User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 66
  2. Negative: 31 out of 66
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarianneB.
    Jul 29, 2009
    0
    Aimed at people who were confused by middle school. Looks like short clips from all sorts of NOVA programs put into a paper bag and shaken (no context!) up spliced with clips of psychic babbling. It's like being stuck at a bus stop having to endure the conversation among stupid people wanting to shout "You stupid #@%*'s!" but too polite to do so.
  2. RobertH.
    Mar 3, 2007
    0
    One of the most laughable films ever made. It represents ridiculous claims as scientific fact without any sort of credibility. When JZ Knight "channeled" an alien warrior to help explain quantum physics, I knew that this movie was full of BS. Avoid at all costs.
  3. ShaunM.
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    People are so bleeping dumb. It makes me wonder how many of the "red-numbered" reviews down below are from close-minded religious fanatics or dull witted white-trash.
  4. Blerim
    Oct 14, 2006
    8
    It's more than interesting how some people react on this "documentary". Why this documentary is taken so seriously by the biggest skeptics in the world? Why it matters so much? Maybe we just feel jealous because somebody else did this documentary and not us, maybe our experience is telling us that there is more than meet the eyes. (Sorry for my English writing, foreigner)
  5. JoeyK.
    Aug 26, 2006
    7
    Very much in the PBS documentary style, but high quality nonetheless. It's an interesting look at some radical ideas about quantum physics, which is totally fine because of how far out the scientific fields discussed are. Scientific people: It's radical theory and no matter what you think about it, it's fascinating. Spiritual people: Get over yourselves. I can see why Very much in the PBS documentary style, but high quality nonetheless. It's an interesting look at some radical ideas about quantum physics, which is totally fine because of how far out the scientific fields discussed are. Scientific people: It's radical theory and no matter what you think about it, it's fascinating. Spiritual people: Get over yourselves. I can see why fundamentalist wackos would find this offensive and subversive, but seriously, get over it. Expand
  6. MarkM.
    Jul 16, 2006
    0
    Junk, unmitigated magical thinking cultish propaganda rubbish! Gullible true believers will fall for the gags and out right misrepresentations but anyone with true intelligence and good sense will understand why this fairytale film is dangerous in the hands of the foolish. This is a thinly veiled recruitment and training video for pseudoscience cult like thinking. Be afraid of a society Junk, unmitigated magical thinking cultish propaganda rubbish! Gullible true believers will fall for the gags and out right misrepresentations but anyone with true intelligence and good sense will understand why this fairytale film is dangerous in the hands of the foolish. This is a thinly veiled recruitment and training video for pseudoscience cult like thinking. Be afraid of a society where more than 3% of the population consider this film as anything other than trash. Expand
  7. SeamusS.
    Feb 3, 2006
    2
    Only goes to show that the truley left brained should leave the creative side to the right. Uhmm If that makes anysense, this is a boring piece of pretention produced by someone who clearly was never ment to pick up a camera.
  8. BobA.
    Jan 15, 2006
    0
    A movie that held such promise for those who are interested in quantum physics, goes south quickly, turning into a bad after school special. The endless "experts" (who's names and qualifications are withheld until the end probably so we don't know that they're blow-hards) assume that anyone who has to be explalined quantum physics, must bet twelve years old. All of this is A movie that held such promise for those who are interested in quantum physics, goes south quickly, turning into a bad after school special. The endless "experts" (who's names and qualifications are withheld until the end probably so we don't know that they're blow-hards) assume that anyone who has to be explalined quantum physics, must bet twelve years old. All of this is bad enough, until the world of science suddenly morphs into new age religous babble under the guise of science. You don't have to be a fundamentalist to be angerd by the manipulation and overall waste of time that this movie is. Expand
  9. PapaC.
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie. I realize that it is not for everyone though. It plays kind of like a college lecture, and sitting through it might be tedious for some. However, if you are able to stick it out, the lessons taught are fascinating, and illustrate with percision the realm of possibilities that exist in a world that we are just beginning to understand. I felt like I was I absolutely loved this movie. I realize that it is not for everyone though. It plays kind of like a college lecture, and sitting through it might be tedious for some. However, if you are able to stick it out, the lessons taught are fascinating, and illustrate with percision the realm of possibilities that exist in a world that we are just beginning to understand. I felt like I was floating after I left the theatre. Expand
