Paramount Classics | Release Date: November 10, 2000
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 93 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
84
Mixed:
2
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
hsm2310Oct 14, 2013
You Can Count on Me is one of the best 'slice of life' movies that I have ever seen. Laura Linney is at her usual best, perfectly cast for the role and Mark Ruffalo, is extraordinarily raw and funny and is key to most of the unforgettableYou Can Count on Me is one of the best 'slice of life' movies that I have ever seen. Laura Linney is at her usual best, perfectly cast for the role and Mark Ruffalo, is extraordinarily raw and funny and is key to most of the unforgettable moments in the film. Kenneth Lonergan has written a refreshingly original script and pulled it off exceptionally well despite having two siblings fighting with the vicissitudes of life as the protagonists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
This film was so simple in such a perfect sense. The unpretentiousness of the film leads to the deeper greatness that can be overwhelmingly emotionally touched by viewers. The love, the warmth, the bond everything about the film was so trueThis film was so simple in such a perfect sense. The unpretentiousness of the film leads to the deeper greatness that can be overwhelmingly emotionally touched by viewers. The love, the warmth, the bond everything about the film was so true that it somehow connects to our lives one way or another. A Beautiful Film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
BKMFeb 1, 2012
A smart, complex and honest look at the ties that bind siblings together for better or worse. Linney and Ruffalo are terrific as a brother and sister working out their issues and the film is constantly challenging our preconceptions aboutA smart, complex and honest look at the ties that bind siblings together for better or worse. Linney and Ruffalo are terrific as a brother and sister working out their issues and the film is constantly challenging our preconceptions about who these people are and what drives their behaviors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChrrowleySep 23, 2011
A wonderful tender film that beautifully explores the complex relationship between a brother, sister, and child. Has a small town authenticity rarely seen in films, and has left me waiting patiently for over a decade to see Mr. Lonergan'sA wonderful tender film that beautifully explores the complex relationship between a brother, sister, and child. Has a small town authenticity rarely seen in films, and has left me waiting patiently for over a decade to see Mr. Lonergan's follow up. A streak which will be broken next week when the infamous and anticipated "Margaret" reaches the big screen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SindriFeb 20, 2011
Reverent performances - American playwright, screenwriter and director Kenneth Lonergan's feature film debut tells the story of sibling couple Terry and Sammy who lost their parents in a car accident when they were children. Twenty yearsReverent performances - American playwright, screenwriter and director Kenneth Lonergan's feature film debut tells the story of sibling couple Terry and Sammy who lost their parents in a car accident when they were children. Twenty years later, Sammy still lives in their childhood home in Scottsville, New York and is a single mum working at the local bank. She has not heard from Terry in months, but when he suddenly shows up in town telling her that he has no money and no place to go, she invites him to stay with her and introduced him to her son Rudy.

This gratifying and compassionate family drama about an estranged brother and sister who are reunited at their home town two decades after a life altering incident, is hands down one of the most wonderful American independent films i've ever seen. "You Can Count on Me", which was shoot in Margaretville, New York, executive produced by Martin Scorsese and honored with numerous film awards during the turn of the millennium, deals with existentialistic themes in a more humane than theoretical way and is a dialog-driven character study strengthened by it's authentic and milieu depictions.

The film is wittingly written and acutely directed by Kenneth Lonergan who gives an uncommonly realistic portrayal of a devoting and deeply affectionate relationship between a brother and sister who has chosen opposite paths in life. Mark Ruffalo and Laura Linney interprets Terry and Sammy with striking conviction and their reverent performances, which i would place on any list over the best performances given in the last decade, is alone reason enough to see this humorous and thoughtful film which also contains great scenes between Mark Ruffalo and Rory Culkin and between Laura Linney and Matthew Broderick. The varied and mood-setting music works well, and this is the kind of film that reaches our hearts and conveys something pivotal about basic life values.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Rarely is it so much fun to watch the interaction of characters on screen - not because their actions are so unbelievable (though they are almost always unpredictable), but more because they are all so grounded in reality and truth.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JoeW.Feb 14, 2006
I know how pretentious this sounds but I liked the religious ambiguity of the movie...Terry's view on life is so well presented and rings true of most people I know --especially when he talks to the priest--and the priest is not a I know how pretentious this sounds but I liked the religious ambiguity of the movie...Terry's view on life is so well presented and rings true of most people I know --especially when he talks to the priest--and the priest is not a foreboding feature either--he's reasonable-- the writing is awesome--ken lonergan's commentary is great! really worth a listen--see this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
J.RyanG.May 29, 2005
A rather exceptional little family drama that makes you want to call up your sibling just to hear her voice. Especially impressive is Mark Ruffalo, who steals the show and delivers it right where it ought to end up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShazibK.Jan 22, 2005
An excellent production, emotional yet powerful drama with all the elements of real life events. For those, who can't stand scenes with longer dialogues, this may not be the film to watch, but if you want to see real behavior from An excellent production, emotional yet powerful drama with all the elements of real life events. For those, who can't stand scenes with longer dialogues, this may not be the film to watch, but if you want to see real behavior from simple characters, this is the movie to watch. Depicts on a bro/sis relationship in a way no other film has done before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianneJan 18, 2005
Touching and intimate film that allows viewers to observe the intricate and sometimes difficult bond between a brother and sister.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MorrisSep 22, 2004
Lovely acting and well observed screenplay, but Amy Taubin above was right: it's about as visually inventive as...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
C.MonsterAug 7, 2004
One of those movies where I hear critics and fans rave, and wonder what the fuss is all about. It's slow and ponderous, and you just keep waiting and waiting for something to happen, but nothing does. The performances are all fine, but One of those movies where I hear critics and fans rave, and wonder what the fuss is all about. It's slow and ponderous, and you just keep waiting and waiting for something to happen, but nothing does. The performances are all fine, but all of these actors have done better work elsewhere. The ending of the movie doesn't satisfy, either. The best thing that can be said here is that you feel frustrated with Ruffalo's character throughout. It takes a lot for a performance to deliver that level of energy throughout that, as a viewer, you're frustrated. But, otherwise, this just felt like a waste of my time. This was nominated for a writing Oscar why??? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaimeMay 3, 2004
This movie makes you forget the typical hollywood formula. You follow these characters (albeit slowly) through the realities of life and come to care for them and identify with them along the way. Don't miss it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
YoonC.Sep 21, 2003
Beautifully acted movie, deeply moving portrayal of brother/sister relationship. It examines the love/hate aspects of sibling emotions and ultimately why blood ties matter so much. If you've had a sister as wonderful as mine, Beautifully acted movie, deeply moving portrayal of brother/sister relationship. It examines the love/hate aspects of sibling emotions and ultimately why blood ties matter so much. If you've had a sister as wonderful as mine, you'll deeply appreciate this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Apr 8, 2003
Excellent, absorbing drama! Wonderful film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WayneS.Dec 29, 2002
The producers of American Beauty should have seen this film before they wrote their pile of c___! This is what a movie about relationships should look like. It was real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulaI.Dec 26, 2002
It ended a perfect Christmas night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ButteredPopcornNov 1, 2002
Very captivating. Great acting, characters. Believable and endearing. This movie will stick with you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Oct 26, 2002
There are rarely films so good that they're hard to watch, not becuse their sad or depressing, but because you're dreading the moment when the credits start to roll, "You Can Count On Me" is such a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelicityF.Sep 3, 2002
What an excellent film! The last scene is so friggen good it hurts!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelF.Jul 31, 2001
This is really a good solid movie that is touching and funny. Laura Linney is unbelievable and same with Mark Ruffalo. This film introduces Rory Culkin (yes another one) who is great as Linney's son. This movie does get boring after and This is really a good solid movie that is touching and funny. Laura Linney is unbelievable and same with Mark Ruffalo. This film introduces Rory Culkin (yes another one) who is great as Linney's son. This movie does get boring after and hour into it but still its good. Worth a rent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Jun 27, 2001
This tender, touching, beautifully realised study of the overwhelming influence of the family on our lives restores your faith in a movie industry obsessed with action. This is a movie for grown ups and you won't see anything more This tender, touching, beautifully realised study of the overwhelming influence of the family on our lives restores your faith in a movie industry obsessed with action. This is a movie for grown ups and you won't see anything more profound for a very long time. Superb performances from the entire cast but especially from Linney and Ruffalo and sensitive direction from Lonergan who has also penned a screenplay of great sincereity and truth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnthonyS.Jun 16, 2001
A nice combination of comedy and drama that made me wish I had a sister. Laura Linney is a great actress and I'm glad she is getting more opportunities to show her work to larger audiences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcD.Feb 9, 2001
A beautiful story that should be seen with your brother or sister. Laura Linney is one of the most underrated actresses in the biz. She brings a nice subtlety to her parts that deserves attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkR.Feb 9, 2001
Average TV-movie drivel that I click past on Lifetime nearly every night. Boring characters, tepid dialogue, unbelievable situations--it's claim to fame is supposedly how real it is, but that don't mean it ain't boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkR.Feb 9, 2001
Average TV-movie drivel that I click past on Lifetime nearly every night. Boring characters, tepid dialogue, unbelievable situations--it's claim to fame is supposedly how real it is, but that don't mean it ain't boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaV.Jan 27, 2001
Intelligent, sensitive insight into the human condition in life. Ruffalo deserves this years oscar for best actor...he was amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful