User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 86
  2. Negative: 7 out of 86

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 25, 2011
    4
    I'm clearly not the target audience. I miss by a few decades. Still, the plot was slow and really without much imagination. The dialogue was way too predicatable.
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    3
    The audience for this show is way to specific. The characters and the plot are flat, unoriginal and boring. And it is getting worse every episode. Starting with a promising pilot it turned into classical "MTV" very quickly.
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    What kind of show is this its a piece of crap i swear, its just so stupid and not understandable i wish there were still good class of shows these days!!!!
  4. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    This show demonstrated so much promise in its first few episodes. Then it quickly went into the garbage. Instead of continuing as a frank look at life as an "invisible" HS student, disenfranchised from the HS cheerleader/popular crowd dream, it quickly devolved into conventional HS programming. Jenna went from being a popular boy's secret "socially beneath him" fling to being fought over by the two most popular guys in her class. It might as well have been a Chuck Lorre sitcom at that point. So sad. I'm not sure I've ever seen a show fall so hard, so quickly. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    0
    This show is really stupid and boring I wish they wouldn't have any more seasons of this. The plot and dialogue are horrible and the characters and boring and very non memorable. This show has no real plot and should have no real place on tv.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jul 26, 2011
    80
    A series about a high-school girl that's neither maudlin nor alarming nor conceived with intent to preach or to shock. It's further distinguished by its focus on entirely recognizable teenage pains, as endured by an entirely recognizable teenager, Jenna. Its other distinction: strong echoes of an older kind of storytelling, the sort whose characters grow and acquire depth.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jul 19, 2011
    75
    Not only are high school horrors pretty universal, even if the specifics change, but I can find a way to fit "Awkward" into a tradition of hyper-literal high school comedies like "Pretty in Pink" or "Heathers" or "Mean Girls" or "Juno" or "The In-Betweeners" (if your taste runs to British TV). It's not as good as any of those, but it's not as bad as "Jawbreaker," which is in the same tradition.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 19, 2011
    75
    The life of an everyday American high school girl has rarely been rendered with such sly and funny precision as it is in MTV's aptly named Awkward.