Y Tu Mamá También

  • Studio: IFC
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2002
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 201

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 5, 2012
    2
    I cannot believe this movie has this high score! It is soooo overrated! I mean, there is no real story, it is just sex and the end is so corny! This is the type of Spanish movie that in Europe (especially Spain) is known as 'made to sell, because sex sells' but of course in our Anglo-Saxon countries, we believe that just because a movie comes from Europe -especially Spain, or France- isI cannot believe this movie has this high score! It is soooo overrated! I mean, there is no real story, it is just sex and the end is so corny! This is the type of Spanish movie that in Europe (especially Spain) is known as 'made to sell, because sex sells' but of course in our Anglo-Saxon countries, we believe that just because a movie comes from Europe -especially Spain, or France- is good, but that way of thinking is so naive!!!. Honestly, this movie is so disappointing! If I give him a 2 is because well, because ...I don't even know why, perhaps there are worse movies that I don't manage to finish watching, and I did finish watching this one! Anyway, I have no intentions to ever watch this movie again. It is slow, and doesn't have a good storyline. The performances are plain, so is the photography; and even the actors's looks (male and female) were nothing but plain...so absolutely nothing to enjoy, or applaud! PS: Did you know that many Spaniards- I mean many- avoid watching Spanish movies precisely because the abuse of sex and the lack of argument...?and many of those movies that there are considered movies for the taste of the 'masses' (and by 'masses' they do not mean, merely 'working class', but has more of a 'cheap' 'vulgar' connotation) are praised outside Spain! Embarrasing! Collapse
  2. MrA.
    May 8, 2002
    0
    Well.. that was 105 minutes I will never get back..
  3. FredF.
    Jan 5, 2004
    1
    After 15 minutes we decided to see the movie in fast-forward, as the whole story was as predicatable as silly. So by far not as good as expected!
  4. MarkoR.
    Feb 9, 2004
    1
    Packed with cliches, this movie is far from being original and funny as everyone claims it to be. Humour is mainly low-brow, teenage characters are irritating (which is not necessarily bad in itself, but can be quite annoying if the director pushes you to identify with them), plot is predicatable. Big revelation for most viewers, it seems, was the discovery that Mexico was not all beaches Packed with cliches, this movie is far from being original and funny as everyone claims it to be. Humour is mainly low-brow, teenage characters are irritating (which is not necessarily bad in itself, but can be quite annoying if the director pushes you to identify with them), plot is predicatable. Big revelation for most viewers, it seems, was the discovery that Mexico was not all beaches (there are also some lovely inland sites) and poverty. But it simply goes to show how shallow their views were in the first place. The unexpected provocative twist at the end is unexpected, provocative and twisty only if you're a senior citizen of Peyton Place who has not been to the movies in the last 35 years. Expand
  5. RicharddeV.
    Apr 12, 2002
    0
    A storyline so transparent and lacking in subtlety that it would make Oliver Stone blush. Melodramatic, overwrought, preachy and completely in love with its self. Pathetic as well as pretentious. If you can't see the end coming then check your iq, your not as bright as you think.
  6. AndrewL.
    Jun 5, 2002
    1
    It was a porno in a different language... the called it art... I call it soft-core. Even if it was a porno it still sucked. The story line was so rediculously unbelievable, the sex was too much and too sloppy and the end left you thinking "I should have went to Starbucks and saved a few dollars."
  7. D.
    Jul 24, 2002
    0
    This muvie is bad and boring, Amores perros is a lot better.
  8. FredR.
    Feb 24, 2003
    1
    A movie that nevers gets over being juvenile. There are glimpses of the movies it might have been but that movie flashes by the window as we're trapped in the car with two goodballs and a sadly underdeveloped female character. SKip it.
  9. AugustG.
    Dec 30, 2005
    0
    You call this a movie? It's hardcore/softcore porn with a plot. If the director added a few more sex scenes this movie would've premiered on the Spice Channel. The director might as well said "We're gonna film two Mexican boys getting their brains screwed out by a 28 year old harlot as they traypse across Mexico in search of a beach that doesn't even exist." which is You call this a movie? It's hardcore/softcore porn with a plot. If the director added a few more sex scenes this movie would've premiered on the Spice Channel. The director might as well said "We're gonna film two Mexican boys getting their brains screwed out by a 28 year old harlot as they traypse across Mexico in search of a beach that doesn't even exist." which is wrong from the get go. If I want to entertain myself with something like this nature I'd read Madame Bovary than watch this sexed up piece of crap. Expand
  10. Dan
    Feb 17, 2005
    0
    Just a string of sex scenes.
  11. Mar 3, 2016
    2
    Wow, this was horrific. Alfonso Cuaron is a decent director and he does his best here, but man oh man does this movie suck. The story is horrible and poorly written, as evidenced by the needless narration that serves as purely unnecessary exposition, as well as rambling on about past/future events that are not depicted in the story at all. The characters are grating and entirelyWow, this was horrific. Alfonso Cuaron is a decent director and he does his best here, but man oh man does this movie suck. The story is horrible and poorly written, as evidenced by the needless narration that serves as purely unnecessary exposition, as well as rambling on about past/future events that are not depicted in the story at all. The characters are grating and entirely unenjoyable. Honestly, the movie is pretty much just hardcore porn. It is an hour and 40 minutes long, but at least an hour and 30 minutes of that is probably sex. Only a minor exaggeration. This movie does have some interesting thoughts on growing up, marriage, and sex, but it just gets drowned out in a sea of immaturity and annoyance. I honestly feel violated by this movie and have no idea how it is so acclaimed. Call me a prude, but sex is not a story. It felt like it was on the same level as some pornographic film in terms of its commitment to following a narrative when, in reality, everyone was just there to get laid and the plot was coincidental. I am not a huge fan of Cuaron's work and, well, this one will not convince me I have erred on my previous assessment. Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Aug 18, 2014
    90
    The digressiveness of Y Tu Mamá También is its masterstroke.
  2. Newsweek
    Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    The eroticism in Cuaron’s road movie (which broke all box-office records in Mexico) is the real deal: tactile, sexy, psychologically charged.
  3. 100
    One of those movies where "after that summer, nothing would ever be the same again." Yes, but it redefines "nothing."