• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 21, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Pete Ski
    Jul 19, 2013
    90
    The brilliance is precisely a function of its incongruity.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 18, 2013
    90
    It's probably one of the most original ideas television has produced in years. The reason? It's so quirky, it zags where others would zig. It also has that loopy sensibility that comes from a vivid imagination.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 18, 2013
    80
    [Axe Cop emerges] as a wacked-out, irreverent hoot, full of colorful absurdities.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 18, 2013
    75
    Of course it's childish, but in a good way as it effectively taps into the kid in everyone, much as "South Park" does. It both celebrates and gently spoofs the traditions of superhero comics.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jul 19, 2013
    70
    It’s a nonsensical but inventive and purely entertaining takeoff on superhero tales.
  6. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jul 19, 2013
    30
    It is almost unbearable sober. If I have to watch a cartoon featuring a bad guy made of zombie poop named Dr. Doodoo 16 years after South Park debuted Mr. Hankey, the Christmas poo, I need to have whatever the dudes from Yo Gabba Gabba! are on.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    4
    I like the Family Guy, I love Archer, Duckman was great. Axe Cop needs to be Axed. I watched one episode, just does not do it for me. I thinkI like the Family Guy, I love Archer, Duckman was great. Axe Cop needs to be Axed. I watched one episode, just does not do it for me. I think this was be a love hate show. Duckman meets the Family Guy with the least funny parts of both shows combined. Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    I manage to get an actual laugh a few times every show. Its got to be because of how batsh*t insane it is. It is clearly written by a kid, butI manage to get an actual laugh a few times every show. Its got to be because of how batsh*t insane it is. It is clearly written by a kid, but it works to this shows benefit. Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    It's fun, it's goofy, it is everything your 7 year old imagination came up with when you were playing in the back yard. It's just pureIt's fun, it's goofy, it is everything your 7 year old imagination came up with when you were playing in the back yard. It's just pure entertainment, don't expect it to make since just expect to have a good time watching it. Full Review »