Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1053 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2013
    91
    World War Z presents an abundance of relatively plausible action, smart solutions and one useful piece of information: When the zombiepocalypse comes, the undead are flying coach.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 29, 2013
    80
    World War Z is the most gratifying action spectacle in years, and one reason for its success if the Pitt doesn't play a superhero. [1 July 2013, p.76]
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Exciting, truly harrowing and smartly directed apocalyptic thriller from Marc Forster ("Monster's Ball"). It's the scariest zombie movie in many years.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 21, 2013
    67
    Director Marc Forster is very good at amping up the terror, but after a while, we reach zombie overload and we might as well be watching an infestation of Transformers.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 20, 2013
    63
    The stakes are high and the excitement's there and the results, as previously stated, are messy but fairly entertaining.
  6. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Jun 7, 2013
    60
    While some of World War Z is rotten, the whole stands as a punchy, if conventional action thriller.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 18, 2013
    20
    It is no summer thriller. It’s an anemic actioner that fosters excitement like dead limbs as it lumbers toward a conclusion.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 307
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I love this movie. Kinda like the Walking Dead on steroids. Great acting by Brad and the whole cast. I'm hoping they do a sequel because II love this movie. Kinda like the Walking Dead on steroids. Great acting by Brad and the whole cast. I'm hoping they do a sequel because I would like to see where the storyline goes. Seeing as this did not follow the book very closely they have many options where they could take it. I would like to see the characters expanded on a bit and then of course the solution, search for the cure or just the journey to how they got where they are. Collapse
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    First off, I have not read the book, but I get what the general idea of it is. I went into this film with low expectations, with Brad PittFirst off, I have not read the book, but I get what the general idea of it is. I went into this film with low expectations, with Brad Pitt being the main draw for me, but this film was fantastic! It more than exceeded my expectations and features an unusually smart script, a great performance by Brad Pitt, and surprisingly scary and intense sequences. But the biggest shocker of the film is that the PG-13 rating actually works! It forced the filmmakers to be more creative and focus on actual tension and horror, rather than a zombie in the dark chewing on a human arm. The characters in the movie actually call them "zombies" unlike every other zombie film where people say "walkers" or something along those lines. Overall, a really fun, scary, and smart film that constantly surprises you and, while it doesn't re-define the genre, it effectively freshens up the zombie film genre. Expand
  3. Jul 8, 2013
    8
    World War Z is, despite dull moments and being uneven sometimes, it is thought provoking, intense and a powerful movie about the collapse ofWorld War Z is, despite dull moments and being uneven sometimes, it is thought provoking, intense and a powerful movie about the collapse of humanity. World War Z has a great action build up and a clever plot that will stay with you for some time. The acting is first rate and truthful with some dazzling visuals and practical effects. World War Z has good editing and a great directing. Watch it as soon as possible and often you get some good "end of the world" movie type. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    7
    This feels like a good (not great) movie with some brilliant scenes (especially the opening ones and the exit from Jerusalem), a cohesiveThis feels like a good (not great) movie with some brilliant scenes (especially the opening ones and the exit from Jerusalem), a cohesive story line, and characters with actual emotional pull. It is not preachy, it is not a slave to special effects, and it does not drag. However, nothing in the movie is really spectacular enough to make this a must-see movie. I'd recommend watching it, but I wouldn't cancel existing plans to do so. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    Another zombie movie is more than I can handle, but World War Z manages to bring a darker tone and intensity than the usual funny gore fest.Another zombie movie is more than I can handle, but World War Z manages to bring a darker tone and intensity than the usual funny gore fest. However, there is too much boring dialogue and the characters are humorless and uninteresting. Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing like the book which was excellent.
    It should have focused more on the terror of the individual in a typical housing estate, rather than onboard a totally safe Aircraft Carrier. The film's action seemed to be over 48 hours from infection to solution, as for the plane crash in Wales don't get me started. When are film makers going to have a central character that has human weaknesses and flaws Brad Pitt is superhuman in the film, surviving a farcical plane crash and a 10 inch piece of shrapnel through his vital organs.
    Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2013
    0
    "World War Z" is a perfect example of how to turn a very good book into a total nonsense, spending in the process a few hundred million"World War Z" is a perfect example of how to turn a very good book into a total nonsense, spending in the process a few hundred million dollars.

    The score of 1 is just for the reference to the book. Otherwise it should be ZERO. Or less.
    Expand

See all 307 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.