• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Boardwalk Empire Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third season opens with Nucky Thompson celebrating the countdown to 1923. However, trouble brews as Gyp Rosetti (Bobby Cannavale), a mobster from Brooklyn, who disagrees with some of Nucky's decisions.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 13, 2012
    100
    A re-energized and immensely entertaining start to the third season.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 13, 2012
    100
    Put his [Bobby Cannavale's] floridness up against Buscemi's poker-faced acidity and you get fireworks. [24 Sep 2012, p.57]
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 12, 2012
    90
    Simply put, the third season further confirms the show is as handsome, well cast and impeccably crafted as anything on TV.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Life is annoying Nucky Thompson as Boardwalk Empire starts its third season, and that gives this first-rate show just the push-off it needs.
  5. Reviewed by: Jesse Cataldo
    Sep 13, 2012
    75
    Flush with vivid characters, immaculate set design, and increasingly fluid storytelling, Boardwalk Empire keeps getting better, but still feels a few distinct steps short of greatness.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 14, 2012
    70
    Though I sense the show is treading water a bit as Prohibition drags on and the operations of the black market become increasingly contentious, there's still plenty to see on the Boardwalk, thanks to the show's secondary characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Sep 14, 2012
    50
    Strangely enough, the only scenes that aren't so dark that you need night-vision goggles to watch, are the ones with the naked ladies. Then, suddenly the lights are finally working properly. Still, there's something compelling about it all--maybe it's the era, or the clothes, or the hint that this could be something terrific.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Bobby Cannavale is AWESOME from start to the last episode! Great season, great scenario, great acting, breathtaking quality. HBO at it's best. Hope it's not even close to the end! Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    After a great season 1 but a disappointing season 2, season 3 steps it back up. Great story, great characters, great ending. For Season 3 not to win best TV Drama vs Homeland was awful. This season was much better than season 2 of homeland. Next to Game of Thrones, best show on TV right now. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Steve Buscemi as the unflappable Nucky Thompson has to be the coolest ganster I've ever seen on any screen. Many people find the pace of the show a bit pedantic. Personally I love the writers attention to detail and character development. Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    After the end of season 2 I was a little concerned about the direction that the third season would take, killing off Jimmy at the end of the previous season was a bold move. However, season 3 in my opinion was far better than season 2. The introduction of Bobby Cannavale's character was a masterful move as he provided many of the high points in the season. It was slow going to begin but towards the end was fantastic with the penultimate episode probably being the best of the entire series so far. The season was full of brilliant acting, brilliant writing and exciting twists. I can't wait for season 4. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    8
    Good first episode of the season. I'm one of the few who had gotten tired of the character Jimmy so it's nice to see the show start afresh. It's hard to see where things will go this season just from this first episode but the writing, characters and acting is all still top notch. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    I really like the first two seasons, but I find that season 3 is starting to come apart narratively. In season 1,2 Nucky corrupt but clever -- and charming in his own way. Now he's just a violent gangster and almost too disgusting to watch. Whose left to root for after they killed Jimmy? I don't know. Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2012
    1
    I always enjoyed Boardwalk Empire because of the style and writing. Season 3 has proved this HBO series has lost both. Focused too much on Nookie's personal problems it moves at a pace which has me looking at my watch anticipating the end so I can watch "Homeland". Shows don't usually crash and burn in the third season but if the lack of quality and writing, of the beginning episodes is any indication, this show is doomed. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  2. Episode Review: Boardwalk Empire Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: Boardwalk Empire Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: December 12, 2011
    Last night's shocking season-ending episode of "Boardwalk Empire" has critics and fans talking. Find a dozen reviews for the episode inside.
  3. 2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 19, 2011
    The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards are in the books. Get a list and analysis of last night's winners, and find out how critics are reacting to the broadcast hosted by Jane Lynch.
  4. 2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out?

    2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out? Image
    Published: July 14, 2011
    Find out who scored nominations -- and who was snubbed -- in our look at Thursday morning's announcement of nominees for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards.
  5. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  6. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  7. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.