• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 1, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Below Deck Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reality show follows the crew and clients of the charter yacht, Honor.
  • Genre(s): Reality
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 1, 2013
    50
    The premiere episode is a fairly entertaining, voyeuristic look at a made-for-reality-TV crew, though it's a toss-up as to who's more obnoxious: the bickering crew or their first guests.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 1, 2013
    50
    Like so many reality shows, Below Deck takes the idea of disparate types thrown together in a controlled environment and capitalizes on two seemingly inevitable results: Friction and sexual tension.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jul 1, 2013
    40
    The real issue with this series is that the crew members aren’t all that interesting. There are the usual catfights and territorial disputes, as well as some hints that intra-crew sex might happen. But no one really stands out.
  4. Reviewed by: Emily Yahr
    Jul 1, 2013
    40
    Certain elements of Below Deck, a listless docu-series that follows the staff of a 164-foot charter boat, seem so scripted--the stereotypical spoiled crew members, the neatly wrapped-up “plotlines”--that it’s hard to take seriously, even in the dubious cable reality show genre.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 1, 2013
    40
    The dramas, at least up front, feel pretty mundane. Someone thinks the boss is being too strict and picking on her. Someone doesn’t think someone else is carrying enough of the load.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    I found this show interesting in the sense that a train wreck or car wreck is interesting. The stewards seem very unprofessional, the guests on the boat are the guest from hell. This is a good time killer due to the local. It is sunny, hot, and it looks fun. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2013
    7
    This series depends on the viewer developing an interest in the characters who are really characters. On shows like this conflict is good. It leads to some interesting viewing. This is a good series to drop in or drop out. The setting is very pretty, the actors young and good looking so I would say this is a good summer series. Collapse
  3. Jun 22, 2014
    7
    I am actually waiting for the second season of this; I found this to be a memorable guilty pleasure last summer and something a little different compared to the rest of Bravo's line-up. It was a nice break away from the Housewives to watch some overseas drama. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    6
    This is sort of like all the other reality shows available now. The crew members are young and unattached. I found it interesting. I had never seen the interworking of a large pleasure craft such as this.
    The letting is also very pretty.
    Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    1
    This show could take place AnyWhere. Same old "real world" format just on a yacht. But we really don't learn much about being on a yacht or in the Caribbean. Expand