Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1381 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: The ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class in an epic battle that must change the past - toThe ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class in an epic battle that must change the past - to save our future. [Twentieth Century Fox] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 22, 2014
    91
    Once every couple of years, a movie comes along to remind us how satisfyingly complex the genre can be. Christopher Nolan’s reimagining of the “Batman” saga did that masterfully. On a slightly less ambitious scale, so does X-Men: Days of Future Past.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 22, 2014
    88
    To reboot the X-Men franchise, director Bryan Singer, who first gave these characters screen life fourteen years ago, has crafted a continuity-lover's nightmare.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 22, 2014
    83
    I couldn’t follow many of the ins and outs of the time-travel scenario, and I’m not altogether sure that the filmmakers could, either. It doesn’t really matter. It’s enough that the movie is fun. We shouldn’t also expect it to make sense.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    May 21, 2014
    75
    For better or worse, X-Men: Days Of Future Past is the first Marvel movie to truly embrace comics-style storytelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 22, 2014
    75
    “Days” is fast, smart, well-acted, and intermittently inspired, and if you don’t know or care who Beast or Blink or Storm are, you can safely skip it.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    70
    As usual, the characters — and the performers playing them — step unto the breach to provide just enough wit and feeling to make Days of Future Past something other than a waste of a reasonable person’s time.
  7. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 12, 2014
    40
    The film squanders both of its casts, reeling from one fumbled set-piece to the next. It seems to have been constructed in a stupor, and you watch in a daze of future past.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 291
  1. May 26, 2014
    10
    Uh 10 out of 10. I loved it so much. Would see again. But not immediately. As the theatre manager got mad at me for **** on this girl's chestUh 10 out of 10. I loved it so much. Would see again. But not immediately. As the theatre manager got mad at me for **** on this girl's chest when she said she didn't like Wolverine's bare ass. Expand
  2. May 24, 2014
    10
    X-Men Days of Future Past is a miracle movie. It rectifies all the mishaps of the past installments, that includes Last Stand, and cleans itX-Men Days of Future Past is a miracle movie. It rectifies all the mishaps of the past installments, that includes Last Stand, and cleans it up in one swoop. By having so many characters, you would have though that they will completely lost the plot, and suffered the same fate as many other franchise entries. But by focusing on the characters, Singer has made his best film since X-2. Its a sequel and a reboot, mixed in together. One of the very best comic book film. Expand
  3. May 23, 2014
    10
    This is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded myThis is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded my expectations and I'm sure it will surprise you from the beginning to the end... and, I have a new favorite movie now... Expand
  4. May 29, 2014
    9
    BEST X-MEN FILM EVER MADE-, IN ALL WAY-THIS X MEN FILM ROCKED IT- IT HAS GOOD STORY,AWESOME ACTIONS N VISUAL EFFECTS,HUGE TALENTED CAST LIKEBEST X-MEN FILM EVER MADE-, IN ALL WAY-THIS X MEN FILM ROCKED IT- IT HAS GOOD STORY,AWESOME ACTIONS N VISUAL EFFECTS,HUGE TALENTED CAST LIKE MY FAVORITE Hugh Jackman N Jennifer Lawrence - EVERYBODY DONE A GOOD STYLE WORK- I REALLY CLAPPED SO MUCH FOR QUICK SILVER- HE IS FASCINATING -

    A REAL SUMMER BLOCKBUSTER FILM FOR EVERY ONE GO FOR IT..! DON'T MISS IT..!!!!!!!
    Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    8
    Without a doubt the penultimate X-Men movie in this universe. The new characters it introduces are a joy to watch especially Quicksilver whoWithout a doubt the penultimate X-Men movie in this universe. The new characters it introduces are a joy to watch especially Quicksilver who steals every scene he's in. I think a lot of moviegoers will consider his scenes in the movie as their favorites. My only criticism of the film,and it's a minor one,is that the ending was a little too neat but that can happen when time-travel is the major conceit. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a huge X-Men fan, and this movie had a lot of awesome mutants! It was centered around Wolverine, but in terms of storyline was more about Magneto, Mystique, and Charles. The best part of this movie was the scenes with Quicksilver. I've never really seen a good depiction of a super speed character in a superhero movie, but this hit it on the spot. The slow motion was used great in this movie, and all the effects were great! The plot was good as well. This movie was fantastic, and it was my second favorite X-Men movie, but it had some downfalls. This movie had a lot of plot holes like Professor X being alive, Kitty's time traveling, and a bit more. Those knocked it down from 9 to 8, but it still was crazy fun! Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2014
    0
    BY FAR the worst xmen movie ever made the mistakes both logical and else where just all over the place it was just such a huge bummer and suchBY FAR the worst xmen movie ever made the mistakes both logical and else where just all over the place it was just such a huge bummer and such a terrible movie that i dont even know where to begin to criticize ...
    But above all the sentinels kicking mutant as* 'es like its nothing is what killed it for me i mean come on ... Anyone who has watched the xmen - tas and read the xmen comics would say the same thing about this terrible excuse of an xmen movie my overview opinion is that marvel should stop making movies and ruining childhoods because this thing totally ruined mine ...
    Expand

See all 291 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: May 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during May.