• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 21, 2012
    83
    Brush aside the hyperactivity and hard sell, and you're left with a winner.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 22, 2012
    88
    Johnson is the find of the season: She's the sunbeam that doesn't filter out dust motes. [29 Oct 2012, p.38]
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Not only is the pilot a wonderful mix of hilarious moments (pretty much any time Faxon is in the picture) and subtle sentiment, but it's one of those shows where the acumen of the off-camera talent (Fox) is impressive and clear, which gives hope for long-term success.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    The cast is wonderful and the characters brilliantly written. Echo Kellum and Lucy Punch seriously bring it as the supporting best friends. The leads, the little girl and the few guest stars they've had have all been extremely memorable. I wish it was a bigger success- it is better than the big bang theory, 2 broke girls and two and a half men combined. Full Review »
  2. JBM
    Oct 15, 2012
    9
    This is a very likeable show. It has a solid home base and the comedy comes often. Unlike watching many sitcoms, I actually laughed while watching this show. I took an instant liking to the little girl and the two central characters. They employed that magic combo of quirky fun with heartwarming relatinoships that has made Modern Family a hit. Nice to see something new on TV that I actually want to see again. Full Review »
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    5
    The show feels fresh and has a likable cast. Maybe Dakota Johnson as Kate is a bit too nice, but Lucy Punch gives the show enough bite. The episodes usually start out with an idea that's funny, having the potential for good comedy. Sadly, the stories sometimes loose momentum and start stalling towards the end because the good setup isn't followed by a plot that's leading to a climactic finale. I these cases I missed some kind of punchline at the end, leaving me with a "meh" feeling. Furthermore, while the dialogues can be quite funny, the discussions between Ben and Kate about "serious" issues feel so phony, they bring a scene to a standstill. Usually Kate tries to explain why she can't or must do something because she's a mother. It's supposed to sound serious and earnest, but it's usually silly, because even mothers go to parties and have fun and they don't exercise emergency drills at home.

    Ben & Kate is a decent show and has it's share of fun, but it has some weaknesses, which can be fixed and I hope they do.
    I, for one, will watch the upcoming episodes because I have hope for this show and Lucy Punch is giving us some really funny stuff.
    And to the writers: Having Ben crying loudly in front of a bathroom mirror at the end might be funny to some people, others will call it plain weird and a little creepy.
    Full Review »