Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 1 out of 33

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 5, 2015
    7
    A fairly solid start to the Buffy spin-off. Boreanaz's acting is improving with each episode. I like the cases they "solve" this season, some real clever demons. Cordelia is my downside.
  2. Nov 5, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a great show with romance, action and interesting plot twists. I'm actually still curious why to this day it was cancelled because the ratings were up and nothing was wrong with the show. The show was going in a good direction and had good actors in it as well. I usually watch this series at least once a year from start to finish and wish it would of never been cancelled to begin with. I think it was a bad call on WB's part. I will say that the they had a few sad episodes which brought a tear to my eye in the beginning and one especially in the last season when a main character goes. You'd do yourself a favor to watch this show. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers. I cannot think of a better TV show that is based around vampires than Angel. The most moving part of season 1 is definitely when Doyle sacrifices himself to save Angel, Cordelia and a large group of Brachen's. Besides this episode, I thought that Angel cutting off Lindsay's hand was quite humorous. Collapse
  4. May 18, 2011
    9
    Season 1 was pretty good and some good surprises. It was really awesome to see familiar characters from Buffy. It was also cool to see Cordelia grow as a person.
  5. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this show, it made me laugh and cry. Now it's easier to understand if you've seen Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I think Joss did an amazing job with this show I love the plot twists, tho some break your heart they were good. I love Darla in this show, I was not a fan of her in Buffy, I also loved the character Doyle even tho he was only there for a short time. The Angel/Cordelia relationship really tugs at your heart strings. Connor really annoyed me at first but he ended well. I enjoyed the episode Why We Fight, mostly the name haha. I adored the character Lorne he was a sweetie, and a keeper throughout the show. I was sad that Gunn and Fred didn't stay together. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 28, 2013
    70
    Besides its hulking, gloomy lead and self-absorbed-as-ever foil Cordelia, Angel also borrows Buffy's stylish thrills and its flashes of humor, sharp and surprising as teeth on your neck in a dark alley. Here's hoping it ultimately infuses more originality into the dynastic bloodline as well.
  2. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    75
    Given that there's no earthly reason for Angel besides the sex appeal of David Boreanaz, it looks like a pretty good show.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 13, 2013
    83
    Some weeks, the series works beautifully, moving along like the otherworldly detective show it's meant to be. ... But other times Angel can tip too far into jokiness—or, worse, come off like a supernatural version of hollow USA Network shows such as Silk Stalkings.