Zombieland

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 728 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 728
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2011
    5
    Initially enjoyable undead farce, but loses pace mid way and descend into looney-tunes denouement. The appearance of Bill Murray is an entertaining novelty, but is hardly 'genius' parody.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    6
    As you might expect for this genre, it's quite gory, so don't go expecting a light 'R' rating. But if you can handle some bloodshed, no, make that a substantial amount of bloodshed but perhaps I should add in a comic environment there's some pretty funny stuff here. Woody Harreleson and Jesse Eisenberg make an amusing odd couple and Emma Stone was fine for this material, although she andAs you might expect for this genre, it's quite gory, so don't go expecting a light 'R' rating. But if you can handle some bloodshed, no, make that a substantial amount of bloodshed but perhaps I should add in a comic environment there's some pretty funny stuff here. Woody Harreleson and Jesse Eisenberg make an amusing odd couple and Emma Stone was fine for this material, although she and Abigale Breslin had slightly less to do. Expand
  3. May 14, 2011
    6
    A pretty decent "comedy" zombie flick at best... well, to be honest, I wouldn't even put it into being funny at all, but the characters were .. kinda interesting. uhmn...
    ... it was alright...
    ... to be honest, I probably just liked linking it to the game "Left 4 Dead 2"
    .... ah, actually, I wouldnt watch this again, was gonna give it a 7 but nah.. good to rent.. so a 6.49

    twinkies!
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    6
    Zombieland is a competent zombie comedy and doesn't push for anything else. In this regard it succeeds because it provides some very funny moments (thanks mostly to Woody Harrelson) and does have the feel of a zombie film. However it doesn't work because without striving for anything, this film always feels like it is missing something. It feels as if it is half a film with some of theZombieland is a competent zombie comedy and doesn't push for anything else. In this regard it succeeds because it provides some very funny moments (thanks mostly to Woody Harrelson) and does have the feel of a zombie film. However it doesn't work because without striving for anything, this film always feels like it is missing something. It feels as if it is half a film with some of the obvious and interesting questions asked by the film left completely unanswered in favour of a joke about a twinky (funny as they are). The whole purpose of Zombieland is to entertain and because it lacks that feeling of being complete it doesn't do its job. Also, Jesse Eisenberg is boring as the lead. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    All it takes is a few simple rules to survive Zombieland, the world that has been left behind after a deadly virus turns most of the population in to flesh-eating monsters. At least that is how Columbus has managed to stay alive up until he teams with Tallahassee on the road home to find his parents. The two are taken hostage by a pair of crafty sisters along the way, who convince them toAll it takes is a few simple rules to survive Zombieland, the world that has been left behind after a deadly virus turns most of the population in to flesh-eating monsters. At least that is how Columbus has managed to stay alive up until he teams with Tallahassee on the road home to find his parents. The two are taken hostage by a pair of crafty sisters along the way, who convince them to travel together to the Pacific Playland amusement park in Los Angeles, which is supposed to be a safe haven from zombies. Needless to say, they are in for a bumpy ride! What is perhaps the most irritating thing about ZOMBIELAND besides the annoying characters and directionless plot is the fact that there are hardly any zombies in it to begin with. Why travel cross-country on the chance that some mythical amusement park might be zombie-free when the group only encounters a few zombies in the first place? The survival rules would have been much funnier if they had not already been used years before in Max Brook's infinitely superior Zombie Survival Guide. Jesse Eisenberg proves that he is the poor man's Michael Cera by offering up another wimpy performance with worse comedic timing than ever. Emma Stone is just as bad, and can't be taken seriously in her role. Thankfully, Woody Harrelson comes along to provide us with some temporary relief as the Twinkie-starved Tallahassee, who takes a great deal of pleasure in dispensing pain. The climactic battle at Pacific Playland is short-lived, and hardly worth the wait when the excitement of fighting zombies at an amusement park is squandered on a few measly rides. With the exception of the film's one notable cameo, ZOMBIELAND is a laughless comedy with hardly any horror that is not nearly as clever or witty as it is commonly made out to be. -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    The uninteresting plot caused the film to be boring and lame, although Woody Harrelson and Emma Stone helped enhance the quality. The special effects makeup was very realistic.
  7. Aug 31, 2013
    5
    It was very good. Very scary and funny too. I love zombie films. That's why, before I see it, I was sure that I would like it. Bravo!!! Very Good!!! I am waiting like crazy for the second chapter.
  8. MarkC
    Oct 17, 2009
    6
    Pretty funny in some spots, drags a little in the middle. Overall, good movie to see.
  9. ryanj
    Feb 19, 2010
    5
    I had high hopes for the film. Unfortunately, it was just a road-trip movie with the zombie theme thrown on to attract a larger crowd. I'm going to play Left 4 Dead.
  10. JeffA
    Nov 5, 2009
    4
    Unlikeable characters, pretty dumb, tries to be funny and hip but the writing is really pretty crap.
  11. JimF
    Oct 25, 2009
    6
    "Zombieland" starts well, with the narrative voice of Jesse Eisenberg providing a witty and original take on the vampire story: antisocial behavior being a help in warding off the undead, with wittily designed title cards popping up at every time the narrator's lessons appear on screen. And while Woody Harrelson's introduction doesn't nearly live up to the hype and "Zombieland" starts well, with the narrative voice of Jesse Eisenberg providing a witty and original take on the vampire story: antisocial behavior being a help in warding off the undead, with wittily designed title cards popping up at every time the narrator's lessons appear on screen. And while Woody Harrelson's introduction doesn't nearly live up to the hype and expectation generated by the ubiquitous traile, it has its share of moments. Unfortunately, most of this initial interest and amusement faded with the introduction of the poorly drawn, unattractive and unimaginative female characters (2 young sisters) that pop into the film somewhere in the middle of the second reel. And while it's pretty obvious when the character is shown to be such an innocent loner that at some point he's going to have to "nut up or shut up", given the way this takes place, audiences might be forgiven for wondering if the filmmakers have themselves had much experience with this. Expand
  12. MattT
    Feb 16, 2010
    4
    Not nearly as good as many here and elsewhere are claiming. Both me and my wife agree it was 'alright'. And everyone seems to be gushing about Bill Murray's cameo, but it was really only worh a couple of chuckles, if that. I would say this is worth watching if you don't have to pay for it. Also, turning all of the lights and rides on at an abandoned amusment park and Not nearly as good as many here and elsewhere are claiming. Both me and my wife agree it was 'alright'. And everyone seems to be gushing about Bill Murray's cameo, but it was really only worh a couple of chuckles, if that. I would say this is worth watching if you don't have to pay for it. Also, turning all of the lights and rides on at an abandoned amusment park and not knowing it would attract zombies is pretty stupid. And how exactly were they riding all of the rides anyway with no one to start and stop them? I know I'm being picky but even wacky comedies have to follow some rules or who would give a crap what happened to the characters? Expand
  13. John
    Nov 29, 2009
    4
    Funny coming of age movie but it's characters are quirky but a little too perfect. Predictable once you get the premise.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Falling closer in tone to "Shaun of the Dead" than "28 Days Later" or the George Romero movies, Zombieland has its tongue planted firmly in its rancid cheek while still delivering the visceral goodies.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    Benefiting from the very different but very appealing comedy styles of Woody Harrelson and Jesse Eisenberg even when the script's wit runs thin, this should be catnip to jaded genre fans.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    50
    Fitfully amusing romp directed with little ambition and even less distinction by first-timer Ruben Fleischer.