• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2001
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 301 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 301

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Beautifully Scripted, wonderfully cast. Incredible plot twists that keep the audience entertained and satisfied. This season is the best one since the first. Benefiting on a mesmerizing performance from Kiefer Sutherland in each and every episode, the show has yet to die down in its complexity. There are no words in the English language that can accurately describe the effects that 24 has on the human mind. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    7
    Far from running out of tricks, the fifth season of "24" opens with a bang, incorporating an element of mystery that promises to be more satisfying than the somewhat disappointing fourth day in Jack Bauer's very busy life. Traditionally, the series starts its year on a high and sags in the middle rounds, but Fox's clever scheduling ploy of launching the show with four hours over two nights should plant the hook deep based on those episodes, leading loyalists to hang on for the thrill ride. Beginning 18 months after Jack faked his death, the series quickly launches into a new threat, with twists that Fox has understandably asked critics not to disclose. As for the plot, it's enough to say the officious, sniveling bureaucrat who took office last season, President Logan is still in power, banking on a Russian summit to serve as the apex of his presidency. In the world of "24," such events are never without a hitch, but the ever-present theme of terrorism and how bad good guys must become to counter evil gets a bit less of a ham-fisted working over this time around. Then again, perhaps that's merely in comparison to season four, which featured so many acts of righteous torture it began to seem as if Dick Cheney was among the showrunners. As always, truly savoring this tightrope act requires some suspension of disbelief, from the synergistic plugs for Fox News to the ridiculously navigable L.A. traffic, as people zip from place to place in those ubiquitous Fords at a pace that can only leave real-life commuters scoffing. Still, the show continues to feature a top-notch cast, with Kiefer Sutherland providing the right mix of can-do machismo and world-weariness as the indomitable Jack, who has found a new love interest that, based on history, is sure to end badly. Frankly, I'd still like to see Fox roll the dice by bringing the series back without him -- letting some new agent suffer Job's trials to keep us free -- but there's no denying the grit and intensity the actor invests in the role. Joining the ensemble, meanwhile, is the intriguing Jean Smart as the troubled First Lady and Sean Astin as a new overseer of the Counter-Terrorism Unit. Back, too, is Mary Lynn Rajskub as Jack's tech-geek ally Chloe, who at one point assures a third party there's nothing to worry about as Jack sneaks up behind a heavily armed man. "Relax," she says, in a voice that invariably suggests anything but relaxing, "he's really good at this." That he is. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    The story line is similar to other seasons. Enemies are Southeast or Soviet Union, betrayer and surprise ending... But still love it. I've had so much fun.

    - mvtls.com
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Season 5: Jack Bauer and 24 at their finest. This probably his best season ever, even beating out my old favorite, season 2. No show can get my adrenaline racing like 24. 5 is the peak season of an incredible series
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    SPOILERS!!!! They killed off every great character! Palmer, Almeida, Dessler, even Edgar, the fat guy with a lisp. The first three were killed in the first quarter and as a result the rest of the season felt very sparse and empty. No wonder everyone says S6 onwards is where 24 goes downhill. Getting rid of Tony was a big mistake though; he was the second best and most likeable character next to Jack and his now lack of presence has left a huge space that isn't being filled. The way he communicated with Jack was, unlike Jack with everyone else, less formal and provided a different dynamic. Overall the show continues to slip in quality ever since S2 yet despite that, it's still definitely worth a watch, as it's yet another enticing 24 puzzle that we need to see unravelled. Ignore the 9.3 user score because it's ridiculous; it would put S5 the highest season of 24 when it's the least best one out of the five so far. Still very good though. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This show is the best show of all time, i was more committed to this show then a black person was to popeyes and i had to be home by monday night at 9 pm me and my dad would jerk off to this show and the end of this season is some doom and lots of surprises this season is my favorite season
  7. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    The best season of 24 by a long shot. With the amazing twists in the beginning, game changing twists and death, this show has gotten so good, it has to fall at some point
  8. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Vuelve 24. Después de las anteriores temporadas que no son malas, esta destaca su trama como las mejores de todas las temporadas. Excitante, completa, adictiva e imponente como nos acostumbra.
  9. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    By far the best season and was always going to be hard to top, the emotions of Anger, Frustration, and Relief, causing you to scream at the TV as if you're willing on your favorite football team. the 24 Team have the knack at finding and developing characters so that you hate them with a passion whilst willing on the heroes to prevail
  10. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Perfect. No more words.
    I hate the many deads, because I love the characters.
    The president as the Bad Guy?? PER-FECT!!
    The best season of the entire show.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. A heart-pounding, mesmerizing adventure unlike anything else up or down the dial.
  2. It's the most thrilling premiere hour of "24" yet.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    I didn’t know how 24 could top last season, but so far it’s working. And the edge of my seat is already frayed.