Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 2, 2009
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 113 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
73
Mixed:
24
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MaryMOct 18, 2009
Unexpectedly entertaining and real. I'm as old (probably) as the "mom' in the film, but I was able to identify in some way to both the daughter and the mom. Well done, Drew!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonLOct 2, 2009
A decent flick. Not bad for Drew's first time directing, but it was apparent she was a bit of a newbie. Little things like characters overdoing small actions to spice things up where it just drew attention to the directing. But, she A decent flick. Not bad for Drew's first time directing, but it was apparent she was a bit of a newbie. Little things like characters overdoing small actions to spice things up where it just drew attention to the directing. But, she also created a comfortable environment to allow the actors to explore the mood of the scene and flesh out some nice touching moments. There were some good laughs and a few tears to be had. Ellen was very good and especially adorable. Wiig is growing on me more and more all the time. Drew was great, as was Lewis. The real test is if I would see it again. Definitely. And nobody in the theater was in a hurry to leave after. We all stayed for the fun credits. Kudos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayL.Oct 2, 2009
Good Stuff!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertT.Oct 3, 2009
Ellen Page took her tyoecast of "The Wierd Girl" to a new level. I thought this film would be just like Juno without the pregnancy and drama (Juno is my favorite movie.) But it wasn't all of the actor and actresses did an outstanding Ellen Page took her tyoecast of "The Wierd Girl" to a new level. I thought this film would be just like Juno without the pregnancy and drama (Juno is my favorite movie.) But it wasn't all of the actor and actresses did an outstanding job. Ellen Page's work really stuck out to me. Especially the aforementioned typecast weird girl role. It's like she was still that role but a different better version. The film its self was very good. The plot and camera work as well. It was a tad predictable but over all the film has been the best of this year so far. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JonWJan 4, 2010
Loved it. Would happily see it again. A triumph fro Drew.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnC.Oct 2, 2009
A beautiful Teen-Movie ... Great performance of Ellen page and great debut for Drew Barrymore !! Very Good !
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlbertoC.Oct 2, 2009
Very funny !!! I Love You, Ellen Page !!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EnzoP.Oct 4, 2009
Whip It is a funny comedy that shows Bliss (roller derby name Babe Ruthless) finding her passion and what she wants to do in life. Kind of surprised that someone would want to roller derby for the rest of your life know its practically Whip It is a funny comedy that shows Bliss (roller derby name Babe Ruthless) finding her passion and what she wants to do in life. Kind of surprised that someone would want to roller derby for the rest of your life know its practically illegal and of course her parents hate Babe's new hobby. I don't like this quote very much but I think I should say it. 'It's just a movie.' None of this will probably happen to you. Also some people say it is more then a movie if they like it a lot. But this isn't a masterpiece. Drew Barrymore coming of her best acting performance on an HBO series Grey Gardens Drew takes on directing a film. Before she started working on the film she had no idea what to do or what you were supposed to do. So she took some lessons and she was on her way. Very good debut and I wonder if she is going to make other films. Overall it's a good film not perfect but looking forward if Drew will make another film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacobIOct 5, 2009
Very Funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveCOct 6, 2009
I know and i am good friends with one of the actors in the movie. So its fucking awesome
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SteveM.Oct 2, 2009
Hilarious and sweet, with always-great Ellen Page, and a fun supporting cast (Alia Shawkat, Kristen Wiig, Juliette Lewis, and Zoe Bell stand out for me). Very enjoyable and a good directorial debut for Drew. Flawless film? No - there are Hilarious and sweet, with always-great Ellen Page, and a fun supporting cast (Alia Shawkat, Kristen Wiig, Juliette Lewis, and Zoe Bell stand out for me). Very enjoyable and a good directorial debut for Drew. Flawless film? No - there are some issues with "believability" and a high number of "feel good" convenient plot devices. Will you leave with a giant smile on your face? Definitely. And don't forget to support your own local Roller Girls! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Oct 4, 2009