  10. GavinO.
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    This film is one of the worst films I have ever seen - an absolute insult in my opinion. I think that enough people have learned about quantum physics, and appreciate the strictest scientific methods that are applied to affirm our knowledge - will recognize that this movie effectively throws s*** in the face of science, selectively (and craftily) using bits of knowledge to support This film is one of the worst films I have ever seen - an absolute insult in my opinion. I think that enough people have learned about quantum physics, and appreciate the strictest scientific methods that are applied to affirm our knowledge - will recognize that this movie effectively throws s*** in the face of science, selectively (and craftily) using bits of knowledge to support Ramtha's and others' efforts. Though these well may be have some ground in fact they must be supported by scientific proof and real observable evidence to be credible. The part about water crystals was my breaking point- this guy's own colleagues (while supporting his mainstream work) are adamantly opposed to this 'sideline' - the experiments are not independantly reproducible, nor do they prove anything - the unsupported conclusions drawn from real quantum experiments were sickening. Read or listen to Richard Feinman or Carl Jung is infinitely more satisfying if you really want to understand more. However, if you consider yourself one of the 'seekers' and need a fix of your own self actualizing neural chemical soma - enjoy. p.s. I found the 'acting' embarrassing. Expand
  11. DrunkenMaster
    Sep 4, 2005
    0
    Total Crap. Anyone who buys into this garbage should be ashamed. There is absolutely no scientific or spiritual merit to this poopfest.
  12. StevieB.
    Aug 27, 2005
    0
    If you really believe you can do it, you can walk through walls! It's "Science!" First: face a nearby wall, then: run forward as fast as you can! Go start practicing now, so you can be the first on your block to really understand "Physics!"
  13. FrankD.
    Aug 24, 2005
    5
    Google "Ramtha" and "Bleep"....and come to your own conclusions about the meaning behind this movie.
  14. karien
    Jul 29, 2005
    6
    Interesting, fun low-budget movie on the still-awkward relationship of science & spirituality. if you are not paranoid about being brainwashed by some new age sect, it is a lovely upper, confirming kurt vonneguts assertation that we are mere bags of chemicals. the word most regularly used is "addictions", and it most often refers to emotions. stimulates debate, so good for evening with Interesting, fun low-budget movie on the still-awkward relationship of science & spirituality. if you are not paranoid about being brainwashed by some new age sect, it is a lovely upper, confirming kurt vonneguts assertation that we are mere bags of chemicals. the word most regularly used is "addictions", and it most often refers to emotions. stimulates debate, so good for evening with people you have run out of things to say to. big downside is close-ups of channeling woman who so obviously had work done to her face and homophobe satinover, but i had no idea who they were until credits at the end unleashed my judgement. Expand
  15. SteveR
    Jul 19, 2005
    9
    A movie like this has it's place and it's worth watching. I think people who are stuck in the old world form of goverment know as religion have a little more trouble with films like this, but few people even have the first clue as to how a radio works let alone the electronic complexities of thier home computer. They take it all for granted. Even GOD. This is a story of A movie like this has it's place and it's worth watching. I think people who are stuck in the old world form of goverment know as religion have a little more trouble with films like this, but few people even have the first clue as to how a radio works let alone the electronic complexities of thier home computer. They take it all for granted. Even GOD. This is a story of possibilities within the realm of what we know, which is very little at best. Good fun! Expand
  16. PaulP.
    May 30, 2005
    0
    A complete waste of time. Tries to cloak New Age fantasies in quasi-scientific jargon, but fails miserably as a piece to be taken seriously.
  17. JackieP.
    May 29, 2005
    1
    This movie unfolds the filmmakers' beliefs in the positive thinking, "power of choice," self-help school of spirituality, bolted to a few partially understood and misapplied ideas of quantum physics, plus some neuroscientific observations about synapses forming and failing. It does so dishonestly by patchwork quilting various peoples' views in talking head shots - the TM folk, This movie unfolds the filmmakers' beliefs in the positive thinking, "power of choice," self-help school of spirituality, bolted to a few partially understood and misapplied ideas of quantum physics, plus some neuroscientific observations about synapses forming and failing. It does so dishonestly by patchwork quilting various peoples' views in talking head shots - the TM folk, the Ramtha folk, a very nice Indian physicist, and so on, with a couple of snips from seemingly legit scientific folk in white lab coats. The more legit scientists seem to back up the new agers but really are only enthusiastically explaining a little bit about quantum mechanics - The film makers then segue to confident new age folk who leap from analogy to analogy - which feels so much more exciting and mysterious than the actual rigorous and limited scientific method of proceeding (which employs actual logical reasoning and real, tediously and meticulously designed empirical testing) - to positions of certainty about the nature of our experience and existence at which legitimate scientists can only gawp open mouthed at in amazement and disbelief. You aren't supposed to notice the gaps between the seams, but anybody with any idea about how to actually think, as opposed to how to how to have nice feelings about life, will want to throw their copy of "The Fabric of the Cosmos" by Brian Greene - read as a corrective to this movie if you are actually interested in quantum mechanics - through the TV screen. Oh, and if you like to watch, rent "The Elegant Universe" - DVD available for rental - for a much more interesting, honest, and visually fascinating introduction to string theory and quantum mechanics. Roger Ebert, I'm disappointed in you. You actually liked this movie and didn't see through its glamor of smartspeak. Expand
  18. MichaelW.
    Apr 19, 2005
    0
    Ridiculous garbage. If you want to hear a chiropractor's thoughts on the universe and the nature of existence -- or maybe the thoughts of a channeled 3,000 year old being from Atlantis -- this is the film for you!
  19. JonH.
    Apr 13, 2005
    0
    Well i do know one thing for sure, this movie stinks of hogwash. oh and one other thing i guess i know, it sure feels good to be vindicated by the critics (apart from some jackass users who must never have thought about the subjects covered hear in on there own). What the @#$* were they thinking when they financed this dreck?
  20. GrantC
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    This movie was absolutely EXTRA-ORDINARY the first time I saw it, yet even better the second time I saw it, as you discover deeper and deeper meanings hidden within it. We are only 3 days from the movies official release here in Melbourne, AUSTRALIA. I can't wait.
  21. MikeR
    Apr 9, 2005
    2
    Positives: the intended message and the creative (but not always effective) way of interweaving a dramatic story line into an otherwise dry documentary. Negatives: dated and boring animation, poorly chosen music, and most particularly the overriding sense that the producers are shooting for big bucks simply by telling us that is a break-through film. Overall: disappointing.
  22. BarrettP.
    Apr 6, 2005
    8
    You're all right. the editing, the music...all rubbish. thank god the CONTENT beneath all of the smoke and mirrors might actually cause a few viewers to stop and think about their purpose in life. If every religious fanatic and addicted personality could experience and understand the message here, the world would be a better place...a wonderful journey.
  23. MelR
    Apr 5, 2005
    0
    Couldn't even get past the first 30 minutes. There didn't appear to be a story at all, and it was just too wierd to waste time on. That's sad since I really like the actress.
