• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 8, 2006
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 109
  2. Negative: 26 out of 109

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RonnetteS
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    This show is real. It deals with the typical sterotypes that african americans go thru. I thought the show was impressive.
  2. HeatherB
    Mar 9, 2006
    8
    Interesting, but creepy. The white family seems odd, but the daughter is smart.
  3. TedS
    Mar 9, 2006
    8
    Could have been even better, but hey nothing is prefect. It does it's job at getting the point over to you if you are really tuned in.
  4. BrandiP.
    Apr 5, 2006
    7
    The show is good for the purpose of getting people to talk about race. Otherwise, it is a load of BS. I find that the families are both a bit onesided and not so willing to be open minded. I will say that Bruno pisses me off to the fullest. What people need to realize is that the world is racist and that we need to be honest about this fact before solveging it. By racist I don't be The show is good for the purpose of getting people to talk about race. Otherwise, it is a load of BS. I find that the families are both a bit onesided and not so willing to be open minded. I will say that Bruno pisses me off to the fullest. What people need to realize is that the world is racist and that we need to be honest about this fact before solveging it. By racist I don't be individually, I mean systemically and institutionally. This is a white world and everyone needs to just face it. Expand
  5. Gina
    Mar 19, 2006
    6
    The Spark family makes me sick! Nothing Bruno or his wife does is right and it will never be right because they are WHITE! Anyone who doesn't see the racisim embedded in this black couple is blind! They want to get on Bruno and his wife for upholding 'sterotypes' yet on the other hand they are doing the same thing in regards to the white race and their own race. I am white The Spark family makes me sick! Nothing Bruno or his wife does is right and it will never be right because they are WHITE! Anyone who doesn't see the racisim embedded in this black couple is blind! They want to get on Bruno and his wife for upholding 'sterotypes' yet on the other hand they are doing the same thing in regards to the white race and their own race. I am white and my husband is black, my stepdad, my sister law, all my in-laws are black, my children are mixed and I was raised in a black community. I have experienced looks and different/ill treatment because I am sharing my life with a black man (from whites and blacks). Yet at the same time I agree with Bruno; for those of you who call him a bigot, I could not give a HOOT what those racist think about me, because I have GOD and they can't stop me and my family. It's about attitude and mindset. Let's turn downpressors who shoot up barriers into stepping stones! The white family is somewhat embrassing, but I can forgive them for being nieve. Yet, the black wife is unrelentless, unforgiving and down right unhelpful. It digust me that this black women was offended by the white woman wanting to wear African dress to church. I agree that maybe it was 'too much', yet I thought it was wonderful that this white woman was drawn to this beautiful garment. Yet the black woman voices that there is some sterotypical idea behind the choice. Mrs. Spark, .....can't she just like it? Not only do I think there are beautiful too, but I wear them also! One thing I agree on is that this experiment shows a common philosophy in the black American community. That if we whites do anything it's because were' racist and because of our matching skin color of oppessors/downpressors either in the present or in the past.......we, whites will just never understand. Sorry guys, no one wins a prize for the most sufferation on this earth, for we have all (races, cultures, sexes, clases) suffered at the hands of workers of inequity. Period. "Intill no one race is raised superiour than another....there is a war." Hailie Salessie I, Former King of Ethopia Expand
  6. StephanieB
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    I didn't want to watch it at first, but when I actually gave it a chance I was completely blown away! I can't wait to see the episodes I missed.
  7. sanl
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    My husband and I can hardly wait for each wed. night's new show. I am eagerly awaiting the white father's very first acknowledged racial slight.
  8. VIkI
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Everyone needs to watch.
  9. ab
    Mar 9, 2006
    0
    i think this show is ridiculous. i know blacks can be discriminated. but so can the handicapped, young, and old. everyone is discriminated at one time or another, all for different reasons. im tired of people complaining about how they are treated. i think blacks are created just as equally as everyone else. if someone discriminates you, whether it be for your color, age, religion, i think this show is ridiculous. i know blacks can be discriminated. but so can the handicapped, young, and old. everyone is discriminated at one time or another, all for different reasons. im tired of people complaining about how they are treated. i think blacks are created just as equally as everyone else. if someone discriminates you, whether it be for your color, age, religion, weight, or sex it is their own stupidity and they are not worth you time. i think the world needs to quit focusing on the negative and look at all of the positive things we have done. maybe if that happened we would have a better place to live. Expand
  10. PhillipM
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    I think that this show gives a real look at each owns race. It doesnt make you feel the other's race but makes you more aware of your own and how you really can experience racism, or ignore it. I think people can learn a lot about themselves through it and can challenge there own beliefs through it.
  11. HollyL
    Mar 9, 2006
    6
    Definitely sparked some conversation between my boyfriend & I. The biologically white daughter on the show is obnoxiously overdramatic and the biological black son couldn't seem to care less about what this "experiment" reveals about society. An earlier post hit the nail on the head- read Black Like Me and you'll understand why this show is a disappointment.
  12. TiffanyD
    Mar 9, 2006
    8
    Being a Black person, I thought it was very interesting to see just how some White people actually feel. Some of the White viewers may not see the world the way an average Black person may, but through the next few weeks I feel that the White viewers will be in for a rude awakening to see exactly what it's like to be the stereotypical Black person.
  13. HakimA
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    This show should be on regular tv so that all of amercan can see the true effects of racism which still go on today!
  14. E.LouiseL
    Mar 9, 2006
    1
    I changed the channel when the black dad attempted to show the white dad how to "hug like a black man". I found that to be stereotypical and ridiculous. Also, it seems to me that the black mom is way too aggresive...and the white mom is way too passive. It seems very one-sided, as if to say that the blacks have to teach the whites. Their neighborhoods aren't equal. The whites live in I changed the channel when the black dad attempted to show the white dad how to "hug like a black man". I found that to be stereotypical and ridiculous. Also, it seems to me that the black mom is way too aggresive...and the white mom is way too passive. It seems very one-sided, as if to say that the blacks have to teach the whites. Their neighborhoods aren't equal. The whites live in a mostly white neighborhood, and so they haven't had much exposure to being around blacks. On the other hand, the black family's neighborhood includes many people of different races/ethnic groups, and so they have had more exposure to being around white people. The show was an interesting idea, but it needs to have a white family who has at least had some exposure to being around blacks. Expand
  15. Ray
    Apr 6, 2006
    8
    I am looking forward to seeing the new season because i don't think the people in this season were ready for it. I think Bruno and Rose are the only ones that are completely open minded and completely not racist. I think Carmen was open to the new ideas but this kind of idea was out of her realm. She may be a nice lady but she is a complete ditz and possibly a little scared of the I am looking forward to seeing the new season because i don't think the people in this season were ready for it. I think Bruno and Rose are the only ones that are completely open minded and completely not racist. I think Carmen was open to the new ideas but this kind of idea was out of her realm. She may be a nice lady but she is a complete ditz and possibly a little scared of the black race. I think that Brian is a complete racist and acually spends time looking for problems between black/white race. He is overly sensative and offended too easilly. Andrea was very aprehensive in the beginning but she has come around and I believe her slight racism can be worked with. Their son didn't have anough exposure. My summary of this season is that Bruno, Carmen and Rose were more involved as a family to really trying to learn about the black race. Brian, Andrea and their son were more involved in trying to prove their is white against black racism. From this season, I concluded ONLY from these families and the location they shot, there is more black against white racism. Again, looking forward to next season with different famlies and different lacations. Expand
  16. JoeH
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    Love this show when is the next season?
  17. CalvinHobbs
    Mar 12, 2006
    6
    The show opens up dialogue which is a plus. Trust me on this though when I say very few white people are as clueless as the ones on the show. We are no longer seperated by race but class.
  18. RonaldV
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    I am a 42 year old African American male and I have lived through the civil rights period. It amazes me to this day how white Americans act like they treat African Americans with such equal treatment and respect. If many of them walked in our shoes for even a minute they to would be angry and resentful at how this great land of opportunity treats them. We can die in wars for this country I am a 42 year old African American male and I have lived through the civil rights period. It amazes me to this day how white Americans act like they treat African Americans with such equal treatment and respect. If many of them walked in our shoes for even a minute they to would be angry and resentful at how this great land of opportunity treats them. We can die in wars for this country but not earn the respect of American citizens. Hopefully this show will enlighten perhaps even change the way white Americans views the African American Expand
  19. CharH
    Mar 16, 2006
    8
    The premise for this show is thought provoking, and a great way to get people to discuss race. The casting could have been better; I think the white mom is lacking in common sense. What adult woman around 40 years old thinks that saying, "hey bitch" with a smile is a typical pleasant greeting to another adult woman; and thinks that people dress in clothing from their home-land to go to The premise for this show is thought provoking, and a great way to get people to discuss race. The casting could have been better; I think the white mom is lacking in common sense. What adult woman around 40 years old thinks that saying, "hey bitch" with a smile is a typical pleasant greeting to another adult woman; and thinks that people dress in clothing from their home-land to go to church, rather than to simply dress up to attend church? The white man throws the "N" word out there a little too comfortably, and he's rather insensitive. I would like to see him in his black role at the all white bar, or yes, at a new car dealership with other white customers. The black couple has strong opinions on racism, but when they are in their white roles they listen and observe their environment instead of going in and immediately bring attention to themselves. The white guy asking other whites about the stereotypical beliefs about blacks should have been slapped when he asked the white woman if the myth is true. He's a nutcase. I think the kids will learn from this experiment, and I hope future episodes will show more real-life type situations in less of a controlled environment. Expand
  20. AndrewS
    Mar 16, 2006
    0
    I was very excited about this show at first, and very interested in it, but when I started to watch it I was really disappointed. In my opinion they went about this all in the wrong way. They took two families, from way different environments, one from California which is very diverse, and has very little racism, and then Georgia, which still has some issues. I could tell from there that I was very excited about this show at first, and very interested in it, but when I started to watch it I was really disappointed. In my opinion they went about this all in the wrong way. They took two families, from way different environments, one from California which is very diverse, and has very little racism, and then Georgia, which still has some issues. I could tell from there that the show was going to go down hill but when the people were introduced in the show I could tell that this was going to be one sided. Getting a Caucasian family that doesn't know anything about black people just put them up for failure. Not only do they know nothing about the other culture, but the mother of that family is so ignorant and naive that it makes me sick, all of her views comes from the media, and what she Expand
  21. LindaJ
    Mar 16, 2006
    4
    I like the Premise however, what I think is wrong about how they did this show is not showing how they are filming it. It tries to make you think that everything is spontaneous but how honest are people with cameras present? There are so many camera angles and switches that I think they could'nt be hidden cameras. If they are hidden, that should have been shown to the viewing public. I like the Premise however, what I think is wrong about how they did this show is not showing how they are filming it. It tries to make you think that everything is spontaneous but how honest are people with cameras present? There are so many camera angles and switches that I think they could'nt be hidden cameras. If they are hidden, that should have been shown to the viewing public. I have only seen 2 episodes, I will watch 1 more to see if it gets any better. Im one of those who read Black like Me many years ago and was moved by it. So far this hasn't moved me..oh I am white and wish they had used better representatives of the white race.. I dont know anyone so white as the people they chose..Oh I forgot..it's probably all staged and rehearsed to make us look totally ignorant of the black race? Expand
  22. jess
    Mar 16, 2006
    9
    the fact that the white people in this show are so ignorant of the people that they are portraying is so hilarious that it's impossible to stop watching. The black family is also so negative toward everythiing the white family does and it portrays the commonly disputed issue of racism of racism today. It is the best reality show I have seen in a long time.
  23. jr
    Mar 16, 2006
    1
    I feel the black family from the 3/15 episode never gave the white family a chance.Such as the part where the men were in the white bar and discussing interracial dating. I believe the things the white man was asking was to show the black man that not all whites are racist.There are white racists and black as well .Dont have you mind made up in the beginning..If you are not willing to be I feel the black family from the 3/15 episode never gave the white family a chance.Such as the part where the men were in the white bar and discussing interracial dating. I believe the things the white man was asking was to show the black man that not all whites are racist.There are white racists and black as well .Dont have you mind made up in the beginning..If you are not willing to be open minded and give the other family a chance without immediately down talking them, then dont agree to be on the show! Expand
  24. JaysonD
    Mar 16, 2006
    4
    I like the idea for the show, but I do think it is not well balanced. The show is clearly slanted to favor Blacks and makes Whites look like idiots and latent racists. They need more authentic situations to make it more "real". The son is also completely useless. He doesn't even try to do anything. I like Rose. She's the best of all of them.
  25. Michael
    Mar 17, 2006
    5
    Generally, I wouldn't get involved with trolls such as Roger and Dana, but in this particular instance I have been offended. I am not sure what show they were watching, but "Black / White" is certainly not trying to "Bellitle White" as Roger stated. I do, however, dislike the show, as Roger does as well. It seems somewhat trivial for the days that we are in. The only racist that Generally, I wouldn't get involved with trolls such as Roger and Dana, but in this particular instance I have been offended. I am not sure what show they were watching, but "Black / White" is certainly not trying to "Bellitle White" as Roger stated. I do, however, dislike the show, as Roger does as well. It seems somewhat trivial for the days that we are in. The only racist that still exist are generally a very small minority of rural whites. Expand
  26. dickr
    Mar 20, 2006
    1
    Won't watch again
  27. RoseW
    Mar 29, 2006
    0
    This show in no way does justice to the views and attitudes of greater America. It is a huge gimmick involving two seemingly ignorant families and a predetermined storyline and it does nothing to break through stereotypes.
  28. CathyH
    Mar 31, 2006
    2
    This show is for the birds. This show is more onesided than ever. I have not seen the black family(Mother and Father)interact with any whites to learn the white culture. The black father need to learn from his son that this new generation is more mixed that our generation in the 70's and 80's. After reading some of the reviews, I agree that the families were not carefully This show is for the birds. This show is more onesided than ever. I have not seen the black family(Mother and Father)interact with any whites to learn the white culture. The black father need to learn from his son that this new generation is more mixed that our generation in the 70's and 80's. After reading some of the reviews, I agree that the families were not carefully picked. The white family seem to never been around blacks and the black family came in with a chip on their shoulder about the racism. The producer should have picked families with some simular life styles. The teens to me had their heads on and was willing to learn. I have a stong belief that our child of today can cut the racism if the parent have an open and willing heart. This show only brought out the worst and at the end of it all the parents still had an issue. I pray that Bruno and his wife marriage do not break up over this mess. Their love for each other is more than the racism in this world. Yes I am a black female in her 40. Expand
  29. WendyI
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    Instead of ignoringth existance of racism, this program exposes it for what is it: subtle, ugly and pervasive-even today.
  30. KatherineE
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    The characters appear to be developing. Rose remains open and a witness to the experience. Carmen has undergone some kind of ephiphany, I suspect when whe and Bruno took a walk through the park as a mixed race couple. Bruno remains frozen in his conviction that racism is an excuse for personal unaccountability. The scene where he lectures the muscian was truly sad. Since the first episode The characters appear to be developing. Rose remains open and a witness to the experience. Carmen has undergone some kind of ephiphany, I suspect when whe and Bruno took a walk through the park as a mixed race couple. Bruno remains frozen in his conviction that racism is an excuse for personal unaccountability. The scene where he lectures the muscian was truly sad. Since the first episode it seems we are seeing less of Brian in social situations. The scene of Brian in the local white bar during the first episode was shocking in its revelation, but excellent commentary. But since then I haven't seem him interacting much outside the family setting. Renee, it seems, has not put herself out much and seem to be holding back and judging the process. I would like to see her more involved in public interactions. Nick is interesting. His turn around on the "n-word": was that truly a reframing of his thinking or was it a capitulation to his parents and the visit to the barbershop or did he in fact connect to a historical sense of persecution? Look, the show it great just because it is doing what it is doing, examing the issue of race relations through these families. As a production it is rough by the nature of its reality component and its attempt to dramatize everyday life. It ain't slick, but it does get one thinking. Expand
  31. GeoffS
    Mar 8, 2006
    5
    This television show is very average. It can be extremely cliche and never peaks an audience's interest. Read the novel "Black Like Me" (early 60s) to get a more realistic and gritty sense of this "new" experiment.
  32. NikkiM
    Mar 8, 2006
    7
    I love the idea of this show; however, I found that the situations each family was put in were not really practica or typical of either race. What white boy actually takes etiquette classes? What white guy goes to that pro-shop to try on shoes? I think that in these situations it would have been helpful for each person to experience situations as a white and black person to see how they I love the idea of this show; however, I found that the situations each family was put in were not really practica or typical of either race. What white boy actually takes etiquette classes? What white guy goes to that pro-shop to try on shoes? I think that in these situations it would have been helpful for each person to experience situations as a white and black person to see how they were treated differently. The layers of racism seem extremely excruciating to work out. My feeling is that we start with the children. Teach children to be more excepting of everyone, especially in school and church and then let them pass that on to the generations after them. Expand
  33. MicheleT
    Mar 8, 2006
    10
    This show is long over due. America needs a serious wake up call and rear it's ugly head on facing the racism in this country. I fell in love with this show from the first airing
  34. HaleyB
    Mar 8, 2006
    10
    Just the awesome makeup jobs would be reason enough to watch this show, (any other artists out there?) but the psychological and societal issues are captivating as well... it's bound to be fascinating the whole way through. :D
  35. bb
    Mar 9, 2006
    0
    stupid. get over it already. A socially wrong experiment! WHat a ridiculous Idea gone horribly sour!
  36. Simone
    Mar 9, 2006
    8
    I think the show actually has potential. Again, you must apporach the show with an open mind, to get its full value. It is interesting that Bruno and the son have parallel feelings, they don't understand the race issues, at all. White America doesn't experience "racisim" because all minorites have to interact and evolve with them on a daily basis, they have to, if they want to I think the show actually has potential. Again, you must apporach the show with an open mind, to get its full value. It is interesting that Bruno and the son have parallel feelings, they don't understand the race issues, at all. White America doesn't experience "racisim" because all minorites have to interact and evolve with them on a daily basis, they have to, if they want to succeed, face it white people own everything. And it's crazy to me, cause America wouldn't have been as large as it is now, without the major contributions of African Americans. An I think, African Americans want white people to honor that and respect that. Living black, and being discriminated on is like, being raped everyday. You know how white people can trace back their ancestry...i wish I could do that. I will never know the root of my family tree, I will never know what was or what might have been. They took from whence we came. An until they understand that, really understand that...then they will know. This show highlights, the "mis-logic" of white americans, you just don't get it, do you? They should take Bruno to the city, the city-city, and as a black man try to hail a cab. I can't tell you how many times, I have seen brothas try to hail a cab and can't get not a one, but a white man, on the other hand can. I've been asked to hail a cab for a brotha, because no cab would stop for him. It's the little things White America, that you take for granted.... Expand
  37. ValerieS
    Mar 9, 2006
    7
    The most refreshing and redeeming quality about the first episode is Rose and Nick's open-mindedness in what has to be a difficult experiment.
  38. ChrisR
    Mar 9, 2006
    7
    I think this should be a learning tool for all people interested in racial reconciliation. I think it's good that it shows the diffferences in our races and that it's OK. We are different, but, should all be treated with respect and dignity.
  39. Jesi
    Mar 9, 2006
    2
    I can honestly see both sides of the show. I'm white but I have some black friends. I can see that my friend and I can be treated differently but I don't know if it's just because we act weird, expect it, or not. Both black and white people need to see that they both treat each other differently. I think that it's in how you act on it is the point people cross everyday I can honestly see both sides of the show. I'm white but I have some black friends. I can see that my friend and I can be treated differently but I don't know if it's just because we act weird, expect it, or not. Both black and white people need to see that they both treat each other differently. I think that it's in how you act on it is the point people cross everyday and don't let it run your lives. Expand
  40. MarkR
    Mar 9, 2006
    8
    The show is guaranteed a 7 just for delving into the issues and the creativity of the physical transformation of the charachters. I was hoping for a little bit more in terms of the charachters. For reviewing this show I should point out that I am African American. First off I give the families high marks for courage and willingness. The most interesting situation to me was when the The show is guaranteed a 7 just for delving into the issues and the creativity of the physical transformation of the charachters. I was hoping for a little bit more in terms of the charachters. For reviewing this show I should point out that I am African American. First off I give the families high marks for courage and willingness. The most interesting situation to me was when the African American dad got the job as the bartender and was listening to the bigot talk about how this was the last white enclave etc. move your kids here. The best dynamic was the daughter Rose learning slam poetry. Rose is also so far my favorite charachter in the group, going in with an open mind and trying to learn. I think that the two dads are over the top in being stuck in their views, and even though the black dad had one of the most interesting scenarios, it is just going to reinforce his thinking that everybody looks at you a different way. The white dad on the other hand is convinced that people do not look at race at all and does not see subtle things. The two moms have not showed much up to this point, the white mom is obviously someone that will easily be sold a bill of goods. The thing that bother me most about the show though is the parents willingness to buy into stereotypes on both sides. I was especially upset by the black dad coaching the white dad on black posture etc. Was anyone else in the all black focus group slouching in thier chairs etc.? I wanted to smack this brother across the head, he is almost a cartoon charachter of the angry black man, that also does not even realize that he is not teaching black culture at all, but a Gene Wilder Richard Pryor movie version of it. Anyway, but ups to Rose, she is the most genuine and open charachter on the show, but I worry about the trust level of the poets when they find out she was faking it. I think her poem was a great attempt, and I disagree with the coaches that she needs to get rid of the language, a lot of slam poets use big words as long as they flow there is nothing wrong with being intelectual, that was almost an insult, the audience will not know these words..if the coach did not know the words, get a damn dictionary the audience will know what Rose is talking about. Expand
  41. ChristyW
    Mar 9, 2006
    8
    I loved it! I think it set the foundation for stimulating dialogue. This show give employees of all industries an opportunity to discuss something of revelence around the water cooler--not just the latest ER episode.
  42. JL
    Mar 9, 2006
    5
    Would Black White have portrayed anything else but racial tension, if not open conflict? No, because everyone knows, but isn't impudent enough to say it, that many white people still can't fully accept their black peers. This show has been almost anticlimatic because it has been so predictable. Instead, I would have loved to watch a program that described the racial balance Would Black White have portrayed anything else but racial tension, if not open conflict? No, because everyone knows, but isn't impudent enough to say it, that many white people still can't fully accept their black peers. This show has been almost anticlimatic because it has been so predictable. Instead, I would have loved to watch a program that described the racial balance between American Asians and Caucasians; Hispanics and Caucasians or Hispanics and Asians. A program like that really would have been cutting-edge social anthropolgy. Expand
  43. carlac
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    What a great show to open up a dialgogue about the current state of race relations. I think it is a great show that can be used as an educational tool in schools and in life.
  44. keyonnat
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    I can't find the show on anymore does it still come on & what time?
  45. NikkiC
    Apr 6, 2006
    9
    The show makes you think. It's excellent and I want to see another season/series. Good for both races to see.
  46. angelb
    Apr 6, 2006
    9
    I love the show mostly because it is interesting. It interesting to see how the teens on the show are more open then the adults.
  47. SLee
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    The show exposes the truth about race that whites are un-willing to own up to or admit. It peels aways the perception and the hypocrisy that not only affects and shows the true nature of White America but how it deals with other races through out the world. To receive fairness (or any God given right from white America) you have to have money or a resource that they want and then and only The show exposes the truth about race that whites are un-willing to own up to or admit. It peels aways the perception and the hypocrisy that not only affects and shows the true nature of White America but how it deals with other races through out the world. To receive fairness (or any God given right from white America) you have to have money or a resource that they want and then and only then, will you have white America's attention, tolerance and exceptance. Expand
  48. HeinrichB
    May 4, 2006
    0
    This is all I want to say on the subject. It is a quote from an Ice Cube rap song.
  49. AbbyL
    Jul 6, 2007
    6
    To say that America is not racist is wrong. I, myself, as a black American have had to deal with idiots. This show makes me sad and happy at the same time. It makes me upset that they try to make it seem like blacks are hated by everyone, when in reality not everyone hates African Americans. It also makes me happy that they are trying to prove that racism is alive and well. And to the To say that America is not racist is wrong. I, myself, as a black American have had to deal with idiots. This show makes me sad and happy at the same time. It makes me upset that they try to make it seem like blacks are hated by everyone, when in reality not everyone hates African Americans. It also makes me happy that they are trying to prove that racism is alive and well. And to the idiots that say America's racist population is 'booming' because of this show, clearly are mislead. Expand
  50. KatM
    Mar 11, 2006
    6
    Interesting experiment, worth watching. I don't think Bruno's was properly cast (or maybe it's his makeup). He doesn't look White to me when he's not wearing makeup and he doesn't look Black with the makeup on. This is the first episode. Maybe they'll gradually transform him.
  51. DanaH
    Mar 12, 2006
    0
    This show is racially Biased. The outcome is unquestionable. Dress the Sparks Family up as white and move them into a all black neighborhood. Racism is rampant on both sides. Admit it whites are not the only racist.
  52. RogerB
    Mar 13, 2006
    1
    did nothing but promote Black, belittle White, and attempt to put more devision between the two races for the benefit of creating an issue or inflaming an issue.
  53. hollys
    Mar 15, 2006
    1
    i think this show makes all white people look racist and they arent. the true black family on here makes the true white family look like a bunch of jerks. i think the true black people on the show are the ones who are racists.
  54. TashaH
    Mar 15, 2006
    8
    This show is attempting to highlight some of the major differences and race relations within the two races. But at the same time, I feel it will lose it's steam soon if not better directed. I would hate for it to die before the message is demonstated. I will continue to watch hoping that the producers and writers will be able to make it more real life. As a 34 year old black woman This show is attempting to highlight some of the major differences and race relations within the two races. But at the same time, I feel it will lose it's steam soon if not better directed. I would hate for it to die before the message is demonstated. I will continue to watch hoping that the producers and writers will be able to make it more real life. As a 34 year old black woman from Florida, I especially feel that they are in the wrong part of the country. Points that the two families here are trying to show would easily be done in other states. They could bring the show to the east coast or near the south, where it would progress quicker and maybe both races would be able to see how the other race, truly reacts to issues Expand
  55. RickL
    Mar 15, 2006
    1
    Just as I expected, Black White is incredibly biased against whites. All throughout the show we are shown how racist whites are while blacks are portrayed as being accepting. They've even gone as far as setting up situations and editing the film to make things look worse than they are. For instance, when the black man in white make up goes to a bar to get a job, the manager skips the Just as I expected, Black White is incredibly biased against whites. All throughout the show we are shown how racist whites are while blacks are portrayed as being accepting. They've even gone as far as setting up situations and editing the film to make things look worse than they are. For instance, when the black man in white make up goes to a bar to get a job, the manager skips the background check on him and is incredibly nice. It looks as though he recieved preferential treatment because he was white but what they don't tell you is that they had already made previous arrangements to give him the job. This is why it looked so easy but they fail to mention this, just to make it look bad. Then they intentionally set up a all-black poetry group to send Rose, the white daughter in black make up, into. Ahead of time, they let a couple of the black members know about this and they act as mediators to make things work out for her. Overall, everything in the whole show is to make whites look bad. Everything, including the selection of cast members. They chose a well to do black family that already lives in a diverse neighborhood and interacts with whites on a daily basis. The white family not only isn't married, they rarely interact with blacks by their own admission and are about as naive and ignorant of racial issues as you can find. I simply cannot believe that this wasn't intentional. I would've loved to have seen the white family in black make up go to an inner city barbershop or something like that and bring up some racial issues and see what comes out. Of course, we're not going to see that because the whole purpose of this show is to portray whites as all being racists while blacks are the oppressed minority who only wants to work together and have peace. Show the truth, FX. Racism exists everywhere from all races. Expand
  56. AlvaH
    Mar 16, 2006
    10
    Well, Well, Well, I think its right on point. As usual white folks don't have a clue about their surroundings because they haven't had to, we've been bending and accepting their every whim. Just how does one say whatever they want and its fine. Cause this is America, right -- You can't tell me that the white lady in this show ever got the impression she could call Well, Well, Well, I think its right on point. As usual white folks don't have a clue about their surroundings because they haven't had to, we've been bending and accepting their every whim. Just how does one say whatever they want and its fine. Cause this is America, right -- You can't tell me that the white lady in this show ever got the impression she could call anyone a "bitch", but she wanted to and she did -- so what!! She white. No where could she have thought they were on that kind of relationship where she was allowed to call anyone out of their name. Please, help me understand where folks get off talking down to anyother group of people. You Should Know Better (in all caps). Its just manners. Expand
  57. claye
    Mar 17, 2006
    9
    More people should watch this show closely and learn from it, theres a lot of learning potential behind the thoughts of this show... would like to see another season. If Beauty and the geek can go into the 3rd season this one should at least make the same....
  58. DallasC
    Mar 24, 2006
    8
    I was about to give up on this series until episode 3. That episode showed me that the potential of a social experiment such as this, might actually be realized. I was disappointed with the first 2 episodes, because I thought such great potential for a enlightening series, was being wasted. It looks like Black. White. is simply slowly paced. It is the first of its kind........
  59. JayK
    Mar 25, 2006
    0
    Should be called Black & Whacked. Could anybody as rediculous as Carmen be real ?
  60. BillO'Reilly
    Mar 25, 2006
    0
    This show is terrible!!! Mr. Sparks is a f@#$ing P@#$y. He bitches all the time about how hard he has it because he is black. F@#k him! He's got a great family and a great life. Some white towns don't want black people in them. Some black towns...excuse me... all black towns don't want white people in them. Granted the black towns are poor as hell, so they have a reason to This show is terrible!!! Mr. Sparks is a f@#$ing P@#$y. He bitches all the time about how hard he has it because he is black. F@#k him! He's got a great family and a great life. Some white towns don't want black people in them. Some black towns...excuse me... all black towns don't want white people in them. Granted the black towns are poor as hell, so they have a reason to be angry... but you think all poor people are black or all black people are poor? If a rich black man walked into that town and spoke properly, you know what? There would be prejidice against him too. He wouldn't be "black enough" to be there. If you want to segregate yourselves, fine. then don't expect me to want to support you with my tax money. Collapse
  61. SharonB
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    Like a breath of fresh air to see these issues confronted. Issues such as people burying their heads in the sand perpetually convincing themselves that racism does not exist and the pre-existing stereotypes, that cause the affected people damage, are just a figment of, those affected, imaginations. It illustrates that racism exists in both the black and white communities. I am a black Like a breath of fresh air to see these issues confronted. Issues such as people burying their heads in the sand perpetually convincing themselves that racism does not exist and the pre-existing stereotypes, that cause the affected people damage, are just a figment of, those affected, imaginations. It illustrates that racism exists in both the black and white communities. I am a black woman from Britain and sometimes I have been faced with the issue that I do not know where I belong since living in Florida. I have not felt completely accepted in the black community and I there are times I am convicted that some white people only like me because on the way I speak. I wish, hope and pray that this series has a positive impact on people to be kinder to one another and to try to accept the differences. Once people learn that color does not determine who you are or your destiny, communities will comprehend acceptence and black and white people may become more confident to live together. For now, it is the case that color determines how you are perceived and untimately treated and this is the barrier built though mis-conception, lack of education and in many cases bad parenting. As for those members in the black communty that have problems with white people before hate, albeit through pain and confusion, try thinking of those members in the white community that died for your black race and try to find peace in your heart. God bless all Gods children. Expand
  62. PamelaT
    Mar 29, 2006
    7
    First of all, Bruno needs to be kicked off. He is so embarassing to me as a white person. I love all people black or whatever. Bruno is making us look so ignorant and idiotic. I sure hope there are less people like him than the majority! Why can't we all just get along??? p.s. that rap that Bruno made up shows just how ignorant HE is!!
  63. acanadian
    Mar 29, 2006
    8
    This show makes you think.......and shows you just how racist american society really is. Bruno is a fucking joke by the way his wife needs to lose him.
  64. nicole
    Mar 8, 2006
    8
    very disturbed by the views of black people, I think they are looking for racism and over reacting to the "white" society. and I think that the white family is viewing this as a joke. not very serious.
  65. KristinaP
    Mar 8, 2006
    6
    The show was interesting but there were alot of factors that were neglected when producing the show. The show was filmed in LA which is where the white family resides. This, in some sense, would naturally make the Wurgels feel more comfortable. The Spark family on the other hand are from another state. Being so far away from their native state would feel foreign regardless of your race The show was interesting but there were alot of factors that were neglected when producing the show. The show was filmed in LA which is where the white family resides. This, in some sense, would naturally make the Wurgels feel more comfortable. The Spark family on the other hand are from another state. Being so far away from their native state would feel foreign regardless of your race because it would change your experience and the people that you would encounter. If you look at the demographic of California, it is vastly different from Georgia and therefore, it would potentially be a very different experience in each state. As a minority (Asian American), I feel that there is still a great deal of racism and prejudice that exists. There is no denying that. There seems to an extreme amount of anger from the Spark family regarding race relations. Yes, it is out there - but they seem overly eager to find the racism. It seems like they are making appearances on the show to "prove" the racism that they experience - rather than really seeing if there is a difference. The Wurgels are also not the best chosen white family in the sense that they are far more liberal than alot of families in the US and do not necessarily give a true representation of "white individuals" If you are outside of California or any other state with a large minority population, their views would potentially be very different. I feel that the only one that will truly benefit from this experience will be Rose. Bruno, Brian and Renee seem closed minded as to how things are, Nick doesn't seem to be an active participant and Carmen seems to be trying too hard. Expand
  66. CarlC
    Mar 9, 2006
    7
    Some of the show seems to be "set up". The camera shots suggest that the people in front of it know that it is there. The scene in the bar and in the shoe store had shots from various angles and it didn't have that hidden camera feel like when both men went to the clothing store. I also have to say that I have never heard the "N" word used on a show as much as it is used here. I must Some of the show seems to be "set up". The camera shots suggest that the people in front of it know that it is there. The scene in the bar and in the shoe store had shots from various angles and it didn't have that hidden camera feel like when both men went to the clothing store. I also have to say that I have never heard the "N" word used on a show as much as it is used here. I must say though, that I cringe at almost everything that comes out the white mother and father's mouth. I like the idea of the show but I feel it is being setup to show the story they want us to see. Expand
  67. VivecaV
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    I love it. It help me to look at how "we" as black people to take everything to the heart. Sometime things are done to us but sometime people are just doing there job and thats all.
