IFC | Release Date: March 15, 2002
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 212 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
142
Mixed:
16
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
DaveC.Jan 4, 2006
The relationship between the two male protagonists is often insipid and Cuaron fails to make them sympathetic to the audience and muster up enough quite tha mount of homoerotic tension it appears he is opting for. Leaving that aside however, The relationship between the two male protagonists is often insipid and Cuaron fails to make them sympathetic to the audience and muster up enough quite tha mount of homoerotic tension it appears he is opting for. Leaving that aside however, Y Tu Mama Tambien is a beautiful film and in spite the obvious of nouvelle vague influences and jump-cuts, every scene has an amazingly convincing and natural fluidity to it. Difficult not to recommend. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CesarR.Jul 4, 2003
I think this is a very elocuent movie... Also, It shows some of stereotypes of people in LatinAmerican.. (I'm writting from Colombia) About the youngs, they're teenagers and what else they can do. The trip is amazing.. even it is I think this is a very elocuent movie... Also, It shows some of stereotypes of people in LatinAmerican.. (I'm writting from Colombia) About the youngs, they're teenagers and what else they can do. The trip is amazing.. even it is the desire for many men... hehehe ! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnaP.Jun 4, 2003
Beautiful film about people discovering their personalities. Breath-taking pictures and love scenes. A panorama of the Mexican people from different social classes. Amazing and very erotic...Really worth seeing it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RolandC.Nov 10, 2002
I did not find the movie that funny. It was a great sad film about friendship and maturity. What makes it great is that you are subtly hit with a lot of different social and political issues. What makes it sad is that you realize these boys I did not find the movie that funny. It was a great sad film about friendship and maturity. What makes it great is that you are subtly hit with a lot of different social and political issues. What makes it sad is that you realize these boys were never really true friends. In life we often have people who pass through our lives to hang out with and as we mature the thin bonds that bind us together melt away and we move on. My only criticism of this movie is that the boys were too stereotypically portrayed at the start and I found little reason to care about them throughout the film. But it is a minor thing in a movie that was very solid and fascinating to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HectorR.Dec 1, 2002
Buena.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StefanoS.Mar 17, 2002
Fantastic, marvelous movie. Probably the best movie so far this year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ArnoldP.Apr 2, 2002
A terrific ribald reactivation of French "new wave", but this time it's Jules and Jim in Mexico, and the salsa is hot. Reflected in the prism of this "menage on the road" is a kaleidoscope of Mexico; the rich, the poor peasant, the ugly A terrific ribald reactivation of French "new wave", but this time it's Jules and Jim in Mexico, and the salsa is hot. Reflected in the prism of this "menage on the road" is a kaleidoscope of Mexico; the rich, the poor peasant, the ugly and the beautiful. Masterfully directed with wonderfully talented young actors. This is surely the movie to beat for the best foreign film of the new year. I loved it, and I'm a senior citizen. Should appeal to many looking for an alternative to the mediocrity of Hollywood formula. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Apr 5, 2002
Totally enjoyable. In fact, two of the best movies I've seen in the past year have been foreign films ("Amelie" is the other one). Funny, touching, worth seeing again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ArthurJ.Apr 7, 2002
A combination American road and buddy movie blended with French sex farce and the Italian poignancy of Il Postino or Rocco and His Brothers. Sooo real and unself-conscious. Predictable, but moving and superbly acted. Sexy, too, but probably A combination American road and buddy movie blended with French sex farce and the Italian poignancy of Il Postino or Rocco and His Brothers. Sooo real and unself-conscious. Predictable, but moving and superbly acted. Sexy, too, but probably a little too real for most American males. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
IanW.May 8, 2002
Interesting south-of-th-border tenn road trip with more to offer the viewer than the average Hollywood Fair. If you think a vacant 3-line bitch followed by a depracation of viewers who didn't "guess the ending" is not pretentious or Interesting south-of-th-border tenn road trip with more to offer the viewer than the average Hollywood Fair. If you think a vacant 3-line bitch followed by a depracation of viewers who didn't "guess the ending" is not pretentious or pathetic, you need to check your IQ. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EmilyM.May 9, 2002
I thought this movie was brilliant: funny in the way that real things are funny; dark in the same way that real things are dark. Politics and life blend perfectly. Well shot, well written, and perfectly acted; and who cares if you can see I thought this movie was brilliant: funny in the way that real things are funny; dark in the same way that real things are dark. Politics and life blend perfectly. Well shot, well written, and perfectly acted; and who cares if you can see the ending coming a mile away? I loved this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelJun 6, 2002
This movie was sexy as hell, beautiful actors acting beautifully. So very real...funny, sad and true all at the same time. An experience I will never forget.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StephanieV.Sep 23, 2002
What makes the movie a masterpiece is it's way of making one care for the characters. I mean, you get to understand each one of them, it has everything it needs: melancholy, reality checks, bestfriends experiencing life for the first What makes the movie a masterpiece is it's way of making one care for the characters. I mean, you get to understand each one of them, it has everything it needs: melancholy, reality checks, bestfriends experiencing life for the first time, death, love, you get suprised, passion, guilt, truth, deception, lust, family. And it all conects perfectly. I see no flaws in it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidL.Oct 9, 2003
You would be a fool to miss this great field trip to the heart of Mexico. Great writing and directing make for a fantastic ride.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KatieF.Mar 25, 2003
Great but not perfect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnaP.Jun 4, 2003
Beautiful film about people discovering their personalities. Breath-taking pictures and love scenes. A panorama of the Mexican people from different social classes. Amazing and very erotic...Really worth seeing it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JerryT.Jul 7, 2004
Fantastic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JedM.Aug 9, 2004
I've never seen this kind of movie with such vulgarity but very truthful. A fusion of unrelated genre, teenage sex,drugs & alcohol, political statement and coming of age drama. Diego Luna's hot! I praised the Cuaron brothers, I've never seen this kind of movie with such vulgarity but very truthful. A fusion of unrelated genre, teenage sex,drugs & alcohol, political statement and coming of age drama. Diego Luna's hot! I praised the Cuaron brothers, i've learned and appreciate how mexicans create films. This movie will alway top my list as one of the unforgettable films i've ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveS.Jan 16, 2006
My favourite movie of all time. The writing is second to none, and Maribel Verdu's performance is a revelation.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NealMay 26, 2006
Pure captivation!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TyeN.Aug 7, 2006
This is an excellent film and, like Maria Full of Grace, is almost too real in it's subject. The actors, along with the excellent script, convey these characters and these situations with such authenticity it's almost a This is an excellent film and, like Maria Full of Grace, is almost too real in it's subject. The actors, along with the excellent script, convey these characters and these situations with such authenticity it's almost a documentary. Gael Garcia Bernal and Diego Luna are great, but Maribel Verdu is fantastic as the glue that holds the film together. Her performance is stunning. Alfonso Cuaron's direction is amazing, and this film is most definitely a must see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ButteredPopcornNov 17, 2002
This movie is simply intoxicating. It is as raw and as fresh as the lives of the two teanagers and their beautful companion. We sense that we are witnessing some late adolescent force of nature at work here, and the creation likewise has a This movie is simply intoxicating. It is as raw and as fresh as the lives of the two teanagers and their beautful companion. We sense that we are witnessing some late adolescent force of nature at work here, and the creation likewise has a bitterswweet undertone in its acknowledgement that this ephemeral phase of life cannot last. I wouldn't focus so much on whether this is a 'good' movie, though i suppose it is; rather, i would remark at how truthful this movie is in capturing the giddyness of youth, and revealing its meaning. Credit goes to the creators of this film for taking a very simple and baudy tale and by telling it so truthfully and candidly, that it rings with meaning far beyond its rather crude origins. Quite a gem! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SpeedyMulroneycakesNov 29, 2002
An intoxicating, compelling little ride through the dust of Mexico. This bloke's going to direct the next Harry Potter film; can't wait.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JinC.Apr 28, 2002
