User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 117

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    4
    I bought this movie, which i wouldn't recommend to anyone, though it has it's bright point. It is very well made; it gets under your skin at times, in good and bad ways; tilda swinton was excellent, as usual, and kevin was a good actor; but this was not an overall realized enough movie to make it worth watching and I highly doubt my dvd will have a good resell value either. I am uncertainI bought this movie, which i wouldn't recommend to anyone, though it has it's bright point. It is very well made; it gets under your skin at times, in good and bad ways; tilda swinton was excellent, as usual, and kevin was a good actor; but this was not an overall realized enough movie to make it worth watching and I highly doubt my dvd will have a good resell value either. I am uncertain while this got such high marks. And I usually agree with the marks on this wonderful site. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    2
    The film was so far from reality. I know it's not supposed to be based on reality, but there wasn't anything realistic about this film. The man who played their son Kevin did not look like his parents in the film, along with the sister. The directing seemed very amateur. I'm not sure why two talented people like John C. Reilly and Tilda Swinton would ever agree to be in this film... ThisThe film was so far from reality. I know it's not supposed to be based on reality, but there wasn't anything realistic about this film. The man who played their son Kevin did not look like his parents in the film, along with the sister. The directing seemed very amateur. I'm not sure why two talented people like John C. Reilly and Tilda Swinton would ever agree to be in this film... This movie lacked so much excitement and was too predictable to enjoy. Expand
  3. Apr 8, 2012
    4
    I just couldn't quite pull it off. "Kevin" was a film that did many things very right, but did enough things completely wrong to ruin it for me. Its hard to describe the disappointing aspects of the film, because so many of them are tied up with the expectations created by the really well done parts. The visual storytelling starts out strong, enabling viewers to get to know characters andI just couldn't quite pull it off. "Kevin" was a film that did many things very right, but did enough things completely wrong to ruin it for me. Its hard to describe the disappointing aspects of the film, because so many of them are tied up with the expectations created by the really well done parts. The visual storytelling starts out strong, enabling viewers to get to know characters and plot elements on an emotional level with out everything being spelled out to the letter. The problem is the film begins to deal with absolutes, and the visual storytelling begins to fail. There are beautifully shot, almost abstract segments in the film which instead of hinting at larger elements of characters and plot, are often used to brush over key elements of relationships (the mother and father in particular) and diluting character development in the process. Kevin's character is portrayed as an absolute evil, and overall a very one dimensional, similarly with the father, who is completely clueless throughout the film. There is a subtlety that is wants so badly to be the core of the film but is consistently failing throughout through the hands of barefaced writing/directing. Tilda Swinton fights hard to keep her character interesting, but the other actors, especially those that played Kevin didn't stand a chance.

    Honestly, I can only Imagine that there were people working on this film who all had vastly different ideas of how it should turn out, and in the end it feels like the directing is what sunk the ship.
    Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2012
    3
    We Need to Talk About Kevin should have been titled why didn't we talk about Kevin and make a godo film. The dad is a totally clueless, complete idiot, mom is frozen in indecision and their son is a genuine psychopath. As to why one of them didn't recognize the million signals that their little boy was deranged and needed serious psychiatric help is beyond me, but then we wouldn't haveWe Need to Talk About Kevin should have been titled why didn't we talk about Kevin and make a godo film. The dad is a totally clueless, complete idiot, mom is frozen in indecision and their son is a genuine psychopath. As to why one of them didn't recognize the million signals that their little boy was deranged and needed serious psychiatric help is beyond me, but then we wouldn't have this movie, which is so excruciating in its faux artiness. Shame because it could have actually been a fascinating film. And for those wondering why Tilda wasn't nominated, she was drowned by this mess. Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    This film starts out on the premise that it will build into an exciting vehicle but in reality it is just attempting to spin it's wheels, while in reality the clutch is blown and momentum never gained. After 40 minutes of watching I was sorely tempted to gouge my eyes out with the back end of a spoon! A pretentious, meandering failure that maybe only wine drinking arty emo's might enjoy.This film starts out on the premise that it will build into an exciting vehicle but in reality it is just attempting to spin it's wheels, while in reality the clutch is blown and momentum never gained. After 40 minutes of watching I was sorely tempted to gouge my eyes out with the back end of a spoon! A pretentious, meandering failure that maybe only wine drinking arty emo's might enjoy. Woefully tedious performances that bear absolutely zero resemblance to reality make this film seriously B grade even though the budget was strong enough to lure 'professional' names. Avoid this film or I guarantee you will be disgustedly disappointed in yourself for not heeding this warning. Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2011
    3
    The story is somewhat muddled by the face that you have an evil child ( think Omen evil ) who then in latter life commits a massacre. The massacre part , with all the real memories of Columbine etc, is somewhat diluted by the unrealistic evilness of the villain. It would have played better if the kid was unusual but he was too Omenese to be believable.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 24, 2012
    67
    Next to Swinton's excellent portrayal of a woman on the edge of a nervous breakdown, the movie belongs to the two Kevins, young actors with matching arched eyebrows and sullen expressions.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Mar 22, 2012
    91
    Watching it isn't easy, but it is definitely worth having waited for.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Mar 22, 2012
    50
    Critics starved for thoughtful movies will often mistake the will for the deed. A serious film about an important subject seems like an important film, even if the effort falls far short of the target. So it is with We Need to Talk About Kevin.