Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 26, 2006
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 721 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
334
Mixed:
238
Negative:
149
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
FuturedirectorMar 21, 2017
Well-acted and surprisingly eye-popping but somehow cliched and fundamentally choppy. X-Men: The Last Stand tries to go back with success, but it hasn't enough to save itself from an undeniably unremarkable result.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ZerpnosMar 5, 2017
İnsan ırkı ile Mutantların arası daha fazla kızışırken, Mutantlığı bir hastalık olan gören insanlar bunun tedavisini bulur fakat Magneto, Mutantların insanlığın bir sonra ki evrimi olarak gördüğünden dolayı bunun bir saçmalık olduğunuİnsan ırkı ile Mutantların arası daha fazla kızışırken, Mutantlığı bir hastalık olan gören insanlar bunun tedavisini bulur fakat Magneto, Mutantların insanlığın bir sonra ki evrimi olarak gördüğünden dolayı bunun bir saçmalık olduğunu düşünür. Buna karşı savaşmaya başlayan Magnetoya karşı olan ve insanlık ile mutantları birleştirmeye çalışan X-Men ekibi olaya müdahale eder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
russiangamerMar 3, 2017
Эта часть проигрывает прошлой по напряжённости, сюжету, экшену... Но большую часть времени смотреть всё же интересно, в конце творится бред, поэтому очень слабенькая 7/10.Эта часть проигрывает прошлой по напряжённости, сюжету, экшену... Но большую часть времени смотреть всё же интересно, в конце творится бред, поэтому очень слабенькая 7/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Castiel_AngelOct 15, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wasn't nearly as impressed with this one as I was with the other 2. I found parts of the story line to be seriously lacking effort. Also the whole mutant cure thing like how is that even possible I mean isn't that what they are it's part of them they are born with it you shouldn't be able to just suddenly rip it out of them. Also I don't like how they changed Storm's powers. She can now generate lightning with her hands which she couldn't do before she had to have open sky and create a thunderstorm to do this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ATsushiMay 30, 2016
Despite the good amount of action and great special effects, the end of the first X-Men trilogy feels rushed, shallow and develops its many characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ElectroNickMay 29, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is an interesting phenomena to me because I felt satisfied with the film when I first saw it and I wanted to tell people how good it was. however, I came to realize that no one seemed to agree with me. After looking back at the film there are some problems but I still found it to be an enjoyable film despite Brat Rayner's reputation as a director. The action sequences are visually impressive and the set pieces are a sight to behold. The best set piece was when Magneto used his power to move over the Golden Gate Bridge. The makeup for the Beast was impressive and the actor was a perfect choice for him. Another reason why I had enjoyed the film was because this film felt like a logical finale to me as people are choosing their sides. Some took issue with some of the characters dying off but I didnt mind because of a few reasons. For starters, Cyclops has never been interesting to me and I think Xavier's death served a purpose in pushing the conflict between the X-Men and the Brotherhood. granted there are some plot holes like what happens to Mystique and how exactly Jean went mad but I thought it added some nice dilemmas. The one thing I took from it was the dilemma about the cure. I asked myself if it was acceptable to take the cure and I thought the final reveal of Rouge getting rid of her powers was a satisfying conclusion to her arc. If you wish to have more information about why I enjoyed this film despite it's problems I recommend watching the number one choice in Doug Walker's list for movies he likes but everyone else hates. Here is a link if you are interested:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4yiwf8f5Pko
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
One of the biggest bust in recent memory in term of quality. When your director was 'poached' by an opposing studio, and you crafted a movie that negates the previous installments achievements, then you deserve nothing more than a kick in theOne of the biggest bust in recent memory in term of quality. When your director was 'poached' by an opposing studio, and you crafted a movie that negates the previous installments achievements, then you deserve nothing more than a kick in the bum! Characters got killed left and right without any dramatic impact. Is the actor getting too expensive? Well, let's just kill him off. Is he involved in another 'opposing project'? Well, let's kill him too. It's like the whole film is meant as a 'revenge picture' to Bryan Singer and Co, for taking in Superman Returns before shooting this flick. This is the film that sinks 20th century Fox's reputation for a number of years amongst blockbuster film enthusiasts! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
Bryan Singer's first two X-Men movies are pop-culture anomalies: big-budget, special-effects-driven superhero blockbusters that get just about everything right. But after Singer exited the franchise to helm Superman Returns, the producers didBryan Singer's first two X-Men movies are pop-culture anomalies: big-budget, special-effects-driven superhero blockbusters that get just about everything right. But after Singer exited the franchise to helm Superman Returns, the producers did something egregiously wrong: They handed over the reins to Brett Ratner, whose handling of Rush Hour 2 and Red Dragon proves he shouldn't be allowed anywhere near a successful franchise, even one he helped create. The X-Men have survived mutation, persecution, and supervillainous foes hell-bent on their destruction. But can they survive Ratner? Well, no.

The always-welcome Ian McKellen leads an overstuffed cast as a villainous mutant intent on destroying a mutation "cure" and its source, a spooky little boy (Cameron Bright) who isn't a character so much as a sentient plot point with unnerving blue eyes. To defeat McKellen and his band of punky new recruits—most of whom appear to be on loan from a Stranglers concert circa 1981—the heroic X-Men are forced to do battle with the forces of evil alongside newcomers like Ben Foster's winged do-gooder Angel and Kelsey Grammer's Beast, who's far duller than any character who talks like a Stanford dean and looks like the misbegotten offspring of a werewolf and a Smurf has any right to be.

Directing an X-Men movie is an epic task requiring a varied set of skills. X-auteurs have to juggle new characters with old favorites, balance soap-opera plots with giant action setpieces, and deal with the series' political and philosophical underpinnings. But Ratner's direction is seldom more than workmanlike. New characters like Grammer's erudite furball and Foster's blond flyboy barely register, while Halle Berry continues to be the series' Achilles heel, a wan, forgettable presence even when delivering a eulogy that should mark a pivotal moment in the franchise, but instead feels like a ham-fisted afterthought. The setpieces lack panache, while the dramatic elements feel flat and perfunctory. Following two superior entries, Ratner's slick placeholder of a sequel lacks that crucial X-factor called inspiration.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeMar 18, 2016
The great X-Men franchise could need a little help over here because a great franchise is unfortunately ruined by the Last Stand. Now here's something we were not expecting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrMovieBuffFeb 5, 2016
My rating might be too high for many, but here's what I thought...

'X-Men: The Last Stand' is the third installment of the iconic "X-Men" franchise which was started by Bryan Singer, and started off this current trend of comic book movies,
My rating might be too high for many, but here's what I thought...

'X-Men: The Last Stand' is the third installment of the iconic "X-Men" franchise which was started by Bryan Singer, and started off this current trend of comic book movies, is a more weaker movie than it is a bad movie. It's not as good as the first two installments, but at the same time, it is nowhere near as bad as 'Catwoman' (2004), or even as silly as 'Fantastic Four' (2005).

Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) and co are back after the events of 'X2: X-Men United' (2003) where Jean Grey (Famke Janssen) sacrificed herself to get the others back to civilization. Wolverine seems to be moving on from the pain, but Scott Summers aka "Cyclops" (James Marsden) can still feel the pain and continues to mourn for the one he loved so much.

Patrick Stewart and Halle Berry return as Professor X and Storm respectively, and we meet Hank McCoy aka "Beast" (played by Kelsey Grammer) as they discover that there is a cure that is being created. This is supposed to "cure" the mutants from having these extraordinary abilities, and obviously many are offended as they know that they are not ill, nor is being a mutant some kind of broken problem.

This so-called "cure" came from a young boy where, if a mutant was to go near him, their powers would not work, or they would appear as human (that's for the case of Beast and Mystique).

