Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 2, 2009
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 999 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
907
Mixed:
51
Negative:
41
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
Morpheus00May 2, 2011
Initially enjoyable undead farce, but loses pace mid way and descend into looney-tunes denouement. The appearance of Bill Murray is an entertaining novelty, but is hardly 'genius' parody.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
morfilJun 19, 2013
As you might expect for this genre, it's quite gory, so don't go expecting a light 'R' rating. But if you can handle some bloodshed, no, make that a substantial amount of bloodshed but perhaps I should add in a comic environment there'sAs you might expect for this genre, it's quite gory, so don't go expecting a light 'R' rating. But if you can handle some bloodshed, no, make that a substantial amount of bloodshed but perhaps I should add in a comic environment there's some pretty funny stuff here. Woody Harreleson and Jesse Eisenberg make an amusing odd couple and Emma Stone was fine for this material, although she and Abigale Breslin had slightly less to do. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
EmuChickenMay 14, 2011
A pretty decent "comedy" zombie flick at best... well, to be honest, I wouldn't even put it into being funny at all, but the characters were .. kinda interesting. uhmn...
... it was alright...
... to be honest, I probably just liked
A pretty decent "comedy" zombie flick at best... well, to be honest, I wouldn't even put it into being funny at all, but the characters were .. kinda interesting. uhmn...
... it was alright...
... to be honest, I probably just liked linking it to the game "Left 4 Dead 2"
.... ah, actually, I wouldnt watch this again, was gonna give it a 7 but nah.. good to rent.. so a 6.49

twinkies!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Oct 20, 2011
Zombieland is a competent zombie comedy and doesn't push for anything else. In this regard it succeeds because it provides some very funny moments (thanks mostly to Woody Harrelson) and does have the feel of a zombie film. However it doesn'tZombieland is a competent zombie comedy and doesn't push for anything else. In this regard it succeeds because it provides some very funny moments (thanks mostly to Woody Harrelson) and does have the feel of a zombie film. However it doesn't work because without striving for anything, this film always feels like it is missing something. It feels as if it is half a film with some of the obvious and interesting questions asked by the film left completely unanswered in favour of a joke about a twinky (funny as they are). The whole purpose of Zombieland is to entertain and because it lacks that feeling of being complete it doesn't do its job. Also, Jesse Eisenberg is boring as the lead. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
ILHMMar 10, 2013
All it takes is a few simple rules to survive Zombieland, the world that has been left behind after a deadly virus turns most of the population in to flesh-eating monsters. At least that is how Columbus has managed to stay alive up until heAll it takes is a few simple rules to survive Zombieland, the world that has been left behind after a deadly virus turns most of the population in to flesh-eating monsters. At least that is how Columbus has managed to stay alive up until he teams with Tallahassee on the road home to find his parents. The two are taken hostage by a pair of crafty sisters along the way, who convince them to travel together to the Pacific Playland amusement park in Los Angeles, which is supposed to be a safe haven from zombies. Needless to say, they are in for a bumpy ride! What is perhaps the most irritating thing about ZOMBIELAND besides the annoying characters and directionless plot is the fact that there are hardly any zombies in it to begin with. Why travel cross-country on the chance that some mythical amusement park might be zombie-free when the group only encounters a few zombies in the first place? The survival rules would have been much funnier if they had not already been used years before in Max Brook's infinitely superior Zombie Survival Guide. Jesse Eisenberg proves that he is the poor man's Michael Cera by offering up another wimpy performance with worse comedic timing than ever. Emma Stone is just as bad, and can't be taken seriously in her role. Thankfully, Woody Harrelson comes along to provide us with some temporary relief as the Twinkie-starved Tallahassee, who takes a great deal of pleasure in dispensing pain. The climactic battle at Pacific Playland is short-lived, and hardly worth the wait when the excitement of fighting zombies at an amusement park is squandered on a few measly rides. With the exception of the film's one notable cameo, ZOMBIELAND is a laughless comedy with hardly any horror that is not nearly as clever or witty as it is commonly made out to be. -Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
The uninteresting plot caused the film to be boring and lame, although Woody Harrelson and Emma Stone helped enhance the quality. The special effects makeup was very realistic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JohnnyStephensAug 31, 2013
It was very good. Very scary and funny too. I love zombie films. That's why, before I see it, I was sure that I would like it. Bravo!!! Very Good!!! I am waiting like crazy for the second chapter.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MarkCOct 17, 2009
Pretty funny in some spots, drags a little in the middle. Overall, good movie to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ryanjFeb 19, 2010
I had high hopes for the film. Unfortunately, it was just a road-trip movie with the zombie theme thrown on to attract a larger crowd. I'm going to play Left 4 Dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffANov 5, 2009
Unlikeable characters, pretty dumb, tries to be funny and hip but the writing is really pretty crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimFOct 25, 2009
"Zombieland" starts well, with the narrative voice of Jesse Eisenberg providing a witty and original take on the vampire story: antisocial behavior being a help in warding off the undead, with wittily designed title cards popping up at every "Zombieland" starts well, with the narrative voice of Jesse Eisenberg providing a witty and original take on the vampire story: antisocial behavior being a help in warding off the undead, with wittily designed title cards popping up at every time the narrator's lessons appear on screen. And while Woody Harrelson's introduction doesn't nearly live up to the hype and expectation generated by the ubiquitous traile, it has its share of moments. Unfortunately, most of this initial interest and amusement faded with the introduction of the poorly drawn, unattractive and unimaginative female characters (2 young sisters) that pop into the film somewhere in the middle of the second reel. And while it's pretty obvious when the character is shown to be such an innocent loner that at some point he's going to have to "nut up or shut up", given the way this takes place, audiences might be forgiven for wondering if the filmmakers have themselves had much experience with this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattTFeb 16, 2010
Not nearly as good as many here and elsewhere are claiming. Both me and my wife agree it was 'alright'. And everyone seems to be gushing about Bill Murray's cameo, but it was really only worh a couple of chuckles, if that. I Not nearly as good as many here and elsewhere are claiming. Both me and my wife agree it was 'alright'. And everyone seems to be gushing about Bill Murray's cameo, but it was really only worh a couple of chuckles, if that. I would say this is worth watching if you don't have to pay for it. Also, turning all of the lights and rides on at an abandoned amusment park and not knowing it would attract zombies is pretty stupid. And how exactly were they riding all of the rides anyway with no one to start and stop them? I know I'm being picky but even wacky comedies have to follow some rules or who would give a crap what happened to the characters? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnNov 29, 2009
Funny coming of age movie but it's characters are quirky but a little too perfect. Predictable once you get the premise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful