Amish Mafia Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A small group of men protect and maintain order amongst the Amish in Lancaster County.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Dec 10, 2012
    88
    They should call it "When Amish Go Bad." I'm talking about the insanely addictive new show, Amish Mafia, the most bizarre reality series, well, ever.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 10, 2012
    63
    It's more shoofly than pie, but amusing. [17 Dec 2012, p.39]
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 11, 2012
    60
    Even if Amish Mafia may evoke for some viewers the popular and somewhat discredited "Breaking Amish," the show has a running undercurrent that feels interesting and credible.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Dec 11, 2012
    40
    Amish Mafia may be intermittently entertaining, but it doesn't pass the smell test.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Dec 11, 2012
    30
    The Amish Mafia may sound oxymoronic, but as a TV show, it's strictly moronic.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 10, 2012
    30
    In terms of the bar on reality-TV standards, though, Amish Mafia, in particular, effortlessly limbos beneath it.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Reality TV doesn't get much cheaper or crasser than this, and just to clinch its rock-bottom status, the show fills out its picture of rural menace by momentarily citing the 2006 mass shooting at a Lancaster County Amish school.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    Is the show a real portrayal about the Amish Mafia? Doubtful. Does this show prove there's an actual Amish Mafia? Also doubtful. What this show does is prove that even the most ridiculous of circumstances can be funny and entertaining. This show's entertaining without having to be a reality TV show. This could be an excellent scripted TV show on a network like AMC or HBO or Showtime. To make this a 'real' thing is stupid. No one believes the Pennsylvania Dutch Amish are housing known heathen in their ranks, no matter the circumstances. The show IS entertaining and at times funny. But to play this as a 'real' thing is silly. No one believes their is an Amish Mafia and even if there was one, no one would believe it exists. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    1
    This show is absolutely fake, and a disgrace to real Amish people. Amish mafia? They collect protection money, sell beer, hold parties, have guns and expensive cars, have tattoos, beat up people and above all they show their criminal activities to the television? This is the dumbest thing I have ever seen. Some reviewer wrote it is great entertainment...Well it is not. Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2014
    0
    Terrible, 100 percent fake, and insulting to a religion, that fortunately does not watch tv. Discovery has sunk to the bottom of the network barrel. I remember the sic fi channel ran a fake documentary when the Blair witch project was coming out, this is worse, and less factual. Collapse
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    0
    I Didn't like the kardashians either, but at least they are like the show dynasty compared to this despicable exercise in the violence, torture and humilation of the amish community, Lebanon Levi and the rest of them are so fake and shameful it makes me sick, they should never drive automobiles and other stuff, how in the hell did discovery channel cancel american chopper for this disgusting trash saddens me, it's a disgusting, mean spirited and hateful, what's next amish car customs with ryan friedlinghaus customizing amish wagons, I Mean you have got to be kidding, I Thought here comes honey boo was the worst thing I've seen in my life, this is even worse.

    This is not only a disgrace to the amish, but also to gangsters, I Wish carfellas would just wack these fake amish losers, which they should have.

    In the Universe of bad tv shows, amish mafia is a towering acheivement.
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    Complete, fake, garbage. Discovery should be ashamed of this. What are we teaching our kids? Discovery used to have better content.

    Discovery has failed to uphold values:

    "To satisfy curiosity and make a difference in people's lives by providing the highest quality content, services and products that entertain, engage and enlighten." http://corporate.discovery.com/leadership/
    Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2012
    0
    Silly. Cheesy. Disrespectful. Just a few words that come to mind. Totally unbelievable, low budget re-enactment scenes pieced together and portrayed by what seems to be fresh outta film school kids with a Soprano's complex. It reminds me of my childhood when we had a gang of 10 year old kids hanging out in a neighborhood tree fort, homemade ninja outfits and riding around on bikes trying to act like a bunch of Bruce Lee's with homemade nunchaku's LOL... honestly, that would be more believable than this trash TV. I mean come on, if you're going to have a show about gangland mafia bad asses, at least have ONE character who can pass the exam! It's just silly. Very bad acting, unbelievable storyline and an insult to the Pennsylvania Amish community. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2013
    0
    This is one of those fake made up shows we can expect from time to time. They say its baised on actual events, but I question who/where they are getting there stories from. Bad acting, bad stories will leave you reaching for the remote. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews