User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 548 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 548

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Wreck-it-Ralph is a great movie for anyone and everyone. It is fun for kids. It has classic videogame references (for people to point out to eachother- "ooh look- Pong!"). It has a great story- it actually cuts kinda deep, emotionally, and that is something I have to give props to Disney for. The CGI is great for a non-Pixar CGI film. This movie is the full package that makes an awesome movie- I'm actually surprised that it did not win the Oscar for best animated feature film this year. I bet the sequel will. I cannot WAIT for Wreck it Ralph 2. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    i think disney should allocate more resources to making a quality film rather than paying ppl to write glowing reviews about this terribly unfunny and boring POS. i can't believe anyone would be that entertained by this movie to give it a 10 let alone an 8 or 9 unless they were being paid to promote this film under false pretenses. i saw 30 minutes of this movie and had to walk away. really bland, desperately trying to be funny, creatively bankrupt waste of time. if i had anything to do w/ this production, i'd insist on having my name removed from the credits or at least listed under a pseudonym.

    this movie is a train wreck and a far cry from pixar gems like wall-e, up!, monster's inc. etc... even decent disney films like entagled which had great characters and quality writing. anyone who *sincerely* believes this movie deserves anything above a 4 is only lying to themselves. absolutely abysmal. but having said that... i still encourage you to watch it if you have a chance just to get a better understanding of how marketing and hype have permeated everything we are exposed to in our daily lives from media to politics to consumerism.
    Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    7
    A really fun movie to watch, with a good story behind it. But, I wish they did 2 things differently. 1. Make the character animations stick to their 8 bit or 16 bit origins. 2. There was not enough reference to old and current video games.
  4. Feb 28, 2013
    6
    Wreck-it Ralph is classic Disney. Take away the video game background and it could be any standard Disney movie. But its the video game background that helps make it work. There's lovely in-jokes for older video game fans while still playing with arcade videogame convention in such an obvious way that any age-group can enjoy it. The film is also helped by great vocal talent. Everyone fits their role and help elevate the movie above the likes of rise of the guardians. However the film suffers on two fronts a bare bones plot device and a villain who only really gets revealed near the end. A bit more world building would have helped both. But still, this is a quality animated movie and great fun for video game nerds like myself. The end credits in particular are lovely. Just below a 7 here. If Metacritic allowed decimals, this would be a 6.5.

    Special mention for the Disney short at the start Paperman. It's absolutely beautiful and strikes a different tone to the usual Pixxar cute short. Mixing lovely black and white colouring with classic Disney-style aniumation, A movie in this style would be very interesting.
    Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    This is probably my new favorite Pixar film, ok so I work in the Game's industry so I was literally gushing at all the video game references (and there are lots) some in your face, some more subtle. But even as a family animated movie Wreck-It Ralph hits all the right notes, once again Pixar do what they do so well and craft brilliant characters, colourful exciting worlds and an entertaining story. In short Ralph is the bad guy in a classic arcade game called "Fix It Felix Jr", tired of being the bad guy he leaves the game and ventures into other games in an effort to become a hero. Saying anymore will spoil the plot and Pixar films are ones that are best gone into afresh. The pacing does falter a bit in them middle but the beginning and ending is pure goodness, by the end you'll want to play even the fictional games made for the movie. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    i love this movie, it has a great range of funny emotional scenes. A great family movie starring Jane Lynch, and John C. Reilly.
  7. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    A very good film that will entertain both the kids and adults. The many video game references are brilliant. It provides the usual vast number of emotions you would expect from a disney film. Although thoruoghly enjoyable and entertaining it does not quite rank up there with the greatest animated disney films. Still definitely worth a watch though.
  8. Feb 24, 2013
    0
    This movie is the biggest piece of commercial i've ever seen in an animated movie. the well known, and well loved gaming characters like, Bowser, Sonic, Eggman, packman, and so on. They are only in the movie for like 5mins, and over half of them don't even have a line. I bet it's just so they can put em on the poster and in commercials, so people go see it.

    Futher more, it was
    predictable as hell. well, maybe it's just me, but i feel tricked by Walt Disney, what a load of BS (sorry). i'm just glad i didn't pay to watch it.

    But i can see that it would be good for small children, who dosen't know thoes classic gaming personalities, so they don't feel tricked. And it definitly shouldn't get oscar nominated. But i guess if it wins a Oscar Statuette, then i'll know that the Oscars is Fixed. xD
    Expand
  9. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    Completely one of the greatest animated films of all time. It has many funny jokes, sad parts and such a colorful art direction and one of the greatest i have seen in years. Just amazing
  10. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Adorable animation and lovable characters, this is both a combination of Toy Story and Who Framed Roger Rabbit in video game form Disney style. Maintains that Disney look of great animation, comedy and unsurprisingly underlying darkness alongside characters with interesting back stories where they are just begging to be loved, not to mention the film itself begging for repeat viewings because this is a film you can't see just once. It's neither patronising nor sickening, an intelligent combination of characters if not cameos with plenty of nostalgic video game references and humour which is a reason why plenty of adults should see this. It makes it feel like an instant classic and it's got an imaginative yet freaky twist in it that I've ever seen in an animation. The thing that got me was not only the heart-warming ending, but a sweet little romance between two very different characters which should be one of the sweetest romances in animation history. This film should belong up there with beautiful animations such as Toy Story. Expand
  11. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Best movie I saw in 2012. As a game villain Ralph is tired of being treated poorly, so on a bet he make an attempt at getting a coveted hero's medal. A story of trust and friendship, the video game landscape doesn't hurt the movie at all.
  12. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Are you big on video games? Have you ever watched a movie about video games? If you haven't this movie is for you, it has lots of video game cameos, great story, beautiful animation and just as much fun to watch as playing a video game!
  13. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Above all other entertainment mediums I am a gamer first and foremost so when I heard about Pixar making a Toy Story esque film about a videogame arcade I was a little worried, especially when I heard that real game characters such as Sonic Bowser would make an appearance...oh how wrong I was to worry.
    Wreck-It Ralph tells the story of Ralph, the bad guy in the arcade game Fix-It Felix.
    Ralph doesn't like being a bad guy because bad guys dont win medals or get celebrated so when he is shunned from the games 30th anniversary party Ralph decides to leave his game, join a different one and win a medal for being a good guy. However in his disappearance the game Fix-It Felix is continued to be played and is reported broken due to a missing Ralph. Felix realises how much of a role Ralph plays and must track him down and get him back in the game before they are unplugged forever.

    Wreck-It Ralph is incredibly well animated, has a brilliant voice cast and some great cameo's of real game characters and their voice actors. Gamers and non-gamers alike will enjoy it for its modern take on the 'Toy Story' tale and for its hilarious references, the most notable being the Konami Code.
    Wreck-It Ralph is this generations Toy Story and a film that should not be missed by anyone of any age.
    Expand
  14. Feb 15, 2013
    5
    I'll start by saying I don't like CG movies. I can never really connect to them. As a game playing teenager, I was enticed by the nostalgia of seeing some of the games from my youth rendered large. All I can say is what a missed opportunity. I thought there was going to be much more game hopping, and more characters featured. There is the whole history of computer gaming to draw from, and yet hardly any of them are featured. I suspect that they had licensing issues. The script wasn't funny and there was nothing in this film for an adult viewer. The main feature little more than a merchandising opportunity with some crass product placement only just about redeems itself in the last five minutes. It failed to have the emotional weight of the second film in the toy story franchise, or that one with the fish that proves you can be affected by the digital image. There was more feeling in the opening 2D short than there was in this entire movie. Probably worth the entrance fee for that alone. Schweet. Expand
  15. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    Few movies deliver emotional notes on all levels. Even fewer accomplish that while delivering a story based on video game characters living in an arcade game machine. Wreck-It Ralph does all this while appealing to non-gamers and gamers alike. It's a good movie. Go watch it.
  16. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    Oh oh Pixar...what's going on? While Brave is a bravura technical achievement, its conventional narrative made it felt pedestrian. Wreck-It Ralph ends up being the best animated film of the year. It's creative, fun and heart warming. And for a retro gamer like me, it's a great treat to see all the old game characters of arcade yore making their cameos. Great stuff!
  17. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    When I saw the trailer for Wreck-It Ralph last year, it didn't excite me too much. Still, I thought I would give it a shot. I am long time gamer after-all. I didn't expect to watch a great nostalgic and heartfelt film. It is my favorite animated film since Toy Story 3.
  18. Feb 11, 2013
    5
    As a self proclaimed gamer I thought the film was only ok. I went into this film expecting it to be centred around Ralph and his interaction with various video game characters that I grew up with. I wanted the film to feature all these characters prominently but it doesn't. The film basically becomes a film about a racing tournament involving no actual video game characters I wanted to see. It would of been so much cooler if it was something along the lines of (Using this as an example) Bowser and Dr. Robotnik team up, capture Mario and Sonic, and these two villains try to take over all the games in the arcarde. Wreck it Ralps sees this oppurtunity to prove himself as a hero rather than the villain and tries to stop them, and save Mario and Sonic, with other villains being like henchmen or whatever. I was expecting a story something like this. I was very dissapointed Expand
  19. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    A nostalgia trip for all gamers out there, although unfortunately, most of the cameos are from games that were popular in the 80s or arcade games (so I guess the target is for 40+ year olds?) however, younger parents, especially ones with little daughters, might find more enjoyment in this film than others. Lots of video-gaming in-jokes and some important moral lessons makes this a great film. Not as funny as other animated childrens films and it's a pity that some of the video game character cameos weren't fleshed out more but still an awesome film. Expand
  20. Feb 10, 2013
    7
    Inspired writing elevates this ingenious and delightful toon high above many of the more recent anaemic offerings. The visuals and design aspect of the animation is truly innovative. Eye poppingly imaginative in its colour and beauty and there are some great gags and one liners that will appeal to adults whilst the kids get caught up in the technical wizardry of the computer game worlds. John C Reilly provides a perfect fit for the voice of Ralph and Jane Lynch matches him all the way as the take no prisoners Sgt Calhoun. It is also refreshing to have a surprise villain hijack the picture at the end. In most animated films the villains are usually obviously presented or signposted well in advance. Expand
  21. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    A movie about a game usually means disaster but for once not. A film where adults (espeically gaming adults) and kids will both get a lot from the nostalgia, knowing in jokes and cameos to the great visuals. Traditional Disney story about an outsider who wants to be accepted fits well into the "win the game" theme. From makers of both Toy Story and The Simpsons this is a movie where you won't want to hit "QUIT"! Expand
  22. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    When I first saw a preview for this film, right away, I knew I wanted to see it. And I was not disappointed in the least. The acting with the characters was genuine because the VAs worked in the same room together as opposed to other animated films where each VA is in a different recording room. I enjoyed how the focus wasn't on mainstream video game characters and how they were only in the film for a maximum of 5-10 minutes. That keeps the attention on the main characters without forcing pop-culture references. The worlds were beautifully well done, even the Fix-It Felix world which was only a penthouse and garbage dump in front of a black backdrop. I wanted to know what would happen to each of the main characters, and each of them received a very fitting ending. The twist at the end was barely predictable (at least for myself and the people I went to go see it with) and, as it is Disney, I was left crying at the appropriate moments. Even the soundtrack was wonderful, I purchased it shortly after seeing the film. This is a rare movie for me in the case that I put in money and effort to see it multiple times. I will definitely be buying the DVD once it comes out and I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Disney, video games or just a good story. Expand
  23. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    This was a pleasant surprise. Didn't expect much because I always found Disney-produced CGI films somewhere between 'okay' and 'good'. Wreck-It Ralph blew me away with its story and lively setting. It was heartwarming and fun, a combination I look for in these types of movies. I want to see this again.
  24. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    After a stomping success in the States, this witty retro gaming homage is the first bow in the Disney Animation Studios’ arrow to be as ardent and artistically ballsy as the work from those neighboring Pixar bigwigs.

    Read the full review here:
    http://theframeloop.com/2013/02/06/filmwreck/
  25. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    Wreck It-Ralph is one of the best animated movies I have seen, the movie is heartwarming. The story is about Ralph who is on a journey of self discovery. It's a beautiful movie with meaning and a strong message that really makes you think about the importance of being able to accept yourself, who you are and what you do.
  26. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    Wreck-It-Ralph is hilarious, smart, heartwarming, and manages to bring you into a fantastic world. It features great voice acting and clever jokes for all ages. I give this film 96%.
  27. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    I wanted to love Wreck-It Ralph, and while I do liked it a lot, there's certain missed opportunities. The movie starts great, it seamlessly introduces the concept in a very easy and interesting format. I couldn't just but giggle with joy through the first part trying to find as many video-game cameos as I could. There's just something special about seeing characters you know and love on the big screen. The problem is that it eventually stops. The movie starts venturing into its own territory and it never looks back. For one, I am glad the movie doesn't just rely on cameos to win people over, but when there are so many possibilities and so many chances it is also hard to conceive that after 20 minutes or so of the movie; Ralph stays the rest of the film in only one video-game space, Sugar Rush. I expected, and I think everybody expected that Ralph would have taken the opportunity into wider conceptions. That out of the way, there's no deny that the movie has heart, and a lot of it. The chemistry between Ralph and Vanellope is unquestionable and makes for a very understandable and unique couple of characters. Its funny, its visually attractive, and has at it's heart a great story. Ralph makes up for the best animated movie of 2012. Expand
  28. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    I haven't savoured any animated movies for a while, and I wasn't sure if it was because I was growing up or if they were actually getting worse. Then came this movie, the best animated movie I've seen in a long time. Thanks to some nifty world-building, I fell in love with the video game universe and got nostalgic when watching the video game action scenes, especially those set in Sugar Rush. Sarah Silverman's vocal performance as Vanellope von Schweetz stands as one of the movie's greatest highlights, and the animation and 3D are enticing and colourful. The script and characters are just as smart as some of Pixar's greatest movies, and had they released Wreck-it-Ralph instead of Brave last year, I would've gone as far to say that they made a full recovery from Cars 2. They didn't unfortunately, but Wreck-it-Ralph still emerges as the Toy Story of a new generation and I'd love to see how it'll play out as a franchise. Expand
  29. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    Wreck-It Ralph is not only the best animated movie to come out this year, but it's a heartwarming adventure movie that really is for true video gamers. I love video games, and I have played all the classics like Super Mario, Pac-Man, Sonic the Hedgehog, and even newer games like Call of Duty or Halo, and they all add up to what makes this new film so fantastic. It takes the world of arcade games and shows us the view of the bad guy, who may not be so bad after all. The creators of the game really know what makes Disney Animation the best in the business, because just like a Pixar film, they are able to touch the core in the kid in us and able to give even an adult like me a great time. My only complaint about this film is that although they have many video game characters and worlds, we mostly spend time in a game called Sugar Rush. It's a candy world with a lot of characters that reminds me of Strawberry Shortcake or something, and I just felt like the movie could've explored a lot more games than a candy world. But this is not a big problem, because the movie itself is a great and wonderful time for all ages, and I think this is without a doubt the best video game movie ever made. I loved the story and animation, but the characters are what make Wreck-It Ralph so incredible. I honestly loved every character in the film, even Vanellope von Schweetz who I thought I was going to hate. This movie has a lot of heart and a lot of fun, and you need to see to see it right away. Expand
  30. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    Nostalgia is key in relation to the enjoyment of this film. If you do not care much for video games or despise them generally--then this is NOT the film for you. The film has a decent amount of content in relation to retro video games, meaning that parents will take notice of how this film could be geared with an adult audience. Thus making parents want to take their children to see it. There was only ever one problem I had with the Wreck-It Ralph, and it was that there doesn't happen to be all that much going on during the film. There are not as many video games outside of the retro introduction and once the introduction has been done--there ends up being a complete lack of anything retro. The film doesn't seem to keep consistent, though other than that...Wreck-It Ralph is a great film and is rather enjoyable if you have at least a minimal knowledge of video games. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 9, 2013
    40
    For me, it never came to life.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Feb 4, 2013
    80
    A "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" for the joystick generation that, despite a mid-act dip into generic Disney territory, high-scores on laughs, invention and 8-bit affection.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Kelly
    Jan 21, 2013
    80
    A Disney flick that feels like on-form Pixar, blending knowing humour and sophistication with a large helping of heart. You'll want another go.