User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 1 out of 28

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    As you would expect Africa is stunningly photographed with an epic sweep of the country in all its beauty and cruelty. In the first episode the sight of two male Giraffes fighting was truly amazing. An entertaining and educational delight.
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    For me the best wildlife documentary I've seen so far, everything is successful in this series, narration, special effects, the sequences filmed it's just outstanding, great show
  3. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    Perfect nature documentary. Anyone who likes Planet Earth or life will be a raving fan of Africa. The life in Africa is truly amazing, and even a person who hates nature will be left in awe and amazement. Well done discovery, well done.
  4. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    Some incredible sequences, but also some that feel deja vu and a bit too much doleful music and a tendency to anthropomorphism compared to some of the earlier series. Editing a bit loose at times too, for example in the Cape episode you completely lose your geographic bearings unless you already know the area, and this is relevant and the weather patterns are a major factor. Nevertheless, what will we do when Attenborough passes away... this remains streets ahead of most nature programs. Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Probably the best nature show I've ever watched. The incredible camera work and slow motion effects really bring the show to life. I also enjoy David's much-loved enthusiasm. LOVE IT!
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    I am a big fan of nature documentaries and of Attenborough in particular (though I gather Forest Whitaker narrated the US version) and I did enjoy this. The images were outstanding, with the giraffe battle being a highlight. That said, personally, I felt as if there was not quite enough information, not quite enough detail. Everytime they cut to a scene, they left after the action without a full explanation. It was as if the spectacle was enough. And I imagine it was for many but I left still wanting to know more. Collapse
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 8, 2013
    80
    People eat this stuff up, and a skeptic can find himself riveted by the best of it.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 8, 2013
    80
    A treat for armchair travelers.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 8, 2013
    70
    Africa feels somewhat victimized by having been there and seen that. Still impressive in moments, based on the premiere, it appears to be less memorable than some of this collaboration's recent nature projects.