Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1001 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Marc Forster
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Drama, Thriller, Horror
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 116 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2013
    91
    World War Z presents an abundance of relatively plausible action, smart solutions and one useful piece of information: When the zombiepocalypse comes, the undead are flying coach.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 29, 2013
    80
    World War Z is the most gratifying action spectacle in years, and one reason for its success if the Pitt doesn't play a superhero. [1 July 2013, p.76]
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    Exciting, truly harrowing and smartly directed apocalyptic thriller from Marc Forster ("Monster's Ball"). It's the scariest zombie movie in many years.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 21, 2013
    67
    Director Marc Forster is very good at amping up the terror, but after a while, we reach zombie overload and we might as well be watching an infestation of Transformers.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 20, 2013
    63
    The stakes are high and the excitement's there and the results, as previously stated, are messy but fairly entertaining.
  6. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Jun 7, 2013
    60
    While some of World War Z is rotten, the whole stands as a punchy, if conventional action thriller.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 18, 2013
    20
    It is no summer thriller. It’s an anemic actioner that fosters excitement like dead limbs as it lumbers toward a conclusion.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 290
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    I love this movie. Kinda like the Walking Dead on steroids. Great acting by Brad and the whole cast. I'm hoping they do a sequel because I would like to see where the storyline goes. Seeing as this did not follow the book very closely they have many options where they could take it. I would like to see the characters expanded on a bit and then of course the solution, search for the cure or just the journey to how they got where they are. Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Smart, immensely entertaining and terrifying to the bone. World War Z is what summer blockbusters should be, limited but intense action with a good story. You probably won't see a better action film this year. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Not sure if the "Z" means the last World War or if it stands for zombie. Either way, there's a worldwide outbreak of undead and Brad Pitt is dispatched by the UN to solve the crisis. The plot is standard formula (there's even a kid with asthma) and dotted with leaps of logic. The frantic fervor of the zombies is the only cool special effect. Throughout his worldwide quest, the action never loses momentum and borders on gripping. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    7
    Accion que no deja que los que suelen dormir en los cines no duerman, es una película con sentido de lo que solian ser los zombies en las diferentes peliculas se encuentran y se matan, una buena pelicula y deja algo que pensar al fin de todo Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Well. It's a good movie, but, the thing that like 90% of the Earth's population gets infected in 1-2 days, it's not that well think ed, and to be honest, this movie is more known because it has Brad Pitt in it. Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing like the book which was excellent.
    It should have focused more on the terror of the individual in a typical housing estate, rather than onboard a totally safe Aircraft Carrier. The film's action seemed to be over 48 hours from infection to solution, as for the plane crash in Wales don't get me started. When are film makers going to have a central character that has human weaknesses and flaws Brad Pitt is superhuman in the film, surviving a farcical plane crash and a 10 inch piece of shrapnel through his vital organs.
    Expand
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    0
    I'll start by saying as an adaptation it is a failure. That said not comparing this to the book and looking at it as it's own movie with nothing else, I have to say this movie is boring and on more than one occasion I was actively hoping Brad Pitt would die and we could follow some other more interesting character that is around him.

    The story follows a complete Mary Sue or Gary Stu who is incapable of failing at literally anything he does. Even in his failures he succeeds! He robs a pharmacy and find the exact looter who is not only willing to help him but then encourages him while complete chaos break out around him and did I mention he gets the exact last bit of medicine that he need? After being led on to believe it is all out the looter shows up to ask him what he is looking for and give it to him and wish him luck. Oh but it was just humanity helping each other out. It would be if it happened again or maybe if while he wasn't looking for it his wife wasn't about to get raped. He and his children survive a car crash, not just a fender bender but a full of T-bone collision while his asthmatic daughter isn't buckled up and the only problem she has is that she is hyperventilating but she is still capable of running since at that exact moment they are swarmed by "zombies". We are introduced to much more interesting characters all through the movie only to watch them die or just leave. Brad Pitt tells people he need to get back to his family, only to have a random no named soldier try to reprimand him by questioning why he thinks he is so special since they all have families that want to get back to and he never gives a reason why he is so important. In fact his character has no importance there is nothing that makes him so special. They say he was a reporter at one time and that he was good but he does nothing that no one else can't do. Everything about this movie is boring or bad. I'm a fan of the original book but I knew going into this it had nothing to do with it in anyway other than title and I still came out disappointed and upset that it cost me after matinee.
    Expand

See all 290 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.