I haven't decided yet if this movie is truly good or simply different. although i suppose if difference in and of itself is a virtue, then it is unquestionably good. and after seeing so many trite and predictable hollywood flicks, itI haven't decided yet if this movie is truly good or simply different. although i suppose if difference in and of itself is a virtue, then it is unquestionably good. and after seeing so many trite and predictable hollywood flicks, it does feel like a breath of fresh air. there are really wonderful things about the movie however that are not in question. the movie tackles a segment of teenage culture with an unblinking honesty that most probably could never have been accomplished in an american film. and the expose style of giving us a glimpse of life in mexico is truly fascinating. especially for us americans. mexico is an important southern neighbor but i would venture that few americans know anything at all about what life south of the boarder is like. though at times, the mise en scene confirms our guesses that it may resemble a post apocalyptic los angeles. but the movie does seem to have a rather insular point of view with little perspective or distance from its subject matter. to a certain extent, it makes you feel like all kids in mexico are affluent, over sexed and highly medicated. there are a few mentions of other aspects of mexican society but most, if not all, seem to be obligatory concessions that life outside of the protagonists' drug and sex infused bubble does in fact exist in mexico. but then again, that may have been the point and may not necessarily be a flaw. perhaps it strikes foreign audiences more strongly as we are not intimately familiar with mexican life in general and so there is not a inherent counterpoint that the film can play off of.... did i mention that there's a lot of nudity and sex? if that's what ya like, you'll like this film. there are shots and situations where i couldn't imagine much of what was happening was being 'simulated'. the willingness to actually engage in sex must have been one of the prerequisites for cast. keep an eye out for off handed remarks that foreshadow payoffs further down the road. that payoff itself? errrr... it seems to intimate, "whatever the waves of life happen to toss you onto -- commence humping". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.May 24, 2002
Don't go to "Y Tu Mama Tambien" solely for the bare breasts and implicit sex. If you do, a masterpiece might pass you by. This is my favorite Mexican film since "Santa Sangre", which is to say, I enjoyed this road movie a little more Don't go to "Y Tu Mama Tambien" solely for the bare breasts and implicit sex. If you do, a masterpiece might pass you by. This is my favorite Mexican film since "Santa Sangre", which is to say, I enjoyed this road movie a little more than "Central Station". Maribel Verdu is terrific. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LeslieM.Jun 25, 2002
I felt that the underlying themes in this movie in combination with the coming of age drama was extremely memorable. The scenics transport you for at least 2 hours. enjoy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
WalkenM.Jun 4, 2002
Brilliant, one of the most powerful and sexually frank movies I have ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RichardJul 15, 2002
The sex is messier, funnier, and scarier than most American teen flicks. The cast is uniformly excellent in a sharp film about how rapidly things change and not always for the better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MikeyGJul 22, 2002
This movie works on many levels and you really get more out of it if you're familiar with Mexico, Mexican politics, and Mexican high society. As a silly road movie, it's funny enough without being a typical gross-out comedy. As a This movie works on many levels and you really get more out of it if you're familiar with Mexico, Mexican politics, and Mexican high society. As a silly road movie, it's funny enough without being a typical gross-out comedy. As a more serious movie tackling emotional and political issues, it makes its points subtly without hitting you over the head with them. At the beginning, I thought the two kids were jerks. At the end, I understood them and their environment better and I could relate to them. Any movie that can do that is pretty darn good. The only complaint is the crappy translation, but that really can't be helped as the boys speak almost exclusively in colloquiallisms. A good movie to check out, specially if you're interested in multi-dimensional stories. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Jan 4, 2003
One of the very best films of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JASONF.Mar 19, 2003
From the erotic beginning till the devastating end this movie is a classic forever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CynthiaA.Mar 24, 2003
GREAT MOVIE!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaríadeLourdesCruzH.Mar 3, 2003
Ahead of its time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BillApr 19, 2003
Even though it's not hard to figure out how it's going to end, it's a great film that's lots of fun to watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
YoonMinC.Jan 16, 2004
Cuaron has done his homework. He is steeped in cinematic history and well-versed in the language of film from Godard to the Hollywood Teen pic. But, what makes Y Tu Mama Tambien unforgettable is the smart and subtle way Cuaron infuses his Cuaron has done his homework. He is steeped in cinematic history and well-versed in the language of film from Godard to the Hollywood Teen pic. But, what makes Y Tu Mama Tambien unforgettable is the smart and subtle way Cuaron infuses his brilliant technique with sincere concerns about the meaning of life and social values. One of the finest ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JanieT.Feb 20, 2004
I think this movie was really good it tells about many teen situations. and it shows a lot of sex parts!!!!!! oh i really liked the sex parts!!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArleneC.Mar 1, 2004
The movie was good! It was different, how in the first 2 seconds in the movie there was a sex scene! It gave it a little spunk! The trip was cool it relates well with teens these days! And the actors are hott! Especially Diego Luna!!lol The The movie was good! It was different, how in the first 2 seconds in the movie there was a sex scene! It gave it a little spunk! The trip was cool it relates well with teens these days! And the actors are hott! Especially Diego Luna!!lol The plot of the story is good! It's a very funny movie and it has a cool twist at the end!It's a very enjoyable movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
tonys.May 10, 2006
Excellent film. spontaneous acting, fun and riveting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamS.Jun 13, 2007
Very good film. Better than I thought it would be. Storyline is excellent.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LeeP.Nov 2, 2002
It's funny, sad, beautifully made. It's more than just a road movie, its a film about youth, friendship, and the uncertainty of life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
FilazaferX.Nov 25, 2002
This is one of those movies where nothing really happens in it, yet you never find yourself bored or uninterested and when the end does come you don't get up to turn it off, instead you just kind of sit there contemplating what you just This is one of those movies where nothing really happens in it, yet you never find yourself bored or uninterested and when the end does come you don't get up to turn it off, instead you just kind of sit there contemplating what you just saw. I love those kind of movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Q-voApr 28, 2002
Richard de V: "If you can't see the end coming then check your iq, your not as bright as you think." Well we can't all be highly gifted art critics now can we? Go you, its a good flick. Unless you are a genius...
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SaschaH.Jul 16, 2004
Diego Luna is HOT ! :)
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MasonJ.Jul 25, 2004
A wonderful breath of fresh air from inhibited American cinematography.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JezreelM.Aug 26, 2004
The movie was superb!!!!!! in the beginning was lust but hey it was quiet fun and in the end there was knowledge i gain so much from this movie....two thumbs up!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EduardoR.Nov 8, 2005
One of the best films of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
OmarM.Dec 31, 2002
¡Great!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
brent2ownAug 24, 2011
F ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
J.RyanG.May 23, 2005
The most appreciable aspect of this film is that it gets very complex without feeling complex. The road trip narrative covers a lot of territory without slowing down or losing control. The sex scenes are brilliant and realistic. They do not The most appreciable aspect of this film is that it gets very complex without feeling complex. The road trip narrative covers a lot of territory without slowing down or losing control. The sex scenes are brilliant and realistic. They do not serve as pornographic exploitation of attractive actors, but build characterization and develop the underlying tension right up to the steamy and shocking climax. That's not to say that those scenes don't thrill. They are among the greatest sex scenes in the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rahuliamFeb 7, 2016
Life is like the surf
so give yourself away like the sea
Alfonso Cuarón direction and Maribel Verdú's best performance makes this movie so much perfect....this is one surely one of my best movie i ever seen....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gNov 12, 2016
An intelligent film of two boys on their journey of hope and reality. Alfonso Cuaron puts some effort to make this film not the worst. But some of it's beauty does do a lot of greatness and sharing a life about Mexico. I rate it a 94/100.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews