Breaking In : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 6, 2011
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 5, 2011
    60
    More work needs to be done on all the characters; so far they're just types, and the first episode, perhaps because of its manic tone, didn't make me laugh much. But I can see Breaking In growing into a pleasant, mildly goofy comedy that offers the light-adventure qualities of a USA or TNT show and the silly diversions of a half-decent 'Chuck' episode.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 5, 2011
    50
    Although Harrison's baffled newcomer, Slater's mysterious honcho and the elaborate CalTech-style pranks have potential, there's cause to fear the gizmo-driven plots will become repetitive quickly. And while the pilot is fast-paced--with rapid-fire flashes to visual gags, almost like one of Seth MacFarlane's animated Fox comedies--it's not like the nerd-spy-girl template has enabled "Chuck" to hack its way into the hearts of Nielsen viewers (or at least, their peoplemeters).
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 6, 2011
    40
    It's not painful--there are likable actors and the office setting is loose and fun--but none of the jokes land, at all.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 6, 2011
    40
    This isn't a terrible show, because that might make it memorable. Instead, it falls into that category of being fairly clever without really being funny or all that amusing.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Apr 6, 2011
    40
    It's like the producers have set up Breaking In to be an action-comedy but nobody involved really cares about the action portion. But if the show is starting as a mild disappointment, it's far from terrible.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 5, 2011
    40
    It's a strange little show: A light-hearted half-hour caper that purports to be a comedy but isn't really that funny.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    From my point of view this episode is awesome and it's pretty original,i mean i didn't see any serial like this before and i believe the itFrom my point of view this episode is awesome and it's pretty original,i mean i didn't see any serial like this before and i believe the it will be a success.The pilot episode and 2nd were very entertaining.I hope they will have more than one season.I saw those episodes on http://breakinginfan.com/ Full Review »
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    Promising show, chemistry between characters (BOOM! goes the dynamite!) is good and i am glad to see Christian Slater back on TV. I hope thisPromising show, chemistry between characters (BOOM! goes the dynamite!) is good and i am glad to see Christian Slater back on TV. I hope this one is to stay Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    You know what, I liked this show. I'm a fan of Bret Harrison's from "Reaper", I'm a huge fan of Odette Yustman's from "October Road", andYou know what, I liked this show. I'm a fan of Bret Harrison's from "Reaper", I'm a huge fan of Odette Yustman's from "October Road", and Christian Slater? Come on. His character Oz is almost the same as his character from "Kuffs"! Fox cancelled this show just like they have so many other great shows...too soon. Full Review »