Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: For U.S. Marshal Carrie Stetko, things are about to get even more dangerous. The only law enforcement in this unforgiving territory, she has just been sent to investigate a body on the ice. Antarctica's first homicide. A shocking discovery in itself, it will plunge her into an even moreFor U.S. Marshal Carrie Stetko, things are about to get even more dangerous. The only law enforcement in this unforgiving territory, she has just been sent to investigate a body on the ice. Antarctica's first homicide. A shocking discovery in itself, it will plunge her into an even more bizarre mystery and the revelation of secrets long-buried under the endless ice...secrets that someone believes are still worth killing for. As Stetko races to find the killer before he finds her, winter is already closing in. In the deadly Antarctic whiteout, she won't see him till he's a breath away. (Warner Bros.) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Whiteput is pretty cool. I don't know why are so many people saying that's a bad movie! I think the thriller is great and at the end you don'tWhiteput is pretty cool. I don't know why are so many people saying that's a bad movie! I think the thriller is great and at the end you don't know what to thik about it. Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    7
    great thriller, good suspense as It will keep you guessing who is the killer is, the flashbacks are a bit corny and i thought they reallygreat thriller, good suspense as It will keep you guessing who is the killer is, the flashbacks are a bit corny and i thought they really didnt need to be in the movie. and the fighting scenes where well made and exciting. a must see movie. Collapse
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    When I first saw the previews for Whiteout, I didn't think it would be anything special. It wasn't until Netflix recommended it for me and IWhen I first saw the previews for Whiteout, I didn't think it would be anything special. It wasn't until Netflix recommended it for me and I read the description, that I thought there might be something there. While the previews made it look like some arctic nightmare, the truth is that it was a pretty great film. The story is centered around a U.S. Marshall, stationed at the base in Antarctica. For more than 3 years, she didn't really have much to do, but that all changed when two base members are found murdered. It then becomes Carrie Stetko's job to solve the first murders in the continents history. Despite a lack of other people and places to go, the writers of this film did an excellent job at keeping this movie intriguing. I didn't think in a million years that a film like this would work, but actually it works out really well, and unlike a similar story, Fargo, the producers of Whiteout hold nothing back. Kate Beckinsale stars and really does a fantastic job. I've always like her abilities, not to mention the way she looks, but this film is the first time her performance really stood out to me as something special, maybe she should consider playing a cop more often. As someone who's seen thousands of films, it always amazes me how the films I expect the least from, always deliver the biggest surprises. Whiteout is pure intensity, not to mention, a great mystery, that is absolutely worth seeing. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    WHITEOUT is an entertaining thriller film.
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    5
    esta película comienza con paso firme pero a menudo que avanza se va volviendo sofocante y enredado y al final uno queda con la boca abiertaesta película comienza con paso firme pero a menudo que avanza se va volviendo sofocante y enredado y al final uno queda con la boca abierta pensando
    "como algo que comienza también termina de esta forma
    Expand
  6. May 19, 2013
    3
    This just was not a very good movie. It's never really engaging at all, the visual effects are mega cheezy, and the direction is very bland.This just was not a very good movie. It's never really engaging at all, the visual effects are mega cheezy, and the direction is very bland. It was basically like a bad episode of C.S.I. Even if you find it scrolling through the channels at 10 at night and nothing else is on, do something else, because it's a waste of time. Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2013
    3
    Yet even the movie’s big blizzard battle is utterly botched. We’re told at the beginning of the film of something called a “whiteout”, theYet even the movie’s big blizzard battle is utterly botched. We’re told at the beginning of the film of something called a “whiteout”, the name for what occurs when a big storm blows in and everything quite literally disappears in an impenetrable curtain of white. To travel outside in these conditions, brave souls must attach themselves to guide wires which run between buildings, lest they lose their way and freeze to death or worse, get blown into oblivion. This might seem like the ideal environment for a final showdown, but in the hands of fumbling Dominic Sena it proves mostly ridiculous. Characters flail their way through the snow and we squint to see what’s going on only to discover that, as in the rest of the movie, what’s going on is pretty much nothing. Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers

    Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers Image
    Published: July 26, 2011
    Whose comics make better movies: those published by Marvel, or ones from DC? Or do the best films come from indie comics, like this week's adaptation of Platinum Studios' "Cowboys & Aliens"? Find out inside as we compare the films of each comic book publisher.
  2. Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies

    Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies Image
    Published: April 12, 2010
    Which comic book movies kick ass, and which deserve to be kicked to the curb? We run through the best and worst examples of films based on comics, from "Superman" to "Howard the Duck."