Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Mar 11, 2013
    83
    For most of the run-time, Welcome To The Punch is thrillingly cinematic, beautifully made, smarter and funnier than you'd expect, and a phenomenal showcase for Creevy and his team.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Mar 11, 2013
    80
    A confident, ambitious and action-rich Brit thriller, albeit one whose characters and clarity suffer from the frantic intensity of its pacing.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Mar 27, 2013
    75
    Writer-director Eran Creevy demonstrates little facility for kineticism — one of the movie’s best scenes gets flat-out ruined when he abruptly shifts to hackneyed slo-mo — and his cynical plot gets so convoluted that one of the bad guys has to break it down for the audience in a climactic monologue-at-gunpoint.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Mar 28, 2013
    60
    Writer-director Eran Creevy shows himself to be well versed in the mythic sweep of Christopher Nolan's and Michael Mann's crime sagas, if not their intelligence with storytelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 26, 2013
    60
    There are good movies and plenty more bad ones and many, many more that fall somewhere in between. And then there are enjoyable absurdities like Welcome to the Punch, which contain evaluative multitudes and which, scene by scene, register as not bad, pretty good and flat-out ridiculous.
  6. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Mar 18, 2013
    60
    A proficient but personality-free policer that demands little of either its audience or its enviable best-of-British cast, this simplistic urban morality tale miscasts the appealing James McAvoy as one good cop whose dogged pursuit of Mark Strong’s alpha criminal only uncovers the rot within police ranks.
  7. Reviewed by: Emma Dibdin
    Mar 11, 2013
    60
    There’s an emotional vacuum at its centre but Welcome To The Punch is an adrenalin shot to the heart of the Brit-crime genre.
  8. 50
    The diminutive McAvoy, trying his hand at all manner of action, may be hoping to become the Scottish Tom Cruise. But Welcome to the Punch shows he’s still more of a Scottish Michael J. Fox, an actor better served by roles with more charm and less grimacing than this one.
  9. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 27, 2013
    50
    Despite its fast pacing and well-staged action set-pieces, the film fails to make much of an impression.
  10. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Mar 26, 2013
    50
    Empty, pointless and stupid, the barrage of gunfire called Welcome to the Punch is another unappealing entry in the overworked British gangster genre.
  11. Reviewed by: Steve Erickson
    Mar 26, 2013
    40
    When bullets aren't flying, the movie offers yesterday's goods in shiny new packaging.
  12. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Mar 26, 2013
    40
    Favoring style over substance isn’t a mortal sin, but Creevy isn’t as enthrallingly slick as compatriot Guy Ritchie, nor does he have anything like the "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels" auteur’s feel for Britain’s criminal class.
  13. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 15, 2013
    40
    It runs out of steam, with plot revelations visible from a mile away and a bit of a plausibility gap.
  14. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Mar 28, 2013
    38
    There are a lot of casualties in this stylish, unoriginal thriller, but James McAvoy’s knee was the only one that moved me.
  15. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Mar 26, 2013
    38
    The sheer wastefulness of Eran Creevy's Welcome to the Punch is off-putting enough, but the film is also falsely painted-up as a crime epic.
  16. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 30, 2013
    20
    Unfortunately, the rest of writer-director Eran Creevy’s film just shows that the Brits, too, make good-looking but empty thrillers, just like in Hollywood.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    4
    The one BIG thing i like about this film is i got to see it before it was in the cinema and that i got to meet the director he was a good laugh(i know this is not a good reasons for me to like the movie so that's why i'm not using it to add my ratings up) Right Welcome to the Punch i did enjoy this film but i'm still kind of mixed with it, yeah its a good little action it kept me entertained i do like how the bad guy(Jacob Sternwood) in this film isn't as stupid as a sack of bricks and returns to London for no reason what so ever because he is forced to return to London when his son is involved in a heist gone wrong its also great that they show his crime because then it gives you understanding of what hes done, but this is the real big thing i love about the film its the camera shoots and the grading awh lovely! it looks lovely but its kind of annoying that the rest of the film is not that great like the ending for example its like its an american film with they make two people take on an army with no real struggle that is why i cant stand most american films they make the hero like bloody superman because they have no good ideas oh and they spam there flag every where that's some thing that England doesn't do) but yeah i'm still mixed with it but i still think its better then most american actions Full Review »
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    6
    This is a solid film that is a basically told as a very familiar police thriller. The acting is good and the film is shot well with good cinematography, but overall it's nothing special. B- Full Review »
  3. May 20, 2013
    3
    This is one of the most generic movie I've seen this year. The entire cast is not only unmemorable, they are unlikable. Damn Brits aren't very good at making movie.... Full Review »