  68. ElisabethL
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    Compelling! Rose is wonderful, a credit to ANY "race". But Bruno - this guy is bigot and won't admit it. He spent the entire first show desperately trying to tell everyone how he won't encounter racism because his ATTITUDE is so superior. What a crock! I can't wait to see what happens next.
  69. mattd
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    the show was a great. it gives you perspective and stirs conversation that needs to happen. I wish more reality Tv had a purpose.
  70. VirgilM
    Mar 9, 2006
    8
    I liked the show. It beats most reality shows in the sheer fact that it actually gets you to think about an important issue and spark meaningful conservations on race. Sometimes I find it a bit stereotypical, but the overall message still hits home. Race Matters!
  71. KiandraV
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    I like the concept of having other people of different cultures walk in the shoes of others. Being that white America and black America still have these differences it was good to start with them. A lot of white people are in denial that racism still exist and others never been around black people at all. This will be a big eye opener. If we can get people to watch this series as they do I like the concept of having other people of different cultures walk in the shoes of others. Being that white America and black America still have these differences it was good to start with them. A lot of white people are in denial that racism still exist and others never been around black people at all. This will be a big eye opener. If we can get people to watch this series as they do American Idol the country on a whole can move towards a big change. Expand
  72. MeMyself
    Apr 1, 2006
    8
    I think it is provocative and gets better with each episode.
  73. PatB
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    This is the best reality show on television. It clearly shows the reality that most of white America claims doesn't exist anymore. A reality show like this is long overdue. I especially admire the brave families participating in the show.
  74. StacyJ
    Apr 4, 2006
    6
    I think that the idea of the show was genious and that these issues need to be discussed in ways that reveal what people are really thinking. I however think that as a social project it has failed to do so, racist comments are made, intense racial dynamics are involved in the interactions of the people and they go unconfronted and unexplained. Bruno still after 4 weeks fails to see the I think that the idea of the show was genious and that these issues need to be discussed in ways that reveal what people are really thinking. I however think that as a social project it has failed to do so, racist comments are made, intense racial dynamics are involved in the interactions of the people and they go unconfronted and unexplained. Bruno still after 4 weeks fails to see the reality of racism and says constantly that blacks just haven't let go and implies that they are lazy and looking to be oppressed. No one mentioned that in my generation we may not say racial remarks but it doesn't mean that we don't think them. No one is calling this crap out. You can't put two families in a room and expect them to effectively discuss something that we are pretty much told our whole lives not to talk about, because it's in the past... The show needs a socioligist or some sort of counselor. Expand
  75. KarenS
    Sep 10, 2006
    9
    Whenever I watch this show, I am completely enthralled--I begin analyzing what I think about the whole race issue and why I have my ideas. I gave the show a nine out of ten, though, because of one issue that keeps rearing its ugly head but has not been dealt with yet. The issue is: who is able to say the 'n' word? I personally believe that no one should say it, white or black. Whenever I watch this show, I am completely enthralled--I begin analyzing what I think about the whole race issue and why I have my ideas. I gave the show a nine out of ten, though, because of one issue that keeps rearing its ugly head but has not been dealt with yet. The issue is: who is able to say the 'n' word? I personally believe that no one should say it, white or black. If we allow one race to say the word and then attack the other if they say it, we'll just be furthering the racism and solidifying the double standards. Why use a word that is so negatively racially charged, anyway? Expand
  76. SarahR
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    America needs more of this!
  77. YvetteS
    Mar 11, 2006
    5
    I am racially mixed black & white but appear mostly white. I don't have many discriminatory experiences unless I'm with a black family member. I am extremely happy to see the topic of prejudice being addressed so publicly, but I'm dismayed at the producer's selection of scenes/venues in the 1st episode. Bruno (the white man made up black) is dedicated to proving that I am racially mixed black & white but appear mostly white. I don't have many discriminatory experiences unless I'm with a black family member. I am extremely happy to see the topic of prejudice being addressed so publicly, but I'm dismayed at the producer's selection of scenes/venues in the 1st episode. Bruno (the white man made up black) is dedicated to proving that racism towards blacks is all in their minds, and they only need to think positive & comport themselves in a socially acceptable manner to avoid racism. I guess he's the Great White Hope and is going to prove all black people wrong. What he's really saying to blacks is "don't have an attitude." This has been said too many times to blacks in so many settings, it's the white man's hidden racism. If a white man can get "an attitude" when he gets poor service in American, why can't blacks have that same attitude when they're marginalized?? So whites like Bruno pooh pooh on blacks for being "uppity" and perhaps headstrong instead of addressing the real issue, that many people including minorities "play" to the white man and dis everyone else in varying degrees. Saying someone has an "attitude" is coded language for anti-black racism, just so all you white readers know. To bolster Bruno's thesis, the producers send him in black makeup to what appears to be a used car lot, where the salesmen immediately attend to him. That, he says, is proof of no racism. For him, it's a real gotcha moment. But you didn't see him trying to buy the car. This goes unaddressed in the episode by anyone. Who knows what would have happened. What the producers should have done was insert him into a Mercedes Dealership and bring a few white decoys at the same time to distract their attention. Let's see how long it would take Bruno to get some attention. That would have been the correct experiment, but the producers really don't know enough about subtle racism so they don't know the most likely places it will occur, i.e., the showroom of the "american dream." Anyone can buy a car at a used car lot if they want to pay sky high interest. Isn't that one of the contentious points of racism that blacks usually pay more to borrow money? This is well-documented in the mortgage industry. They want anyone breathing to come and purchase a car at high interest rates, so in my estimation, Bruno's argument goes unsupported in this scene. I'm afraid all this did was reinforce Bruno's mindless thesis of having a positive attitude to avoid racism. My guess is, had he gone to a Mercedes dealership, he might have seen what the real black guy was trying to say about being treated differently. But maybe not, we'll never see it on TV because the producers did a poor job. I'm afraid that the next five episodes will do nothing more than give white men fodder to discredit all foul balls called by black people in America, and will set blacks back even further. Expand
  78. GerronS
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    As a young black man, I find this show to be very interesting. After watching the first episode it got me to think about racism in todays life. Everytime I go out in public rather it be the supermarket, gas station (inside), mall, school, work ,etc racism is the last thing that sticks in the back of my head. Maybe its because I was raised and currently living in a mixed area. We have rich As a young black man, I find this show to be very interesting. After watching the first episode it got me to think about racism in todays life. Everytime I go out in public rather it be the supermarket, gas station (inside), mall, school, work ,etc racism is the last thing that sticks in the back of my head. Maybe its because I was raised and currently living in a mixed area. We have rich whites, spanish, black, etc. We all mash together. Yeah I would feel a little wierd being in an all white restaurant or any other establishment where im the only brotha in there. But this show is a start of a new reality show trend. I hardly watch tv anymore. this show will definatly got me excited on Wensdays. Now I guess I can find a reason to wipe the dust off my tv screen and remote controller. I think Brian and Bruno should just squash the beef. I know Bruno is over his head about his beliefs that people dont judge u by color, but by character, YEah that can be true, in sum instances. But how would Bruno react if he went to an all white 5-star restaurant with a yellow shirt and some jeans and not being waited on in a respectable amount of becuase of his color? OR as one other commenter said, How about the producers of BW, do a 10 min skecth with Brian and Bruno taking turns getting a cab. Have like a timer to see how long it takes to get a cab. The cab story is very valid. Also to get back with Brian. I disagree with the pose thing he was trying to show Bruno. Not every 40yr old black man slouches or has to give a "wussup man" type of hug? Heck my dad is 50yr's old and never done anything like that. Very intellegent masters, etc. Blacks are all not the same. Of course you have the educated and uneducated. Some talk slang and some talk perfect grammer. It goes the same with whites, spanish, or any other race. Race can not be stereo-typical. Most people say blacks dont tip. We tip. I was raised and learned from my father how to tip. Everytime we about to leave a restaurant he pulls out his calulater for the 18% tip. Heck I learned every $5 from the bill equals one dollar out of your wallet for the perfect 18% tip. I think the only charactrer I find most interesting in this show is Rose. She seems like a real genuwine, open-minded, female who just absorbs what ever she has to accomplish or face. She is real. The other cast should be dropped or looked over. The black son, seems like he doesnt care about whats going on. Heck I wouldn't care either. The caucasion mom seems to be alittle weird. The black mom is about the same. All in all, Im so excited about this show. I havent been so excited about a show in years. Im 23 and I can tell you, this show has alot of potential with new seasons with different casts, like Real World, Suvivor, etc. I hope the next cast they put real people in like Rose in the the next season show. Hopefully in the next show, they put the white family in an all black or mixed neighboorhood, and the blacks in a prodomently white neighborhood, and have the familes meet once a week to discus their views. Becuase by them living together it makes the show feel fake. Let the familes be seperate so they can absorb the problems, conflicts, and differences between everyday life in a different skin color. And let it out once a week with the other family. Also to get back with Brian. I disagree with the pose thing he was trying to show Bruno. Not every 40yr old black man slouches or has to give a "wussup man" type of hug? Heck my dad is 50yr's old and never done anything like that? Expand
  79. MargoJ
    Mar 13, 2006
    4
    I am a 53 year old Black female, that found the documentary portions too slow and boring. As a former corporate diversity facilitator I find the 'aha' moments to be too few and far in between. Apparently the show's purpose is to make FX more money and I am sure that is being done.
  80. TeriF
    Mar 13, 2006
    6
    I've had some personal epiphanies watching this show, but mostly I find myself becoming angry at how the black family seems to be trying to sabotage the process. Renee, the black woman, helped the other woman pick out an outfit to wear to a black church, yet turned around and criticized the choice later, suggesting that the garment was indicative of the white woman's I've had some personal epiphanies watching this show, but mostly I find myself becoming angry at how the black family seems to be trying to sabotage the process. Renee, the black woman, helped the other woman pick out an outfit to wear to a black church, yet turned around and criticized the choice later, suggesting that the garment was indicative of the white woman's stereotypical thinking. They criticized how the white family acted in this church, dancing and clapping...although that's what most of the other black church members were doing. Once again, they attached a stereotypical meaning to it...commenting that the white family was trying too hard and going overboardt. I'm sorry, but I've been in white churches where the members are dancing in the aisles and raising up their hands in worship too. I didn't realize that only blacks were allowed this type of expression, and I don't perceive this as a black/white thing. This black family has shown more racism than anyone I've ever observed.. Attaching a racist message to absolutely everything must be wearisome over time. Because a woman holds her purse a little closer to her body when in a crowd simply means that she's smart and doesn't want to get robbed, by a black or a white. I hold my purse close to my body when passing others because I don't want to inadvertently bump them with it. I have never held my purse close simply because the oncoming passerby was black. This is just paranoia, plain and simple. Yes, racism still exists...and it's alive and well within this black family. Expand
  81. BrianH
    Mar 14, 2006
    0
    This may be the most foolish attempt to uncover the realities of black and white cultures in the history of mankind . In this show there is an asumption that all blacks speak, talk and act a certain way. That is not true. There is no lession in this show. It only perpetuates false and ignorant stereotypes. So much so that certain blacks start to believe them. I am black and this show offends me.
  82. AprilN.
    Mar 15, 2006
    0
    I don't believe this show even begins to scratch the surface of racial issues. What it does is reinforce stereotypes for both races. There is no profound study here. Where does the true examination of race come in? What I witnessed were two families in makeup trying desperately to play roles so trite and stereotyped that it was shameful. I was especially angered by the whole lesson I don't believe this show even begins to scratch the surface of racial issues. What it does is reinforce stereotypes for both races. There is no profound study here. Where does the true examination of race come in? What I witnessed were two families in makeup trying desperately to play roles so trite and stereotyped that it was shameful. I was especially angered by the whole lesson on how to be black. It's always been a puzzlement to me how race is taught or acted. The type of racism experienced today cannot be captured on camera, especially in an 8 episode mini series. Why not follow REAL black people on REAL job interviews and compare their hire rate to their white counterparts? Compare the academia and condition of an all black school to a predominantly white one. Follow a group of young black men around on a Saturday night and document their scrutiny by the police. Racism is so subtle and profound that it's almost impossible to prove let alone display for the world to see. What Bruno is expecting is a huge Jim Crow, sit in the back of the bus event to happen to confirm for him that racism exists and I believe many white people feel the same way he does. Just because blacks aren't being forced to sit in separate waiting rooms anymore, or drink from separate water fountains doesn't mean the idea and practice of racism has vanished. Modern racism is the practice of exclusion. It's keeping what's white, white and what's not white as far away as possible. Unless this show is able to truly look at racism for what it is, it may actually be doing more to bolster racism than it does to examine it. Expand
  83. JillianS
    Mar 15, 2006
    1
    This show is stupid. It does nothing to show what it is really like. I am a bi-racial woman. I know what it's like to be hated by both sides. And, because I am mixed, most people think that I am hispanic, demonstrating more racism. It's time for blacks and whites to get off their high horses and see that they are not the only two races in the world. Racism is not only a two way This show is stupid. It does nothing to show what it is really like. I am a bi-racial woman. I know what it's like to be hated by both sides. And, because I am mixed, most people think that I am hispanic, demonstrating more racism. It's time for blacks and whites to get off their high horses and see that they are not the only two races in the world. Racism is not only a two way street....it's much more than that. The world is not black and white....deal with it. I am angered by this show. Expand
  84. velmad
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    I have waited on a show like this one for years. I always thought that Opray would be the one to expose the not so obvious racism in the world today. There was a time when whites could tell a Black person to go to the back door. Now they will say "There is fresh paint on the door. Would you please go to the back? same same I love it that these issues can be exposed. The white family is a I have waited on a show like this one for years. I always thought that Opray would be the one to expose the not so obvious racism in the world today. There was a time when whites could tell a Black person to go to the back door. Now they will say "There is fresh paint on the door. Would you please go to the back? same same I love it that these issues can be exposed. The white family is a typical white family. flowers-roses happy happy head in the clouds-clueless Friends,Fun and Weekends kind of people Expand
  85. gordyz
    Mar 15, 2006
    5
    I have a mixed opinion. As a 40 year old white man, I think the white people in the show are idiots and make all white people look stupid. I'd like to think that the average white person wouldn't act as they do. As for the black folks, they seem more down to earth and it would have made more sense to have the network pick a more realistic white family.
  86. Kim
    Mar 17, 2006
    0
    I'm very disappointed in the path this show seems to be taking. I really hoped it might be something that would open people
  87. TaraL
    Mar 17, 2006
    10
    I think that any avenue that creates dialogue on the issue of race is great. I don't think that it is important that the show doesn't portray the "ideal" black and white familes and their behavior. What is important is that it displays how FULLY messy prejudices are and how we all have them. Not all circumstances have happy-endings and self-realizations......and this is reality. I think that any avenue that creates dialogue on the issue of race is great. I don't think that it is important that the show doesn't portray the "ideal" black and white familes and their behavior. What is important is that it displays how FULLY messy prejudices are and how we all have them. Not all circumstances have happy-endings and self-realizations......and this is reality. It is more important to me that people start talking about race in this country, than how these 2 families changed. I find their prejudices to be more illuminating than their acceptance. It is in their prejudices that we can hold a mirror up to our own. Expand
  88. PonR
    Mar 19, 2006
    3
    It's true that there's more racism than we'd like to admit in today's society. It's not always apparent, in fact it's usually quite subtle. But this show doesn't care about any of that. It just wants to put white people in makeup that makes them look like they have bad tans and black people in makeup that makes them look like Mariah Carey impersonators. It's true that there's more racism than we'd like to admit in today's society. It's not always apparent, in fact it's usually quite subtle. But this show doesn't care about any of that. It just wants to put white people in makeup that makes them look like they have bad tans and black people in makeup that makes them look like Mariah Carey impersonators. What's being accomplished? They each make stereotypes about one another and even about themselves. This show had potential, but all it does is legitimize racism instead of question it. It's awkward and dumb. That's all. Expand
  89. MichaelC
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    I think that the show is awesome. I hope that eventually it will tear down some racial bounderies, and present an avenue towards healing.
  90. JCapulet
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    I'm biracial. I find the show is interesting. Eye opening & hopefully will open peoples minds to look past racial stereotypes. Although while I agree Mrs Sparks appears to be "mean", Mr Wurgel is a trip himself. The youngest Wurgel looks beautifal as a black young lady. As a cosmetologist into special effects makeup I was very impressed. I hope the dvd for the show would contain I'm biracial. I find the show is interesting. Eye opening & hopefully will open peoples minds to look past racial stereotypes. Although while I agree Mrs Sparks appears to be "mean", Mr Wurgel is a trip himself. The youngest Wurgel looks beautifal as a black young lady. As a cosmetologist into special effects makeup I was very impressed. I hope the dvd for the show would contain bonus footage on how they had to prepare for the makeup, & prehaps how they found these 2 families. Expand
  91. DamarcusW
    Mar 24, 2006
    3
    For all the good this project attempts it still manages to shoot itself in the foot. By putting the two families together has, at best, marginally helped in their mutual understanding. However, the overall misunderstanding is significantly greater because each family represents their entire race. The ONLY saving grace of the families is Rose and sadly her voice hasn't so far been For all the good this project attempts it still manages to shoot itself in the foot. By putting the two families together has, at best, marginally helped in their mutual understanding. However, the overall misunderstanding is significantly greater because each family represents their entire race. The ONLY saving grace of the families is Rose and sadly her voice hasn't so far been strong enough to make a difference with the families and possibly with the viewers. Racism exists. Newsflash. But there is a such thing as personal accountability and rarely is that shown by any of the participants on this show. One side blindly rattles off incidents of victimization while the other counters with knee-jerk defenses. Where is there any understanding? It's early in the series but I really hope there comes a turning point in the show; it has potential. As the project continues I hope it becomes apparent that putting on makeup isn't actually walking a mile in someone else's shoes. Expand
  92. jill
    Mar 29, 2006
    1
    I think this show could be really good,, but it is portrayed the wrong way completely. There is no point being proven on either side except they are all idiots. If you had the white girl go in a store then a black girl to the same one and she was treated different ok.
  93. RossC
    Apr 24, 2006
    5
    The strength of the show is its casting. The biggest weakness of the show is its casting. It all depends on the producers' goals and the viewers' expectations. If they were shooting for outrageous reinforcement of the stereotypes both races hold--they chose a perfect mix of characters. The audience gets the entertainment factor they expect from so-called 'reality' The strength of the show is its casting. The biggest weakness of the show is its casting. It all depends on the producers' goals and the viewers' expectations. If they were shooting for outrageous reinforcement of the stereotypes both races hold--they chose a perfect mix of characters. The audience gets the entertainment factor they expect from so-called 'reality' television and enjoy the warm fuzzies that come from a voyeuristic camaraderie with several characters that share their perspectives on race. Every one tunes in to scoff at the bad guys and root for the good guys--an age-old (though tried and tired) formula that draws an audience and the subsequent ad revenue. If, on the other hand, you intend to produce television that leans toward the noble causes of mutual enlightenment, education and discovery--choose a cast with a few more folks like Rose. Her introspective and honest efforts in the project were a bubbling spring of hope amidst a desert full of racist clowns, self-righteously mugging for the camera to prove their deeply embedded and closely held point of view. Here's hoping for an engaging followup series where the cast of characters reflects the growing appetite for meaningful interaction between the races. Throw in a couple of racist goons from each family so we can get our giggles--but for goodness sake, give us more Roses that are willing to be real with themselves. What a concept for a true 'reality' show! Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. What I've seen suggests an intriguing show, although there's something so contrived about the series that it makes me more than a bit uneasy.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    An endlessly curious and unexpectedly intelligent social experiment.
  3. 70
    Black.White takes the reality subgenre to a whole new level, shining a beacon on American's most excruciating blind spot.