Bliss Cavendar(Ellen Page) exercises her freedom of choice, and she chooses roller derby. Raised by a mama who is grooming her for a life of tiaras and parade floats, Bliss wants to knock people out with brawn and stamina, not beauty and Bliss Cavendar(Ellen Page) exercises her freedom of choice, and she chooses roller derby. Raised by a mama who is grooming her for a life of tiaras and parade floats, Bliss wants to knock people out with brawn and stamina, not beauty and poise. "Whip It" is a satirical, but offsetting film that messes with Texas, small-town Texas, which shares the same tonal melange of smugness and compassion towards its rural characters as Mike Judge's animated series "King of the Hill". The film may view a woman like Brooke Cavendar(Marcia Gay Harden) as inherently ridiculous, but it stops short of mocking this reactionary lady. For example, when Brooke takes her daughter shopping for boots, she becomes the butt of a joke about unworldly hayseeds, in which this paegant mom coos like a southern debutante over the bongs she mistakenly identifies as "pretty lamps". Instead of dragging out the joke about a straight arrow mother's ignorance over drug paraphernalia, Brooke quickly recovers, and diagnoses her environs as being a "head shop". Like Peggy Hill(voiced by Kathy Najimy) from the cancelled Fox series, Brooke Cavendar is allowed to keep her dignity. Granting that beauty paegants are a de-evolutionary step for womankind, in which the Kings of Leon song "Knocked Up" is used as a predictor of Bliss' narrowing future of being a mother and homemaker when this ironic contestant crosses the stage with her blue do, roller derby seems equally narrow in scope, and may lead the girl down a path that's no less middling than the one she's leaving. After all, in roller derby, you're just rolling around in circles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonZOct 5, 2009
This movie greatly exceeded my expectations. I loved everything about it. Great performances all around, great story, and a great script. It may have been a little cliche, but it just felt real to me. It was really a really funny and This movie greatly exceeded my expectations. I loved everything about it. Great performances all around, great story, and a great script. It may have been a little cliche, but it just felt real to me. It was really a really funny and heartfelt movie, I laughed and cried way too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WinstonLNov 12, 2009
EVERYTHING about this movie is simply Oscar-worthy.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
KingmushOct 18, 2010
Loved Ellen Paige in Juno so when I saw that she was starring in this movie I just knew I had to go see it, so... I didn't. But recently a friend of mine had the dvd and we watched it and I was really glad I did. Loved it. Well, to an extent.Loved Ellen Paige in Juno so when I saw that she was starring in this movie I just knew I had to go see it, so... I didn't. But recently a friend of mine had the dvd and we watched it and I was really glad I did. Loved it. Well, to an extent. The story was pretty good, a unique subject that as far as I know it's the only movie really to talk about it. And it actually got me legitimately interested in roller derby. The main characters were great as usual and the underlining themes of father/daughter and the obvious mother/daughter was well done. I guess I could say supporting characters lacked a bit and the love interest part wasn't too well done in my opinion, or well just made me mad I suppose. So anyway, 3.5 out of 5 from me.

http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/whip-it.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TonyDec 11, 2010
A very pleasant film that is greatly elevated by fine acting from Ellen Page and Marcia Gay Harden. After decades in Hollywood, Drew Barrymore clearly knows her way around a film set and proved herself to be a very adept director. This movieA very pleasant film that is greatly elevated by fine acting from Ellen Page and Marcia Gay Harden. After decades in Hollywood, Drew Barrymore clearly knows her way around a film set and proved herself to be a very adept director. This movie is purely fun and escapist, and I could see teenage girls really rallying around it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediJul 31, 2011
I really liked the cast! Very nice people gathered for the premiere of Drew Barrymore as a director. There are many cute scenes, some dialogue as well. But what attracts this movie, other than the cute Ellen Page, are the super forcedI really liked the cast! Very nice people gathered for the premiere of Drew Barrymore as a director. There are many cute scenes, some dialogue as well. But what attracts this movie, other than the cute Ellen Page, are the super forced performances of the girls. Drew and Juliette Lewis are very enjoyable to see. In addition, the Roller Derby is fun to watch because it has a lot of beating. I also loved the soundtrack. I think itâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ArendelleawesomMay 31, 2014
Let me first state I don't like dramas and really only if there good will I manage to somewhat enjoy them this movie was fairly good I liked the story and the humor also the competition was fun to watch as well it kept the cliche love stuffLet me first state I don't like dramas and really only if there good will I manage to somewhat enjoy them this movie was fairly good I liked the story and the humor also the competition was fun to watch as well it kept the cliche love stuff to a minimum which is very fortunate I'd recommend watching this especially if your an Ellen Page fan like I am Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 8, 2016
This movie is so entertaining and fun with goofy jokes, just makes you want to get out there and start to roller derby!

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-51a3-Whip-It-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews