Beauty and the Beast (2012) : Season 1

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 11, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 11, 2012
    42
    The true horror here is the utter lack of imagination.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    Oct 5, 2012
    42
    The show ill have to overcome the distinct lack of spark between hard-nosed detective Catherine Chandler ad her unpredictable love interest. [12/19 Oct 2012, p.98]
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 11, 2012
    40
    It is all so dreadfully familiar--the lovely, headstrong and feisty heroine, the nice guy who wants her (in this case, the medical examiner played by Max Brown) and the broken bad boy she loves instead. The only point of light is provided by Catherine's partner, Tess.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 11, 2012
    40
    Beauty and the Beast is a little hacky at times, with the characters leaping dozens of plot points in a single bound. But Kreuk and Ryan keep their faces straight and their bodies hard, which is what CW shows are mostly about, and all in all, it could be a lot dumber than it is.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 11, 2012
    60
    All this setup, and more, happens at the speed of light. But it's all easily understandable and gets us right to the real attraction.
  6. 50
    Beauty and the Beast's pilot is rarely more than competent, sometimes stubbed-toe clumsy. But if it can hang around for a while, devise a style that matches its story, and tap its stars' sincerity, it could become a cult hit: perpetually underrated but loved.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 9, 2012
    60
    Ms. Kreuk and Nina Lisandrello, as her police force partner, are unconvincing as detectives. But the pilot's hint of a connection between the beast's condition and the murder of Catherine's mother offers the promise of future depth.
  8. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 10, 2012
    50
    Beauty and the Beast won't hurt all that much to watch, but the dialogue and plot stretches can add up to a lot of little ows.
  9. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    42
    A new but forgettable TV treatment for an old story, with results that look very "CW."
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 6 out of 59
  1. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    It is very easy to become dependent on this serial. Critics didn't like it at all, but I'm fond of it. Especially cool is the string ofIt is very easy to become dependent on this serial. Critics didn't like it at all, but I'm fond of it. Especially cool is the string of feelings between main characters - chemistry between sexually sad doctor-halk and cop-girl. Full Review »
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    I like this show. It's premis is totally different from the 1980's version of the show starring Ron Perlman & Linda Hamilton. This is a modernI like this show. It's premis is totally different from the 1980's version of the show starring Ron Perlman & Linda Hamilton. This is a modern day take on Beauty & the Beast. The first 5 episodes were kind of uneven in pacing, storyline & character development. But things are getting interesting now & the mid-season finale was really good in my opinion. Kreuk & Ryan have on-screen chemistry which helps with the storyline. But I wonder what's going to happen between Evan & Catherine? Seems like there may be a love triangle brewing!

    P.S. Still cannot totally buy Kreuk when she does the fight scenes. In terms of body type she looks far too delicate to be able to kick ass. I've never seen a fighter that looks like her & I have practised Aikido & Karate.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    I am loving this show! It was a little slow starting out, but now it is so interesting! I have been watching it on Hulu. I just finishedI am loving this show! It was a little slow starting out, but now it is so interesting! I have been watching it on Hulu. I just finished watching the last episode that is one there last night. I cant wait for the show to come back after new years!! Full Review »