User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 66
  2. Negative: 3 out of 66
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulA.
    Jun 13, 2004
    10
    Denise Richards naked ACE!!
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    One Of The Best Films Ever Made! Denise Richards Did A Great A+ Job As Well As The Rest Of The Cast.. The Writing Is Very Good.. There Is Really Noting Negative About This Movie @ All!
  3. AndrewM
    Jul 25, 2004
    8
    A review of this film screams for adjectives....and lots of 'em! This interesting little piece of cinema history simply reeks of sleaze, immorality and deceit....but it openly delights in this netherworld of sin. It revels in its own mendaciousness, gloats at its own corruption, wears it like cheap cologne. It's seedy, mucky, voyeuristic film noir...and it works because A review of this film screams for adjectives....and lots of 'em! This interesting little piece of cinema history simply reeks of sleaze, immorality and deceit....but it openly delights in this netherworld of sin. It revels in its own mendaciousness, gloats at its own corruption, wears it like cheap cologne. It's seedy, mucky, voyeuristic film noir...and it works because it's honest about itself, with no pretences. The lead performances are all acceptable, if not impressive, and the story they are given to play with is wonderfully twisted and grubby, yet still comical and oddly palatable; I don't know how, but it is! It stays one step this side of absurd, its wildly bendy plot pushing the whole experience to the limit, but not so far as to sacrifice the audience's belief and attention. This film takes you into a murky kind of world, on a slow-motion rollercoaster ride, you and all the other inmates, and you feel as though all your sins have been bared along the way. Expand
  4. TheLastRitesOfGilbertMulroneycakes
    Mar 17, 2005
    8
    This film's great! Twist upon twist upon revelation until the shallowness takes on a sort of poetry. Incredible. The luridity and sleaze themselves become almost like music: so huge and inescapable and garish that it begins to work directly on the emotions. It's the purest form of trash yet known to Man. It's the embodiment of Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. I loved it. I don't This film's great! Twist upon twist upon revelation until the shallowness takes on a sort of poetry. Incredible. The luridity and sleaze themselves become almost like music: so huge and inescapable and garish that it begins to work directly on the emotions. It's the purest form of trash yet known to Man. It's the embodiment of Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. I loved it. I don't want to see too many more like it, but I loved it anyway. There's no point appreciating great art if you can't appreciate great trash, that's what Pauline Kael and Roger Ebert say. And they're right. Wild Things is trash as a genre, not as an adjective. If you can't get in tune with this sort of thing, you'll hate it. Plus it had THAT scene in it. Oh, mother. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    Actually This Is A Pretty Good Movie..
    The Plot Is Very Well Writen And The Acting By Denise Richards Is Good..
    I'm Not Sure Users Are Saying "One Of The Best Movies Of All Time" Because It's Not.. It's A Good Movie..
  6. JayH
    Mar 16, 2008
    6
    Starts out very promising but the plot does get a bit far fetched as it progresses along. There are a few too many twists. This does hurt the credibilty of the film. The cast is good, Denise Richards is a knock out. Great location footage.
  7. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    Wild Things is a fun twisty, turny piece of semi-erotic film noir.. It's good but it isn't a masterwork or anything. Bill Murray's inclusion, however, is delightful.
  8. Feb 22, 2013
    2
    For years, people have been talking to me about this smart, sexy thriller, that spawned three sequels. There is also something to be said for mysteries, with twists and turns, that make you think, but a half hour into this thing, it was easy to figure out why none of the stars came back for the sequels. This movie certainly plays up the eye candy angle, with two of the most beautiful womenFor years, people have been talking to me about this smart, sexy thriller, that spawned three sequels. There is also something to be said for mysteries, with twists and turns, that make you think, but a half hour into this thing, it was easy to figure out why none of the stars came back for the sequels. This movie certainly plays up the eye candy angle, with two of the most beautiful women in Hollywood, and at first glance, it seems like it's going to be a pretty good film, but then the twists and turns kick in. Throwing in a twist can make an ordinary film spectacular, but when you do it every five minutes, it just confuses the hell out of the audience, and that's what happened here. By the end of Wild Things, I didn't know what the hell was going on anymore. As for the performances, they range from the brilliant Neve Campbell to the horrid Matt Dillon, and feature a ton of cameos in-between. I wanted to like this movie, there are some very good looking people, who like to take their cloths off, and that does tend to help you focus more, but the question is what are we focusing on? I concluded that there really isn't a reason to watch two hours of pure when you can find all the naked celebrity pictures you could ever want, in five minutes online. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. 67
    The fun of Wild Things -- and there's a lot of it -- is in its never-ending game of cross and double cross.
  2. 75
    It's like a three-way collision between a softcore sex film, a soap opera and a B-grade noir. I liked it.
  3. This picture breaks through the limits and goes way beyond the pale -- it seems to enjoy irking us for the sheer hell of it.