Magneto (Ian McKellen) finds out about this cure, and tries to recruit Mystique (Rebecca Stamos), and he assembles a new team of mutants which include the big and passive-aggressive Juggernaut (Vinnie Jones).

It seems that there is trouble in paradise for teen couple Bobby Drake aka "Iceman" (Shawn Ashmore) and Marie aka "Rogue" (Anna Paquin), as she accuses him of falling in love with Kitty Pride aka "Shadowcat" (Ellen Page) as she is still having trouble accepting the fact that she will not be able to physically touch someone without harming them and not being able to control it.

The movie is overcrowded with subplots, but the main story focuses on Jean Grey returning and becoming the phoenix, which would have been amazing, but is disappointing. She kills off some iconic characters in the process and the final battle is intense, but thinking about it all, you will hate it soon after the movie ends.

The reason I don't necessarily "hate" this movie like everybody else is simply because the actors still play their characters with raw emotion which still made me care for them, the plot however, is a different story...or in this film's cases, many stories. There are way too many stories to focus on, and none of them are executed in a way we would have dreamed. Brett Ratner ('Rush Hour' and 'Red Dragon') takes the realm as the director after Bryan Singer's departure, the movie is not as dark or as focused in the narrative, nor is there any sense of real struggle.

The dialogue becomes animated and silly, very cliched and very cheesy, there is not a moment here that is as memorable as in the previous two movies, no Nightcrawler, no traumatizing flashbacks...no dark elements...you wonder why Ratner was hired in the first place.

This movie is average, not great, not horrible...just...meh.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FilmMasterEdJan 6, 2016
Last stand? My ass. Billed as the climax of a trilogy, the third and weakest chapter in the X-Men series is a blatant attempt to prove there is still life in the franchise. And there is: just enough to pull a Star Trek and spawn a NextLast stand? My ass. Billed as the climax of a trilogy, the third and weakest chapter in the X-Men series is a blatant attempt to prove there is still life in the franchise. And there is: just enough to pull a Star Trek and spawn a Next Generation saga. Hollywood won't kill this golden goose until it stops laying fourteen-carat eggs at the box office. X2, the best in the series, took in $215 million, beating the original by $58 million. And there are many more stories to be mined from the comics that Stan Lee and Jack Kirby started for Marvel forty years ago. Audiences won't let go of that.

Or will they? It's way early in the summer sweeps, but already action flicks are taking a licking. M:i:III and especially Poseidon are barely ticking. X3 is meant to get the jolt junkies back in their seats. Hugh Jackman, the soul of the franchise as Wolverine — he of the retractable steel claws and the power to regenerate body parts — teams up with Colossus (Daniel Cudmore), who uses Wolfie as a furry fastball and hurls him into battle. Now that's efficiency.

The "fastball special" is an apt metaphor for the movie. Director Brett Ratner, who came in last minute when X vet Bryan Singer dropped out to helm Superman Returns, throws everything at the screen in the hope that something will stick. What results feels rushed, chaotic and stuffed with more characters than the script takes time to develop. The Ratner touch, exemplified by the wham of Rush Hour, lacks the resonant feeling Singer brought to the mutant heroes of the first two X-Men films. When Ratner tries for feeling, as he did disastrously in The Family Man and After the Sunset, you only feel numb. Coherence is not Ratner's strength; pow is. And when he turns on the juice, notably in a mutant battle to the death staged at Alcatraz, the true X factor kicks in.

The plot, cooked up by Zak Penn (X2) and Simon Kinberg (Mr. and Mrs. Smith), concerns a cure for mutancy invented by Warren Worthington II (Michael Murphy), a tycoon who can't stand the fact that his son, Warren III (a terrific Ben Foster), is growing wings. The film opens with young Warren in the bathroom trying to saw off his pinions so his daddy won't be ashamed. Talk about phallic symbols! X3 is the gayest blockbuster to hit the multiplex since 1997's Batman and Robin, in which George Clooney wore a bat suit with nipples. Since Warren III can't cut off his dick, er, wings, he decides to flaunt it, calling himself Angel and letting his feathery appendage stretch to sixteen feet.

This kind of X-Viagra sits well with Magneto, a militant mutant leader played by the openly gay Sir Ian McKellen with the same drama-queen bravado he used to liven up The Da Vinci Code. "Nobody is going to cure us — we are the cure," says Magneto, who is Malcolm X to the Martin Luther King of Patrick Stewart's Professor Charles Xavier, a peacemaker with an open mind about the cure. For Rogue (Anna Paquin), a student at the professor's school for mutants, her "gift" for killing anyone she touches puts a serious crimp in her sex life with Iceman (Shawn Ashmore). Halle Berry is back with a bit more to do as the weathermaking Storm, but she looks bored doing it. Of the newcomers, including Ellen Page as Kitty Pryde, who walks through walls, and Vinnie Jones as Juggernaut, who busts them down, the hardest not to notice is Kelsey Grammer, done up like a giant blue beach ball as Beast, an adviser to the prez on mutant affairs.

You'll notice that some major characters seem to die. But the series cannot be trusted on these matters (stay after the final credits for Exhibit A). Look at Jean Grey (Famke Janssen), who went to her watery grave in X2, only to be reborn here as Phoenix. She's still possessed of the killer bod that has Wolverine howling at the moon but is now gifted with destructive powers that Magneto wants to harness to stop the cure from being manufactured on Alcatraz.

Ratner pulls out all the stops for the climax with Magneto turning the Golden Gate into his personal passageway to Alcatraz, where everything seems to explode at once, including Jean and Wolfie in an orgasmic display of rough sex that nearly saves the movie from its own too-muchness. I said nearly.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
OsborneTrent1Sep 6, 2015
Aw X Men The Last Stand the film that most fans regard as the bane of the franchise and one of worst superhero movies of the last decade is this true. no in fact the popular thing these days that people regard as great leave baffled in a dayAw X Men The Last Stand the film that most fans regard as the bane of the franchise and one of worst superhero movies of the last decade is this true. no in fact the popular thing these days that people regard as great leave baffled in a day and age where Guardians of the galaxy is considered great yeah I'm not seeing it so to the public is this movie good no not really does that matter no. X men the last stand is the most ambitious movie in the franchise even surpassing Days of future past in a lot of areas though not always successfully the general complaints of this movie seem to be that for whatever reason fans wanted everything in this movie to have a big role which is impossible but this movie did a good enough job most of it's material.

Characters: while not balancing out every character X3 did the best with almost all of them Logan, Jean, Magneto, storm, Xaiver, bobby and Rogue all had actual arcs and more importantly arcs that mattered to the story some probably the best arcs given to their characters.

Story: The plot of this movie is good and does tie together provided you're not overly strict the movie has a lot of deep themes that are explored in literally every scene the story works well and is emotionally powerful and complex.

Pacing: While a little rushed at some points this movie moves at a fast pace this doesn't need to be a problem in truth when you face a problem you actually don't have a vast amount of time to decide what you are going to do Rogue's opinion on her powers are obvious we don't need multiple scenes establishing this even the show had one scene of her struggling a fight and then she changed her mind the movie presented enough. The pace of this movie is an improvement of X2 which was bloated and had entire sections that while good didn't contribute to the story at all every moment in X3 matters.

Action: The action is great nothing more to say.

Emotion: This movie is still one of the most emotional movies Marvel has ever done it is constant while the death of one character and depowering of another are not as focused on as they could be everything else the movie drips with emotion that marvel studios needs to learn in other words characters can cry every now and then.

Unpredictability: This film pulls no punches giving it true tension lacking in any other marvel movie the story goes in unexpected directions which makes the film all the more exciting.

Final note take your favorite comics and toss them aside this is not that story this is it's own once you realize this you should be able to enjoy this movie for it is not what you want it to be also numerous mutants are introduced and get no development or even focus this is irrelevant none of them are important to the story the characters actually important to the story get their dues.

The final verdict featuring a plot with true depth and moral themes as well as a high level of emotion and tension with deep and meaningful arcs and great action scenes X3 is an incredible finish to the trilogy that is way better than most of the whiny fans would lead you to believe which is every bit as good as X2 maybe better I would give the movie a solid 9.5/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpiderPlayerMay 18, 2015
Median film has some good action scenes but has script failures, and the story is not very engaging, few actors have a good performance, and the film in general is kind of boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
homer4presidentMar 16, 2015
X-Men 1 and 2 were great! Unfortunately, this third installment completely left me down. It was quite hoaky and predictable. Still great action if that's all you are looking for.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
supermann234Dec 8, 2014
Featuring more action and better special effects than previous films, this movie is pretty good and I think you should watch it if you are a comic book fan. Thumbs up for this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeOct 19, 2014
As an X-men-fan I totally agree that it’s not as great as the previous movies, but it’s not bad either.

The first thing that truly bothers me is that there's not as much action in this film than in X-Men 1 and 2, and there’s not as much
As an X-men-fan I totally agree that it’s not as great as the previous movies, but it’s not bad either.

The first thing that truly bothers me is that there's not as much action in this film than in X-Men 1 and 2, and there’s not as much unique things either. Brian Singer should have been the one to direct all X-Men films, especially this one! Another aspect that’s horrible about this movie is the soundtrack, it’s not as touching as in X-Men 2. The CGI however is incredible, and the few action-sequences that this film got are all awesome (but they are not many). The actors are of course awesome, there's no one that I would consider as a bad actor!

Overall is X-Men: The Last Stand a great movie, but the choice of director truly is the worst thing. But it’s still an entertaining and groovy movie.

X-Men: The Last Stand get a 7.8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
lordmoo_23Sep 23, 2014
If you have seen the first two X-Men movies, then you know that X-Men 3 feels different. Of course with a new director changes are to be expected, but how much can be different till we can't tolerate them anymore. The first half of this movieIf you have seen the first two X-Men movies, then you know that X-Men 3 feels different. Of course with a new director changes are to be expected, but how much can be different till we can't tolerate them anymore. The first half of this movie was very good, but I started to check my phone a lot after the midpoint. The film wasn't flowing uniformly, but in all types of directions mixed with questionable pacing. Another thing that kept distracting me was the awful CGI, which surprised me because of how well done the CGI was in this film predecessor. The last two X-Men films had really good and enthralling stories which to me felt absent in X3. The acting was still very good, especially from Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart, but the chemistry between the characters was poor and made me feel, dare I say, quite bored. Also, the film's third act feels very rushed in wrapping up the character's journey and the film itself. Now let us move on to the good things about this film. As always the score is fantastic and is, in my opinion, one of the best superhero themes in film. As mentioned above, the individual acting is good but the collective chemistry is off. Overall I wouldn't recommend watching this movie unless you are a big X-Men fan, which is not a bright idea as you might feel even more disappointed than the rest of us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaAug 28, 2014
"Massive" is the right word to describe this movie. In the previous two films, the use of mutant powers was nice and quite tame. This time, they build a bridge to an entirely another level - literally.

The special effects are amazing! The
"Massive" is the right word to describe this movie. In the previous two films, the use of mutant powers was nice and quite tame. This time, they build a bridge to an entirely another level - literally.

The special effects are amazing! The film also dares to cut off its supporting pillars, which for a while can leave the viewer to a state of shock - and possibly disappointment and sorrow as well.

Why the movie does not get 5 starts in my book is because the characters were lacking a lot. This could be amended with extending the length of the movie - it seemed too short, anyway.

The already familiar cast, with only few additions of whom only Kitty rises above the others, provides us with nothing new. Storm is perhaps a bit angrier, and Rogue more desperate, but other than that, there's nothing new there.

Other than Jean, of course, who is not quite what she used to be. (Famke Janssen looks absolutely fabulous in this one!)

A must see piece, which stands side by side with its predecessors, yet still with a lot of room to explore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
boesballAug 16, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie tries to tackle the iconic Phoenix saga in the final movie of the X-Men saga. Remember I said the word "tries" because this movie completely butchers it. They kill off Cyclops and they even kill off Professor X. How do you kill off Cyclops so early in this movie? This movie could have had done itself a favor and centered around Cyclops who's girlfriend had turned into kind of a monster. A franchise that had not yet gave Cyclops his fair share of screen time gets killed off very early in a movie where Jean Grey is the biggest story arc. That's an issue. Why couldn't you have killed off a character that wasn't cool? Maybe Storm? This movie messed so many things up that it needed Days of Future Past to come in and save the series. Not only did they mess up the Phoenix saga, but the Juggernaut was messed up as well. He's a great villain, and they made him into a mutant (which he isn't) and didn't give him any depth. They didn't even talk about the fact that Juggernaut has a helmet that also stops telepathy. The effects were as good as the first two from this series, but it's not like they were spectacular. Wolverine was cool as ever, so that's a plus. If you're a picky superhero movie fanboy, you'll cringe at this movie, but if you don't have an invested interest in the characters, you'll probably like this just a little bit less than the first two X-Men movies. 4/10 seems like a fair score to me, but it's closer to a 3/10 than a 5/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Prodigy487Aug 3, 2014
A very disappointing film to end the trilogy. Most of the characters you loved in the first two films are gonna in the first thirty minutes of the film. The new characters such as Angel, Kitty Pryde, and Juggernaut are so forgettable that youA very disappointing film to end the trilogy. Most of the characters you loved in the first two films are gonna in the first thirty minutes of the film. The new characters such as Angel, Kitty Pryde, and Juggernaut are so forgettable that you won't remember them the next 10 minutes after you finish the film. The story isn't that interesting. There's a silly love triangle between Rogue, Kitty, and Iceman that will make you yawn. The action isn't even that much fun. Overall, Brett Ratner's conclusion fails to satisfy it's fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
dante_finnJul 22, 2014
While the acting and action is good the screenplay and style of this installment was not enough for us to accept and get used to. Famke Janssen did a good job as potraying a dark freakish Phoenix. But the costumes were excellent though....andWhile the acting and action is good the screenplay and style of this installment was not enough for us to accept and get used to. Famke Janssen did a good job as potraying a dark freakish Phoenix. But the costumes were excellent though....and that is only because Brett Ratner didn't fyck the original costumes from the previous 2 films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
diogomendesJul 11, 2014
What a f*cking letdown! Director Bryan Singer was replaced by Brett Ratner instead, seriously? We all know what kind of director he is. He directed "Rush Hour 3" and "Movie 43"! The movie is not fresh as the other two movie, however, it stillWhat a f*cking letdown! Director Bryan Singer was replaced by Brett Ratner instead, seriously? We all know what kind of director he is. He directed "Rush Hour 3" and "Movie 43"! The movie is not fresh as the other two movie, however, it still delivers good performances and good action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HISHEhebJul 8, 2014
הסרט מתקן את הטעויות של בריאן סינגר עם אקס-מן 2, ואפשר לומר שהוא אחד מסרטי האקס-מן הכי טובים בסדרה הארוכה הזו. יכול שזה הרס כמה דמויות מהקומיקס, אבל זה לא ממש משנה כי הסרט הוא טובהסרט מתקן את הטעויות של בריאן סינגר עם אקס-מן 2, ואפשר לומר שהוא אחד מסרטי האקס-מן הכי טובים בסדרה הארוכה הזו. יכול שזה הרס כמה דמויות מהקומיקס, אבל זה לא ממש משנה כי הסרט הוא טוב
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
mhenderson8May 24, 2014
I actually liked this movie. Unlike X-Men: First Class this movie has some popular X-Men characters in it. I thought Professor X and Magneto had a real Martin Luther King Jr. vs. Malcolm X philosophy which I found really interesting.I actually liked this movie. Unlike X-Men: First Class this movie has some popular X-Men characters in it. I thought Professor X and Magneto had a real Martin Luther King Jr. vs. Malcolm X philosophy which I found really interesting. Magneto stole the show in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JacobMay 16, 2014
I am really torn on this film as I don’t want to hate it because it has some great ideas but they are poorly executed. This film overall was put together in a sloppy manner lacking focus and rushing through key plot elements that needed moreI am really torn on this film as I don’t want to hate it because it has some great ideas but they are poorly executed. This film overall was put together in a sloppy manner lacking focus and rushing through key plot elements that needed more development. Had this film’s script gone through another rewrite or so and/or choosen to focus on one of the big ideas in in the movie this film could have truly been something. As its not awful just more disappointing because there are some amazing things in this film that could have provided for an awesome conclusion to the X-Men trilogy and the best in the series but instead this film was poorly but together and winds up being the weakest in the trilogy. I can only hope that Bryan Synger’s new X-Men movie X-Men: Days of Future Past can rewrite the wrongs this film did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialMar 8, 2014
This third installment in the series was mostly enjoyable. It also has more humor than the previous two films. However, is it as good as its predecessors? No, the second one was better. The film lacks emotional scenes between characters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuJan 4, 2014
X-Men: The Last Stand manages to, uh, stand it's ground with some decent ideas and a certain level of unpredictability. There are some problems with the movie such as far too many faceless mutants and Juggernaut being turned into anX-Men: The Last Stand manages to, uh, stand it's ground with some decent ideas and a certain level of unpredictability. There are some problems with the movie such as far too many faceless mutants and Juggernaut being turned into an embarrassing joke, but all in all, Last Stand is a good trilogy ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
marcmyworksNov 13, 2013
Potentially the most disappointing film in the franchise due to the hype surrounding it. This film is less than two hours yet features twice (if not three times) the amount of characters of its predecessor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
The Last Stand hopefully is the last stand.
X-Men produces its third movie with poor execution. A very well crafted premise with poor dialogue, and very unlikeable plot twists. It does not reach the potential its predecessor's had.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MamaTLFNov 2, 2013
Spectacular special effects, but lack in details. Action scenes in this movie seem rushed but they are nicely executed and presented. A very good plot and character development make this movie great. Only thing that pissed me off is thatSpectacular special effects, but lack in details. Action scenes in this movie seem rushed but they are nicely executed and presented. A very good plot and character development make this movie great. Only thing that pissed me off is that Magneto didn't seem to mind very much the murder of his life long friend. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
joao1198pedroOct 27, 2013
bryan singer doesn´t direct this movie,and this was the worst problem,the movie has a great story but the new director doesn´t use it so well,but still the movie is nice(nothing like the other two).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SuperheroMoviesAug 17, 2013
Taking a stab at being more action oriented rather than story centered, this third installment in the X-Men trilogy ends the series on a downhill note, but provides enough engaging action to survive its handicapped scripting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ThegodfathersonJul 29, 2013
As an aside, if you’re really interested in seeing the biggest f**k you that X-Men: The Last Stand can throw at you, stick around after the credits for a brief, disappointing bonus clip that throws away everything you’ve just spent the pastAs an aside, if you’re really interested in seeing the biggest f**k you that X-Men: The Last Stand can throw at you, stick around after the credits for a brief, disappointing bonus clip that throws away everything you’ve just spent the past two hours watching to set up a sequel that 20th Century Fox insists it will never allow to happen. Or just download it off the internet somewhere. It’s not worth the wait. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Jamison12Jul 27, 2013
With the only bright spots being homages to comic character like Beast, Shadowcat, Juggernaut, etc. X3 falls flat. I mean, I liked parts of it, but the story was absolutely horrible. Overall, this is a shame to the Marvel cinematic universe
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
WalkingDead5640Jul 9, 2013
The film is a decent follow up, but the plot, characters, action and climax are wasted leading to a forgettable movie even the few good scenes aren't special.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
worleyjamersJun 2, 2013
Not even close to the same league as the first 2 films. The Last Stand tries to do too much and appeal to so many people that, ultimately, it fails. It's entertaining and very enjoyable, but the story is too crazy and busy. The action andNot even close to the same league as the first 2 films. The Last Stand tries to do too much and appeal to so many people that, ultimately, it fails. It's entertaining and very enjoyable, but the story is too crazy and busy. The action and special effects are brilliant, but the storyline is very weak in comparison to the fantastic first 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dharmaJun 2, 2013
