• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 1, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 28, 2012
    100
    Awake grabs you, unnerves you, breaks your heart and even makes you work a little.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 28, 2012
    91
    Yup, the story can be downbeat, the pace at times languid. But this is a show with a brain and a heart.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 29, 2012
    90
    Notwithstanding a certain stylistic chilliness and my sense of it having been pitched on the back of "Inception," it promised to be one of the year's best and most interesting new series. Having seen four episodes now, I'd say the promise has been largely kept.
  4. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Mar 1, 2012
    88
    After watching four episodes, I can say that Awake has an addictive quality to it.
  5. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Feb 29, 2012
    88
    Well acted and smartly written, Awake works as an intellectual puzzler, emotional family drama and case-of-the-week procedural.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 29, 2012
    83
    If Killen and Gordon don't exactly maintain the quality of the pilot each week - subsequent episodes don't look as rich nor pack as big an emotional whallop - they come close enough, particularly in dealing with Britten's work and family lives.
  7. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Feb 24, 2012
    83
    Creator Kyle Killen has set up a provocative, appealing puzzler, full of knottiness for the intellect and emotion for the heart. [2 Mar 2012, p.70]
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Seriously good performance from Jason Isaacs makes this an exceptional drama, beautifully shot and edited and with an exciting central premise. Even the procedural aspect seems relevant in this setting, well done NBC! Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    I loved this show. I like the uncertainty of not knowing what is or is not real. It could be everything is real or nothing is real. It has definitely intrigued me enough that I want to see plenty more. Full Review »
  3. May 12, 2012
    10
    One of the best shoes I've ever seen on tv. I can't believe it was cancelled. Maybe someday someone with more courage will pick it back up. Awake will be missed Full Review »