Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 38
  2. Negative: 10 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 7, 2013
    38
    A "Jennifer Aniston movie" has become synonymous with "derivative, lackluster mediocrity," and it's a shame. We know she has both talent and charisma but nothing on her recent resume has allowed her to display those qualities. So we're stuck with films that are at best forgettable and at worst painful.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 6, 2013
    38
    We're the Millers is a twisted road trip worth avoiding. Not only is it not funny, it's offensive.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew Grant
    Aug 6, 2013
    38
    If there is a breakout role in Millers, it is that of Will Poulter, the 20-year-old English actor who played Lee Carter in 2007’s "Son of Rambow." As Kenny Rossmore, the hapless neighbor who ends up playing the teenage son of Ms. Aniston and Mr. Sudeikis during their version of National Lampoon’s Mexican Vacation, Mr. Poulter strikes a perfect comedic balance between sweet savant and pop-culture lech.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Aug 6, 2013
    38
    When Jason Sudeikis and Ed Helms appear in the same movie there's a significant threat of clean-cut sameness. Mediocre material makes them like two halves of the same comic actor: Ed Jason Helms-Sudeikis.
  5. 38
    It aims for that “Hangover” blend of the sick and the sentimental. And it doesn’t work.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Aug 6, 2013
    37
    It would be dishonest to claim it isn’t funny. The laughs may come in fits and starts, usually by way of sight gags and set pieces, but they do come. And then they go.
  7. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Aug 6, 2013
    30
    This film's eagerness to please functions as a slow poison, draining The Millers of its vitality by rendering its characterization uneven, its potential undeveloped, and its plot predictable and stupid.
  8. Reviewed by: Jamie S. Rich
    Aug 7, 2013
    25
    Sudeikis has always been a charming comedic actor. He usually doesn't have to work this hard for laughs.
  9. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 6, 2013
    25
    The movie, directed by the formerly promising Rawson Marshall Thurber (the hilarious “Dodgeball” and the awful “The Mysteries of Pittsburgh”), thinks it’s subverting the conventions of the sitcom with a revolutionary new idea, which is: Do everything exactly the way a sitcom would, plus lots of swearing and dirty jokes.
  10. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Aug 6, 2013
    20
    Even a premise this stupidly contrived stands a fair chance of working if there are a few decent yuks to be had, but absent any such inspiration, We’re the Millers falls back on the sort of lazy but desperate, sexually fixated non sequiturs that have become de rigueur in studio comedies, jabbing repeatedly at the human groin in hopes of eventually hitting something funny.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 285 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 91
  2. Negative: 14 out of 91
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    I love Jen Aniston anyway, but this movie was very, very funny! The entire theater laughed throughout the whole movie. Yes, jokes were raunchy, a lot of f-bombs, crude jokes and hand gestures, but, lighten up...it's a comedy, and I did not really guess the twist at the end. In all, a fun, feel good movie. Puritans, be warned. I rate this a ten...but my computer is acting up so it might register as zero on the scale...but it is a ten. Full Review »
  2. Aug 9, 2013
    0
    The worst movie I have seen in a few years at least. Old familiar script rehashed with different characters. Lazy acting, except for the kids. It was almost embarrassing to watch the crap going on onscreen. Some theater goers left early. Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    8
    It is by no conceivable measure original or perfect, but Millers is honestly a hilarious movie. Sudeikis proves he will have a great post-SNL career and there are some one liners here that are just great. It does try a little too hard to up the ante by adding guns, because Identity Thief and Hangover 3 proved that always makes things hilarious, right? (That was rhetorical by the way) But it never tries to be anything it's not. It's just an entertaining and very funny film. I usually agree with critics but in this case, screw em. Full Review »