Yu-Gi-Oh!: The Movie

Yu-Gi-Oh!: The Movie Image
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Based on the trading card and television series phenomenon,Yu-Gi-Oh! is the story of Yugi, a boy captivated by the card game sweeping the nation: Duel Monsters! (Warner Bros.)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 16 out of 18
  1. It's all the thrill of watching other people play Uno.
  2. A vigorously cross-marketed product, with comics, collectable cards, games and a television series.
  3. 20
    There's nothing inspiring about Yu-Gi-Oh! The Movie, unless you count the way it compels kids to continue to support the "Yu-Gi-Oh" franchise.
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    20
    No doubt its small fans are thrilled, but even young kids will have to be pretty undemanding to enjoy this mess.
  5. Has the crass look and feel of a 90-minute infomercial.
  6. It’s a lot like hearing the play-by-play account of a heated game of bridge. Only not half as gripping.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 14 out of 38
  1. GilesG.
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    Its so awesome how they break the rules they're such gangsters. They're just like " Lets play Blue Eyes" but they can't so Its so awesome how they break the rules they're such gangsters. They're just like " Lets play Blue Eyes" but they can't so they throw the rules right out the window and that's EPICNESSSS!!! Who cares If Yu-Gi has the stupidest hair ever, that just makes this movie more gangster. Expand
  2. SilvinoT.
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    A Very good movie.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    I liked how all they did was bring out their strongest monsters and trash-talk each-other into battle! It doesn't stop there, the movie hasI liked how all they did was bring out their strongest monsters and trash-talk each-other into battle! It doesn't stop there, the movie has merchandise! Yes, they sell cards! This means that if you enjoyed the movie like I did you can experience the magic at home with your friends, Somehow I was entertained even though I don't watch the anime. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2012
    5
    The plot is cliche and the characters are wooden, but the cool thing about Yu-Gi-Oh is seeing how creatively designed some of the creatures are.
  5. Jul 28, 2012
    4
    Well the obsurd plot is definately fun to make fun of while watching, but the overall story is very boring, especially compared to the firstWell the obsurd plot is definately fun to make fun of while watching, but the overall story is very boring, especially compared to the first anime. The only character that I even cared about was Pegasus cuz he's a boss. Boring villain, boring plot, not very exciting movie Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    3
    Falta de genialidade criou-se um filme péssimo.Falta de genialidade criou-se um filme péssimo. Expand
  7. Sam
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    It's a god-awful movie. I can't belive some moron used my name and said it was good. I used to be a ravid Yu-Gi-Oh fan, but after It's a god-awful movie. I can't belive some moron used my name and said it was good. I used to be a ravid Yu-Gi-Oh fan, but after realizing how lame, pahtetic, and dorky the show and game was, I almost puked when I learened about this movie. Absoloutley dreadful. "Straight up for the best movie of the year?" Who gave that guy prozac? Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  2. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.