Animal Practice : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 10, 2012
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. 60
    It's too cringe-worthy for overempathizing animal lovers, but general audiences might tune in for lighthearted, escapist fun.
  2. 60
    It's knowingly dumb and aiming for smart-dumb, and over time it might get there.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 10, 2012
    60
    The show may not be comedy gold, but it generates enough laughs to make it worth checking out before hitting the sack Sunday night. But is it a keeper in the long run? We'll see.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Aug 8, 2012
    60
    Between their personal history and their decidedly different approaches to running the place, they're dealing with plenty of built-in conflict, but if the show's a hit, I wouldn't be surprised if they eventually united, just as Perry and his fellow "Friends" stars once did, to demand an end to (or at least a dialing back of) the monkey business.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Aug 7, 2012
    60
    Animal Practice might devolve into a lot of jokes about mammalian reproduction and/or defecation, or it might evolve into a goofy workplace drama with reasonably sparky leads and occasionally frisky pythons. Given the quality of the core cast and the mildly pleasing (if broad) nature of the pilot, I've got my paws crossed and I'm hoping for the latter.
  6. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    50
    If you enjoy animal sight gags, Animal Practice will provide at least a few laughs.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    If the show pulls back on the sour humans a bit and keeps it up with the cute animals, it might have something.
  8. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    NBC's Animal Practice is a lot like ABC's "Grey's Anatomy," except it's furrier and it's a lot less funny.
  9. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    For this show to work long-term, its human characters have to become richer--and funnier--so that they can evolve with the audience long post the point where the writers have run out of tricks that Crystal and her various winged or four-legged co-stars can do.
  10. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 10, 2012
    50
    There are some funny set pieces in the pilot, and enough fruitful interactions with the patients and their troublesome owners that I could see this show developing into a kind of Scrubs with rabies shots, if the characters can develop beyond the familiar menagerie we start out with.
  11. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Aug 10, 2012
    50
    Cats, dogs, tigers, tortoises, snakes, penguins--they're all mined for laughs in this so-so sitcom set in a New York City animal hospital.
  12. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Aug 6, 2012
    50
    Like a lot of pilots, Animal Practice is messy, and if you don't like the monkey, well, you're probably not coming back.
  13. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Aug 8, 2012
    42
    Kirk just doesn't click in the lead role. Nor do most of the words he's given.
  14. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 10, 2012
    40
    It's hard to imagine Practice ever being more than tolerable, much less making perfect.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    0
    I would like my 22 minutes back. I also heard that the monkey is making $12,000 per episode. Really...now I feel really terrible, but I didn'tI would like my 22 minutes back. I also heard that the monkey is making $12,000 per episode. Really...now I feel really terrible, but I didn't have far to go after watching this trash. Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    3
    If a monkey is one of the funniest characters in a show, that usually means trouble.
    The humour is mostly juvenile, kind of like taken from
    If a monkey is one of the funniest characters in a show, that usually means trouble.
    The humour is mostly juvenile, kind of like taken from "Scrubs" without the really funny stuff.
    I have nothing against juvenile humour therefore my 3 Points, but the show needs better writting and from what I've seen, I doubt that the writers are up for the task.
    They actually managed to make Tyler Labine's character boring. I think that says enough.
    In the first episode, the bright sides of the show were the monkey and Betsy Sodaro.
    And Joanna Garcia Swisher is such a cutie, I must admit.
    But that's just not enough for a good show.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    0
    This is a pathetic show, it's a shame to see a good actor fall in to a bad show, terrible writing, pathetic characters, I hope they cancellThis is a pathetic show, it's a shame to see a good actor fall in to a bad show, terrible writing, pathetic characters, I hope they cancell the show soon. Full Review »