Angel : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Mar 19, 2013
    90
    Angel is more straight-ahead action than Buffy, but it is a spin-off that twirls terrificly. Plunked behind Buffy, it completes the most joyously entertaining two hours on television. [5 Oct 1999, p.E01]
  2. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Terry Jackson
    Mar 19, 2013
    90
    Boreanaz oozes the perfect mixture of angst and irony. He's darkly foreboding when necessary, and then slips into the glib, smart humor that's the hallmark of the Buffy franchise. [5 Oct 1999, p.1E]
  3. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: David Zurawik
    Mar 19, 2013
    90
    In the pilot, at least, Whedon manages to capture some of the same "Buffy" sensibility -- a rare combination of sexual energy, irony, intelligence, hot bodies, cool moves, action, menace and comic relief. The challenge is to sustain that tricky tone for a full season. [5 Oct 1999, p.1E]
  4. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    Mar 19, 2013
    90
    Angel turns out to be as nimble, in its own way, as "Buffy" itself, and Boreanaz a revelation. It helps matters that Whedon has said his primary focus this year will be on the progeny, not the parent. [4 Oct 1999, p.1]
  5. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Charlie McCollum
    Mar 19, 2013
    88
    The good news is that the folks behind "Buffy" -- notably writer-creator Joss Whedon -- have come along for this new chapter in a vampire's life and, at least for the first episode, have brought their wit, style and keen sense of pop culture with them. [4 Oct 1999, p.1C]
  6. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 13, 2013
    83
    Some weeks, the series works beautifully, moving along like the otherworldly detective show it's meant to be. ... But other times Angel can tip too far into jokiness—or, worse, come off like a supernatural version of hollow USA Network shows such as Silk Stalkings.
  7. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Angel abounds in the kinds of frills, luxuries and extras that make it a cheerfully guilty pleasure--and also, on occasion, a very bloody mess. [5 Oct 1999, p.C01]
  8. Orlando Sentinel
    Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Darker and more adult than the campy Buffy, Angel works like a detective series with supernatural overtones: Raymond Chandler meets The X-Files. [5 Oct 1999, p.E1]
  9. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Angel the WB's new child of "Buffy," is no ordinary spinoff, and it has the potential to become a witty hour of unearthly allegory in its own right. If it can maintain a sense of humor about itself, Angel, which stars David Boreanaz as Buffy's brooding former beau, may become one of those rare spinoffs that isn't merely a flat-out cash-in. [5 Oct 1999, p.D1]
  10. Arizona Republic
    Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Mar 19, 2013
    80
    In Angel, both Angel and Cordelia are far more appealing than they were in Buffy. [5 Oct 1999, p.1D]
  11. Reviewed by: Joyce Millman
    Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Not only does Angel make sense as an extension of the "Buffy" mythology, it makes Angel seem more alive than he's been in about, oh, 240 years
  12. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Angel upholds Whedon's spellbinding "Buffy" mantle and expands it, taking his surprisingly mature and witty view of life among the supernatural into an adult realm. [5 Oct 1999, p.B27]
  13. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    75
    Given that there's no earthly reason for Angel besides the sex appeal of David Boreanaz, it looks like a pretty good show.
  14. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 19, 2013
    75
    At heart, Angel is another Whedon treatise on the need to accept responsibility and to move past atonement to engagement. But Whedon never overemphasizes his deeper meanings, and neither should we. [5 Oct 1999, p.1D]
  15. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 28, 2013
    70
    Besides its hulking, gloomy lead and self-absorbed-as-ever foil Cordelia, Angel also borrows Buffy's stylish thrills and its flashes of humor, sharp and surprising as teeth on your neck in a dark alley. Here's hoping it ultimately infuses more originality into the dynastic bloodline as well.
  16. Variety
    Reviewed by: Laura Fries
    Mar 19, 2013
    70
    As good a couple as he and Sarah Michelle Gellar made, Boreanaz was too boxed in by the "Buffy" love story. The actor, formerly tagged by some as just another pretty face, is given much more to do here and proves that he can handle the load. [4 Oct 1999, p.4]
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 18, 2011
    9
    Season 1 was pretty good and some good surprises. It was really awesome to see familiar characters from Buffy. It was also cool to seeSeason 1 was pretty good and some good surprises. It was really awesome to see familiar characters from Buffy. It was also cool to see Cordelia grow as a person. Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I cannot think of a better TV show that is based around vampires than Angel. The most moving part of season 1 is definitely when Doyle sacrifices himself to save Angel, Cordelia and a large group of Brachen's. Besides this episode, I thought that Angel cutting off Lindsay's hand was quite humorous. Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I loved this show, it made me laugh and cry. Now it's easier to understand if you've seen Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I think Joss did an amazing job with this show I love the plot twists, tho some break your heart they were good. I love Darla in this show, I was not a fan of her in Buffy, I also loved the character Doyle even tho he was only there for a short time. The Angel/Cordelia relationship really tugs at your heart strings. Connor really annoyed me at first but he ended well. I enjoyed the episode Why We Fight, mostly the name haha. I adored the character Lorne he was a sweetie, and a keeper throughout the show. I was sad that Gunn and Fred didn't stay together. Full Review »