One of the biggest bust in recent memory in term of quality. When your director was 'poached' by an opposing studio, and you crafted a movie that negates the previous installments achievements, then you deserve nothing more than a kick in theOne of the biggest bust in recent memory in term of quality. When your director was 'poached' by an opposing studio, and you crafted a movie that negates the previous installments achievements, then you deserve nothing more than a kick in the bum! Characters got killed left and right without any dramatic impact. Is the actor getting too expensive? Well, let's just kill him off. Is he involved in another 'opposing project'? Well, let's kill him too. It's like the whole film is meant as a 'revenge picture' to Bryan Singer and Co, for taking in Superman Returns before shooting this flick. This is the film that sinks 20th century Fox's reputation for a number of years amongst blockbuster film enthusiasts! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
StevenFMay 26, 2013
Brett Ratner takes over directing duties for the anticipated end to a powerful trilogy, its big, explosive, occasionally touching but overall, thats about it.
The Last Stand never really amounts to the powerhouse sequel of X2, nor does it
Brett Ratner takes over directing duties for the anticipated end to a powerful trilogy, its big, explosive, occasionally touching but overall, thats about it.
The Last Stand never really amounts to the powerhouse sequel of X2, nor does it have the introductory prowess or flare of the original, the message given throughout the film is really to show off what was established before, throw in a new batch of flashy characters with sometimes pointless powers in relevance to the plot, but thats ok, because we already have two explanatory films, or not.
All is peaceful for now on the mutant front, but when a cure coming from a mutants genes is found, there is outrage and relief amongst the superhuman community, some just don't feel accepted or find it harder to fit in than others, this point is brought up by new character Hank McCoy, or Beast (Kelsey Grammar) who is a diplomat to heal relations between the mutants and humans.
He warns Xaviers school of the threat of the cure, and what potential trouble it could spell for the mutant community. But something else is rising from the depths that nobody can quite anticipate, as Magneto continues to unite the mutants for war, Xavier (Patrick Stewart) and his team face a larger problem than they have ever witnessed, all in their own midst, something Xavier must confront and perhaps reveal the true nature behind it.
All of the original cast return to The Last Stand, but with the different direction and more blockbuster story, the tension of their past troubles and their current concerns get lost in the fast paced story, there just isn't enough room created to let everything explain itself, and unfortunately there is very little emotional depth in this third instalment. Rogue mainly deals with her powers and the potential she possesses, but makes her mind up far too quickly in this. When a monumental scene occurs, the aftermath just feels to rushed and is almost disrespectful of what had been developed in previous instalments.
In terms of the action, it truly is non-stop, with very impressive set pieces including a particular mutant a bridge, there is also the fact of the returning and expanded cast, including Hugh Jackman as Wolverine, Ian McKellan as Magneto and Halle Berry as Storm, a few others, some unnecessary, make appearances.
A diminished sequel, while not as thoughtful and emotionally driven as the other two, its hard to ignore the magnificent action pieces and still some interesting characters in this different sort of X-Men.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ScorpionMay 22, 2013
The change of director and script were accelerated factor detrimental to the film, but that does not mean that the film is bad, the battle scenes are the best in the series, Storm came out of the shadows and became important part in the plot,The change of director and script were accelerated factor detrimental to the film, but that does not mean that the film is bad, the battle scenes are the best in the series, Storm came out of the shadows and became important part in the plot, but lacks content to give life to the film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
LaGuertaMar 4, 2013
The Last Stand abandons the characters and neglects the story X-Men 1 and 2 spent so much time carefully developing and instead focuses on the crushing of motor vehicles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
KadeemluvmusicFeb 23, 2013
This is NOT the X-Men movie I really wanted because with no Bryan Singer directing, I don't see why Brett Ratner (Rush Hour) is involved. Sure The Last Stand was the 2nd highest-grossing movie of 2006, but there were a lot of mistakes. UnlikeThis is NOT the X-Men movie I really wanted because with no Bryan Singer directing, I don't see why Brett Ratner (Rush Hour) is involved. Sure The Last Stand was the 2nd highest-grossing movie of 2006, but there were a lot of mistakes. Unlike X-Men's 1 and 2 (which they are both one of my favorite Marvel movies of all time), The Last Stand feels like it's missing a page out of the old "Dark Phoenix" saga where Jean Grey turned evil (sorta). I remember back on the animated series on Fox Kids when they had a 4-part episode that is still on my all-time list. Characters that were missing in The Last Stand just almost cost them their fortunes. I really hate to break it to you, but The Last Stand is one of my Top 5 disappointing comic book movie sequels of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ninja_dolphinFeb 7, 2013
This is far from a terrible movie as some people call it but it's also pretty far from a great one. The cast is a bit too wide this time around and as the supposed climax of the trilogy this leaves little closure on any of the characters.This is far from a terrible movie as some people call it but it's also pretty far from a great one. The cast is a bit too wide this time around and as the supposed climax of the trilogy this leaves little closure on any of the characters. It's still an enjoyable movie from the action side of things but the film fails at developing any of the characters and this is something that was done great in the previous two films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
tomtom4468Feb 6, 2013
By far, the worst X-Men film yet, this was a horrible way to follow the awesome first movie and the extremely awesome second movie. This didn't even follow up on some of the major plot points of X2 that everyone wanted to see. LAME!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Rox22Jan 8, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely terrible. A real shame as it had so much potential, but I believe that was also its problem, it was trying to do too much. Introducing too many new characters and giving them little to no back story. Also bastardizing most of the lesser characters to an unforgiving degree. While Vinnie Jones performance as the Juggernaut was ...... OK at best, it was unforgivable that they made him a mutant. The Juggernaut was Xavier's half brother and his powers were mystical in origin. The Juggernaut absolutely hated Xavier and mutants. Psylocke is even credited to being in the movie, but is barely even noticeable (I only noticed as her name is listed in the credits. Jamie Madrox is a bad guy ...... WTF? Angel is a cowering child? And why on earth is Magneto the villain again? The X-Men have had more than one opponent in the last 35 years! What can I say positively about this movie? Special effects were good, lots of action, Kelsey Grammer as Beast was just perfect casting (a shame how little he was in it.) Jean Grey turning into the Dark Phoenix (while toned down) was pretty good, Famke Janssen portrayal of the character was fantastic. Same goes for Hugh Jackman, still great as Wolverine (if not a little tall for the part.) As a fan of the comics, this movie was just a slap in the face and an insult. This movie just caters to the masses and completely ignores the original fans that made the series popular in the first place! Brett Ratner ..... may you burn film hell for making this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NecromusDec 6, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh my god, what a horrible movie! I absolutely hated this movie! What a disappointment after the two awesome previous X-men installments. OMG Pheonix kills cyclops? - blasphemy! Pheonix kills Xavier? - blasphemy! Rogue chooses to medically opt-out of having super powers? - blasphemy! Pheonix dies in the end? - blasphemy! Ok I never read the comics as a kid so all I have to go by were the old X-men cartoons but in that wasn't Pheonix alive and well as a flaming flying heroin long after she got here omega-super powers? But the way everyone dies in this movie is absolutely lame and pointless. If people were self-sacrificing in a heroic manner to die it would be a bit better. Also, there was a better possible ending to this where Pheonix would not have to die, I was very surprised they didn't choose this ending, it was such an obvious choice: The mutant kid who had the ability to take away other mutant's super powers! They could have just sent him in at the point where Pheonix could no longer control her own powers, and presto! -- Problem solved and Pheonix lives! But noooo! Let's just kill off another beloved X-Men character, afterall, we've already killed 2 others in this movie... I guess the director knew he wasn't going to make an X-Men 4 that occurs after this movie, so what the heck let's just kill everyone off and take away the superpowers of others that live. OMG if I could give this a negative rating on Metacritic I would. The two other movies I've rated 0/10 I rated that way because they just bored me to death. But X3? This would get a -5/10 since it actually pissed me off it was so bad! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Aside from taking flagrant swipes at the lore and succumbing stale character introductions, it's alright.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Isn't so much of a Last Stand as a last attempt to make this X-Men thing work. It doesn't, once again, and Singer's absence only worsens the matter.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
EssenceOfSugarAug 22, 2012
This was almost strong enough to stand on its own two feet. The action doesn't overshadow the plot or the emotional aspect too much and there's a beautiful collection of individuals that moves smoothly along, bringing some amazing varietyThis was almost strong enough to stand on its own two feet. The action doesn't overshadow the plot or the emotional aspect too much and there's a beautiful collection of individuals that moves smoothly along, bringing some amazing variety without forgetting about them. This doesn't necessarily have a particular main character and I enjoyed the twist of Jean Grey along with the epic, all-out war between different sides. I liked how the mutants particularly were working during this, because it was different to how it was when they were just fighting in the previous two films. Of course, Ratner didn't seem to have much grip on how Singer did it because from the way I saw it, the emotional aspects were difficult to control. Despite the variety, there was a lot of running and unnecessary fighting. Overall, although it wasn't as good as the previous two films, I thoroughly very much enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
I feel that this is the 1st x-men movie where something actually happens. The action scenes are very epic. The story may leave you wanting a bit more because characters die but I feel that this is the best x-men of them all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxDec 1, 2011
This film proves that Xmen has finally comes into its own and has given us a decent film that is worth watching. While it may seem a bit corny at times, The Last Stand is a solid film overall.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DoctorWhoNov 29, 2011
An enjoyable close to the trilogy. With dazzling special effects, an amazing score and great emotion really lift the film high. Just don't pay too much attention to the plot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
HappymonkNov 23, 2011
I was disappointed by this film. It just got incredibly silly, not something I expected from how good the first two films were (especially the second one). It was still OK, just severely disappointing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
The movie is overall visually stunning, but "X Men: The Last Stand", unlike "X Men" or "X2", is ultimately a frantic war movie that contains extremely sparse character depth/development and simple, lethargic action that fails to appeal.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
5
MusicJJJSep 21, 2011
The movie is overall visually stunning, but "X Men: The Last Stand", unlike "X Men" or "X2", is ultimately a frantic war movie that contains extremely sparse character depth/development and simple, lethargic action that fails to appeal.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
jos95Aug 27, 2011
This movie killed the whole series!! The script was really poor, the characters were stone-cold, the dialogue was just awful and they killed off too many of the good characters! It had some good action and visual effects, but overall it wasThis movie killed the whole series!! The script was really poor, the characters were stone-cold, the dialogue was just awful and they killed off too many of the good characters! It had some good action and visual effects, but overall it was overproduced and lacked the heart and soul of the first two films. Big disappointment. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Spielberg00Aug 19, 2011
This one isn't quite as good as X-MEN or X2, but this first trilogy can still manage to maintain a good-enough last stand. Hugh Jackman and Halle Berry are still doing great, and now we have Ellen Page as Shadowcat, plus a little more focusThis one isn't quite as good as X-MEN or X2, but this first trilogy can still manage to maintain a good-enough last stand. Hugh Jackman and Halle Berry are still doing great, and now we have Ellen Page as Shadowcat, plus a little more focus on Phoenix (Famke Janssen, though I thought she was Anne Hathaway). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
colten97Jun 10, 2011
Director Brett Ratner has replaced the heart and emotion of the previous X-Men films with more action and explosions. The film should still provide ample entertainment, but viewers may truly wish this to be the Last Stand.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MoviebuffreviewMar 5, 2011
X-Men The Last Stand makes me sad. After 2 solid adaptations, The Last Stand came out with a new director and the result was a movie that was far from perfect. With a weaker script, a messy story, and the disappointment of missing charactersX-Men The Last Stand makes me sad. After 2 solid adaptations, The Last Stand came out with a new director and the result was a movie that was far from perfect. With a weaker script, a messy story, and the disappointment of missing characters hurt the solid action. Overall, a mediocre movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
gm101Mar 2, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes, I thought Professor X and Cyclops were killed off way too fast. But was I completely disappointed? No. Was it better than the first two? No. But in the end, I still enjoyed the movie for what it is. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
JakobKApr 29, 2009
Nice special effects, but they killed scott :( that was really a breakdown for me. The "cyclops" is awsome. i dont know what happens in the comics to scott, do he die there too?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
alexrApr 8, 2009
I liked this movie. It was very exciting and there was a genuine tension as to who would make it out alive in the end. It wasn't quite as good as X-2, which is a genre definer, but certainly a worthy addition to the X-men series. I I liked this movie. It was very exciting and there was a genuine tension as to who would make it out alive in the end. It wasn't quite as good as X-2, which is a genre definer, but certainly a worthy addition to the X-men series. I thought it was better than the first movie too. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DavidVJul 31, 2008
This was definitely a step down from the previous X-Men. Gone is the character development, gone are the political allegories. The only thing worth watching in this movie is the action and some of the acting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EddieEJun 16, 2008
Bret Ratner ruined the series. He has no idea what the xmen are all about he just wanted some special effects. There was such a good foundation built by singer in the first two films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MarcCFeb 13, 2008
An exciting climax to the trilogy with some great moments. It needed to be longer with more depth and they should have cut out some of the minor characters. But, overall, I loved it - as an action-packed finale, it worked pretty well. An exciting climax to the trilogy with some great moments. It needed to be longer with more depth and they should have cut out some of the minor characters. But, overall, I loved it - as an action-packed finale, it worked pretty well. Critics want everything to be Schindler's List or Atonement and as soon as you have movies about fantastic superpowers, that is not possible, so you have to embrace the fact this is a comicbook movie. It's far from perfect, but then no movie ever is, so I acceoted that, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JerkGuySep 28, 2007
This film and all the X-Men films are garbage, pure garbage, they should have called it
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeMAug 13, 2007
It's not nearly as bad as it could have been. Still, Singer's perfect sense of atmosphere that was featured throughout most of the second film is missing, and the ending is waaay overly dramatic. Still fun though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NaturalHMay 17, 2007
It sucked balls at the end it had a whole bunch of mutants that didnt even use there powers they should of fucked wolverine and them up and they didnt even have all the x-men and how the fuck is professor x gonna fucking die DAT SHIT SUCK 4 DA DAYS
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ScottC.Mar 5, 2007
This is a horrible movie. It is souless, for one, and the only way a person would enjoy it at all is if they were a mindless comic book fan - making it already a different type of movie from the previous X-mens, which had heart and This is a horrible movie. It is souless, for one, and the only way a person would enjoy it at all is if they were a mindless comic book fan - making it already a different type of movie from the previous X-mens, which had heart and characters who were real people. When you have major characters being killed off one by one, and as an audience member (and avid comic book fan, to boot) you could literally care less, I think that's a sign someone screwed up. This is to the X-men franchise what Batman & Robin was to the Batman franchise, in terms of jumping the shark. The only difference is superficial - the latter drove it into the ground by being campy, but Ratner drives this into the ground by being pretentiously "serious". I hated this. Don't see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AndyFeb 13, 2007
The mystery and intrigue from the first two films is replaced with a dumbed-down storyline and mawkish jokes. The politics and character development are sent to the background while the over-produced special effects are brought to the The mystery and intrigue from the first two films is replaced with a dumbed-down storyline and mawkish jokes. The politics and character development are sent to the background while the over-produced special effects are brought to the foreground. Basically, everything good Singer brought to the first two films is what Ratner leaves out in the third. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Cyclops1987Feb 4, 2007
Belive me I can write at least two best selling books about how much this movie sucks. As a true X-men lover I was devestated after watching this movie and went into coma for a week. Such a pathetic story it seems Ratner was completely Belive me I can write at least two best selling books about how much this movie sucks. As a true X-men lover I was devestated after watching this movie and went into coma for a week. Such a pathetic story it seems Ratner was completely unware of X-men comics, cartoons and previous movies. [***SPOILER***] I am one of biggest fan of Cyclops and the fate he met in the movie was toally disgusting. It would have been better ending if Pheonix had killed Cyclops in the end and Jean angered by watching her lover die took control of her power and Pheonix just like professor was saying when he was dying. Summing it all up it was not X-men 3 it was Wolverine 3. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ByungSukJan 3, 2007
I liked it at first but then I realized they totally destroyed the X-Men Lore. [***SPOILER***] I'm so sad that Professor X died. When I saw him explode in the theater, I was like "WHAT!! They can't do that" but then I realized that I liked it at first but then I realized they totally destroyed the X-Men Lore. [***SPOILER***] I'm so sad that Professor X died. When I saw him explode in the theater, I was like "WHAT!! They can't do that" but then I realized that I was still in the movie theater. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
6
BenS.Nov 19, 2006
