American Idol : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 11, 2002
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14

Critic Reviews

  1. Orlando Sentinel
    Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Jun 19, 2013
    60
    The Tuesday programs are involving for the musical numbers, but the Wednesday installments resort to the lamest tricks to drag out the announcement of who is gone. The contestants' awkward group performances add little to the process and play like the worst of Las Vegas. [4 Sep 2002]
  2. Reviewed by: Caryn James
    Jun 19, 2013
    60
    Offering prefab middle-of-the-road stardom, "American Idol" is entertaining, but not for the reasons its producers like to pretend. The open secret that the show's creators and its fans choose to ignore is that the music and arrangements are trite, full of wannabe Whitney Houston and Stevie Wonder wails. Originality is a losing strategy. But the series does have a stroke of commercial genius, as it shrewdly combines elements from a smattering of other series into one big marketable soup. It's "Survivor" with a soundtrack.
  3. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 19, 2013
    60
    So much about the Fox series is unseemly, and I don't just mean the commercial-to-show ratio and the sponsor plugs, which have been downright obscene. "American Idol," a new hybrid of reality TV and beauty pageantry, represents some of the crudest aspects of both network TV and the pop-music industry. ... And yet, and yet. "American Idol" remains addictive TV. [4 Sep 2002]
  4. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Robert P. Laurence
    Jun 19, 2013
    50
    "American Idol" boasts two new wrinkles. First, the performances are so tightly edited that each singer gets barely a minute onstage. ... The second innovation: The contest is rigged. [21 Jun 2002]
  5. Reviewed by: Carina Chocano
    Jun 19, 2013
    40
    An old-fashioned talent show with the new-fashioned feature of value-added public humiliation, 'American Idol' is a 'Gong Show' the Marquis de Sade would love.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Jan 18, 2015
    0
    The biggest waist of time on television. I've never bought a single album or song from any of the vapid lounge singers that this show hasThe biggest waist of time on television. I've never bought a single album or song from any of the vapid lounge singers that this show has produced. The fact that this show has given rise to Ryan Seacrest and Simon Cowell alone is reason enough to despise it. It's depressing to know that more people will vote on this show than voted in the last election. This show serves as a barometer to the state of our country. Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    7
    This show actually used to be pretty good. The main problem with it now is that, all the good gudges have now left. I liked this show a lotThis show actually used to be pretty good. The main problem with it now is that, all the good gudges have now left. I liked this show a lot better with Simon Cowell, Paula Abdul, and Randy Jackson. Now with these new judges it seems like the show has become very bad. If the old judges were to come back, I would have watched every minute, of every episode. Full Review »
  3. May 18, 2013
    0
    They might as well end the show after Season 12 of AI.
    Nicki Minaj, the untalented and horrifying judge ruined this show.
    0 for me, your
    They might as well end the show after Season 12 of AI.
    Nicki Minaj, the untalented and horrifying judge ruined this show.
    0 for me, your welcome producers, your show has turned to complete crap and racism.
    Full Review »