makes no sense.
    *SPOILER ALERT*

    ... whuy would Russia and the world unite with the US when the US's weapon of mass destruction goes awry? The alien threat was an outside threat that forces the world to cooperate - Dr. Manhattan as a threat would make all of the other nations see the US as a threat.
    Expand
  52. AndrewM.
    Mar 7, 2009
    0
    I'd like to start off by saying that sex and violence do not bother me in movies. This is not the reason for my review. That being said, Watchmen is the worst movie I have ever seen, beating even the terrible films shown on Mystery Science Theater 3000. The dialogue is terrible (characters talk past each other), character development is mediocre, no clear values are idealized in the I'd like to start off by saying that sex and violence do not bother me in movies. This is not the reason for my review. That being said, Watchmen is the worst movie I have ever seen, beating even the terrible films shown on Mystery Science Theater 3000. The dialogue is terrible (characters talk past each other), character development is mediocre, no clear values are idealized in the movie, and the basic plot is sophomoric. The only thing worth praising in this film are the special effects, but even that is limited by obviously borrowed concepts. Come to think of it, the superhero looks like nothing but some blue combination of the Silver Surfer and the Fantastic Four. Final review: 0/10. Just rent some DVDs and have a comic book hero marathon. Expand
  53. Stevem
    Mar 8, 2009
    3
    Watchman overlooked many of the subtle details that made the graphic novel great. It also only offered a 2-second glimpse of some of the strong supporting yet indirect characters of the novel. It felt like a tease by saying "We've read the comic and we know that were cutting out some things." If you were viewing The Wachmen for the first time with no prior knowledge you would think Watchman overlooked many of the subtle details that made the graphic novel great. It also only offered a 2-second glimpse of some of the strong supporting yet indirect characters of the novel. It felt like a tease by saying "We've read the comic and we know that were cutting out some things." If you were viewing The Wachmen for the first time with no prior knowledge you would think some parts were good but it was overall boring. The movie brought some scenes to life and it ruined others. Expand
  54. KevinB
    Mar 8, 2009
    2
    Never in my 30 or so years of movie-watching have I seen a movie with so much gore and nudity be SO BORING! Maybe if the three "prettiest" Watchpeople weren't such mediocre and uncharismatic actors. Maybe if Jeffrey Dean Morgan, one of the rare charismatice (and non-waxy) actors had played one of those roles instead of the jerkiest Watchdork. Maybe if Dr Manhattan didn't talkNever in my 30 or so years of movie-watching have I seen a movie with so much gore and nudity be SO BORING! Maybe if the three "prettiest" Watchpeople weren't such mediocre and uncharismatic actors. Maybe if Jeffrey Dean Morgan, one of the rare charismatice (and non-waxy) actors had played one of those roles instead of the jerkiest Watchdork. Maybe if Dr Manhattan didn't talk (and talk and talk) in such a listless monotone. Maybe if the entire movie had revolved around Rorschach, played excellently by Jackie Earl Haley. Maybe if the movie didn't consist of more than two hours of backstory followed by 40 minutes of sudden plot. So many maybes that turned into a movie only fanboys could love. Expand
  55. RoseP.
    Mar 8, 2009
    0
    Gleeful brutality cloaked in incredibly phony philosophizing. Repulsive. And incomprehensible to anyone not familiar with the source material. I hated this movie with the heat of a thousand suns.
  56. CestL.
    Mar 8, 2009
    2
    Simply a bad movie for many reasons. It's not easy to make a super hero movie boring but they managed it here. Stupid, vapid, meaningless sex scenes, stilted preachy dialogue, just cliches galore. I loved 300 but about the only positive aspect here is the soundtrack. What a waste!
  57. ROFL
    Mar 8, 2009
    2
    Why couldn't the super-intelligent blue guy put on a pair of d@mn pants?!?! LOL He has a big schlong but why do we need to see it?
  58. HN.
    Mar 8, 2009
    2
    Just (re)read the book.. it won't take too much longer and is infinitely more enjoyable.
  59. LeeW.
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    Forget the fact that this movie was long and tedious. Forget the fact that the make up was poor and the action was sadistic and cruel. Clockwork Orange was cruel but made an important statement about society. People will forgive flaws in a movie if the story touches them. Alan Moore wrote the graphic novel as a satire of fascism, but conversely this movie is a testament to it. Perhaps Forget the fact that this movie was long and tedious. Forget the fact that the make up was poor and the action was sadistic and cruel. Clockwork Orange was cruel but made an important statement about society. People will forgive flaws in a movie if the story touches them. Alan Moore wrote the graphic novel as a satire of fascism, but conversely this movie is a testament to it. Perhaps this is why Moore sued to not have the movie made. The basic point of this movie is that the ends justify the means, and genocide is OK because people of superior intellect know better than we do, and should make decisions such as genocide to protect us from ourselves. What garbage!!! People who love power for the sake of power will love this film. People who fantasize about rape and torture will love this film. Adolf Hitler would have been the biggest fan. The movie proves all of his points about people and society and what should be done. As a film maker, I rarely wish to see a movie fail. But this movie is against everything I believe it, and it's very sad what it teaches young people. Expand
  60. Tony
    Mar 9, 2009
    2
    Let me start off by saying I love comic book based movies as well as the movie 300, but I have to warn people that this movie was terrible. The cast had no chemistry together and there was way to much information to process. The only character that I thought did a great job was the one with the ink on his mask. In the end I regret having wached it.
  61. ArtG.
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    I rate this as 0 because zero is not a number its a place holder. I just finished watching it and I can't describe in any meaningful way what I just saw or what I thought about it. The violence makes Braveheart seem tame. I've seen enough demi god blue penis to last a lifetime. I was compeled to finish it even though I had a strong inclination to walk out early on. I walked into I rate this as 0 because zero is not a number its a place holder. I just finished watching it and I can't describe in any meaningful way what I just saw or what I thought about it. The violence makes Braveheart seem tame. I've seen enough demi god blue penis to last a lifetime. I was compeled to finish it even though I had a strong inclination to walk out early on. I walked into the theater without any preconceived notions other than the ad looked cool. I didn't know it was based on a comic book much less read it. I may read it now to try and get a grasp on what I just witnessed. Those inclined to nightmares should avoid it. I would have rated it "x" for the violence and full on intercourse. I had better not catch anyone taking their young kids to this "comic book" movie!!! Expand
  62. Mihai
    Mar 9, 2009
    3
    I did not read the graphic novel, I may check it out in the future out of sheer curiosity. I love sci fi, and used to be well versed in a few comics. My review is just as biased as those that grew up on this graphic novel. This was such a visually complex film, but for me personally, nothing more than that. It was also unnecessarily violent. The tongue-in-cheek nature and what felt like I did not read the graphic novel, I may check it out in the future out of sheer curiosity. I love sci fi, and used to be well versed in a few comics. My review is just as biased as those that grew up on this graphic novel. This was such a visually complex film, but for me personally, nothing more than that. It was also unnecessarily violent. The tongue-in-cheek nature and what felt like 3+ hours of discourse on human society wore thin very quickly. Good adaptations usually are updated to match the times, this one was simply silly. If you're going to use modern martial arts, you might as well change up the characters so they're less corny. I haven't felt this frustrated (or _wanted_ to fall sleep) during a movie since Odd Couple II. Expand
  63. DanaM.
    Mar 9, 2009
    3
    I really tried to like this movie. I really did. But there was little redeeming value in this movie. Very brutal with gratuitious sex. And this movie was WAY too long. Torturous. Save your money.
  64. JohnQ.
    Mar 9, 2009
    2
    There needs to be a rating higher than R for this stuff. Hero plot and character development are buried (ironically) underneath an amoral, hyperviolent and sexualized presentation. The violation and destruction of a little girl should be off limits, shunned, in any media. Period. I have a brain, as well as reason and a conscience. This ain't art, its trash. If you like this movie There needs to be a rating higher than R for this stuff. Hero plot and character development are buried (ironically) underneath an amoral, hyperviolent and sexualized presentation. The violation and destruction of a little girl should be off limits, shunned, in any media. Period. I have a brain, as well as reason and a conscience. This ain't art, its trash. If you like this movie you need your head examined. Expand
  65. MarkO.
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    Unrelentingly unpleasant... a masterpiece of misspent energy and appallingly bad artistic decisions... When the movie ended I felt desperately sad for all the people who worked on this film. What is with Zack Snyder's fetish for the sound of breaking bones? As bored and repelled as I was by the entire mess, I was nonetheless struck by what has to be the greatest moment of cinematic Unrelentingly unpleasant... a masterpiece of misspent energy and appallingly bad artistic decisions... When the movie ended I felt desperately sad for all the people who worked on this film. What is with Zack Snyder's fetish for the sound of breaking bones? As bored and repelled as I was by the entire mess, I was nonetheless struck by what has to be the greatest moment of cinematic stupidity in history: Ozymandias, the "smartest man in the world," has secured his entire computer network with a password that is [spoiler omitted]. Expand
  66. MARIANNER.
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    This movie was nothing but a super hero porn flick. It had no plot, and I was quite embarrassed to take my children to see this movie. If this is what the comic books are about, I am glad my kids aren't into them.