I liked the other X-Men, but this was a real disappointment to me. The action was good, and the movie on a whole was pretty good, but it just didn't gel together as a movie. Worth a look for fans, but people who haven't seen the I liked the other X-Men, but this was a real disappointment to me. The action was good, and the movie on a whole was pretty good, but it just didn't gel together as a movie. Worth a look for fans, but people who haven't seen the others, don't bother. Big shame, too, because I love the actors - the directing must have really stunk to have brought such a good cast down so low. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ZixM.Nov 11, 2006
Like the Jean - Pheonix conflict it presents, this movies is so uncontrolled and raw that in the end it just asks to be killed. What happened to the atmosphere, the drama, and overall, the characterization? On its own merits, this movie Like the Jean - Pheonix conflict it presents, this movies is so uncontrolled and raw that in the end it just asks to be killed. What happened to the atmosphere, the drama, and overall, the characterization? On its own merits, this movie cannot stand alone, and is merely hitching a ride on its predecessors. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
NickH.Nov 1, 2006
Enertaining with great effects, but not as good quality-wise as its predecessors. Worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
josakOct 25, 2006
Big disappointment; the action scenes were decent, but the characters and story were flat. This series had a lot of potential, and I think it was ruined with this movie. Still worth a rental though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MichaelAOct 24, 2006
A dissapointment compared to the first 2 movies. [***SPOILERS***] Since when did they work on a cure? Too much of the wolf and storm. Plus there were many times when there was no action! Finally, why did they get rid of some of the best A dissapointment compared to the first 2 movies. [***SPOILERS***] Since when did they work on a cure? Too much of the wolf and storm. Plus there were many times when there was no action! Finally, why did they get rid of some of the best characters? Mirage and Cyclops! (I might not be getting the names right) I still liked the twists in the movie and the action they still had. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SHADOWOct 17, 2006
The reason I rated this movie not so high was plain and simple and that is because it does not follow the story line of the comic book. That is why many people feel that the third movie was rushed and it is awkward at times although I liked The reason I rated this movie not so high was plain and simple and that is because it does not follow the story line of the comic book. That is why many people feel that the third movie was rushed and it is awkward at times although I liked the eye candy but compared to the first 2 movies this one has gone of track. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AnonymousMCOct 14, 2006
Overall, a satisfying conclusion, but like a dark phoenix/Jean Grey in itself. It's good enough, but with so much happening in so little time, one wishes things were fleshed out a bit more, especially with the characters, Phoenix and Overall, a satisfying conclusion, but like a dark phoenix/Jean Grey in itself. It's good enough, but with so much happening in so little time, one wishes things were fleshed out a bit more, especially with the characters, Phoenix and the cure issues. One wishes Brett Ratner went full Phoenix and threw in more character development to go with all the action, which was great, to make a great, fully fleshed out epic conclusion, not just a slightly weightier action flick. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
WilliamOct 11, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] The movie is not a finale as any who has read the comic (or watched pass the credits know) however for a closer to events in the first two it is a great movie! I liked the fact they went with the more human looking Beast, [***SPOILERS***] The movie is not a finale as any who has read the comic (or watched pass the credits know) however for a closer to events in the first two it is a great movie! I liked the fact they went with the more human looking Beast, however I was confused on where Night Crawler went, and why he was not even included in the background of this movie.. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JeanGreyOct 9, 2006
I was really expecting more than this. Way too much Storm and Wolvie in this one. [***SPOILERS***] If this is the X series swan song I am truly disappointed. The Juggernaut is a mutant? Since when? I can't imagine Woverine holding a I was really expecting more than this. Way too much Storm and Wolvie in this one. [***SPOILERS***] If this is the X series swan song I am truly disappointed. The Juggernaut is a mutant? Since when? I can't imagine Woverine holding a movie on his own. Everyone likes to see the different mutants and I just can't see a movie featuring only him succeeding. But then again, add Storm and you basically have X-Men 3. Try harder next time guys....if there is a next time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlexanderH.Oct 7, 2006
What's up with the bad press this film seems to be getting from both critics and user standby? I don't know, but I do know some of you users agree with everything the 'official' critics say whether you liked it or not, What's up with the bad press this film seems to be getting from both critics and user standby? I don't know, but I do know some of you users agree with everything the 'official' critics say whether you liked it or not, and to tell you the truth, that ain't cool. So to set the record straight, I had more fun with this X-men than I did with any other one in the series. [***SPOILERS***] Maybe it was the popcorn, but to see Wolverine knocked into a tree, falling three stories down, crashing into the ground, AND knowing that he's gonna walk through another door all scratch-free and bloodless was one of the tightest things X-men ever conjured up. And let's not get started on the badass end sequence with everything getting dissolved apart. I won't say the film is perfect though. I mean, common, if you bring a new character, say, the wing dude, in the universe, showing him as a kid and everything, than why not DO something with him, instead of him showing up at the school being all quiet and such! And sometimes the conversation and fights ended without much resolution at all, which is kinda weird. So, there may be more personality, as some say, in the earlier films, but you know what? I had more fun with this entry, and more likely than not, you will too. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BuckShotOct 7, 2006
One of the sure tests of how much I like a movie is how anxious I am to see it again. If I never watch this sorry excuse for a movie again it will be too soon. I could watch X-Men or X-Men 2 anytime and enjoy it every time, but watching X3 One of the sure tests of how much I like a movie is how anxious I am to see it again. If I never watch this sorry excuse for a movie again it will be too soon. I could watch X-Men or X-Men 2 anytime and enjoy it every time, but watching X3 again would be like pulling weeds. In fact, I'd rather pull weeds. Bret Ratner achieved one thing I've never heard of before; he managed to destroy 4 movies in the process of making one movie. He took everything good about the first two X-Men movies and ruined them, then he made this abomination, then he made me not care about any sequel. You could write a book about all the things wrong with this movie. [***SPOILERS***] But the worst thing of all is the logic (?) of the final battle. If Magneto has the power to pick up and move the Golden Gate Bridge (a VERY big bridge), which is power more on the scale of Superman than the Magneto of the first two films, why would he need any help from anyone in trying to kill one little boy? He could easily destroy the whole island of Alcatraz by his own lonesome self! The people who rated this movie higher than a 3 have obviously never seen a good movie or are on drugs. Or are lying for whatever mysterious motive. Worthless garbage. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JackS.Oct 3, 2006
Wow. I didn't think a franchise could sink so low, but this last installment surely has changed my mind. None of the gritty tension, lost personality, psyche-navel-gazing from the first (and best, by far) film comes into this Wow. I didn't think a franchise could sink so low, but this last installment surely has changed my mind. None of the gritty tension, lost personality, psyche-navel-gazing from the first (and best, by far) film comes into this Hollywood-pumped eye-candy that passes as a movie. Alas, bored middle managers with MBAs continually wield way too much power in the creative fields, and like the crazed mutants and militant humans in the X-Men, must be squashed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SuperFriendOct 3, 2006
Not as tight as the first two. Scott/Cyclops and Jean situation was kind of rushed. A lot of the other characters kind of got lost in the story except for Wolverine, Storm, Magneto, and Xavier. Still it was an interesting story to look at Not as tight as the first two. Scott/Cyclops and Jean situation was kind of rushed. A lot of the other characters kind of got lost in the story except for Wolverine, Storm, Magneto, and Xavier. Still it was an interesting story to look at individuality vs. conformity and how each of us sacrifices to a degree to fit in, and the fight for individuality in the right way and the wrong way. The action is pretty good, but a few scenes were flat. [***SPOILERS***] Beast needed more action. Nightcrawler never shows up. This is a movie that really needed to be longer or split into two parts for me. At times it was rushed and kind of simple and not as smart as before, and at other times the story dragged or something with the characters just "happened" and now were on to the next part of the story. The problem with X-Men is that it really is something that needs to be like an HBO series or Battlestar Galactica (the new and much improved version), where each year we get 10-12 solid episodes that explore more of the story like the comic book did. This movie really couldn't do what it needed in the limited time to explain everything...this easily could of been a 10 episode plot with more depth revealed. Good but not what it could of been. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
jasMSep 8, 2006
the movie wasn't as impressive as the first, the storyline was hopeless, it made no sense, and the young actors need to go back to acting school.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MyAug 8, 2006
