X-Men: The Last Stand Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 679 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: In the climax of the X-Men trilogy, a "cure" for mutancy threatens to alter the course of history. For the first time, mutants have a choice: retain their uniqueness, though it isolates and alienates them, or give up their powers and become human. (20th Century Fox)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    80
    Surprise, surprise. X-Men: The Last Stand, the third big-screen convocation of mutant shape shifters, weather changers, ice makers, energy suckers, healers and telepaths from Marvel Comics, has shifted the shape of the franchise from pretty good, if uninspired, to terrifically entertaining.
  2. 75
    I liked the action, I liked the absurdity, I liked the incongruous use and misuse of mutant powers, and I especially liked the way it introduces all of those political issues and lets them fight it out with the special effects.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    The result, though it delivers only in fits and starts, is still sharper and more inventive than most comicbook-adapted fare, and eventually gets the job done as far as action buffs are concerned.
  4. Reviewed by: Ethan Alter
    63
    Comic-book enthusiasts can breathe a sigh of relief: Brett Ratner hasn't completely ruined the X-Men series a.k.a. "The Franchise that Bryan Singer Built."
  5. But for all the sound, fury and spectacle, the film feels vaguely hollow and unsatisfying.
  6. Almost as mindless as "Fantastic Four," but more annoying in that this one has philosophical pretensions.
  7. 40
    What a comedown, after the weirdly beautiful things Singer and his technicians did in the first two movies.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 244
  1. JamesH.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    It was the perfext way to end a series. I still hope for X4 though.
  2. SuleimanM.
    May 26, 2006
    9
    Fantastic, how about you gusy watch it before saying it's bad, that would be vital. By the way, Halle berry was HOT!
  3. WillieG.
    May 28, 2006
    8
    I enjoyed this more than the first 2 films. Ignore the negative user reviews that obsess over the film not being faithful enough to the I enjoyed this more than the first 2 films. Ignore the negative user reviews that obsess over the film not being faithful enough to the comics. Some people just need to get out more instead of living vicariously through action figures in tights. See the film and decide for yourself, the 3rd installment emphasizes action over slow and cumbersome character development, which was a downfall of the first 2 films imo. One glaring downfall of this film was Kelsey Grammer, he's totally miscast, had bad makeup, and was useless as could be. Expand
  4. Josak
    Jun 1, 2006
    6
    My complaints are pretty much the same as everyone elses; bad script, bad dialogue, poorly executed plot and the movie was just too short. It My complaints are pretty much the same as everyone elses; bad script, bad dialogue, poorly executed plot and the movie was just too short. It really didn't feel anything like the previous two movies. The characters were totally stale, no depth whatsoever. Pretty disapointing, considering how much potential the movie had. In any case, it's worth seeing for a few, cool action sequences. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2013
    5
    Not even close to the same league as the first 2 films. The Last Stand tries to do too much and appeal to so many people that, ultimately, itNot even close to the same league as the first 2 films. The Last Stand tries to do too much and appeal to so many people that, ultimately, it fails. It's entertaining and very enjoyable, but the story is too crazy and busy. The action and special effects are brilliant, but the storyline is very weak in comparison to the fantastic first 2. Expand
  6. DaleR.
    Jun 28, 2006
    4
    I tend to cover my ears and my eyes before the release of any super-hero flick, in order to get the full effect of it as I watch, including I tend to cover my ears and my eyes before the release of any super-hero flick, in order to get the full effect of it as I watch, including all the surprises. I only discovered in the theatre that Bryan Singer did not direct the film, and was still cautiously optimistic. Unfortunately, I was far from satisfied with the way my X-men and women were handled. [***SPOILERS***] Jean's reappearance and emergence from the water takes place off-screen - what a major disappointment in the CGI-driven world that is today's movie experience. ( I guess they shot too many flaming cars out of the catapult, and the budget ran out.) Also, you never kill a major character off-screen. (Hey, anybody seen Cyclops lately? Oh, him. He's dead.) Scott should have been with Jean at the end, not Logan, but I guess the more famous actor/character won that award, although It cheapens the whole Scott-Jean relationship arc of the first two films. Nightcrawler apparently went back to the circus, and no one talks about him anymore. Re: the plotline -I remember, as a kid, buying those famous Marvel "all-out action" issues, and this movie is kind of like that - no real character development, just action, action, action. It works in a comic, but not in a movie trilogy. This film could have shown a little more insight and had more empathy generated for some of the characters if the film had been given another 20-25 minutes running time. It actually was shorter than it needed to be, at 103 minutes. Seeing a bad new X-men movie is better than not seeing a new X-men movie at all, but we can and should expect better. Please bring Bryan back and please make a fourth instalment. Expand
  7. JerkGuy
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    This film and all the X-Men films are garbage, pure garbage, they should have called it

See all 244 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Every Marvel Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Marvel Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: March 14, 2016
    We rank every recent Marvel film from worst to best by Metascore.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.