• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 20, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1913 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    You cannot predict Breaking Bad... it's impossible. Actually, I've just told a lie, and for that I apologize. You can predict Breaking Bad; in fact Breaking Bad is so predictable it's embarrassing. Before any given episode has started you can safely predict that what you are about to see is 45 minutes of television that is, in this reviewers opinion, faultless. 45 minutes of outrageousYou cannot predict Breaking Bad... it's impossible. Actually, I've just told a lie, and for that I apologize. You can predict Breaking Bad; in fact Breaking Bad is so predictable it's embarrassing. Before any given episode has started you can safely predict that what you are about to see is 45 minutes of television that is, in this reviewers opinion, faultless. 45 minutes of outrageous situation comedy with hilarious consequences, 45 minutes of gut wrenching and heart felt emotional drama, 45 minutes of impeccable acting from its two leads, who's on-screen chemistry (excuse the pun) has garnered them with a total of 4 Emmy's, and 45 minutes (im about to come back full circle here) of impossible to predict story lines that make the twists and turns in shows like Lost and Fringe genuinely feel like amateur hour. Season 2 doesn't let up for one second. There is no 'filler' here, none whatsoever. And in all honesty, hand on heart, having thought it through thoroughly, looked back at my favourite (almost immoveable) series from shows that are close to my heart, I might have to declare Breaking Bad season 2 as the best season of a tv show I have seen to date. I know that's a bold statement, but having sat through all 13 exquisitely put together episodes, it just makes sense to have that opinion, it really does. Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    This season in particular has 13 must watch episodes. The unpredictability of the story is front and center in season 2. If you like dark and intense, then this show has everything that you are looking for. I recommend it to everyone I know, for good reason.
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    S01 was great, but things get WAY better on the second one. You can see that from the first two episodes. Much more intense and serious. TV at its best.
  4. FroggyTron
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    Breaking Bad finally gets the recognition it aserves.
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Now THIS. THIS RIGHT HERE. This is how you do television. Well-written characters, foreshadowing, actual character development that feels natural and some of the best camera work I've ever seen on television. Not to mention the sheer unpredictability of it all, while still maintaining coherency. My personal favorite season.
  6. Aug 10, 2011
    9
    Breaking Bad shows the viewer how a man is able to change. It is a very interesting subject which is portrayed impecabbly by Bryan Cranston as Walter White. Gripping storyline with good actors. Maybe it's just me, but maybe the only thing which bugs me in Breaking Bad is the acting of Anna Gunn in the role of Skyler White who is portraying the pregnant mother in a too exaggeratedly way.
  7. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    The second season, being the first whole season, rightly solidifies Breaking Bad's place among different critics' summer highlight articles in TV. At the end of the 1st season you may be wondering, is the whole series this suspenseful & unpredictable? The 2nd season eliminates any question of the show's place among TV's heavy-hitters.
  8. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    This show has the amazing ability to constantly take twists and turns that make my jaw drop and my head spin. Its simply put, the best show on television, and Season 2 ramped up everything that made Season 1 amazing tenfold, tightening the tension of Walter's decisions, stretching the agonizing family drama to such heart-wrenching heights it can only be described as masterful, and makingThis show has the amazing ability to constantly take twists and turns that make my jaw drop and my head spin. Its simply put, the best show on television, and Season 2 ramped up everything that made Season 1 amazing tenfold, tightening the tension of Walter's decisions, stretching the agonizing family drama to such heart-wrenching heights it can only be described as masterful, and making the sucker punch to the gut moments that much more hard-hitting. Expand
  9. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    after watching the first season of the show i was expecting it to have a very good second season but i could have never predicted how wonderful this season was....its just fantastic....WAY better than the first and thats saying something.
  10. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    After a very good first season, the second does not disappoint anyone, Excellent leaves you very addicted for know what happens in the next season. Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul, the perfect couple.
  11. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    This is the best show that's not on a pay channel. The performances are damn near flawless. Emmys anyone?