  67. EricE.
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    This movie, visually was beautiful as is 300. But the plot, story line and everything else was ooo sooo boring...the opening fight scene may indeed be the best scene. Dr. Manhattan spoke in the most non comprehensive language that most people will ask..WTF??? is he saying...did not care about the nudity at all...the costume heros were retards, except Rorshack...the antagonist of the movie,This movie, visually was beautiful as is 300. But the plot, story line and everything else was ooo sooo boring...the opening fight scene may indeed be the best scene. Dr. Manhattan spoke in the most non comprehensive language that most people will ask..WTF??? is he saying...did not care about the nudity at all...the costume heros were retards, except Rorshack...the antagonist of the movie, fought one time and that was against his super hero friends...30-45 mins into this movie i was dozing off...very very boring. Expand
  68. KevinC
    May 10, 2009
    1
    Long and boring.
  69. AndersN
    Jul 4, 2009
    1
    I give this movie 1 for the philosophic speech dialogue but nothing more the rest was crap exept dr. Manhatten which was "well" done.
  70. MaxL
    Mar 10, 2009
    3
    It's way to referential and made the movie boring after the first half an hour. Too bad, nice effect and the visual is arresting but the movie as a movie isn't very good. Too many slo-mos.
  71. johnl
    Mar 11, 2009
    2
    I was a huge fan of 300, going into this i had the highest expectations because of the directing talent of zack snyde rbut this is honestly one of the WORST movies ive seen this year...i think its just getting so much hype because there isnt much else out right now...the only reason i am giving it a 2 is because it adapts the comic so well..i agree that its gritty and different but thatI was a huge fan of 300, going into this i had the highest expectations because of the directing talent of zack snyde rbut this is honestly one of the WORST movies ive seen this year...i think its just getting so much hype because there isnt much else out right now...the only reason i am giving it a 2 is because it adapts the comic so well..i agree that its gritty and different but that doesnt mean that its entertaining..the movie just isnt very good and more often than not while watching it i just wanted it to end...wait for the dvd and wait for terminator or startrek. Expand
  72. DaveS
    Mar 10, 2009
    0
    Utter crap... this could be the worst movie I have ever paid to see. For those that want to watch a movie for dialogue, emotion, human condition, etc... look elsewhere. Just read the reviews. It is mostly fanboys and homers who are giving it good reviews. So if you were the type that liked to doodle planes, and bombs, and people getting torn apart in elementary school this may be for you. Utter crap... this could be the worst movie I have ever paid to see. For those that want to watch a movie for dialogue, emotion, human condition, etc... look elsewhere. Just read the reviews. It is mostly fanboys and homers who are giving it good reviews. So if you were the type that liked to doodle planes, and bombs, and people getting torn apart in elementary school this may be for you. However, with that said, you may as well watch those decapitation videos online instead. That way you can avoid the abortion that is everything else about this film. Expand
  73. Komino
    Mar 12, 2009
    4
    An interesting idea but ultimately a movie that is way too long and with a story that, while could have been gripping, is left stretched and devoid of punch. The fans of the original seem to love it, so only really can be recommended to them.
  74. PeterF
    Mar 14, 2009
    2
    A thoroughly unpleasant experience. I'd give it a zero, but the motes of dust floating around Dr. Manhattan were a nice effect, and no mainstream American film that I know of comes close to having as much full frontal male nudity--impressive. Otherwise this is just one more depressingly violent, unimaginatively filmed comic book movie. What exactly is the point of watching bones A thoroughly unpleasant experience. I'd give it a zero, but the motes of dust floating around Dr. Manhattan were a nice effect, and no mainstream American film that I know of comes close to having as much full frontal male nudity--impressive. Otherwise this is just one more depressingly violent, unimaginatively filmed comic book movie. What exactly is the point of watching bones break and bodies explode to a deafening techno score? Why do filmmakers who peddle nihilistic porno-violence think they can even pretend to have something valid to say about the state of the world? Abysmal. Expand
  75. AlexH
    Mar 14, 2009
    3
    Three hours were wasted of my life only to see a naked Dr. Manhattan and New York City in destruction.
  76. MarkC
    Mar 17, 2009
    0
    Tom C - very eloquent. IM not glad I disliked this film but Im glad fans of teh book can admit that it is indeed a horrendous film. I know many people who have great taste in books and have recommended that I read the book and I still intend to do it with a blank slate, but I think your summary is just and articulate.
  77. christopherj
    Mar 19, 2009
    2
    Confusing, undercooked piece of shite. You know who the bad guy is 2 minutes into the movie. Surprise! The movie could have ended there, and I could have done almost anything else to make my life better.
  78. ArleneC.
    Mar 21, 2009
    1
    It started off pretty well, the first hour. I waited with bated breath for the reason why they were getting killed one by one. It all started falling apart with the needless, ludicruous love scenes, and when the reason for the killings was revealed, and the subsequent absurdity - it was more than I could stomach. I walked out of the cinema. 1 point, is for making me curious enough to want It started off pretty well, the first hour. I waited with bated breath for the reason why they were getting killed one by one. It all started falling apart with the needless, ludicruous love scenes, and when the reason for the killings was revealed, and the subsequent absurdity - it was more than I could stomach. I walked out of the cinema. 1 point, is for making me curious enough to want to know why and whom wanted them killed. Zero - after you know why. So many parts could easily and should have been edited. What a pain it was. Expand
  79. ChristopherP.
    Mar 22, 2009
    2
    Spits right in the face of the source material in favor of a Hollywood-grade cinematic spinoff. It'd be an average movie on its own, but because it's based off of something it takes no shame in completely destroying, It's insulting drivel. It's no surprise at all that the author wanted his name out of the credits.
  80. tim
    Mar 31, 2009
    1
    I really cant see where the 8's,9's, and 10's are coming from. Realistically this movie was trite at best. The true shame is how good the graphic novel is in comparison. This was truly terrible, and sorry if that offends some of the guys who gave it a 8 9 or 10. But did you see the same movie? what really made you like it? Or were you merely with a group of friends who I really cant see where the 8's,9's, and 10's are coming from. Realistically this movie was trite at best. The true shame is how good the graphic novel is in comparison. This was truly terrible, and sorry if that offends some of the guys who gave it a 8 9 or 10. But did you see the same movie? what really made you like it? Or were you merely with a group of friends who liked it and your too weak willed to go against the flow? Seriously go back and watch the movie again and you will realize how campy and unnecessary all the crap in the movie was. It almost pisses me off that someone had no brain cells and believed this to not only be tolerable but good and even some reviews called it great. Sorry this was not great or good or even decent it was flat out bad/terrible/shite. For those who liked it, please follow these steps. 1. remove head from anal cavity. 2. see it again and dont be such a fanboy. 3. move out of your parents basement. Expand
  81. [Anonymous]
    Mar 6, 2009
    3
    This is a film made by a consumer of the art, for consumers of the art - shame it wasn't made by a film maker who knows the difference between a storyboard and narrative flow of a graphic novel. Oh well, I wonder what this guy will 'storyboard' for us next.
  82. Mark
    Mar 6, 2009
    0
    When I left theater (2hours after the film started), I was perplexed. I wondered if I should be thankful for a movie that would send me to the dictionary to find superlatives that would jive with the word 'Boring.' I was optimistic going in and then, nothing. No humor, not curiosity, no drama, nothing. I was wondering why, when Laurie threw the rock through Dr. Manhattans head When I left theater (2hours after the film started), I was perplexed. I wondered if I should be thankful for a movie that would send me to the dictionary to find superlatives that would jive with the word 'Boring.' I was optimistic going in and then, nothing. No humor, not curiosity, no drama, nothing. I was wondering why, when Laurie threw the rock through Dr. Manhattans head (The CGI a homage to Terminator 2?), they decided to put the mindless direction in slow motion, and then it hit me: Here's the metaphor for the movie, "Throw a benign lump of hard nothingness (The movie) and out it in slow motion (Over 2 and half hours) and see if it (The audience ) survives. That bit of irony is the inadvertent apex of this decidedly unprovocative film. It was as if the screenwriters were introduced to the Cosmos and its contemplation just moments before the writing process began. Expand
  83. RichiLC
    Mar 6, 2009
    4
    I've read the comic book like fifty times (so I'm a huge fan) and after seen this movie, i understand why Moore thought that this was unmakeable. It could be the best possible adaptation to de comic, but still, the same fidelity that the movie has, makes an inconsistent and looong film, and it lacks the emotional and philosophic charge of the comic. Watchmen works great as a I've read the comic book like fifty times (so I'm a huge fan) and after seen this movie, i understand why Moore thought that this was unmakeable. It could be the best possible adaptation to de comic, but still, the same fidelity that the movie has, makes an inconsistent and looong film, and it lacks the emotional and philosophic charge of the comic. Watchmen works great as a comic book, but not well as a movie. Expand
  84. ZapperC.
    Mar 6, 2009
    3
    This was the least impressive files I've seen in years. The gratuitous violence was detracting and distracting. The massive time spent on character development was painful yet uniforming. There were no redeeming story lines, characters or actors. All this and three hours of it too.
  85. JeremyH.
    Mar 6, 2009
    2
    I was excited to see this film, but the misleading trailer was only the beginning of the dissapointment. An existential discussion through fantasy characters blah blah.... this film was garbage. And i dislike few films
  86. LisaH.
    Mar 7, 2009
    1
    This is the worst movie I have ever seen in my life! I cant believe anyone said it was good. It was like Quentin Tarantino and Xmen made a baby and the babys name was soft porn.
  87. BethanyS.
    Mar 7, 2009
    0
    I swear this was the absolute worst movie i have ever seen bar none! the best part was the opening credits. it was too long, and filled with pointless and lengthy talking. the plot was thick and filled with riddles and the "action" scenes were not very action packed. ....and i was so sick of the naked blue guy. this movie was a let down. if you want to enjoy watchmen, go see the previews,
  88. SammyR.
    Mar 7, 2009
    0
    To be honest, about an hour and a half into Watchmen, I walked out. It is truly to see one of the most brilliant works of literature butchered in the way it was on film. The acting is dreadful across the board, and for the most part Snyder chose to use the same dialogue as the comic, which comes off stilted and awkward on screen. For such a brilliant and thought provoking novel, it is To be honest, about an hour and a half into Watchmen, I walked out. It is truly to see one of the most brilliant works of literature butchered in the way it was on film. The acting is dreadful across the board, and for the most part Snyder chose to use the same dialogue as the comic, which comes off stilted and awkward on screen. For such a brilliant and thought provoking novel, it is incredible to see such a dull and mindless adaptation. I needed a long break, so I went to Chipotle, grabbed some tacos, and still had time to catch the ending, which for some reason was heavily altered from the source material, and not for the better. For anyone that respects the graphic novel, watching Watchmen is akin to watching it die. I honestly believe that they could not have done a worse job with the adaptation. Expand
  89. DerekS.
    Mar 7, 2009
    3
    Soundtrack was good.....that's about all I have to say positively about this movie. The absolute disregard for the source material and the obvious liberties taken by the studios were more than enough for me to side with Alan Moore (the writer of the original books) in his opinion that this is an unadaptable work of fiction. Wait for it on DVD if you must see it.
  90. Gus
    Mar 8, 2009
    3
    Synder knows how to shoot a sleek, clinical action sequence with exaggerated physics and gorgeous ballet-like twisting and turning of bodies. But he knows nothing about the subtleties of human emotion. He is a lousy dramatist who depends on dumb Hollywood convention to create character. His actors don't gel. They look hogtied, uninspired and shallow, as if they are walking through Synder knows how to shoot a sleek, clinical action sequence with exaggerated physics and gorgeous ballet-like twisting and turning of bodies. But he knows nothing about the subtleties of human emotion. He is a lousy dramatist who depends on dumb Hollywood convention to create character. His actors don't gel. They look hogtied, uninspired and shallow, as if they are walking through the motions like some robot. There are moments of overdone violence that jars the audience back, who don't need anymore help to feel distant from the story. A story, by the way, which is a pretentious mess of pseudo-philosophical nonsense. Expand
  91. PV
    Mar 8, 2009
    3
    I can't believe people have given this a 10. You fanboys need to understand that even if it's a good adaptation of the comic, it doesn't make this a good movie. Most of the acting sucked, the action scenes were weak and the story was dull. I want my 3hrs back.
  92. JoeT.
    Mar 8, 2009
    0
    As along time watchmen fan, I am disgusted with Zack Snyder's Watchmen. The acting is appalling, the writing terrible, and the music off. The violence in this film is excessive, grotesque and serves no real purpose. This story is based on characters, and the movie disregards that by giving the viewer bad writers and bad actors. I love the book, but the movie was awful. Also, for all As along time watchmen fan, I am disgusted with Zack Snyder's Watchmen. The acting is appalling, the writing terrible, and the music off. The violence in this film is excessive, grotesque and serves no real purpose. This story is based on characters, and the movie disregards that by giving the viewer bad writers and bad actors. I love the book, but the movie was awful. Also, for all you that gave this a good rating, I have one thing to say: "Joking, of course." Expand
  93. AnonymousMC
    Mar 8, 2009
    2
    You should not have to read the source material to enjoy a movie. It's pretty much a requirement here. Once you get over the initial geek out moments of seeing your favorite characters come to life (well...they aren't really brought to life...at least not well) you slowly see that the movie is boring and soulless. Alan Moore was right, the graphic novel is unfilmable.
  94. NamK>
    Mar 9, 2009
    3
    I could not believe that this movie was even put on screen. I brought my boys to watch it as I see many parents did thinking it another super hero movie and was shocked to fins it was just a soft porn movie.
  95. BobS.
    Mar 9, 2009
    0
    This may be the worst movie I ever saw. I saw 3 couples leave before it ended. I was determined to see the end. I kept thinking how great "300" was and that this director might never work again after this. It was a high budget train wreck. The acting was ok. But the story was disappointing. The sex scene was like a bad porn movie. This should have been R for the violence and sex. I can This may be the worst movie I ever saw. I saw 3 couples leave before it ended. I was determined to see the end. I kept thinking how great "300" was and that this director might never work again after this. It was a high budget train wreck. The acting was ok. But the story was disappointing. The sex scene was like a bad porn movie. This should have been R for the violence and sex. I can compare it as worse than the Ang Lee "Hulk" movie for the comic book genre. Expand
  96. PaulC
    Mar 9, 2009
    3
    Loved the novel, hate the movie.
  97. JosephT
    May 8, 2009
    4
    I don't know why I stayed to finish this, even as several people got up and left during the movie. I think it was because I hoped it wouldn't get worse. Now, I see what they were trying for - I really do, and I give them marks for that. My failure to enjoy it wasn't because of a short attention span - I'm a very patient person. Otherwise, it was a tasteless experience I don't know why I stayed to finish this, even as several people got up and left during the movie. I think it was because I hoped it wouldn't get worse. Now, I see what they were trying for - I really do, and I give them marks for that. My failure to enjoy it wasn't because of a short attention span - I'm a very patient person. Otherwise, it was a tasteless experience that somehow offended me and everybody in that room. The previews sold us on a summer action movie, what happened instead was families went to see this thinking it was standard Rated "R" action fair, only to be proven very wrong. I felt bad for those parents who could do nothing as scenes that should have been rated "X" made their appearances in front of their kids. Expand
  98. JimV
    May 8, 2009
    2
    I'm only giving it a 2 because of the ironic hilarity it provided. The plot chokes on itself, the dialogue is at best silly, and the movie tries to take itself very seriously, but so many things are contrary to the solemn atmosphere it tries to present. I understand that the movie was supposed to be gritty and violent, but the fighting was used wantonly, and it barely drove the plot I'm only giving it a 2 because of the ironic hilarity it provided. The plot chokes on itself, the dialogue is at best silly, and the movie tries to take itself very seriously, but so many things are contrary to the solemn atmosphere it tries to present. I understand that the movie was supposed to be gritty and violent, but the fighting was used wantonly, and it barely drove the plot forward. There are too many wandering flashbacks, and I couldn't contain my laughter for a majority of the scenes. This movie is a failure as a devotion to the comics - as well as to dark and dramatic storytelling - but a stunning success as a campy comedic masterpiece. Expand
  99. JoelS
    Jun 17, 2009
    1
    Zack Snyder couldn't have missed the point further. 1 point for the believable Rorschach and Nite Owl characters.
  100. RobinR
    Jun 7, 2009
    2
    This was the worst movie ever. But unfortunately, it was not so badd it was good. It was just bad.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    Okay, it isn't the graphic novel, but Zack Snyder clearly gives a toss, creating a smart, stylish, decent adaptation, if low on accessibility for the non-convert.
  2. Snyder and writers David Hayter and Alex Tse never find a reason for those unfamiliar with the graphic novel to care about any of this nonsense. And it is nonsense.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    50
    The movie is ultimately undone by its own reverence; there's simply no room for these characters and stories to breathe of their own accord, and even the most fastidiously replicated scenes can feel glib and truncated.