Nobody did anything right with this movie. The writer's had no clue or interest or both in regards to making anyone other than Halle or Wolverine matter. They were too dumb to commit to the sense that this was the end of anything, so Nobody did anything right with this movie. The writer's had no clue or interest or both in regards to making anyone other than Halle or Wolverine matter. They were too dumb to commit to the sense that this was the end of anything, so they brought back Professor, Magneto's powers, and didn't show Scott die. Jean had no business with Magneto, she was just there so that we knew where she was until the writers needed a climax, which is where she dies. A mess that hopes the audience is so distracted by these (meaningless) deaths, that we won't see the how contrived the bad excuse for emotional value is. And all those mutants fighting on that planet and only 5 of them seem to actually have powers other than super-jumping? Spit in the face of your audience why don't you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JonC.Aug 6, 2006
Terrible. I'm glad I waited this long, but I still wish I hadn't seen it. Idiots! They totally messed up the series. There is so much wrong with this movie, I would hardly know where to begin. It doesn't make sense on its own, Terrible. I'm glad I waited this long, but I still wish I hadn't seen it. Idiots! They totally messed up the series. There is so much wrong with this movie, I would hardly know where to begin. It doesn't make sense on its own, much less in context with its two excellent predecessors. It is ridiculous at best and jarring at worst. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesH.Jul 27, 2006
It was the perfext way to end a series. I still hope for X4 though.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
TysonJ.Jul 15, 2006
This movie was the best in the series and the years best movie. The action was breathtaking, the emotions were off the hook! The storyline was pretty good with a lot of twists and turns. You never know what's next. And the visual This movie was the best in the series and the years best movie. The action was breathtaking, the emotions were off the hook! The storyline was pretty good with a lot of twists and turns. You never know what's next. And the visual effects were so real and attractive! Brett Ratner did an X-TREMELY great job with this movie making nearly $500 million. if there is X4 Bryan Singer and Brett Ratner should direct this movie together! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoeAverageJul 9, 2006
Could Bryan Singer have directed a better version? Sure. But karma being what it is, he's now associated with Superman (Doesn't Quite) Returns. Personal bitterness aside, I was surprised at the quantity of numerous memerable Could Bryan Singer have directed a better version? Sure. But karma being what it is, he's now associated with Superman (Doesn't Quite) Returns. Personal bitterness aside, I was surprised at the quantity of numerous memerable scenes. The ending felt rushed though. Still the best 'summer flick' I've seen this year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GiovannaJul 6, 2006
I am a HUGE X-Men fan, I've read the comics and read books for it and everything. Personally, I loved this movie simply because it's X-Men and it was hard for me to be critical towards it. I'm an aspiring movie maker and I I am a HUGE X-Men fan, I've read the comics and read books for it and everything. Personally, I loved this movie simply because it's X-Men and it was hard for me to be critical towards it. I'm an aspiring movie maker and I know how hard it can be to do something this big and continue where someone left off. Everyone who gives this movie less than a 5 is truly missing the point. There were a lot of things that it was missing but I blame that on the writers and on 20th Century FOX, because they were rushing through it and trying to make it a blockbuster instead of making it thorough. Like its true, the characters forgot completely about Scott...what did happen to Nightcrawler? Why are there all these new mutants when this is supposed to be the end? But if you look past that and judge the movie as is, you'll see that it's fun, exciting and pretty damn good. Brett Ratner is an awesome director the acting was superb the only thing missing was plot wise. The movie didn't have enough, I admitt that...it was all cut so short, but I'm just hoping for the next installment as promised. It was true to a lot of things that are in the comics and some other stuff was purely Hollywood but it was still awesome. Make sure you stick around after the credits too, b/c if you didn't then you missed out on something very important. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonyC.Jul 6, 2006
This movie was great. I definately agree with Shelia, this movie is better than Superman. With action at every turn of the movie, you'll never say that this movie lags. It's difficult to get a well develped story line with so many This movie was great. I definately agree with Shelia, this movie is better than Superman. With action at every turn of the movie, you'll never say that this movie lags. It's difficult to get a well develped story line with so many characters that have to be showcased. None the less, it was still pretty good story line. You need to remember this is a comic book story, so out of the average occurences are going to happen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SheliaC.Jul 4, 2006
better than superman better than all of them but spiderman 1 and 2.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JoshuaE.Jul 1, 2006
This was actually considerably worse than I thought it would be. Poorly executed at every turn, X Men 3 was obviously placed in the wrong hands. Not even the terrible , but frenetic, action scenes could inject any life into the limp story This was actually considerably worse than I thought it would be. Poorly executed at every turn, X Men 3 was obviously placed in the wrong hands. Not even the terrible , but frenetic, action scenes could inject any life into the limp story and characters. There was no drama, no humor, and especially no brains. Brett Ratner is the Joel Schumacker of the X Men franchise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DaleR.Jun 28, 2006
I tend to cover my ears and my eyes before the release of any super-hero flick, in order to get the full effect of it as I watch, including all the surprises. I only discovered in the theatre that Bryan Singer did not direct the film, and I tend to cover my ears and my eyes before the release of any super-hero flick, in order to get the full effect of it as I watch, including all the surprises. I only discovered in the theatre that Bryan Singer did not direct the film, and was still cautiously optimistic. Unfortunately, I was far from satisfied with the way my X-men and women were handled. [***SPOILERS***] Jean's reappearance and emergence from the water takes place off-screen - what a major disappointment in the CGI-driven world that is today's movie experience. ( I guess they shot too many flaming cars out of the catapult, and the budget ran out.) Also, you never kill a major character off-screen. (Hey, anybody seen Cyclops lately? Oh, him. He's dead.) Scott should have been with Jean at the end, not Logan, but I guess the more famous actor/character won that award, although It cheapens the whole Scott-Jean relationship arc of the first two films. Nightcrawler apparently went back to the circus, and no one talks about him anymore. Re: the plotline -I remember, as a kid, buying those famous Marvel "all-out action" issues, and this movie is kind of like that - no real character development, just action, action, action. It works in a comic, but not in a movie trilogy. This film could have shown a little more insight and had more empathy generated for some of the characters if the film had been given another 20-25 minutes running time. It actually was shorter than it needed to be, at 103 minutes. Seeing a bad new X-men movie is better than not seeing a new X-men movie at all, but we can and should expect better. Please bring Bryan back and please make a fourth instalment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TonyB.Jun 27, 2006
How can you take a well known comic book series and screw it up in one movie? That's what I saw in this installment. Where do I begin? You bring in Juggernaut and don't explore the half-brother relationship with Dr. Xavier? You How can you take a well known comic book series and screw it up in one movie? That's what I saw in this installment. Where do I begin? You bring in Juggernaut and don't explore the half-brother relationship with Dr. Xavier? You change the Phoenix saga into a split personality plotline? Storm finally can fly (somewhat) but Rogue still seems to be grounded (I guess it'll be difficult to introduce those origins into the film just for the sake of continuity). Add Hank McCoy in a very weak character role and mutants actually getting cured (that was never the goal of the medicine in the 1st place), and you have a film that Stan Lee should have felt ashamed making a cameo appearance in. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
DanaM.Jun 25, 2006
It was exactly as I expected. Entertaining with some great special effects. Worth seeing going in knowing its a "B" movie. Worth my $9. Bring the earplugs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RayK.Jun 25, 2006
A formulaic, uninspired, by-the-numbers action movie. Plot and pacing is awful, no character development, and audience is given little reason to care about anything that transpires throughout the course of the movie. Sadly, it's not A formulaic, uninspired, by-the-numbers action movie. Plot and pacing is awful, no character development, and audience is given little reason to care about anything that transpires throughout the course of the movie. Sadly, it's not even fun to make fun of. I very nearly walked out halfway through, but decided not to out of courtesy for my companions. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
VincentJun 23, 2006
terrible. dissapointing. worst of the trilogy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MattR.Jun 23, 2006
Where this movie failed, beyond what was mentioned earlier, is a lack of attention to detail. Where as the first two films really spoke to the social messages they were copying, this almost seemed phoned in. Add to that the complete lack of Where this movie failed, beyond what was mentioned earlier, is a lack of attention to detail. Where as the first two films really spoke to the social messages they were copying, this almost seemed phoned in. Add to that the complete lack of subtle shout outs to the fans (how many of us went nuts at the sight of Gambit's name on the computer screen?), and absolute missing connections from the book and it almost became distracting. With all of the problems getting this off the ground, I'm not suprised by the result. Maybe if there was more prep time they would have been able to do it. Hopefully they can have a fourth to redeem the quality of the series. Money shouldn't be an issue. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful