Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 292 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 38
  2. Negative: 10 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Aug 7, 2013
    75
    Needless to say, the shapely Aniston pulls it off without a hitch — even if she never actually appears without a stitch. If this gutsy performance leads to better opportunities—a remake of Demi Moore's ill-conceived "Striptease," perhaps — I might sleep better at night.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Aug 7, 2013
    67
    With the exception of Roberts, who blends into the background in every scene in which she appears, the cast comprising the Millers keeps this sweetly crude comedy afloat.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Aug 24, 2013
    60
    Hang on for the outtake bloopers over the credits and you'll see Aniston momentarily unsure how to take a joke at her expense.
  4. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Aug 6, 2013
    50
    While the setups are often laughably forced—two words: “weed baby”—the script navigates its way out of them relatively gracefully, and sometimes hilariously.
  5. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Aug 7, 2013
    40
    The result is a loose conglomeration of jokes that never really holds together: Funny in parts, but overwhelmed by the bland emptiness where its protagonist should be.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 6, 2013
    40
    We're the Millers is full of moments that feel as forced as the marriage of convenience — and contrivance — in the movie.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Aug 6, 2013
    20
    Even a premise this stupidly contrived stands a fair chance of working if there are a few decent yuks to be had, but absent any such inspiration, We’re the Millers falls back on the sort of lazy but desperate, sexually fixated non sequiturs that have become de rigueur in studio comedies, jabbing repeatedly at the human groin in hopes of eventually hitting something funny.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 93
  2. Negative: 15 out of 93
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    I love Jen Aniston anyway, but this movie was very, very funny! The entire theater laughed throughout the whole movie. Yes, jokes were raunchy, a lot of f-bombs, crude jokes and hand gestures, but, lighten up...it's a comedy, and I did not really guess the twist at the end. In all, a fun, feel good movie. Puritans, be warned. I rate this a ten...but my computer is acting up so it might register as zero on the scale...but it is a ten. Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    There are a Lot of funny parts to this movie. Went to it spur of the moment with some friends, not expecting much and it exceeded my expectations. Don't expect the best plot but it will hopefully provide you with some good laughs like it did for me. Expand
  3. Aug 26, 2013
    8
    We´re the Millers is actually a really good comedy. It has everything that a good comedy should have. Excellent cast, original plot and funny and hilarious scenes all the time. The plot was really smart and it was something new which is something strange as today´s comedies are all the same. I knew from the trailer that We´re the Millers is going to be extremely funny and I thought that if it wasn´t it would be a shame. But despite my thoughts this movie was really funny and had some good funny moments. The ending could have been better. All the actors were great for that movie especially Emma Roberts and Will Poulter, that play the kids and Jennifer Anniston was in a different role as we are used to her. In conclusion, the film is really funny and it´s really good to watch it on the cinema. If you hate comedies don´t watch but if you like comedies you will love We´re the Millers. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2013
    7
    It is not the best film I have ever seen, but is very funny in many parts of the film, with good acting. The best scene was definetly when the cannabis batch disguised as a baby got run over by the truck. 7/10 Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw the trailer for "We're The Millers" and two things hit me: 1. I've never seen Ed Helms (who's in this movie) in another movie besides The Hangover Series (and if I decided to see this).

    2. Jennifer Aniston plays a stripper.

    So I said "What the hell, why not see it." This movie wasn't as bad as some critics are saying: it had some laughable moments, and some parts fit right into the movie like a shoe. That being said, there are parts of the movie nobody asked for or wanted, and moments I didn't like.

    First off, this movie had a sort of funny comedic overtone, but the hard fact is that this movie's central plot was drugs, drugs, and more drugs. As David (Jason Sudeikis)says a quarter through the movie, "This is not a smidge. You've got me moving enough weed to kill Willie f**king Nelson!" This movie is placed in the genre of comedy, but leave out all the laughs and goofy moments, and it has messages about "family" and "sticking together" at its core, a feat achieved by a handful of these kinds of comedies. So, there's a plus.

    The comedy was decent, there were a few memorable scenes that deserved a few laughs. But other than that, I wasn't laughing that much. The movie took a lot of chances, and only had a few payoffs. But as I said before, it had a deeper layer of family morals, sticking together, and so forth, which balanced out all the guilty laughs and stripper jokes.

    This comedy had some love-it and hate-it moments, for sure. It was really balanced in terms of how much I hated it and liked it, so I can't say there were more love-it moments, or more hate-it moments. There were some parts of the movie I can't stand, and some parts I thoroughly enjoyed.

    Overall, this movie had some core values of "family morals" that redeemed its ways of slapstick humor and sexual jokes. Ironically, for an R Rated comedy focusing on drugs, this was really a "family movie".
    Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    5
    It recently dawned on me just how immoral this movie really is. I gave this a six before but now I'm lowering my score. I liked the casting, and there were some funny moments, but that doesn't change the fact that the dialogue is nearly always course and perverse. The basic concept is clever, but the story takes a very predictable path. This is where the cast comes in to (almost) save the day. They all fit their roles very well, especially Sudeikis. Emma Roberts also gives a surprisingly feisty turn, but in the end it's just another formulaic raunch fest that doesn't know when to stop. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    What has entertainment come to? The movie had the potential to be entertaining, but was ruined with a barrage of profanity. The majority of the script is cursing and lacks the ability to deliver comedy without frequent cursing. Expand

See all 93 User Reviews

Trailers