• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 6, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Breakout Kings Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: To help capture fugitives, U.S. Marshals Charlie Duchamp (Laz Alonso) and Ray Zancanelli (Domenick Lombardozzi) form an unlikely team with three criminals that Ray put behind bars.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Mar 3, 2011
    80
    Absorbing, if not squirm-worthy.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 4, 2011
    70
    It does not--repeat, not--take a con to catch a con. That is by now a very tired television cliche and one that's embraced by Kings. But the series overcomes this crutch to become a mostly interesting diversion from going to work five days a week.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Mar 4, 2011
    67
    The series is sort of fun, more of a USA Network "Characters Welcome" kind of show than a hard-boiled thriller. [11 Mar 2011, p.72]
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 4, 2011
    50
    Breakout Kings is an uninspiring attempt by the producers and their network to be the last on the procedural match.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 10, 2011
    50
    Not a bad concept, but the casting is out of whack. [21 Mar 2011, p.46]
  6. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Mar 7, 2011
    50
    Once you get past the idea that the bad guys are working for the good guys, it's a pretty by-the-numbers crime show.
  7. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 7, 2011
    25
    Breakout Kings is not only dumb and mind-numbingly silly, but what makes it all-the-more terrible is that all this silliness has been stolen from other mind-numbingly-silly shows.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    So far I have only watched the first three episodes and they seem, entertaining. They keep me interested during the whole hour and the characters seem okay. Hopefully as the show progresses we get to see more about the characters personalities and maybe that will bring more people to watch because so far they don't actually seem like cons. It still feels like they could just be cops as well that have bad attitudes like other shows and the show hasn't shown what they really bring to the table that cops couldn't. That's just my opinion. Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    I love this show. It is not a reality show, or a sitcom. I sit every Sunday with my boyfriend and look forward to seeing this show. I hope that it keeps on, because some shows are worth it and some are not. This one is definitely worth it. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Get another season going of this show my husband and I are going nuts without it. This show was awesome and must be back on please please please. We are hurting without this show. How much longer do we have to jones for more breakout kings. The actors are excellent and they make us want more. Isn't that what the tv station should want? We are addicted to this show that no longer airs even watching each episode two or more times. Is there anything us the public can do? If anyone should know please post it. Thanks for reading. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    Laz Alonso is solidly cast as the leader of a band of misfit convicts that specialize in catching dangerous escapees, but Jimmi Simpson's portrayal of a narcissistic genius convict really stands out. I've only seen 4 episodes thus far and I am hoping for a lot more character development, especially for Shea. Seem like a keeper so far, with each episode providing good action, good humor, or both. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    7
    I've seen three episodes now, including the one in which Robert Knepper's T-Bag escapes yet again, and I like the show well enough. Of course, the premise is ludicrous (and overused), though I don't think there's anything wrong with making the point that US prisons house a range of criminals, from decent people with problems better addressed therapeutically to homicidal sociopaths. Most of the characters are weak, however. The two not in jail are burdened with serious health and legal problems--a sign of inadequate characterization when it happens in the pilot. You can almost hear a writer say, "I know, let's give him a heart condition!" but it's hard to care when that's his defining trait. And the mostly bland cast doesn't help much, except for Jimmi Simpson, who is great as the brilliant-but-feckless MD/PhD. Domenick Lombardozzi is the other actor who stands out, but it's because he's doing Herc from The Wire, which just makes me miss that show. But "Breakout Kings" almost gets it that there's something fascinating about prison breaks, a moral complexity for onlookers who admire the ingenuity and resourcefulness of the escapees while horrified by their crimes. So far, the show has come down heavily on the "horrified" side by depicting particularly brutal escapes, but I hope to see a few cases that challenge the felon-marshals' commitment to the cause. And it wouldn't hurt to change up the cast a bit--easy enough to do given their many problems. Collapse
  6. Dec 30, 2011
    7
    It's a very likeable show, Enjoyable characters that are entertaining to watch. The acting is good as well. The storying telling...not so much. Its a rather generic and over used plot to the series "Using criminals to catch other criminals" and the episodes are rather generic as well but its really the acting and the chemistry the actors have with one another that keeps this show afloat. I enjoyed season 1 and I cant wait for season 2. Expand
  7. TVG
    Apr 11, 2011
    0
    Apparently the default score is a '10', that is a little ridiculous in itself. I'm correcting my scored opinion. Well, looks like I haven't made my 150 character 'minimum character' count yet... Expand

See all 10 User Reviews