  24. bobc
    Mar 19, 2005
    7
    For those unfamiliar with the concepts of Quantum Mechanics, the film is a good basic primer; and it does do a nice service of explaining the link between Quantum physics and how we deal with the world philisophically. In this sense, the film is a real succes; There are few movies that exist that explain the importance of the quantum world, and how it effects us in reality; both from a For those unfamiliar with the concepts of Quantum Mechanics, the film is a good basic primer; and it does do a nice service of explaining the link between Quantum physics and how we deal with the world philisophically. In this sense, the film is a real succes; There are few movies that exist that explain the importance of the quantum world, and how it effects us in reality; both from a real and philisophical standpoint. However, you have to get past the not-so-subtle New Age propaganda, which has nothing to do with the physics, either physically or philisophically. The movie will try to convince you otherwise, but don't be misled; and since quantum theory is kind of hard to wrap your head around as a beginner or layman, it may be difficult to distingish the difficult concepts from the New Age @#&!!. (pun intended) Marlee Matlin is a beautiful (and usually skilled) actress; but the storytelling here forced, and the fact that they cast her (Ms. Matlin is deaf) unfortunately feels like a further contrivence. Not the fact that she's deaf (as Matlin is in real life), but the fact that they had to lump her with the touchy-feely new age "philosophy" just feels kind of marginalizing. The computer graphics are strickly "Minds Eye" era work and fail to enhance the message at any rate. They don't even serve to entertain those who may watch the film in an (ahem) "altered" state, as the graphic sequences are predictable, and quick. The low point of this film for me is the soundtrack. Who doesn't love the classic rock band Boston (or at least able to tolerate them), but the playing of "more than a feeling" in certain moments of the film; or the poorly produced soft hip hop, which is a bad segue into one of the scenes; Music in a film is suppoed to enhance the emotional potental of the visuals and dialog; not try to not-so-subtly tell us what to be thinking or feeling in the film as part of the narrative. It is some of the most "after -school special" scoring I have heard since the 80s. So all that said; It's still worth a rental from your local video store, just for the quantum physics. HOWEVER, a much better film in this arena would be "Mindwalk." A much better narrative, with a great cast, solid writing, and no new-age $&#@!!!!!!!! - Cheers! Expand
  25. StaceyK.
    Mar 11, 2005
    6
    This movie brings up some interesting theories that the world would be better off for exploring. People tend to be standoffish with the notion that they have control over their own lives and that we aren't just floating around wasting time. If you attend this film with an open mind, or read "The Field" which is basically what a lot of this film is based on, you'll have a better This movie brings up some interesting theories that the world would be better off for exploring. People tend to be standoffish with the notion that they have control over their own lives and that we aren't just floating around wasting time. If you attend this film with an open mind, or read "The Field" which is basically what a lot of this film is based on, you'll have a better understanding of the ideas within it. Go, open, and don't close your mind to the things that scare you. Expand
  26. HeywardB.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen. The acting in this movie is horrible ( except for the guy in the bowtie at the wedding reception) but the content is AMAZING. I've seen it 3 times, and will be attending the question/answer session at the arclight theater premiere on March 15.
  27. ChadS.
    Feb 24, 2005
    5
    In one reality, I'm watching "What the @#$! Do We Know?" from beginning to end. In another reality, I give up when "More Than a Feeling" is utilized in the most bizarre way imaginable, and walk across the cineplex corridor to watch "Million Dollar Baby". I return for the second show and re-watch the wedding sequence that features Boston, which blossoms into a full-blown musical In one reality, I'm watching "What the @#$! Do We Know?" from beginning to end. In another reality, I give up when "More Than a Feeling" is utilized in the most bizarre way imaginable, and walk across the cineplex corridor to watch "Million Dollar Baby". I return for the second show and re-watch the wedding sequence that features Boston, which blossoms into a full-blown musical sequence that seems inspired by "All That Jazz". This is when "What the @#$! Do We Know" starts to win me over. The film's mix of documentary and narrative must've been inspired by "American Splendor", and to my horror, will outgross the Harvey Pekar story and Richard Linklater's "Waking Life" combined. Well, excuse me. I have to go draw hearts on my body and sit in a tub of water and look beatific. Expand
  28. JackV.
    Feb 20, 2005
    0
    I haven't seen so much #$*! presented as documentary evidence since "Michael Moore Meets the Swift Boat Veterans". I kept expecting Leonard Nimoy to make a guest appearance: "In Search Of...another scam to pull over the eyes of our gullible viewers." If you think that toasters were designed using captured space-alien technology then this movie is for you.
  29. [Anonymous]
    Jan 27, 2005
    8
    I thought this was a really interesting movie. It was different than most movies but i walked out of the theatre thinking about things. Definitly worth while seeing it!
  30. Goddaeus
    Jan 19, 2005
    2
    In all honesty, this movie was like a review from Psychology and Physics class. However if you could follow, the movie was entertaining. If you're looking to be entertained I wouldn't recommend this movie. If you're looking to learn something, I also wouldn't recommend it, just read a book or something so you can go at your own pace. Another thing about this movie was In all honesty, this movie was like a review from Psychology and Physics class. However if you could follow, the movie was entertaining. If you're looking to be entertained I wouldn't recommend this movie. If you're looking to learn something, I also wouldn't recommend it, just read a book or something so you can go at your own pace. Another thing about this movie was that it targets a very narrow audience. The more educated audience will find this dull and just like packing as much info into your head the day before an exam. On the other hand, if one is not educated in these aspects, the movie will be too difficult to follow and you may just fall asleep. In one review, the person stated that the movie treats you like a junior high school student. This statement is for the most part true. I would recommend reading up on the movie before watching it. Expand
  31. LeeE.
    Jan 17, 2005
    8
    The biggest flaw in this movie is trying to cover too much - philosophy, biochemistry, quantum physics, intentionality - which overwhelms those stuck in their narrow way of thinking. The film makers deserve credit in approaching this difficult task, and actually provoking some meaningful dialogue. It is very rare these days that entertainment does little more than lull the dull. It is The biggest flaw in this movie is trying to cover too much - philosophy, biochemistry, quantum physics, intentionality - which overwhelms those stuck in their narrow way of thinking. The film makers deserve credit in approaching this difficult task, and actually provoking some meaningful dialogue. It is very rare these days that entertainment does little more than lull the dull. It is amusing that "Sceintist wanna-bes" seem to be the ones who find it so threatening. Chill. It's just a film. Expand
  32. AlastairP.
    Jan 9, 2005
    8
    Hated it as a film, but loved it for the mind expanding ideas. Thought really does create reality.
  33. BostonB.
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    I absolutely love this movie. It's great for its content, not so much its cinematic value. The amount of enjoyment anyone will receive from it is directly linked to how receptive (s)he is to the observation-based philosophies the movie expounds. If you are ready to challenge your own paradigms, it's a great way to seriously explore the question, "What the #$*! Do We Know?". If I absolutely love this movie. It's great for its content, not so much its cinematic value. The amount of enjoyment anyone will receive from it is directly linked to how receptive (s)he is to the observation-based philosophies the movie expounds. If you are ready to challenge your own paradigms, it's a great way to seriously explore the question, "What the #$*! Do We Know?". If you are in the least bit interested in quantum physics, this movie is a terrific intro to some of the more interesting aspects. If you are really attached to your established beliefs or have a lot of resistance to taking responsibility for your thoughts and actions, this will probably seem like New Age fluff (but from some of most intelligent scientists and philosophers on the planet.) Expand
  34. OlmaS.
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    An extremely thought provoking film,a joyful respite from the ghastly,mindless blood and guts mayhem offered on most films,(both big screen and TV) today, A great film.
  35. Justin
    Dec 2, 2004
    0
    What a ridiculous piece of shit! Anybody with even the SLIGHTEST understand of quantum physics will look right throught this "movie" and see it for what it is -- a lump of new-agey garbage that uses physics on only the most tangential level to try justifying its questionable metaphysics. The one woman whose interview is used most is the one with the LEAST scientific credentials. To top it What a ridiculous piece of shit! Anybody with even the SLIGHTEST understand of quantum physics will look right throught this "movie" and see it for what it is -- a lump of new-agey garbage that uses physics on only the most tangential level to try justifying its questionable metaphysics. The one woman whose interview is used most is the one with the LEAST scientific credentials. To top it all off, it's just bad filmmaking, plain and simple. Expand
  36. Chimp
    Nov 22, 2004
    2
    What a waste of time!
  37. DanH.
    Nov 5, 2004
    9
    Fascinating. Granted, it's not Spielberg, but tremendously stimulating and thought provoking. I saw it 3X in 24 hours. The growing public acclaim goes to show that a lot of critics don't know Bleep!
  38. GarthD
    Oct 26, 2004
    7
    I'd rate this movie a little higher than most. At worst it is silly, flaky, self-aggrandizing and scientifically inaccurate (e.g. the body is about 70% water, not 90%). At best it is whimsical, playful, and a thoughful forum to contemplate notions of will, consciousness, and hope from the perspective of modern physics. I found the comments from some of the more eccentric characters I'd rate this movie a little higher than most. At worst it is silly, flaky, self-aggrandizing and scientifically inaccurate (e.g. the body is about 70% water, not 90%). At best it is whimsical, playful, and a thoughful forum to contemplate notions of will, consciousness, and hope from the perspective of modern physics. I found the comments from some of the more eccentric characters sort of cute and charming, even wise, if flaky. Some of the speakers do have impressive credentials--I have to wonder how they and their colleagues feel about their involvement in this film. The film did stimulate me to do some more reading about the latest in theoretical physics, and the potential relevance of these findings to human experience. Hopefully at best it will lead the viewer to do the same, and not accept the film as the last word on modern physics or mysticism! Expand
  39. JeffL.
    Oct 18, 2004
    5
    Koyaanisqatsi meets 2001? Lewis Carroll meets Shirley MacLaine? Errol Morris drops acid? This out-of-left-field indie hit uses a certifiably loopy, if genuinely original, blend of talking heads, spacy special effects, and awkward fictional narrative to discuss and illustrate theories of quantum physics. Is this a deep and provocative meditation on the meaning of reality, the nature of Koyaanisqatsi meets 2001? Lewis Carroll meets Shirley MacLaine? Errol Morris drops acid? This out-of-left-field indie hit uses a certifiably loopy, if genuinely original, blend of talking heads, spacy special effects, and awkward fictional narrative to discuss and illustrate theories of quantum physics. Is this a deep and provocative meditation on the meaning of reality, the nature of God, and the infinite possibilities of the human mind? A hilarious New Age mockumentary directed by Christopher Guest incognito? Or a trippy cult movie best enjoyed under the influence of what Paul McCartney calls "herbal jazz cigarettes?" And hey, man, can you REALLY prove that this movie exists at all and isn't just a figment of your imagination? And if it doesn't really exist, can I have my eight bucks back? Whoa! Expand
  40. PatrickS.
    Oct 9, 2004
    8
    As a movie, I thought the absolutely crazed mix of a badly acted story, interviews with many scientists and professors, and jumping, singing and dancing CGI blobs was exactly what i wanted: I came in hoping to see the weirdest movie I could, and I certainly found one of them. However, I'm afraid some of the messages in the film are jeopardized by the fact that the movie was made by As a movie, I thought the absolutely crazed mix of a badly acted story, interviews with many scientists and professors, and jumping, singing and dancing CGI blobs was exactly what i wanted: I came in hoping to see the weirdest movie I could, and I certainly found one of them. However, I'm afraid some of the messages in the film are jeopardized by the fact that the movie was made by people from a rather strange religious organization. This certainly does not take everything away from it; surely the ideas presented here are no more crazy or dangerous than those of any major religion. But it is still very unfortunate that this film has an agenda, as the ideas presented are indeed fascinating. I liked this movie much more before I came home and found out about the film maker's intent and that some of the people presented here are in fact pretty phony. However, this film also has some very thought provoking ideas about the funnest questions in life: those ABOUT life, death, and meaning; those that have no answer. Approach this film with a healthy amount of skepticism as well as an open mind and you'll surely find this film worthwhile. Expand
  41. S.Cipolla
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    The movie shows how much is possible, how much we can create, much of which we never have tried before because we didn't think it was possible to do ourselves. Our culture teaches us that everything comes from outside ourselves, and that simply is not true.
  42. KristenM
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable (although not really) how so many people (reviewers and street people alike) could miss the point. Fortunately I surround myself with people who aren't afraid to look at the science and spirituality of possibilities.
  43. DDexter
    Sep 10, 2004
    7
    It's worth seeing, even if it only gets you started learning about quantum physics. I suggest Hyperspace by Michio Kaku or David Greene's Elegant Universe. I always enjoy movies that help me see the world from a different perspective. I think the people that have given this really low ratings probably just don't get it.
  44. MarkB.
    Jul 12, 2004
    6
    Well, let's see. Since this year's (mostly) unexpected hit movies have included a two-hour anti-Bush commercial, a two-hour harangue against eating Big Macs, and a grueling, two-hour-plus, ultragory examination of the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life, spoken entirely in two dead languages, why SHOULDN'T this wackjob blend of psychiatry and psychobabble, science and Well, let's see. Since this year's (mostly) unexpected hit movies have included a two-hour anti-Bush commercial, a two-hour harangue against eating Big Macs, and a grueling, two-hour-plus, ultragory examination of the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life, spoken entirely in two dead languages, why SHOULDN'T this wackjob blend of psychiatry and psychobabble, science and psuedoscience be an arthouse smash as well? It doesn't succeed in making quantum physics (which it claims is the only rational explanation for all matters known and unknown) any less difficult for us novices, but it sure does make it sillier, and it sure as heck isn't boring for a second, despite all the talking heads. Marlee Matlin, still a lovely actress (and, as evidenced in abundance here, a good sport) plays a cranky photographer who's in a perpetual snit because her metaphysical/spirituasl equilibrium is out of whack, or something like that. A scene late in the film in which Marlee, assigned to cover a wedding, commits so many breeches of professionalism that Peter Parker's editor in the Spiderman movies should fall down on his knees in gratitude that SHE isn't on his payroll is interspersed with colorful Id Monsters that look like Jello salads and explain her (and the party guests') natural impulses; it's ridiculous in ways too complex and numerous to mention, and I wouldn't have missed it for the world! During this and similar sequences, What the... looks and feels like a New Age update of those episodes of The Wonderfvul World of Disney in which Ludwig von Drake expains the pulley; later, when Marlee's yin and yang become fused and she is at last a happy camper, it's like a Tony Robbins infomercial sans Leeza Gibbons. Don't be surprised to see this a few years down the road as a midnight movie cult classic, with enthusiastic repeat moviegoers showing up dressed as nerdy professors with big bowties or as huge pink gelatinous blobs. Expand
  45. SteveW
    Jul 10, 2004
    8
    I found this movie to provide an enjoyable introduction to newage ideas and some aspects of science thich seems to support it. At the same time it provides a fun story of a confused lady.
  46. ChrisL.
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    This was a very good introduction to the field of Cog. Psycology, and QP. Very cleverly put together.
  47. JohnC.
    Jun 24, 2004
    3
    This movie is kinda sucky. I'd call it the video equivalent of an unpublished book called "new age ca-ca for dummies". Some of the ideas were interesting, although I have heard most of them before. The manner in which they were presented - a mixture of interviews and narrated computer sequences - was alternatingly ineffective and downright silly. Moreover, one of the speakers This movie is kinda sucky. I'd call it the video equivalent of an unpublished book called "new age ca-ca for dummies". Some of the ideas were interesting, although I have heard most of them before. The manner in which they were presented - a mixture of interviews and narrated computer sequences - was alternatingly ineffective and downright silly. Moreover, one of the speakers apparently was a deceased person channeled through a medium. The only person who would benefit from this movie is a 16 year old who had never heard of Deepak Chopra and is highly visual. The computer graphics of neuronal activity and a thunderstorming cerebellum were perhaps the movie's only redeeming qualities. For an existential trip-out, I'd save my money and rent "Waking Life". Waking life is not condescending and pedantic, looks way, way cooler, and is more ideologically broad-reaching and poetic. Expand
  48. AbhijayP.
    Jun 23, 2004
    2
    A disjointed mix of science documentary and narrative of self-discovery is completely undone by amateurish acting and a mishmash of disparate new age thinking.
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    50
    Pic's not-so-hidden agenda is to promote the fusion of science and New Age religion, making it a close cousin to ventures as Bernt and Fritjof Capra's "Mindwalk."
  2. Reviewed by: Margaret Wertheim
    40
    In the age of creationism, a sympathetic mix of science and religion sounds like a promising premise. But in this genre-blending cocktail of drama, documentary and computer-graphic animation, quantum physics is so subordinated to the service of an anything-goes mysticism that little remains of the science except the terminology.
  3. Reviewed by: Kevin Crust
    50
    As entertainment, the movie is a mixed bag. Some of the talking heads become just that after a while.