• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 17, 2012
  • Season #: 1
1600 Penn Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Being president is hard enough, but President Dale Gilchrist (Bill Pullman) and his first lady (and his second wife) Emily (Jenna Elfman) must also deal with problems created by his kids: Skip (Josh Gad, also co-creator), Becca (Martha MacIsaac), Marigold (Amara Miller), and Xander (Benjamin Stockham).

    Episode one is previewed on December 17, 2012 before its official premiere January 10, 2013.
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Jan 10, 2013
    80
    1600 Penn's tone may be apolitical, but it is also very funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 17, 2012
    70
    Then the second episode, and then the third, come along, and 1600 Penn evolves into a surprisingly likable single-camera comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Dec 14, 2012
    67
    The series starts wobbly but improves with each of the episodes [seen so far]. [21 Dec 2012, p.62]
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 17, 2012
    60
    When Skip is used more as a garnish and not the focus, his character is less annoying and more amusing.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Dec 17, 2012
    50
    It's not that these are shoddily crafted personalities, it's that their predicaments have been done to death, and frankly, executed with much more thoughtfulness on other shows.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Dec 17, 2012
    50
    The set-in-the-White House comedy starts off more annoying than funny in its Monday debut, overwhelmed by a single character, first son Skip (Josh Gad), a perennial college student and first-class screwup. Over the next couple of episodes the show becomes a little less grating and, occasionally, mildly amusing.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 10, 2013
    20
    1600 Penn mines none of the more subtle and satisfying possibilities of poking fun at a staid institution. It's more like a drug-fueled "Saturday Night Live" sketch that won't end.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 7 out of 15
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    after a long drawn out unsuccessful run of comedy's and sitcom's, NBC has finally scooped a frozen bit of ice cream out of an oven!!!! 1600 Penn is amazing show can't wait until the season starts! Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    This show is hilarious! Great cast, great writing, a real breath of fresh air amid a struggling NBC comedy lineup. The pilot had my whole family laughing out loud, and I can't wait to see the rest of the season once it premieres in January. Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    This is a really great premise for the show and it's only going to get better. Really fun characters. Skip is such a weird, bull in a china shop to have as the lead -- I'm excited for more episodes!!! Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2012
    4
    This show seemed to be a slam dunk - original director of Modern Family, a great premise, funny stars. The pilot was a huge faceplant, however. The third act was the President of the US playing tennis against a foreign dignitary and the crowd chanting, "USA"!?!? If this show is going to succeed it has to have some grounded plotlines and let the humor come from the character dynamics. It's already asking a lot of the audience to believe this family is in the White House, the president is Romney-looking Bill Pullman (with a Black Chief-of-Staff?). I don't think I can stomach another watch. Someone let us know if it gets any better. Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    3
    Dear god please, let this show be a figment of my imagination. It's time to mourn the NBC of old, which created such gems as 30 Rock and Community. If this is the future of television, I want no part in watching it. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    3
    Not for me or the wife. Almost made it through the pilot, but couldn't quite do it. Writing-wise, after about ten minutes, I realized every single character was talking in the same style of voice of seen used for Josh Gad in the movies I've seen him in. And I liked Josh in those movies because he was distinctive. But now his voice is coming out of every single character and what was once charming is now just annoying - at least for me. On network TV, Modern Family continues to be the high bar for me right now. Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2013
    0
    Bleh, I tried to watch but absolutely nothing in this is funny or original. Your same old sitcom cliches that have been done to death. Not even a Romney presidency could have saved this show. Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: February 14, 2013
    Which current TV shows have the best odds of returning, and which are likely to be canceled? We survey a group of industry experts to predict the fates of Community, Happy Endings, Vegas, Go On, The Following, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, and more bubble shows.