Breaking Bad : Season 5

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 20, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
9.7

Universal acclaim- based on 3997 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    Pinkman and White's characters underwent too much character development between end of season 4 and first episode of season 5. Did Pinkman take a basic science class in between seasons? How did key in ignition and drain RV battery guy come up with the idea of magnets? Still my favorite TV show.
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Clearly a show that will be missed after this season. Cranston kills his role (I actually read Matt Broderick was in line for this at one time.....WTF?) in the new season as the egomaniac in him is blooming. The tension is building but not really certain to was end-which makes it incrediably watchable.
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    9
    The first half of season 5 is just awesome! I love almost every episode, only 1 or 2 slow paste episodes through this season, but you gotta have that too y`know. Aside from that this has been a tense and exciting season with different conflicts and an entirely new plot. It keeps bringing highlights, great plots and very good character development. Watch season 1 and you will see anThe first half of season 5 is just awesome! I love almost every episode, only 1 or 2 slow paste episodes through this season, but you gotta have that too y`know. Aside from that this has been a tense and exciting season with different conflicts and an entirely new plot. It keeps bringing highlights, great plots and very good character development. Watch season 1 and you will see an entirely different Walt, (Heisenberg has kind of taken over now). What I think is so good about this season is that it`s so different, they`re bringing new characters, new environments, new working spots, but most important is that we get to see the business/dealing from a new point of view. Mike, Jesse and Walt is now the kings of the market (at least for a while). I`d never thought they were able to keep season 5 as epic as the 4-5 last episodes of season 4, but they definitely did! Also ending this first half with a (sort of) cliffhanger -------- My rating for these 8 episodes is gonna be 9/10, with my favorite episodes being 1 & 8. Really excited to see the rest off season 5. Peace Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    It's great to see that Breaking Bad simply hasn't withered with age like so many good series can. This episode definitely seemed like one of the better ones, with the pace, suspense, acting and screenplay all perfectly adjusted. It had just the right balance of both answering questions left from the previous series and asking new questions of what is to come.
  5. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    Let me begin by saying the writing in this show is unmatched. I could present various examples of how the writing is fantastic, but I'm going to avoid spoiling anything. This season may not be the most action / drama packed as the previous ones, but it still has that Breaking Bad feel that we all have come to love. The acting is top notch all around, the cast could not have been chosenLet me begin by saying the writing in this show is unmatched. I could present various examples of how the writing is fantastic, but I'm going to avoid spoiling anything. This season may not be the most action / drama packed as the previous ones, but it still has that Breaking Bad feel that we all have come to love. The acting is top notch all around, the cast could not have been chosen better, and the suspense is intense. If you're already a fan of the previous seasons, this season will not disappoint. Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2012
    9
    IV read some reviews that are saying that bn season 5 isn't living up to the previous seasons. In my opinion I think that now that gus fring is dead and walt has in his own words ' won'. The show has become even more of a must watch now , more than ever. Now w.w is the king , he's loving the power that he undeniably has got. When he says to declan in I think ep 6 to say my name , was IIV read some reviews that are saying that bn season 5 isn't living up to the previous seasons. In my opinion I think that now that gus fring is dead and walt has in his own words ' won'. The show has become even more of a must watch now , more than ever. Now w.w is the king , he's loving the power that he undeniably has got. When he says to declan in I think ep 6 to say my name , was I think one of the best scenes in the entire shows history. The whole cooking in tented houses , the excellent methlamyne heist and the final scene of ep 8. Are pure class. I'm not at all impressed with how long we've got to wait to see the last 8 eps. Talk about keepin the viewer on tenterhooks. It's bad enough hiatus's in shows lasting about a month. But 12 months is a real pain in the arse. But to finish. My point is that if viewing figures are down by around 20%. They can't have been much of a bb fan in the first place. Cos with tv programmes of this class. I doubt it could even be improved upon. It's a masterclass in everything from the storylines , the script , the casting. , directing and definitely the acting. It's easily the best programme on tv. And iv had to have every episode of every season off the net. Cos it aint shown in the uk. Which is a joke , and an awful lot of British viewers are missing out big time. On one of the all time best tv programmes ever produced. Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. BB started out as an interesting, well acted, well written show. My question after each season was, "can you to this?" I am astounded and floored that this series came to a splendid end, and a finale that packaged everything up nicely. Every episode builds momentum, never a dull moment, and thoroughly entertaining especially if you have a brain. Our characters have come a long way, Jessie Pinkman in particular. To the first scene in the first episode to the pull back shot of the Dying Walter White (Heisenberg as his drug cartel name) is masterfully directed. A- Expand
  8. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    I haven't been quite as impressed with Season 5 as I was with the other Seasons yet but it should kick into high gear when it returns next summer. I wasnt big on following TV shows until this one and The Walking Dead. AMC's shows are something special!! Hope they end this one right!
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Well acted, well written and well paced. BB season 5 maintains Vince Gilligans positive track record. Breaking bad is no doubt one of the best paced dramas out there.
  10. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    One of the best shows created thus far. Some may feel it's a bit slow, but you have to understand the show is incredibly detailed. Any of the big mind-blowing, can't believe they just did that, Jesus Christ I need to call someone and talk about this stuff is all done in single strides, and are only dished out a little at a time. The suspense is built, it's not constant like in an episodeOne of the best shows created thus far. Some may feel it's a bit slow, but you have to understand the show is incredibly detailed. Any of the big mind-blowing, can't believe they just did that, Jesus Christ I need to call someone and talk about this stuff is all done in single strides, and are only dished out a little at a time. The suspense is built, it's not constant like in an episode of Homeland. It's also very cause and effect based. That being said, if season 5 seems a bit slow now, you'll see what all this building meant when the final episodes come around. Then, you'll appreciate the time it took to set up what came to happen. Expand
  11. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Not my favorite of the breaking bad seasons but still excellent none the less. Great acting, good story, etc... This show has been consistently excellent from the beginning.
  12. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    It's quite an amazing show; there's not too much else to say about it. While the scores of critics and users being 99/100 and. 9.6/10, respectively, may be slightly high for a show even like this in my opinion (however, this may be due to all the possible ratings being a bit limited), it's not to say that this show doesn't deserve all the awards that it has gotten.
    There aren't many
    It's quite an amazing show; there's not too much else to say about it. While the scores of critics and users being 99/100 and. 9.6/10, respectively, may be slightly high for a show even like this in my opinion (however, this may be due to all the possible ratings being a bit limited), it's not to say that this show doesn't deserve all the awards that it has gotten.
    There aren't many episodes left, but the intense drama of the main parts of the plot, the incredible acting by lead actor Bryan Cranston, as well as the harsh and indulging events of the show earn this at least a 9 from me.
    Expand
  13. Aug 6, 2015
    9
    It's a beautifully fitting ending, to an extremely powerful show. The final season of Breaking Bad is at the pinnacle of TV drama, 5 seasons of growth in the characters and the story blows up in one legendary episode, 'Ozymandias', and it is sensationally gripping. I admire Vince Gilligan for not allowing the show to drag on and on just for the sake of it. The ending feels neither abruptIt's a beautifully fitting ending, to an extremely powerful show. The final season of Breaking Bad is at the pinnacle of TV drama, 5 seasons of growth in the characters and the story blows up in one legendary episode, 'Ozymandias', and it is sensationally gripping. I admire Vince Gilligan for not allowing the show to drag on and on just for the sake of it. The ending feels neither abrupt nor prolonged. The show has ended on a very respectable high. It has set new benchmarks for TV drama with it's original and captivating story, it's developed and engrossing characters and cinematography that really cannot be found anywhere else. Walter White's journey has gotten better as it's gone on. That inconsistency is only a small problem though, within a big success story. Many will mourn the loss of Vince Gilligan's marvellous creation, because it has brought hours of entertainment to the lives of many. Breaking Bad is a brilliant show. It is beautifully original, fiercely climatic and concluded perfectly. I tip my hat to Breaking Bad. Expand
  14. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Even though it is only eight episodes. it still is better than 95% of other shows. The ending of the last episode sets up perfectly to have this show go out with a bang.
  15. Jul 31, 2016
    9
    The general serie gets better along the seasons, at least until the 3rd season, the most boring season, but great even so. After this, the program about mr. White got a marvelous level, until gets the apex in season 5, the best of whole program, that has the episode 14, the best of all . The action just grews up, making the program gets surrounding. There also is misterious scenes that areThe general serie gets better along the seasons, at least until the 3rd season, the most boring season, but great even so. After this, the program about mr. White got a marvelous level, until gets the apex in season 5, the best of whole program, that has the episode 14, the best of all . The action just grews up, making the program gets surrounding. There also is misterious scenes that are compreensives after linking points (Like the 2nd season inicial scenes) make the series very attractives. The mystery, the action, the good story, the excellent scripts, the semiotic (like color theory about caracthers' clotes' color), the conquers caracters, the "psycopathization" of the Walter White ( that starts the contraband for a noble cause but the ganancy got up to him head), every this added forms Breaking Bad, a Badass series

    (P.S.: This grade referes to the series in a general manner)
    Expand
  16. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    The perfect blend of Action, Comedy, Suspense and the most beautiful progression of a plot I may have ever seen Makes this season finale the most anticipated finale for me this year.
  17. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    SAVE YOUR ACCOLADES! Watching in Ireland (TG4). I would, though, add to the accolades: it is a dread marvel. From series 1 episode 1 I thought this 'TV' exceptional. Cranston and Paul particularly wonderful in their character creations. However, justly, vying for the highest honours as it is, I would ask fans to also look at 'Bleak House', BBC production of the Charles Dickens novel andSAVE YOUR ACCOLADES! Watching in Ireland (TG4). I would, though, add to the accolades: it is a dread marvel. From series 1 episode 1 I thought this 'TV' exceptional. Cranston and Paul particularly wonderful in their character creations. However, justly, vying for the highest honours as it is, I would ask fans to also look at 'Bleak House', BBC production of the Charles Dickens novel and ask is this not, rather, truly the 'best of all time'. The Gilligan/Anderson overlap is bonus for observers of Kevin Bacon removes type considerations. Expand
  18. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    breaking bad..what is there to say ..everything moulded in one season ..Heisenberg ..hard to describe a character like that in just few words...season may started slow ..but screenplay was very good, especially last two episodes ...jaw dropping..suspense....tension.....finally one of the most satisfied season of all the tv series ..missing it would be a great mistake
  19. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Breaking Bad is my most favorite television series, but I'm disappointed the ending. Good will Triumph Over "All" Evil is not make sense. Except for the ending, Breaking Bad is so awesome.
  20. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    WOW! I can just say wow! Breaking Bad was amazing from beginning to the end. I have really no words to describe this amazing tv show. In my opinion one of the best tv show ever made.
  21. May 24, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Never has a show had such a brilliant season with little dialogue. Of course, this final season owes it's success to the development of Walt and Jessie in the first four seasons, but the true winner of season five is uncle jack, the neo-nazi who seems to want to be more powerful and more important than he actually is(sounds like good ole WW). Without the surprise impact of jack, BBS5 may have been a ordinary predictable final season. Of course Walt makes the season concrete in history as one of the best ever, as he finally comes full-circle and accepts his true identity of Heisenberg. The suspense and intertwining of so many great stories coming to an end wraps of the great show, the only reason it's not a 10 is because it had an ending at all... Expand
  22. Aug 26, 2014
    9
    you know how its going to end, you can tell by the buildups, the change in the character.. but in the end, when the ending comes up, you still get the pang of pain, when one of your favorite character gets what he deserve... good series indeed. and will still linger in my head for awhile
  23. Oct 7, 2014
    9
    One of the greatest shows of all time leaves with a bang. Season five is a perfect example on how to end up a masterpiece. Breaking bad is a spectacular show and i think everyone should watch it.
  24. Dec 12, 2014
    9
    Breaking Bad is just like the meth equivalent of Weeds, except more dramatic, more serious, and oh yeah, the main character (Bryan Cranston) is not a fine MILF. With that being said, the show is still amazing. It is well-written, well-acted, and will have you on the edge of your seat most of the time.
  25. Mar 28, 2015
    9
    Although I didn't buy Walter's resolution with Uncle Jack and his crew- nor the ease with which he got to Skylar at the end- I enjoyed this season more than the rest.
    The suspense generated with each episode lends itself to eager binge watching. Several very clever twists and plot devices.
    This show is often fanatically spoken of by its fans along with The Wire as the best ever yet the
    Although I didn't buy Walter's resolution with Uncle Jack and his crew- nor the ease with which he got to Skylar at the end- I enjoyed this season more than the rest.
    The suspense generated with each episode lends itself to eager binge watching. Several very clever twists and plot devices.
    This show is often fanatically spoken of by its fans along with The Wire as the best ever yet the main difference between the two is clearly their final season,
    Expand
  26. Nov 26, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Практически весь сезон в духе трёх последних серий прошлого, как я и хотел.
    Финал шикарный, весь сезон шикарный.
    Нету лучше смерти, чем смерть под baby blue
    Expand
  27. May 22, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is my favorite season of my favorite show and it almost earns a 10/10 in my book. It concludes the suspenseful and all-around excellent story of Walter White and Jesse Pinkman. There are so many plot twists and memorable episodes here! It's just some of the best TV you'll ever watch (probably). Drama, action, and a little dark comedy make up this tragic finale. It ends just how it should, too. Hank's death is handled well, too. Some of the moments aren't prime, which is why it's not a ten (a few boring scenes or non-critical episodes that aren't quite to the standard) but it's still well, well worth watching! Expand
  28. Sep 11, 2016
    9
    This show is unlike anything I've ever watched. I watched because a friend highly recommended it. When I was watching the show I thought it was good, but I was waiting for the part where it gets really good, like he said. Then came the last season. The last like 5 episodes were just mind blowingly phenomenal. Those last episodes were so good in my mind that it easily raised my levelThis show is unlike anything I've ever watched. I watched because a friend highly recommended it. When I was watching the show I thought it was good, but I was waiting for the part where it gets really good, like he said. Then came the last season. The last like 5 episodes were just mind blowingly phenomenal. Those last episodes were so good in my mind that it easily raised my level of appreciation for this series. This is the best series finale I've ever watched. Expand
  29. Sep 10, 2012
    8
    What can I say about season 5 of Breaking Bad? It had an extremely tough follow up to the masterpiece that was season 4, and the shortened season (actually a longer season split into two) took away from the traditional slow burn that Breaking Bad offers its viewers. In spite of this, the season is still incredibly acted, filmed, and overall still beats most anything on television thisWhat can I say about season 5 of Breaking Bad? It had an extremely tough follow up to the masterpiece that was season 4, and the shortened season (actually a longer season split into two) took away from the traditional slow burn that Breaking Bad offers its viewers. In spite of this, the season is still incredibly acted, filmed, and overall still beats most anything on television this year. If there are criticisms to be had, it lays in a season that felt a tad rushed, and in the cartoonishly villainous behavior of Walter White at times, though he seemed to come down to earth at the very end of the season. This is a companion piece to the last half of the season, which I fully expect to be a 10/10. Expand
  30. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    The first half of Breaking Bad's fifth season may not be the roller coaster ride that Season 4 was, but it did an excellent job at setting the stage for the final half of the season which will undoubtedly be the biggest roller coaster ride television may ever see.
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Aug 22, 2012
    100
    Breaking Bad [is] a radical type of television, and also a very strange kind of must-watch: a show that you dread and crave at the same time.
  2. Reviewed by: Laura Emerick
    Jul 16, 2012
    100
    The season five pre­miere "Live Free or Die", more than maintains the series' record of excellence.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jul 16, 2012
    100
    The arc of this character--series creator Vince Gilligan's invention of Walter White as a sick soul--is, it's clear now. one of the great narratives in Television histpory. [13 Jul 2012, p.62]