  12. CameronM
    Mar 30, 2009
    10
    The best show on TV right now. The production values are through the roof. The acting is top notch. The story is amazing and executed flawlessly. You really get a feeling for every character in the story even if they don't play a major role. This is how TV shows should be done and it makes all other shows look like child's play. I absolutely love this show! I never watch TV at The best show on TV right now. The production values are through the roof. The acting is top notch. The story is amazing and executed flawlessly. You really get a feeling for every character in the story even if they don't play a major role. This is how TV shows should be done and it makes all other shows look like child's play. I absolutely love this show! I never watch TV at all but this has restored my faith in TV. Thanks to all involved with this masterpiece. This will probably go down as my favorite show of all time. Recommended to EVERYONE! Expand
  13. MrMushroomer
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    In every episode, I find myself smirking at the wit and clever story telling. I am also surprised more than once per episode in a plot twist or revelation. I'm also sure that the cancer approaching ending will be different than what my simple mind expects.. But that's the great thing about this show. What the heck is gonna happen.... Hands down the best storytelling and pacing In every episode, I find myself smirking at the wit and clever story telling. I am also surprised more than once per episode in a plot twist or revelation. I'm also sure that the cancer approaching ending will be different than what my simple mind expects.. But that's the great thing about this show. What the heck is gonna happen.... Hands down the best storytelling and pacing on television of current. Expand
  14. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Season 2 was when Jessie Pinkman became my favorite character. Episodes like Peekaboo where Jessie tries to go get his money back from some junkies at a meth house, and he finds the young neglected kid in the home is just great. Very original and flat out one of the best episodes I've seen in television history. The season picks up and gets extremely good and original at the very end ofSeason 2 was when Jessie Pinkman became my favorite character. Episodes like Peekaboo where Jessie tries to go get his money back from some junkies at a meth house, and he finds the young neglected kid in the home is just great. Very original and flat out one of the best episodes I've seen in television history. The season picks up and gets extremely good and original at the very end of the season. Expand
  15. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    A lot better this season but what is scary about this show is that its this good and still has yet to reach it's peak. It was a little predictable at times though and a little boring as well but it still kept you interested and it just has that addictiveness to it. Cranston once again steals the show and proves why he is easily the best actor on TV.
  16. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    The show continues to improve as it starts to really get into the swing of things. The acting is amazing and the increased action and drama in this season makes it even better than the first season, though the first season was good in its own right.
  17. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    Season two is a step up from season one, though still not quite as solid as the later seasons. The number of unbelievable coincidences detracts from the show's realism. But the structure of the season is inventive, the characters are well-established, and the performances are, as always, remarkable. The first time I watched this show, I was still on the fence in season two; I would say itSeason two is a step up from season one, though still not quite as solid as the later seasons. The number of unbelievable coincidences detracts from the show's realism. But the structure of the season is inventive, the characters are well-established, and the performances are, as always, remarkable. The first time I watched this show, I was still on the fence in season two; I would say it wasn't until season three that the writers really found their momentum and started creating something unique and endearing and powerful. Expand
  18. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    A show like Breaking Bad deserves this much great and brilliant direction. Yep folks. It's back, our Walter is back with his sharp mind and meth making skills. This time he is gonna kick asssss! This time Vince Gilligan has added some interesting characters and more meth than ever. Bryan Cranston is good as usual, but Aaron Paul really kicks the ball in this season. Awesome and sick,A show like Breaking Bad deserves this much great and brilliant direction. Yep folks. It's back, our Walter is back with his sharp mind and meth making skills. This time he is gonna kick asssss! This time Vince Gilligan has added some interesting characters and more meth than ever. Bryan Cranston is good as usual, but Aaron Paul really kicks the ball in this season. Awesome and sick, Breaking bad just got better in Season 2. Expand
  19. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Let's just say that having given Season 1 an easy 10/10 I don't think I can give this a legitimate score. Breaking Bad has definitely changed my standards for television. Superb acting, PHENOMENAL camera work and a great story keep you sucked in
  20. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Season 2 is even better than the masterpiece Season 1 was. These plot twists throughout the whole season just keep you want to watch another episode. Best TV show ever.
  21. AmeliaS.
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    This is my absolute favorite show on television. There are no weak points. The writing is clever, the acting is extraordinary, the photography is beautiful, the editing is sharp. I can't praise it enough.
  22. YazD
    Mar 26, 2009
    9
    A funny story. It seems so, but if you were in the same situation, you might do the same, I mean sale Meth.
  23. ajR
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the best TV series in many years, maybe ever! It helps to watch Season One, just to see where the characters are coming from. Incredibly good!
  24. MarkB
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    I just loved the season premiere! Once again it delivered everything I could possibly wish for, brilliant suspenseful Drama sweetened with just the right amount of comedic moments to loosen things up a bit. Have I said how much I admired that? I was so glad to see ALL the characters develop, we got to know them better, and therefore care for them more. I can honestly say there's not I just loved the season premiere! Once again it delivered everything I could possibly wish for, brilliant suspenseful Drama sweetened with just the right amount of comedic moments to loosen things up a bit. Have I said how much I admired that? I was so glad to see ALL the characters develop, we got to know them better, and therefore care for them more. I can honestly say there's not one person on this show that doesn't reach me in some way, be that in a positive or a negative way. And judging by many reviews, also by Stephen King's, it's only getting better! BOOYAH! Expand
  25. RoniJ.
    Apr 13, 2009
    10
    Hands down the best television on television. The writing and acting never cease to astonish, amaze, delight, intrigue, and captivate. The camera work is cinema-worthy. The casting brilliant. I could watch each episode three times, and have done so with Season 1, and still be held in thrall by the excellence of this series on every level.
  26. JustinN
    May 11, 2009
    10
    As the second season comes to a close, the philosophical underpinnings of Breaking Bad come to fore. At first Walt was a good man doing bad things for 'good' reasons, now you see the slow transformation into the monster, the Hyde to Walt's Jekyll. As the series come to a close (and the series *must* end this season), you get the feeling that the Hyde will overcome Walts As the second season comes to a close, the philosophical underpinnings of Breaking Bad come to fore. At first Walt was a good man doing bad things for 'good' reasons, now you see the slow transformation into the monster, the Hyde to Walt's Jekyll. As the series come to a close (and the series *must* end this season), you get the feeling that the Hyde will overcome Walts personality, destroying everything that he touches. The ominous premonitions to a brutal season closer, the haunting performance by Brian Cranston, and the strong performances given by the supporting cast creates characters that the audience truly care about, and makes Walt's transformation all the more horrifying. It almost makes the end few episodes unwatchable: to see the slow, destructive downward spiral of a good man. This series is a poignant study of morality, and a horrifying glimpse at the destruction caused by drugs and mans ability to fall. Expand
  27. AdrianP
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    An intense, well written and superbly acted show. Breaking Bad is truly great entertainment.
  28. richc
    May 24, 2009
    10
    This show is ridiculous. I am constantly surprised every episode, yet it remains believable and consistent at the same time. Amazing. This isn't HBO, there's no cussing or extreme violence and they produce an top-notch product, so other networks have no excuse. I wish more TV could be like this. BRAVO.
  29. VernB
    May 27, 2009
    10
    I love the premise for this show and the episodes clear the bar that was set very high in the pilot episode.
  30. Aug 9, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great show. Season 2 wasn't quite as good as season 1, however, due to Walt's storyline. I feel like there could be a little more meth baking going on. Also, I feel like the success of the show made his health issues "go away" somewhat quickly. Can't wait for season 3. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 80
    Breaking Bad works as an unabashedly bold story about a man in extremis, told with the iconographic and ironic sensibility of Quentin Tarantino.
  2. 100
    For all its bleakness and darkness, there's a glowing exhilaration about this series: It's a feel-good show about feeling really bad.
  3. Breaking Bad is indeed so flat-out superb it appears to be operating at a different level than just about everybody else save AMC's own "Mad Men" and maybe a couple of shows over at FX.