• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 21, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Axe Cop Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The cartoon based on a idea about a policeman (Nick Offerman) who uses an ax to enforce the law was originally created by 5-year-old Malachai Nicolle and his older brother, Ethan. The show is part of Fox's late-night Animation Domination High-Def programming.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Axe Cop
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 18, 2013
    90
    It's probably one of the most original ideas television has produced in years. The reason? It's so quirky, it zags where others would zig. It also has that loopy sensibility that comes from a vivid imagination.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Ski
    Jul 19, 2013
    90
    The brilliance is precisely a function of its incongruity.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 18, 2013
    80
    [Axe Cop emerges] as a wacked-out, irreverent hoot, full of colorful absurdities.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 18, 2013
    75
    Of course it's childish, but in a good way as it effectively taps into the kid in everyone, much as "South Park" does. It both celebrates and gently spoofs the traditions of superhero comics.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jul 19, 2013
    70
    It’s a nonsensical but inventive and purely entertaining takeoff on superhero tales.
  6. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jul 19, 2013
    30
    It is almost unbearable sober. If I have to watch a cartoon featuring a bad guy made of zombie poop named Dr. Doodoo 16 years after South Park debuted Mr. Hankey, the Christmas poo, I need to have whatever the dudes from Yo Gabba Gabba! are on.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    It's fun, it's goofy, it is everything your 7 year old imagination came up with when you were playing in the back yard. It's just pureIt's fun, it's goofy, it is everything your 7 year old imagination came up with when you were playing in the back yard. It's just pure entertainment, don't expect it to make since just expect to have a good time watching it. Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    I'm going to have to get drunk more often saturday nights haha this show would make no sense other wise and the animation is a breath of toxicI'm going to have to get drunk more often saturday nights haha this show would make no sense other wise and the animation is a breath of toxic air. I love it!!! Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    This is one of my new favourite TV shows. Every episode explores the over-the-top creative world of Malachi Nicolle, a 5-year old writer. TheThis is one of my new favourite TV shows. Every episode explores the over-the-top creative world of Malachi Nicolle, a 5-year old writer. The web-comic (which the show is based on) is a must-read, and lends itself to the show quite effectively. And Nick Offerman's voice is more perfect than anyone could have expected.
    A lot of people are expecting a show with more satirical 'adult humour', and do not understand the energy and innocent nature behind Axe Cop. The beauty of Axe Cop is that it is written by a child who has not yet been jaded by the corruption in the world. In all its childlike innocence, Axe Cop is a celebration of youth and fantasy; it is the story of the ultimate good guy.
    Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    8
    Fast paced, absurd, grandiose and no BS fresh comedy. Ron Swanson's voice is perfect for Axe Cop, making him seem that this is one of hisFast paced, absurd, grandiose and no BS fresh comedy. Ron Swanson's voice is perfect for Axe Cop, making him seem that this is one of his other unknown awesome persona. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    Axe Cop is a breath of fresh air. It's nice to see a FOX animated show that doesn't overindulge in family sitcom tropes. The voice actorsAxe Cop is a breath of fresh air. It's nice to see a FOX animated show that doesn't overindulge in family sitcom tropes. The voice actors (including Parks and Recreation's Nick Offerman) are excellent, but the animation could use a little work. Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2013
    7
    Based off of a web-comic series that consists of the stories and characters straight out of the mind of a 5 year old, "Axe Cop" manages to beBased off of a web-comic series that consists of the stories and characters straight out of the mind of a 5 year old, "Axe Cop" manages to be delightfully imaginative, creatively bizarre, and at times down right hilarious. It boasts great animation and stellar voice acting. The show takes some of the weirdest and most absurd twists and turns, as well as some of the most juvenile things you can imagine and makes it all watchable. The best part is that it does this without any use of profanity of vulgarity, so it's perfectly wholesome except for some violence. I've been around 5 year olds before and truly this level of goofiness can only come from someone of the mindset. Heck I even remember thinking of goofy crap like this at 5. I like the show because it allows itself to be childish by never taking itself seriously and by not focusing on having any sense of maturity, instead focusing on being nonsensical. However this lack of maturity is the shows biggest flaw. Much like the ramblings of a 5 year old at times the show can be so over-the-top it's stupid and somewhat annoying. If you're not in the right state of mind the level of childishness may get on your nerves. It's hard to hate the show because its greatest flaw, the embracing of childishness and the casting off of all things realistic or mature, considering it's also the shows greatest strength. It may not appeal to everyone, but there's nothing else like it on TV currently. And when you take into consideration that it actually manages to entertain and brings genuine laughs, and "Axe Cop" is a success. It may be flawed, but it's a perfectly enjoyable show. Collapse
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    4
    I like the Family Guy, I love Archer, Duckman was great. Axe Cop needs to be Axed. I watched one episode, just does not do it for me. I thinkI like the Family Guy, I love Archer, Duckman was great. Axe Cop needs to be Axed. I watched one episode, just does not do it for me. I think this was be a love hate show. Duckman meets the Family Guy with the least funny parts of both shows combined. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers